First time I've heard carrig, kildimo and glin mentioned in the same breath as Real Madrid!!
I remember few years ago real Madrid's second team (real Madrid castilla) or something like that, well they came 1st,2nd or 3rd in the second division (i cant rememeber) and couldn't get promoted because Real Madrid were in the LA Liga. The team below them went up and there was no playoff with a team that got relegated from the premier. Carrig got relegated this year so should rightly go down to the second division and rightly so.
First time I've heard carrig, kildimo and glin mentioned in the same breath as Real Madrid!!
Who do ye think will go up.i think kildimo will beat glin 3-0 at least.carrig will also beat them. I have said in the past kildimo facilities aren't up to standard,But those that mean they should not go up.cop on.
I was talking about the situation mad4it. I think glin will beat kildimo but glin vs carrig is a close one to call
Saw glin 5 times this year,only once before Christmas .by far a better team before Christmas , I was very surprised they finished 3rd after the last 4 times I saw them.Saw kildimo a good few times. If kildimo turn up with a full team,I can't see them losing.as for carrig I'd say they would want glin
Last edited by old man; 16/05/2015 at 9:09 AM.
In my mind bottom 2 go down, top 2 go up. Glin or
Kildimo won't finish in te top 2 so why do they deserve a place in the premier instead of carrig.
I've heard that the match off tomorrow as both Kildimo & Glin are refusing to play (and rightly so), any truth in this?
What a load of, that playoff is to find out who finished 2nd or 3rd which would have to happen anyway,
Premier league cup final
Abbeyfeale 2-2 Carrig
Abbey win 5-4 on pens
Did Glin and Kildimo play yesterday?
As I understand PatRooney it didnt - Tricky I know technically its to decide 2nd/3rd in the league but if its played it would give the league the chance to fix a "Relegation Final" between the 3rd placed team and Carrig - i think the 2 clubs are right to stand together on the issue rather than let the loser fight it out on their own!
I dont understand why the relegated team is getting the huge advantage in this situation.
I have no idea how the season panned out for Carrig but I think its fair to say not very well since they were 2nd last
Again I dont know how their squad was throughout but potentially they could have lost key players to GAA/work/myriad of other reasons and as a result didnt secure enough points to stay up BUT now they have a one off game where potentially if they had fellas missing for a large chunk of games get them back in for the relegation final and possibly stay up!
Glin/Kildimo on the other hand have accumulated 38 points each, they've had to maintain their form over an extended period to keep themselves up and around the top of their table and ultimately been 2nd and 3rd and now all that consistent effort can be wiped away by a playoff that appeared out of nowhere at the end of the season.
Doesn't seem right really
To me it doesn't seem right to have a 3rd place team being promoted either. As mentioned in a previous post, what if 4 B teams finished in the top 4 positions. Would it be right for a 5th & 6th place team to get promoted? Desmond league got it wrong by not having something in place for a scenario like this but the playoff seemed like the right solution and I am guessing they got this idea from other leagues around Munster. Doesn't look like anything is going to happen anytime soon. Bit of a sour taste at the end of the season.
Langerdan007 stop talking so much sense, no place for that here!!
Carrig have lost on pens to Abbey in both the Desmond Cup & League Cup... Abbey who now have a chance of the treble, so are obviously not a bad side. I was very surprised they were in the position they were, don't know what happened there.
Really need this sorted sooner rather than later though, reminds me of a few seasons ago when Rathkeale put in an objection in relation to the Desmond Cup... the season will be dragging on for the 3 teams concerned 'do we go training, do we need too, have a GAA match that weekend, Holidays etc. it's just a mess at this stage!
Whats gonna happen if neither Glin nor Kildimo decide to play?
All clubs should go on strike in support of Kildimo and Glin
I am sorry but a third placed team could finish 10 points behind second, or if 4 or 5 b teams come top of the first division then team 6 and 7 go up!!! It is def unfortunate for all teams involved, I would like to see the playoffs as they would be very interesting games
So we have heard what people think is "fair" and what is right for humanity etc. etc, but does anyone actually know what the rules state on this issue?
All this does is overshadow the fact that Abbeyfeale are one game away from completed an unprecedented treble, I cant imagine that this has been done many times before.
Apologies if i have offended anyone in my most recent post.
I'm told there is no rule snafu but there must be something in the league rules
I understand the argument about what if there were 4 or 5 B teams who couldn't go up and that 4th or 5th in a division doesn't really deserve to go up but if they win a playoff does that make them worthy?
Actually there was talk earlier about goal difference not counting - ya there can be some "weird" score's due to a number of things that could skew the goal difference but was it ever considered to use the Head to Head to separate teams???
Fair play to Abbey so far - is that Desmond Cup Final on this weekend?
I think broadford, rathkeale or Newcastle West won did the treble few year ago