Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Matchday experience in Terryland

75 Posts

Wink

[QUOTE=thescoringgoals;537699]1:the girlfriend used the toilets in the ground on saturday night and said they were "disgusting".

The Toilets in Terryland are probably one of the best in the league and have just been freshly repainted so your girlfriend must have very high standards.I wonder what she would make of the facilities in Limerick !!!!!!!!!!!!

30 Posts
    [QUOTE=gufct;539276]
    Quote Originally Posted by thescoringgoals View Post
    1:the girlfriend used the toilets in the ground on saturday night and said they were "disgusting".

The Toilets in Terryland are probably one of the best in the league and have just been freshly repainted so your girlfriend must have very high standards.I wonder what she would make of the facilities in Limerick !!!!!!!!!!!!
    Or the unisex multipurpose galvanised wall in the far corner of Mels

[QUOTE=Ash;539302]
    Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post

Or the unisex multipurpose galvanised wall in the far corner of Mels
    Some of out lot used that last week. Those that came back were rather pale and weak after the experience.

What a crowd an atmosphere tonight eh?Must have been 150 singing in Section A-great stuff!!
    That's how to do it!

Come on UTD!!!!
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

conor and gufct,

conor :why do you think its a "horrible idea" to have words of songs/chants in the matchday program,are you concerned about our "rep" with other fans????if more fans knew the words they might join in and then we might have a rep for a very good atmosphere again.
    gufct:my g.f used the toliets beside the shop actually,they prob shouldnt be opened if theres other better ones nearby.
    decent result tonight,job done,but poor defending at times,like weak headers,bad passes,sliced clearences etc,we will be punished in our next 2 home games for those things.but we are joint top and it looks very good,well done to all the lads.

Well ddi you not think the atmosphere was brillaint tonight?About 150 singing in Section A-all together and all knew the words.if people want to know the words all they have to do is come down and pick them up.
    Saturday nights are crap for a match-hense the lack of atmosphere last week.But tonight showed how good we can be again and fair play to Niall o Reilly who was 1st to compliment the efforts made.We're top of the league with Rovers next in Terryland.A win in Limerick and there'll be 2000 - 2500 at the game.

Europe's Big Club.

the atmosphere tonight

was great,heard "the fields" a few times which was great to hear down there again,fair play to ye for getting more organised for it.
    there should be around 2500/3000 for the shams game IF we beat lim next week,ill def be making that trip next friday.we have to focus on that first.

55 Posts

Thumbs up good stuff

i was down the far end of the stand and could here the singin loud and clear, the new pa announcer was excellent and the music after the goal was an addition. At half time the music nearly blasted everyone out of their seats. A very impressive crowd 1260 (that was the tally at half time, a lot of the rugger crowd came over from the sportsground after their match) considering Connaught rugby were playing as well and the opposition was only mons. even a draw in limerick will guarantee a big rovers game. The defence needs to sort out the lapses in concentration. FAIR play to davie o dowd for a splendid goal and trojan effort

yes,could it be that the

board are reading these discussion forums or at least listening to the fans????,sounds like it anyway.yes the P.A dude was alot better,the music after we scored was good idea too and yes the music at h.t was heard in china i think.
    wes charles made a few mistakes but was generally good,why was m.o.d playing instead of ciaran????he didnt do much at all.

Didn't notice the music after we scored but i wouldn't be the biggest fan of that.Not criticising it just not my cup of tea.I think clubs where there is no atmosphere tend to do that more.

Europe's Big Club.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Conor H
    Oh then it will be
    "Dirty Dublin tenant"
    I wonder to whom that refers to?

Maybe your PA is bad now, but when we were there this season, we could certainly hear him. This was possible of course, by our fans been cornered into a fortified, restricted area during the game, 10 metres below loudspeakers.

We definitely heard the "THIS IS A PUBLIC SAFETY ANNOUNCEMENT" message referring to our 10-minute detention after the game. Three times he reminded us of the "ANNOUNCEMENT" in injury time.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

The fortified area you speak of is now being re-fortified after you lot
    damaged the sniper towers.

176 Posts

Elaborate?
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post

Elaborate?
    He's been smart.It's called sarcasm

Europe's Big Club.

Whoosh

ah conor thats not very nice, im sure they have sarcasm somewhere in dublin. i love sarcasm. i love rovers
    Homer: I'm gonna make sure these deliveries are made on time.
    Bart: Let me come with you
    Homer: Dont you have school!
    Bart: Dont you have work!
    Homer: Ah Touche!

thought they killed the music after a few seconds at half time when they realised it was toooo loud - probably could here me and friends cursing outside the media box

for some reason in the second half we could hear george michael being played in the commentary box - over and over!!
    more water!

yes,i could hear faint music from the loudspeakers

during the second half too,seemed kinda weird,i think it was u2 at 1 stage,maybe the new P.A guy hasnt got the hang of the equipment yet.
    also,it usually seems like a crehe in terryland during a match but last friday night seemed even worse for some reason with even more kids flying around the place then usual.

that faint music during the second half was coming from a house party behind the car park end, there was bout 6/7 lads out dancing on the roof, watching the game and listening to george michael.
    Salthill/Knocknacarra Gaa Official Website- http://www.salthillknocknacarragaa.ie/

Well done to Bernie O'Connell who organised a promotion in some city secondary schools for the game. This brought in a lot of U-18's, some with their parents.

Its always good to see supporters of any age in Terryland.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast