Worst part is Mamardashvili will go out on loan while Kelleher spends another year fetching the balls to warm up Alisson.
He has nobody to blame but himself, he's always been far, far too comfortable there.
As a career choice, it couldn't be playing out much worse than this.
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.
Worst part is Mamardashvili will go out on loan while Kelleher spends another year fetching the balls to warm up Alisson.
He has nobody to blame but himself, he's always been far, far too comfortable there.
It seems a bit pessimistic given he had ten league appearances last season alone. He has about 60 senior appearances, not 10. I know how you like not to appear biased, razor.
It does feel like a critical moment for Kellagher, but there's an awful lot of panic above. Did anyone expect Liverpool to sell him without securing a replacement first? Especially after the season already started. A move in the near future looks likely now. If it doesn't materialise, then I'll worry.
You can't spell failure without FAI
Yeah he got more game time last season with Alissons injury and he looked really good .... and then the very next transfer window they sign his replacement. Unless he gets a move in the next week or two I don't know how anyone can spin it at as a positive
Its really not that complicated!!!
He has played 15 league games in his entire career. There can't be many active 25/26 year professional players in world football with that record.
The near future looks like being next summer now does it not? At which point he's only about five or so years from being known as "veteran goalkeeper Caoimhin Kelleher".
Last edited by Eirambler; 21/08/2024 at 12:53 PM.
How do you define the near future? If he gets out this window and its a positive step then I think we can call off the hounds alright but my biggest worry is that Mamardashvili's loaning back out to Valencia means that Kelleher is stuck on the bench for another season. After many, many seasons of being stuck on the bench. That's why I think staying with Liverpool and, for sure, not going out on loan for even one of those seasons, have been terrible choices for his career.
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.
I don't think there's anyone here who wouldn't prefer to see him out of Liverpool this window.
Just realised that there's every chance he'll have more international caps than he has played league games by the end of the next international period in September. He's currently on 15 league games and has 14 international caps. You might occasionally get that with a star teenager from a small country but for a 25, going on 26 year old that's a pretty incredible situation.
Right. But you said there was unnecessary panic in some of the messages. There is a week and a half left until the transfer window slams shut and there is nothing about a CK move (other than a very tenuous rumour linking him to Juve). Its enough to be worried about at this point.
If he stays fit he'll likely have more Ireland caps than club appearances this season. We've 8 games this season and even if Bazunu comes back as Southampton no.1 when fit if Kelleher plays all six NL games could assume HH will keep him as no.1 if his performances have been good.
If Allison doesn't get injured I can see Kelleher making 0 appearances for Liverpool. Because surely it benefits Liverpool more if Jaros plays the EFL cup games and select few FA cup games against weaker opposition.
I think I seen somewhere thar Aaron Ramsdale is going to Wolves, so that's another potential outlet gone. Kelleher is 26 in November, and has played and grand total of 47 games of football for Liverpool, with 15 of those being in the League. He's in the last year of his contract and Liverpool are still apparently asking north of 20 million for him.Why is he not making more noise and forcing his way out? Players force moves all the time.
Time is tight, sure, but I'd argue three points. First, his replacement wasn't hired for no reason; Liverpool now have not only the option but in FFP rules incentive to move him on. Second, yes there hasn't been much noise, but not every transfer is telegraphed in the media. Third, I agree it's a matter of concern that there's not much time left in the window, but I'd distinguish between concern and panic. I think he'll go in this window, or possibly in one of the next two. I'd rather it were sooner so he's playing, especially with Bazunu injured (I think; it's been a while since I heard an update there). Kellagher's been in this position for several years to one degree or another. This window or the next won't matter in the long run. The important thing is he finally seems to have lost patience with benchwarming.
Not sure who this Kellagher lad is you keep speaking of John, but theres been noises around Kelleher getting moves every summer in the last few years. I hope that this is the time he actually does it, but I'll believe it when I see it.
Ramsdale, who is only 6 months older than Kelleher has played 167 more club games, and hes not even a lad playing regularly all the time!
I hope you’re right on points 1 & 2 above. You’re right that it is still viable. On point 3, I’ll say I didn’t read much panic in the posts (incl my own!) just a sense of exasperation on how this could play out.
I really hope he goes now. Hes already at a disadvantage with the season started across the board. January windows are a bust in general now and even more so for keepers. Next year he’ll be no further ahead (in that another season on the bench more or less) doesn’t make him any more attractive to potential buyers.
To be fair I thinks its a no brainer that Kelleher is our first choice keeper through the Autumn games, O'Leary should probably get a cap but Kelleher would be the undisputed #1 until Bazunu gets back playing. Im assuming we have games in March/April next year, if Kellehers situation remains as it is now and Bazunu is playing Premiership football, that again would be a no brainer for Bazunu to be our 1st choice in my opinion.
Travers and O'Leary are unlucky to have those two lads in front of them, but I dont see either really establishing themselves for us unless Kelleher stays a sub keeper long term and Bazunus injury causes him to regress