Page 24 of 35 FirstFirst ... 14222324252634 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Football- 2006

Fixtures

Quote Originally Posted by swinfordfc View Post
    What are you on about Boro are far from safe and actually can see Ballyglass beating them on sunday week to sent them down!!!!
    Get your facts right bumface . No boro are not safe but have played Ballyglass twice so its Manulla they play last. I predicted S and f to go at the start of the season and i still think they will. Although if Boro go they mite be better off to shake off a few older players and start a fresh with the younger lads who are not been givin a chance. The same thing happened in Ballyglass and they fell last Sunday. Theres no room in the Super league for players over 32. Ballyglass could have avoided the drop had the Manager not played his "drinking buddies". I see it myself on Sunday. They were appaulling!!!

51 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    Get your facts right bumface . No boro are not safe but have played Ballyglass twice so its Manulla they play last. I predicted S and f to go at the start of the season and i still think they will. Although if Boro go they mite be better off to shake off a few older players and start a fresh with the younger lads who are not been givin a chance. The same thing happened in Ballyglass and they fell last Sunday. Theres no room in the Super league for players over 32. Ballyglass could have avoided the drop had the Manager not played his "drinking buddies". I see it myself on Sunday. They were appaulling!!!
    oophs i am wrong in that boro are playing manulla but still stand by that i think they will go down. how are Castlebar doing with all the extra players from other clubs at youth level? can they join erris and westport in only teams from mayo to win fai cups? oh thats must haunt them that erris and westport have done it but celtic haven't

51 Posts
    And looking forward to playing Ballyglass in league next year, always handy 6 points for us

the last word!

Quote Originally Posted by theboy View Post
    Any reason why there not letting there players go for it? hopefully the team will not be just westport and celtic players(if they go).
    So what's new on that front, they have continued all year refusing to allow there players to be selected.
    Has the Mayo League gone soft when it was Westport they were remaned to explain and threaten to be removed.
    What happened to Rule 35 when players dont make them selfs available.
    If Castlebar Celtic or any other club don't make there players available when called up for the coming fixures in the Oscar Traynor, then I trust the League will throw the book at them or even still suppend there players from playing in other competitions or throw there club out of the league.
    We wait and see?

Smile the last word!

Quote Originally Posted by short_frank View Post
    The one thing you can be sure of is that it will be Celtic and Westport dominated (if Celtic allow their players) with a few other super league players thrown in. The biggest problem Mayo football has is that anyone in power over county teams cannot see past the super league. They don't seem to understand that Mayo football is parochial and that the best players are not nessecerily (spelling apology) in the biggest clubs. I have seen outstanding individuals throughout the leagues from division 2 up and if they were given a chance to shine they would. The most obvious example is the under 21 debacle. If the county team cannot field a full squad because players are not available why didn't they cast the net wider. I know of at least 8 under 21's who would not disgrace the Mayo team but unfortunatly they play for unfashionable teams. I was at the division 2 and 1 cup finals and didn't see any Mayo team managers at either. If they won't attend even these occasions then how can we expect them to see players in the lower leagues.
    On another sadder note it is unfortunate to see the position Ballinrobe find themselves in. I always thought they made a mistake appointing their manager. He talks a good talk but............
    Its hard for any manager to select from the lower leagues when there players are not playing at the highest level. Bare in mind the playing for your county is the next level. so when you come from the lower levels you have alot of ground to make up. that includes the pace of the game never mind the skill

Angry

Quote Originally Posted by renovater View Post
    Its hard for any manager to select from the lower leagues when there players are not playing at the highest level. Bare in mind the playing for your county is the next level. so when you come from the lower levels you have alot of ground to make up. that includes the pace of the game never mind the skill
    For a man who likes to seem to be an expert on all things football you don't seem to understand that this is where being called into these squads will benefit these players. The step up in coaching, playing with players of a higher class. If these county managers cannot see a player with undouted raw skill that can be worked on then they shouldn't be in the job. This is after all a county team not a super league team. How many players have you seen being picked up by the bigger clubs from lower leagues and stepping straight in without looking out of place. We need to be developing players not just plodding along with the same players, because, there are some rough diamonds and some players who are as good a finished article as you would see in the super league.
    I am sorry if I am ranting a bit but this has always been an sore spot of mine because I remember many years ago when I was involved with a club that was unfashionable at the time but we had a very successful under 16 team. We had no players picked for the Mayo under 16's and when we asked why we were told that none of our players were good enough for the county team (this was a team that had won the league and cup double two years running) and one of these players went on to play for Ireland underage (but not good enough for Mayo).
    The Blue Moon is shining on the world tonight!!!!

