Good to see a decision was made - finally - interesting choice of username![]()
Just heard that there's no playoff, glin and kildimo up, carrig down, rule introduced starting next season that playoff will decide promotion if a B team wins a league, which could very well happen next season given the quality of Rathkeale B throughout the season across the competitions. Fair play to Abbey, saw win against Moyross, totally dominated.
Good to see a decision was made - finally - interesting choice of username![]()
Has there been a meeting to decide that? Do glin and kildimo still have to playoff for 2nd and 3rd?
Hi guys, any news on that playoff situation in Desmond league? Is Desmond cup final on tonight??
Desmond Cup final is next Saturday evening. Glin B beat Broadford B 4-1 in Div 3 League Cup final last Friday evening. There was a piece in Carrig notes in paper this week about the promotion/relegation situation. There was no rule in place about Division 1 being won by a B team and who would then be promoted/relegated so Carrig approached the 3rd place team looking for a play off but they refused so Carrig accepted relegation. Glin and Kildimo did finish level on points so I don't know if they will playoff for runnerup medals ?
Live coverage of the cup final tomorrow evening on West Limerick 102FM from 6.45.
Best of luck to both teams tonight, it should be good game of ball as both teams play the game in right manner. I always like Desmond cup night as it's a night anything can happen out there, I remember kilcolman taking a serious ratkeale to reply an likewise at itas to ncw an glin be beating a much fancied ncw a few yrs back.. Hopefully a crowd turns up to support an are not ripped off at the gate..
Treble for Abbey, won 3-1.
Well done to abbeyfeale on an excellent season an also to ratkeale B on a brill season, I was at the game sat nite, I thought ratkeale worked their socks off but abbey always looked in control wit out playing the same way I say them against moyross and ncw rovers. I'm sure they will not be too bothered though. Is that the season finally over in Desmond lge.. On a seperate note, I was talking to an old buddy of mine an he told me the over 35s were cancelled due to Desmond lge committee not allowing it over insurance. I could not believe they would stop so many people that has giving so much to the game out there playing what was always a very enjoyable couple of wks... SHAME ON YOU COMMITTEE. Looks like it was one farce after another in last few months! Rant over. Well done to all winning teams this season, enjoy break
Yeah great season for Abbeyfeale winning the treble not often done, on top of that reaching the last 8 of the Munster Junior.
Fair play to Rathkeale B too, great season for them Div 1 winners and Desmond Cup finalists...
Personally delighted to see Askeaton win Div 2, hopefully they can challenge in Division 1 next season.
On a side note great win for the Desmond League team yesterday in UL against Donegal in the Kennedy Cup!
Ya and they beat cork 2 nil an won 4-1 this eve to too the group so well done to all players managers involved
Well done to the players & management is right.
They're Playing Dundalk at 1pm today in the quarters... flying the Limerick flag!
Desmond beat Dundalk 3-0, now play Kerry (who beat Galway 2-0) in the semi final tomorrow at 1 o'clock.
Deadly stuff!
Nil all half time, Kerry were better team in 1st half.. Big crowd here in ul
Lost 11-10 on Pens... I think, lost count!! played in front of a great crowd at the 'UL Bowl'.
Played very well in the second half, equalising almost straight away after falling behind.
Then Kerry were reduced to 10, after their keeper was sent off (deservedly) Desmond were well on top.
Bryan Nix very unlucky with a free kick off the bar & soon after a great header (couldn't see who) JUST wide.
The lottery of penalties is a terrible way to decide the winners of such a great game and the Semi-final of an All Ireland especially.. both keepers pulled off great saves... Kerry prevailed.
Well done to all, they played exceptionally well & hopefully can win the 3rd/ 4th place match tomorrow... regardless of the result what an achievement by all concerned! Well Done.
Ya I agree with that, very harsh way to loose after great performance, ddsl to win it anyway but well done to all for such an enjoyable game of ball. The only problem now for managers of clubs at that age group in Desmond is trying to stop clubs like kilcornan trying to sign up ther players!!
Kilcornan?? Poachers?? Thats a new one. Im pretty sure they didnt even have an under 16 team this season, so they didnt do a very good job of poaching kennedy cup players last year.
Any truth that ye are joining Kildimo this year Langerdan?
I was fairly surprised to see the suggestion myself being honest if anything we've been ravaged over the years by bringing through young lads and losing them when we get to junior level.
No truth in Kildimo Nathan but there is moves to join with another club. I'm not sure what stage of discussion we're at yet though.
Its good to see ye looking to join I think. If a few more teams did it we would have a much more competitive league. The likes of Kildimo/Pallas Granagh/Ballingarry. Im guessing ye are going with Adare. That would be a few strong amalgamations around that area with shannonside and GB rovers. With the exception of abbeyfeale, NCW, Rathkeale and Broadford I think most teams need it to be bigger and better teams and more competitive outside of limerick
If nothing else it will increase yer poaching power.
Will ye hold on to the Kilcornan lads from Kennedy cup?