Page 17 of 18 FirstFirst ... 715161718 LastLast

Thread: Armenia v Republic of Ireland - Tuesday, 9 September 2025 - 2026 World Cup Qualifier

391 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by seanfhear View Post
    I mean, it is debatable if Michael O'Neill would ever have been interested in managing the the 26 County team, but was he ever asked ? !
    No he was never asked. And not just because a 26 county team doesn't exist. But, for argument's sake, what would O'Neill do with the team that would be different to a Mick McCarthy? Been there, done that but everyone to their own.

36 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kingdom View Post
    We're firmly in the zone of revisionism, but everyone seems to revise the result against Spain, without considering the two groups games we drew. Staunton doesn't play, we beat Cameroon - in my opinion that is clear as day. Staunton over Cunningham was a bad move. And yes I'm biased by his managerial efforts subsequently.

Then we move into a different progression path. But this is crazy 23 years on
    mcateer admitted he lied about his fitness having hurt himself in saipan training game. steven reid and finnan were shamefully not used enough in that tournament. I'll have to watch the games back again. I find it interesting how people were either roy or mick when in reality they both behaved poorly

302 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    You're welcome to him, EG. I wouldn't want O'Neill near us, no offence like. Different levels of expectations. HH's record stands up against O'Neill's and its not good enough. 4-0 Finland, 5-1 Sweden are results that wouldn't really fly with us, but acceptable as a work-in-progress for ye.
    The key words from that being "expectation" and "progress".

Re the former, might it not be that ROI fans are being blinded by the quality of (certain) individual players available, such that you are greatly underestimating all the other aspects which need to be in place to build a consistently successful team? In other words your expectations are rather too high, at least for the present circumstances in which you find yourselves?

As for the latter, I think I'm right in saying that for that Sweden friendly, Michael picked (was forced to pick, actually) the youngest NI starting XI since 1945! Yet despite the result, which thanks to the individual brilliance of Isak and Elanga etc was rather harsh on NI, there were still positives to be taken from the exercise which have stood to us in matches since i.e. progress.

I bow to your superior knowledge of Iceland's national football team. I know who Lagerbäck's recommendation was to take over Sweden (before JDT was appointed). And hint - it wasn't Michael O'Neill.
    HH perhaps?

Anyhow, my own (minuscule) knowledge of Icelandic football suggests to me that the NT was in much better position when LL left than when he took over. With your own (infinitely superior) knowledge of such matters, would you say the same for HH's time in the job?

(As for HH's time with ROI, it's still too early to say, but thus far at least, it's not looking especially rosy. Unlike MO'N's time with NI)

636 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Razors left peg View Post
    So we are back on the new manager carrousel again? Im not saying we shouldnt be, but its soul destroying to even think of it!

If we are hunting, for me Robbie Keane is the only choice
    Would Robbie Keane want the job at this stage ? !

I wonder.

636 Posts
    No he was never asked. And not just because a 26 county team doesn't exist. But, for argument's sake, what would O'Neill do with the team that would be different to a Mick McCarthy? Been there, done that but everyone to their own.
    The Republic of Ireland is a the 26 County team, obviously.

619 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dynamo kerry View Post
    mcateer admitted he lied about his fitness having hurt himself in saipan training game. steven reid and finnan were shamefully not used enough in that tournament. I'll have to watch the games back again. I find it interesting how people were either roy or mick when in reality they both behaved poorly
    Finnan played every minute from half time against Cameroon to the best of my knowledge. He replaced McAteer at half time of first game and Kelly went right midfield.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,039 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by seanfhear View Post
    Would Robbie Keane want the job at this stage ? !

I wonder.
    Personally I think that Robbie might be the only one that might want it!
    Its really not that complicated!!!

391 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    Anyhow, my own (minuscule) knowledge of Icelandic football suggests to me that the NT was in much better position when LL left than when he took over. With your own (infinitely superior) knowledge of such matters, would you say the same for HH's time in the job?
    As my favourite manager of all time once said, you tell me.

(As for HH's time with ROI, it's still too early to say, but thus far at least, it's not looking especially rosy. Unlike MO'N's time with NI)
    Sweden lost to Kosovo the other night. Their Armenia. If you are rosy with that 5-1 result, our expectations are certainly on a different level.
    Last edited by ifk101; 10/09/2025 at 4:11 PM.

619 Posts
    Going back to the games (my previous message deleted for some reason), one huge problem we have is our passing from the back.
    So often, we pass the ball behind a player so that they have to go back and get it. All our momentum is gone then and the opposition has had a chance to regroup.

It’s baffling. It’s not like these lads can’t pass 20 yards into someone’s path.
    So often they pass it to where the player is instead of where he’s going to be in 2 seconds

It’s completely a psychological thing

3,544 Posts
    I will say one good thing about last night - it's great to see the life a crap result brings to the forum

Some very enjoyable and even therapeutic discussion over the past week, and the past 24 hours in particular

302 Posts
    As my favourite manager of all time once said, you tell me.
    I shall take that as a "No" then (answer to my question).

