Page 32 of 89 FirstFirst ... 2230313233344282 ... LastLast

Thread: 2023 Season, Arrivals and Departures

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bohtastic View Post
    On Burt, I can't see how he won't be a success. Pains me to say it but of all the players that have jumped ship Burt has been the most consistently impressive.
    Really hope I'm wrong.
    Have to agree with this. He was good for us bar that period when he seemed to have fallen out with Long and we were ****e in general. If he hit the heights again that he did at Bohs he’ll be a very good signing.

68 Posts
    Is there any particular reason why fans of other clubs are getting there knickers in a twist over Rovers signing Kenny? The Sligo fan reaction on Facebook is hilarious, half the fan base seem to be chewing on lemons.

Good god the chap is essentially a kid. These days it only takes an excellent season or two in the LOI to get noticed and picked up by UK clubs again.

Also if so many people think he won’t get 10 minutes all season why are they so bothered and evidently worried about him signing for Rovers then?

430 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sulywaterfordfc View Post
    Is there any particular reason why fans of other clubs are getting there knickers in a twist over Rovers signing Kenny? The Sligo fan reaction on Facebook is hilarious, half the fan base seem to be chewing on lemons.

Good god the chap is essentially a kid. These days it only takes an excellent season or two in the LOI to get noticed and picked up by UK clubs again.

Also if so many people think he won’t get 10 minutes all season why are they so bothered and evidently worried about him signing for Rovers then?
    Football fans love a pantomine villan,some Sligo fans have got one now and it'll add a bit of extra spice to the first game back if nothing else,dont really understand what other clubs fans are annoyed at though.....
    Irish by birth ,Harps by the grace of god.

186 Posts
    Sligo's biggest rivals are Rovers apparently. Its very much a one way street in that regard, but hey ho whadda you know.

698 Posts
    Victor Serdeniuk signed for Longford after his short spell at Rovers.
    He looked hopelessly off the pace in the matches he played for rovers , even the last match against UCD.
    Maybe with a full preseason he can make an impact at Longford, you could hardly call his preparation ideal before he signed for Rovers

1,104 Posts
    He must have shown some level of ability to get a contract and play a few games. It's fair to say he'll be stepping down a couple of levels so he might be useful for us.

862 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    He must have shown some level of ability to get a contract and play a few games. It's fair to say he'll be stepping down a couple of levels so he might be useful for us.
    He's played very little first team football and he's 26. Not sure I'm overly excited

1,104 Posts
    I'm too old and jaded to be excited by any signings these days. Plus my expectations for the season are not especially high at the moment anyway. He can't be any worse than some of the lads we've had over the years.

Thought it was a publicity thing when Rovers signed him and nothing I saw after that changed my o-inion

Danny McGrath and Nickson Okosun both sign professional terms with Bohs. Not sure how much first team minutes both will see with them being 16 but Okosun is very highly regarded.

With Matt Connor back at Waterford, is that Brian Murphy retired?

186 Posts
    Whispers of Trevor Clarke coming back to Rovers, but dunno if it'll come to pass.

698 Posts
    Based on some of the comments about him from his tosser of a manager in the Press a couple of months ago I half expected at least a rumour if not an actual transfer. Would love that tbh, ready made replacement for Lyons

While it probably makes sense for Clarke to move back to Rovers, given his injuries the last few seasons probably won't be getting back the player you lost though.

Having said that if the wages aren't too high he is prob worth a punt

146 Posts
    boylan back to sligo, they must be desperate.

430 Posts
    Signing Boylan would worry you if you were a Sligo fan, decent athlete but not much of a footballer tbh....

410 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bunny Kelly View Post
    While it probably makes sense for Clarke to move back to Rovers, given his injuries the last few seasons probably won't be getting back the player you lost though.

Having said that if the wages aren't too high he is prob worth a punt
    That'd be the worry alright. I'm not sure he was the same player even after coming back from the ACL injury while he was with us and other issues have occurred since the move. Bristol fans seem to think he did fairly well when he actually played (contrary to their manager to be fair) so maybe he can come back and do a job but we have a fair few injury prone left backs already.

Still, a great player at this level if we can get him fit and we do need cover there. He's a different option to Kavanagh. I'd hate to see him sign for another LoI club.
    21 leagues and 25 cups.

698 Posts
    i cant find it on twitter but Clarke took out Mountney in a match in Tallaght against Dundalk with a "tackle" that had to be seen to be believed , right in front of the benches, both benches were up and both unsurprisingly had different views from "he got the ball" to "call the Guards"

That and a couple of great Derby goals put him in my good books.
    I suppose if we had him, Farrugia and Kavanagh one of them might be fit at any given time

Would echo ontheotherhand, hate to see him at another LOI club

410 Posts
    That tackle was.....cough....a throwback to a bygone era. Trev got clattered himself a fair amount but I think he may have taken it all out on Mountney that time. It pops up online once in a while and makes me wince.

698 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ontheotherhand View Post
    That tackle was.....cough....a throwback to a bygone era. Trev got clattered himself a fair amount but I think he may have taken it all out on Mountney that time. It pops up online once in a while and makes me wince.
    In fairness to Mountney he got up quick enough and didnt do the 6 rollovers, i'll tyr and find the link again

Page 32 of 89 FirstFirst ... 2230313233344282 ... LastLast