I have memories of watching Mexico 86...there was one game - i cant remember who was playing but i do remember the h/t analysis and the analysts (i'd swear it was Johnny Giles) lamenting that the ball was being played to or behind the player receiving it and how in the hell do players not know that they should pass it 5/10/whatever yards ahead of him... a tale as old as time...
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.
As bad as things are, and have been going (and might get), we still have a squad of decent players, playing at good levels. We are just far less than the sum of our parts.
Sometimes it feels like we are two midfielders short of being competitive. A midfielder like Szoboszlai for example would probably completely change this Ireland team.
A good coach/manager would obviously help, but maybe we also need to get away from picking the squad based mainly on which players are playing at the highest level. If we have a team of water carriers with nobody to dictate the play and be brave, we aren't going anywhere. I'm not particularly recommending we call up players from lower levels who fill the roles we need filled....but....ok I am a bit. Would Matt Healy or Dawson Devoy give us more balance than the various versions of Cullen/Knight we have available? Could they raise their game when surrounded by better players? We joked about Burke earlier in this thread but my jaysus I'd have trusted him to get on the ball and not be worried against the likes of Armenia. Our PL and Championship lads shat themselves.
I don't know. I really don't. If Jack Byrne was at his previous levels I'd be suggesting him but that's another story.
I said earlier that I think a well drilled LoI side would've done better against Armenia. Well Rovers in particular. They might have lost the game, but the manner in which we lost was so painful. We were a shambles. Maybe you couldn't pick a single player from the LoI or elsewhere and expect them to rise to the level, but maybe it's time to find a few square pegs for square holes and forget levels. Desperate stakes.
Or maybe not. It's very deflating.
Maybe Keane or Duff would instill a bit of pride back into them but there'd still be glaring holes in the team, however we set it up.
I don't think Robbie would want next nor near the Ireland job. And I would bet money there are people on this very forum who would not swap their 9 to 5 for the Ireland job. It is in its current state a deep whole from which there is no apparent escape.
we do lack in midfield but *ducks* loi level is still just way off whats required at international level imo. I also agree with d.delaneys analysis of the game. we were set up all wrong way too much space between the lines. midfielders arent mobile yet are expected to cover loads of ground because of the space we let open. surely we can find a manager who can mask cullens lack of legs? he doesnt look this bad for burnley. we definitely have the players to win that game last night comfortably by 2 goals.
Our father, Roy Keane, who art in Engerland, his Son, Damien Duff who doth be whereabouts unknown, and the Sacred Heart of Poverty herself, Robbie Keane, who always wanted to manage in Hungary, would make an interesting management trinity.
Mourinho God love him.. would get better results with that team.. they'd bore the hole off you.. but they'd be hard to beat
Same as Mick Mc Carthy teams.
3-5-2.. is a load of balls..
4-4-2.. keep it as simple as possible
I'm just sick of explaining to lads at work why we're so crap.. we need a Glen Whelan badly.. I'm sick of Cullen
A Kevin Kilbane cause I'm sick of Ogbene
James Mc Clean cause I'm sick of Doherty
Just a bit of fight at this stage
11 Roy Keanes is the answer.
All sorts of names being bandied about down the bus stop earlier. Podge and Rodge was a good one, I thought, but there's no way we could afford them both and sure how could ya pick one over the other?