Sweden lost to Kosovo the other night. Their Armenia. If you are rosy with that 5-1 result, our expectations are certainly on a different level.
    Having watched the 5-1, I wasn't nearly so despondent as I might normally have been, simply because the performance from such a young team was better than the result (Sweden have some lethal finishers). And it was a friendly.

Which reflects my long-held expectation for NI teams that they simply give their all on the pitch, for the whole of the game. Thereafter let the results follow as they will.

And you? Your expectations for ROI these days?
    Last edited by EalingGreen; 10/09/2025 at 4:48 PM.

391 Posts
    Re the former, might it not be that ROI fans are being blinded by the quality of (certain) individual players available, such that you are greatly underestimating all the other aspects which need to be in place to build a consistently successful team? In other words your expectations are rather too high, at least for the present circumstances in which you find yourselves?
    In this spoken in your capacity as a Glentoran/ Spurs fan that watches Brentford and supports the North? If so, I suppose we all need to listen. Because this voice can speak with authority. This voice knows quality and knows what it takes to build a consistently successful team.

243 Posts
    The manager is the issue Mark, that’s the way it works. He picks the team. He could have picked a totally different starting 11, and that selection of players would be better than that what’s available to Armenia. Jeez he could have even selected a team all from Cork, and that selection would be better than what’s available to Armenia.
    I agree totally that the players we have are (on paper at least) better than all of those available to Armenia. Just like they were better than Luxembourg, Finland, Cyprus etc. But they don't play like better players. You could have had Mourinho on the sideline for Ireland yesterday and it wouldn't make a difference

636 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mark12345 View Post
    I agree totally that the players we have are (on paper at least) better than all of those available to Armenia. Just like they were better than Luxembourg, Finland, Cyprus etc. But they don't play like better players. You could have had Mourinho on the sideline for Ireland yesterday and it wouldn't make a difference
    Mourinho giving the world both barrels after that game, would be good entertainment though ! !

619 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mark12345 View Post
    One of the Armenian midfielders looked like yer man from Future Islands. And he was bossing us around.

302 Posts
    In this spoken in your capacity as a Glentoran/ Spurs fan that watches Brentford and supports the North? If so, I suppose we all need to listen. Because this voice can speak with authority. This voice knows quality and knows what it takes to build a consistently successful team.
    Play the ball, not the man.

Oh, and it's NI, not "the North" btw.

619 Posts
    Play the ball, not the man.

Oh, and it's NI, not "the North" btw.
    Well it’s not NI though is it?
    It’s Northern Ireland.

I will also accept Awr Wee Contray with a pic of a fleg somewhere

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,039 Posts
    If we move past the conversations about how the FAI set up and grass roots coaching is awful etc and just focus on the players on the pitch in the last 2 games, how much do we blame the manager? My initial reaction yesterday was that we should be beating Armenia regardless of who the manager is, and I still think that is true to a point. But when we look at the 2 games combined in this window there is no doubt that there is a passiveness with the players on the pitch and a lack of urgency. The way we started the game against Hungary was just as bad as the 90 mins in Armenia, and it could be said that we only got a tune out of the players in the 2nd half because of the red card and how loud the crowd were getting behind them.

Maybe the manager is too passive and that leaks through to the players? The signs have been there since the beginning. In his first games he was happy to sit back and let JOS take the lead against England, using the excuse that he didnt really know the players. He had a month to learn them before that 1st window. Ive never heard of any manager not wanting to take charge immediately and asserting their authority. Even if we look before that, when he was hired he didnt bring in any of his own men to the coaching staff, he was happy to go with whoever Canham wanted, again this is very unusual and maybe should have been a big of a red flag to us that he isnt a very strong character.

I bought in, Hallgrimson comes across very well in interviews, and I wanted to believe that he was good. But maybe his passiveness in how he has gone about the job has gotten through to the players on the pitch.

And also... JOS has now been the head coach for 2 separate managers where we look badly coached. Can someone get him as far away from us as possible. Incidentally, another nice guy who doesnt want to ruffle feathers!
    Its really not that complicated!!!

302 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fixer82 View Post
    Well it’s not NI though is it?
    It’s Northern Ireland.
    I had thought the accepted/accurate abbreviation would have sufficed, but if you want to go to the trouble of typing out the full name, then be my guest. Ditto "Republic of Ireland" (or "ROI" for short).

Either way it doesn't bother me, in fact someone customarily going to the trouble of typing "the North" reveals a useful sign of a petty mind. While capitalising it with an "N" betrays a lack of consistency, even intelligence, perhaps.

420 Posts
    Lads we must stay together at times like these.

Page 17 of 18 FirstFirst ... 715161718 LastLast