Too right. For eaxample Ballinrobe players can make the leap from Div 1/premier league players straight into Super league teams - O'Malley, Kelly, Maloney, Burke, Alan Murphy, the other Murphy. Did these lads play for Mayo at underage level? There are many good players esp younger players in the lower leagues. These need an opportunity to be properly coached.
    Renovater you accuse Celtic of elitism and here you are at it yourself. Buy a mirror.
    As regards the super league each of the teams are there on merit having invested in pitches, coaching, training, etc.. Well done. Fair play. However the league, who overall are better than most leagues, need to spend more time in encouraging and in providing coaching for lower league teams. You need to train the trainers! This to be done in conjunction with the clubs. It is extremely hard for the likes of Mulranny, Glenhest, etc. to be able to get enough ex players, etc to take the coaching courses. Some help at a local level is needed. For example a course in Ballinrobe could involve B'Robe, Cross, Partry and Claremorris.
    YNWA

Sinabhuil I agree totally with what you are saying, I have watched a couple of Div 2 games this season and last.
    In particular 2 clubs jumped out who had massive potential but due to the lack of good coaching will prob not get to Premier or Super league. The first club would be Inver who I played against 2 or 3 years ago and really had a good brand of football, they have progressed well and could get further but without a good coaching system their young team will struggle to reach a high enough technical level to get there.

Another club, Clew Bay United, again played against them 3 years ago when they started out and we very very raw, and again this year and their improvement was immense, did not get promoted but I put this down to a GAA manager looking after them, if they had a right coach and trainer could progress no end.

A rep from each club should be invited to a coaching scheme, maybe this happens already??, but if it does not I could see this help them a lot

Here Here!

I agree totally. Its as simple as this........ why have the mayo squads never done any good???? Because they limit their disposal. Fair enough the superleague is the best Quaility league but that dosent mean that all the best players are there. What we are forgetting here is that this is not the premiership . Its not full of quaility players bought for and paid big money.The super league contains the teams in mayo whos squads have a "Majority of good players" while the lower league clubs may only have a few good players. However they are still good players. Any how the mayo team is clearly picked by local newspapers!!! Lets hope Mick wallace has a bit more cop on ! WE ARE AN AMATURE LEAGUE AND LETS REMEMBER THAT
    Last edited by pixiehead; 02/11/2006 at 1:11 PM.

Elaboration !!!!

Quote Originally Posted by mossy View Post
    Congrats to the Boro I must admit that I thought that ye were gonners but well done ye stuck at it.
    So it is down to S&F or the Heane, How the Heane are here after drawing twice with Celtic, Beating and drawing with the Port is beyond me. But make no doubt about it the table does not lie. They have a few players that are absolutely dreadfull, wouldn't control a ball in a month of Sundays with attitudes to boot. They need to avoid defeat at home to S&F to stay up and while drawing is their penchant they might find a rejunenated S&F too much too carry. What a Match to look forward too with all Celtic/Manulla/Port/MAFL hoping to see the back of the Heane !!!!!
    My point about the Boro is true. THEY ARE SAFE NOW
    Reason: They play Manulla and you better believe it when I tell you that this game will be thrown to high water and back for the manderins in Manulla would like nothing better to see their nemises - The Heane gone. Remember the Heane have lost to them only once on the last 19 occasions !!!!!!
    As for the Heane would they rather get relegated than have their fiercest rivals rescue them.....
    Could you imagine listening to chants in years to come of 'Only for us you'd be s??t', It would be reminiscent of English lager louts singing at their French hosts 'If it wasn't for us English you'd be Krauts'.........
    For the Heane I would presume that falling on one's own sword would be less painfull.........

Well done mick

Ciaran Kelly (Castlebar Celtic)

Martin McGreal (Westport Utd.)

