Results 1,281 to 1,300 of 1991

Thread: Caoimhín Kelleher GK Brentford b.1998

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    It's taken him 4 years to make an indefensible howler, for club or country. I'm sure most goalkeepers would admit that one howler every 4 years isn't a terrible record.

At least it didn't end up in the net, unlike what often happens when Allison or Bazunu have theirs.
    Ive never made a mistake in 25 years of Professional football and Kelleher has only played 24 club games more than me!
    Its really not that complicated!!!

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    982 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    It's taken him 4 years to make an indefensible howler, for club or country. I'm sure most goalkeepers would admit that one howler every 4 years isn't a terrible record.

At least it didn't end up in the net, unlike what often happens when Allison or Bazunu have theirs.
    The way he's going he'll retire with four howlers so, maybe three, at his rate of games. Absolute nonsense post.

In other news I've decided to retire from the world of heavyweight boxing myself. Undefeated.

2,796 Posts
    That's as bad a miss as I've seen since the infamous Ronny Rosenthal miss I think.
    the miss reminded me of something at the time but I couldn’t remember what. Now it’s come back to me. Hourihane in Slovakia, almost certainly to win the tie. 80% of the goal to hit, but no, hit it straight at the defender. Toulouse guy’s was worse but similar I think.

410 Posts
    my god, now he's better than Allison?

3,494 Posts
    I'm amused that people still take my post seriously enough to respond to.

(While acknowledging I haven't fully gotten the hang of not rising to his posts either)

410 Posts
    I'm amused that people still take my post seriously enough to respond to.

(While acknowledging I haven't fully gotten the hang of not rising to his posts either)
    I was gonna say something similar but....I'm weak stu.

Been a few decades now. Relentless.

812 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bungle View Post
    You obviously didn’t read my original post. I don’t support any English club. I like to see our lads playing at the biggest clubs and that includes both Liverpool or United.
    You obviously didn't read my post either. I, a moderator, have no opinion on your allegence to any club team, but I do have an opinion on you stirring **** by accusing half the forum of ulterior motives in their discussion. Cut it out. Address what people actually post, or don't post at all.
    You can't spell failure without FAI

156 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    You obviously didn't read my post either. I, a moderator, have no opinion on your allegence to any club team, but I do have an opinion on you stirring **** by accusing half the forum of ulterior motives in their discussion. Cut it out. Address what people actually post, or don't post at all.
    I’m not stirring ****. I’m just giving my opinion that a large section of our fan base may be Irish fans first but have club allegiances that impact their views on players.

I come on here to read the many good posts from some great posters. I couldn’t give a **** about your view as a moderator. A man I don’t know or will never know. Forums are a place for discussion and if you don’t like what I said, fair enough, but don’t be a knobhead about it either.

410 Posts
    There's something so tragic about an Irish football fan thinking that other Irish football fan's perceived bias towards a certain player could only come down to being influenced by rivalry between two clubs in England.

Christ on a Vespa.

There are Liverpool fans on here who think Kelleher is great because Klopp has told them so. That's about the strength of it. Everyone else just wants the lad to play football and it has zero to do with their support for any team, English or otherwise.

116 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ontheotherhand View Post
    There's something so tragic about an Irish football fan thinking that other Irish football fan's perceived bias towards a certain player could only come down to being influenced by rivalry between two clubs in England.

Christ on a Vespa.
    It’s so very… Irish?

215 Posts

Christ on a Vespa.

There are Liverpool fans on here who think Kelleher is great because Klopp has told them so. That's about the strength of it. Everyone else just wants the lad to play football and it has zero to do with their support for any team, English or otherwise.
    Not exactly "the strength of it." As an LFC fan, I too would rather he moved on to get more playing time, but it's a bit glib to say that he's only rated because Klopp told us he's good. My argument is with those who take every opportunity to say he isn't any good and should be behind Travers in the pecking order.

410 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by third policeman View Post
    Not exactly "the strength of it." As an LFC fan, I too would rather he moved on to get more playing time, but it's a bit glib to say that he's only rated because Klopp told us he's good. My argument is with those who take every opportunity to say he isn't any good and should be behind Travers in the pecking order.
    Maybe slightly exaggerated for effect but Klopp's praise has been consistently put forward as evidence of Kelleher's talent. Managers back their players. Well most managers outside of Joey Barton and Trap.

That said, nobody should be saying he isn't any good. He's shown enough glimpses of real ability and also a few flaws. His injury record is odd for a keeper who doesn't play much as well. This should have been the season he broke through though. Bazunus had his struggles. An ambitious player would have forced a move, taken the Irish #1 jersey and proved the doubters wrong.

Hopefully we aren't still in this circular debate next season. Maybe the new Irish manager will make a change and Kelleher will put himself in the shop window playing for Ireland.

International Prospect Razors left peg's Avatar
    1,001 Posts
    Maybe slightly exaggerated for effect but Klopp's praise has been consistently put forward as evidence of Kelleher's talent. Managers back their players. Well most managers outside of Joey Barton and Trap.

That said, nobody should be saying he isn't any good. He's shown enough glimpses of real ability and also a few flaws. His injury record is odd for a keeper who doesn't play much as well. This should have been the season he broke through though. Bazunus had his struggles. An ambitious player would have forced a move, taken the Irish #1 jersey and proved the doubters wrong.

Hopefully we aren't still in this circular debate next season. Maybe the new Irish manager will make a change and Kelleher will put himself in the shop window playing for Ireland.
    This is a good post. I'd probably be one of the most critical of Kelleher on here and I never said hes not any good, but I have said we dont know if hes good!

Its obvious hes good with ball at his feet and he can make some good saves so he has talent, but when I say we dont know if hes good I mean, as Ive said before, we dont know if hes good over the course of the ups and downs of a full season of football. Theres more to being a keeper than just making a save.

Bazunu was getting some stick at start of season, to the point were his manager had to slap down some fans at meeting to say that Bazunu wasnt their problem. He has shown that he has a good strong mindset to come though that and things have been better lately, not perfect but the lad is still so young that all these experiences will only make him better.

Kelleher is 25 next month and has never had to deal with adversity, never had to deal with a dip in form by him or his defenders and then finding a way through it. Right now hes going the Kevin Long route of having a career in football without ever having to play football much. Fair play its a great job, but as Ireland fans we want more from him than that. Id love a genuine goalkeeper competition between 2 or 3 of our keepers playing great stuff every week and there being a stupidly hard decision to be made by the Ireland manager of who plays.
    Its really not that complicated!!!

626 Posts
    Saw highlights of the win over Bournemouth - made two very decent saves (including one to stop a worldie that he always seems to face) and looked lost under two corners (admittedly in driving wind and rain)

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    982 Posts
    He made the Carabao Cup team of the round 11 on their twitter feed, they credit the Who Scored ratings system for their selections.

662 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by samhaydenjr View Post
    Saw highlights of the win over Bournemouth - made two very decent saves (including one to stop a worldie that he always seems to face) and looked lost under two corners (admittedly in driving wind and rain)
    Yeah - thought there were three crosses where he struggled, when watching live (in Portuguese). Only realised when watching the highlights later that it was gale force winds carrying the ball, which is fairly mitigating circumstances. In context, the winds were such that Liverpool's plane was unable to take off that night and they ended up having to get a coach arriving at something like 6am.

491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by elatedscum View Post
    Yeah - thought there were three crosses where he struggled, when watching live (in Portuguese). Only realised when watching the highlights later that it was gale force winds carrying the ball, which is fairly mitigating circumstances. In context, the winds were such that Liverpool's plane was unable to take off that night and they ended up having to get a coach arriving at something like 6am.
    Typical kelleher he couldn't even fly the plane in a bit of wind

630 Posts
    In-fairness he does have a bit of time on his hands to become a pilot
    Quote Originally Posted by liamoo11 View Post
    Typical kelleher he couldn't even fly the plane in a bit of wind

24. Thanks From:

944 Posts
    Surely you mean co-pilot?
    Hello, hello? What's going on? What's all this shouting, we'll have no trouble here!
    - E Tattsyrup.

26. Thanks From:

630 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eminence Grise View Post
    Surely you mean co-pilot?
    Bench Pilot !

Page 65 of 100 FirstFirst ... 1555636465666775 ... LastLast