Niall Gallagher (Ballyglass)

Joe Lawless (Westport Utd)

Seamus Higgins (Westport Utd.)

Declan Flynn (Snugboro)

Peter Burke (Ballyheane)

Pierce Loftus (Crossmolina)

Eoghan McHale (Westport Utd.)

Tommy Walsh (Manulla)

Andy Neary Castlebar Celtic)

James Gillespie (Glenhest Rovers)

Mark McGreal (Manulla)

Dave Cameron (Westport Utd.)

David Roughneen (Snugboro)

Johan Collins (Snugboro)

Philip Devers (Ballina Town)

Malachy Byrne (Manulla)

Gordon Carter (Swinford)

Charlie O’Donnell (Mulranny)

Eugene Gorman (Ballina Town)

Tom Molloy (Mulranny)

Sean McHale (Castlebar Celtic)

Derek Glynn (Claremorris)

Vinny O’Malley (Westport Utd.)

Dessie O’Malley (Westport Utd.)

Mick Duffy (Ballina Town)

Gary Price (Castlebar Celtic)

Ronan O’Boyle (Castlebar Celtic)
    This is the panel called up to the Mayo squad. Hats off to Wallace. There are some great Call ups here. I wont agree with all of them as im sure alot of you wont but i think all round its a good side. Happy to see..... Dave Roughneen, Derek Glynn, James Gilleispie and deffo Niall Gallagher!!! A victory for Common sence. What do yee think???

Huh

Reason: They play Manulla and you better believe it when I tell you that this game will be thrown to high water and back for the manderins in Manulla would like nothing better to see their nemises - The Heane gone. Remember the Heane have lost to them only once on the last 19 occasions !!!!!!
    As for the Heane would they rather get relegated than have their fiercest rivals rescue them.....
    Could you imagine listening to chants in years to come of 'Only for us you'd be s??t', It would be reminiscent of English lager louts singing at their French hosts 'If it wasn't for us English you'd be Krauts'.........
    For the Heane I would presume that falling on one's own sword would be less painfull.........
    I didnt realise they hated each that much.Eleborate please

Christmas cards are not shared between us !. However to say that they would throw a match against Snugboro would be a bit strong, I am sure the league would take a very dim view of this if it were to happen.

You playing for 2 clubs?

Quote Originally Posted by mgam1 View Post
    I played my last season with glenisland,i won't even talk about our season!!,have a few mates on town team and if they get a right manager - i hope to sign with them. Your right about moore,i heard that himself and the manager had a head to head about a knee injury he is carrying all season and that he was told to come back next season when it recovers because it will cripple him if he kept playing on with it.so who do you fancy to win the bbb's and heane game?
    i'll go for a heane win on penalty shootout!!!!!!!!

Strange that but you stated earlier you played for Charlestown? How is that figure?
    http://www.foot.ie/showpost.php?p=475818&postcount=103
    http://www.foot.ie/showpost.php?p=488627&postcount=173
    http://www.foot.ie/showpost.php?p=489977&postcount=184

Out of interest, your user name, is hardly Mark ga Moore???? Since you mention him in every post you make?? Go on tell us?

Irish Yop

Good spot Irish Yop. I had noticed that too. Seems to say how good the Castlebar Town 'keeper is in every post.

Ciaran Kelly (Castlebar Celtic)

Martin McGreal (Westport Utd.)

Niall Gallagher (Ballyglass)

Joe Lawless (Westport Utd)

Seamus Higgins (Westport Utd.)

Declan Flynn (Snugboro)

Peter Burke (Ballyheane)

Pierce Loftus (Crossmolina)

Eoghan McHale (Westport Utd.)

Tommy Walsh (Manulla)

Andy Neary Castlebar Celtic)

James Gillespie (Glenhest Rovers)

Mark McGreal (Manulla)

Dave Cameron (Westport Utd.)

David Roughneen (Snugboro)

Johan Collins (Snugboro)

Philip Devers (Ballina Town)

Malachy Byrne (Manulla)

Gordon Carter (Swinford)

Charlie O’Donnell (Mulranny)

Eugene Gorman (Ballina Town)

Tom Molloy (Mulranny)

Sean McHale (Castlebar Celtic)

Derek Glynn (Claremorris)

Vinny O’Malley (Westport Utd.)

Dessie O’Malley (Westport Utd.)

Mick Duffy (Ballina Town)

Gary Price (Castlebar Celtic)

Ronan O’Boyle (Castlebar Celtic)
    This is the panel called up to the Mayo squad. Hats off to Wallace. There are some great Call ups here. I wont agree with all of them as im sure alot of you wont but i think all round its a good side. Happy to see..... Dave Roughneen, Derek Glynn, James Gilleispie and deffo Niall Gallagher!!! A victory for Common sence. What do yee think???
    Delighted to see Dave Roughneed, Glynn and Niall "Shay Given" Gallagher. Not sure about Gillespie, will his verbal abuse of players and "kick the sh1T" out of the young lads tactics get him onto the team? At least he has been recognised for getting Glenhest their title.
    Glynn is a serious talent and deserves his chance, if Claremorris don't make it up this season he will move I expect.

Quote Originally Posted by irishyop View Post
    Strange that but you stated earlier you played for Charlestown? How is that figure?
    http://www.foot.ie/showpost.php?p=475818&postcount=103
    http://www.foot.ie/showpost.php?p=488627&postcount=173
    http://www.foot.ie/showpost.php?p=489977&postcount=184

Out of interest, your user name, is hardly Mark ga Moore???? Since you mention him in every post you make?? Go on tell us?
    Good work Sherlock Hee Hee

convicted on one count!!

firstly,i'm not moore.
    but i don't play for any soccer club(yet!).
    most of us have covered our identities on this website-and are entitled to do so.
    i have got the impression on this forum that if your not a player or manager within the league -then your opionion doesn't count.I'm a GAA man myself and ex celtic player.i've gone to alot of celtic and town games this season,so i'm in a position to give my opinions - for example i think the main reason celtic b have done so well the last few seasons is because of ****** obrien and castlebar town have transformed this year after only bringing in 4 players,one of which is moore -and they never had permanent keeper and he has made a difference - he is not super league standard -but can hold his own in the lower league. -as im given up on GAA-because the club is a shambles.and i hope to sign with town or celtic b next season, i'm waiting to see who is going to manage either teams.do you know who is in line to take celtic b team for next season?i heard flynn has left the town and that mad mick might take it over -is that a good thing i wonder?!? anyhow on a different note i see the mayo panel picked by m.wallace,bit surprised by collins inclusion.suppose he will add a bit of steal to the side.

also great to see Derek Glynn on mayo squad,seen him play this year a nd he is real live wire up front,i dont think claremorris would be in premier league without him!i see in a previous chat-he is been chased by celtic - is their any truth in that?

Quote Originally Posted by short_frank View Post
    For a man who likes to seem to be an expert on all things football you don't seem to understand that this is where being called into these squads will benefit these players. The step up in coaching, playing with players of a higher class. If these county managers cannot see a player with undouted raw skill that can be worked on then they shouldn't be in the job. This is after all a county team not a super league team. How many players have you seen being picked up by the bigger clubs from lower leagues and stepping straight in without looking out of place. We need to be developing players not just plodding along with the same players, because, there are some rough diamonds and some players who are as good a finished article as you would see in the super league.
    I am sorry if I am ranting a bit but this has always been an sore spot of mine because I remember many years ago when I was involved with a club that was unfashionable at the time but we had a very successful under 16 team. We had no players picked for the Mayo under 16's and when we asked why we were told that none of our players were good enough for the county team (this was a team that had won the league and cup double two years running) and one of these players went on to play for Ireland underage (but not good enough for Mayo).
    you seem to be more concerned that your club has been over looked.
    I will ask you one question when you as manager select players to play in a team would you go for raw talent as you put it.
    knowing that the next results means that you are out of the competition or do you go for the tried and trusted to get you in to the next round.
    knowing at the end of the day you will be judge on performance.
    the problem is these competitions they dont alow you the scobe to try out young players against a team who will play the best players available to them .
    this Oscar traynor is about winning, any manager who will select players from the lower leagues will be like lambs to the slaughter

Page 24 of 35 FirstFirst ... 14222324252634 ... LastLast