Page 7 of 14 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo League Premier A 2014

Quote Originally Posted by swinfordfc View Post
    Ask your player did he handled the ball into the goal? - I spoke to the guy after the game - lovely lad by the way and he said it was instinct but he did handled the ball. It was a great game between two decent sides and they wasn't much between the two sides. Partry Ath are a decent side and their position on the table is not a true reflection of how well they can play. Best of luck for the rest of the season - Ciaran Hennelly is a massive loss - how is his ankle?
    Still no news of when he will be back. We are really missing him in the middle. The injuries and work commitments of our experienced players are hitting us hard but the only way is up as they say. I was talking to him today and fair play he did say it went off his hand so I take that one back. I think after seeing a few of the teams in the division that Westport and Swinford will be seriously pushing for the top not discounting Ballyglass as we haven't met them yet.
    The Blue Moon is shining on the world tonight!!!!

Yes we have seen both ballyglass and swinford and Id they they should pull away soon, with Westport leading the chasing pack

51 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by purplemonkeydis View Post
    Yes we have seen both ballyglass and swinford and Id they they should pull away soon, with Westport leading the chasing pack
    Oh the rock from the parish of the backs speak - I always said ye (Conn Rangers) will be in the mix and i stand by that!

The last few years Swinford have constantly been in strong positions in the league so they have earned the right to be mentioned as 'pack leaders' but based on the games against Killala I don’t know why. Killala are not particularly strong this year but yet Swinford didn’t cause them too much trouble a few weeks ago (result 2-2). If it wasn’t for a gammy penalty and a sloppy corner Killala would have won the game. Even last year Swinford didn’t create too much from open play and if I remember it was only 1-0 and 2-0 losses. Now on the other hand - teams like Partry, Ballyglass and Westport always cause Killala much more trouble and in my opinion are more superior to Swinford (on the pitch). It’s just funny how the league positions don’t really reflect this, especially for Partry.

Quote Originally Posted by Conn hawk View Post
    Roundtower ye will be looking for same result this weekend up in urlaur, will you be attending the u17 mayo cup game with us tomorrow aswel, could be busy day for you haha.... Big game in swinford it will be interesting who comes out on top, hopefully ballyglass go easy on our senior team this week, weve alot of injuries

Urlaur 1- 6 Killala
    Goals by Hefo and Giggs gave us a 1-2 lead at ht, pace and counter atacking saw us go on in the second half, with another goal by Hefo, a og and 2 goals by Richie. Sorry Con Hawk did not know the U17's match was on. Thanks lads for the good wishes, but we are not getting carried away, finished the match with 3 u18's, taking 1 game at a time. A lad that played for us at underage has came back for us this season for his first season at junior level, having a great season. Masive game this Sunday with a home match against Ballyglass, be a good indication of where we are at this moment.

Quote Originally Posted by Maximus View Post
    It’s just funny how the league positions don’t really reflect this, especially for Partry.
    Yeah we have struggled to put points on the board so far and have let a few games slip that we have had control, such is football and hopefully we can get a run going soon to try and rescue things before too much of a gap opens up.

Maximus the swinford team is set up to win games, they aren't set up to play nice expansive football, they've 3 clean sheets in 4 games.... The table never lies partry may be down their due to injuries but it's early days yet 14 games to go

Quote Originally Posted by short_frank View Post
    It wasn't that easy a match as you are hinting at we hit the post and had a good goal ruled out, the Swinford keeper had an excellent game also, and the second goal came when we were pushing for an equaliser but Partry were missing 5 first teamers and the ref made some very controversial decisions, when a player puts his two hands on another players back and pushes him over the sideline how is that not a free and our centre forward has some fair lumps on him from all the elbows in the back of his head which were all deemed legit challenges but most especially for the first goal which was a goal kick not a corner but he went with the team who shouted louder. Fair play to Swinford they played well and will be in and around the reckoning at the end of the season but hopefully the return match will be a different result.
    What about the dog ate your homework 😄. Swinford were the better team on the day and every player gets bangs and knocks during games so that no excuse. From what I hear Swinford were missing a couple of lads due to injury but they just got on with it.. Spilt milk and all that 😃

51 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bandit View Post
    What about the dog ate your homework ��. Swinford were the better team on the day and every player gets bangs and knocks during games so that no excuse. From what I hear Swinford were missing a couple of lads due to injury but they just got on with it.. Spilt milk and all that ��
    I dont know who you are but you have nothing to do with Swinford club - and quite frankly i would like you to shut up talking trash ok - we all on here to talk sensibly about soccer in the division and not rubbing people faces in it! - whats the point in that - if you want to give out - go to a pub and do it! - see how long people will listen to ya ........

Quote Originally Posted by swinfordfc View Post
    I dont know who you are but you have nothing to do with Swinford club - and quite frankly i would like you to shut up talking trash ok - we all on here to talk sensibly about soccer in the division and not rubbing people faces in it! - whats the point in that - if you want to give out - go to a pub and do it! - see how long people will listen to ya ........
    I don't know who you are either nor care less,how was I giving out?? That other Partry supporter used about ten excuses and I was only having a bit of crack.. Just because your called swinford fc doesn't mean your the only one who can say anything about swinford.and there is no danger of me shutting up so get used of it.

Thank you Swinford FC. There is having a bit of crack and there is being a smart a@$e. If you don't know what you are talking about then don't bother. I had an opinion on the game and am free to express it and the Swinford lads had their say which was fair enough but none of us were as you say making excuses. Talk about what you know don't just spend your time trying to stir s@$t with inane comments.

U blamed the ref,missing players,Swinford scoring from a corner that was a goal kick but your not making excuses???

Were you at the game? Did you see the match that you seem to be such an expert on? I was giving reasons of why I thought that Partry didn't win the match and Swinford disagreed with some of my opinions which is fair enough. You seem to be trying to create arguments where there is none just to have as you say a bit of "crack". The definition of an excuse is simply put as a lie to hide failings whereas a reason is an explanation for a series of events which is what I was giving. If you want to brand me as a liar then when I was just giving an opinion then I don't think your views are worth listening to and are as pointless as your supposed sense of humour.

I apologise if I offended you I didn't mean too. I thought I was only having a laugh.
    Back to the soccer now,big game for the lads this weekend away to Snugboro. How are they going this year?? It was always a tight fixture in the past.

Well..... That escalated quickly. The boy Bandit would fit in well to the Swinford team.

Rya girls will ye chill out. Don't no why ye getting worked up for since ye all just fighting for second place anyways. The league is coming to Westport I'm afraid boys
    How do people think the weekend games will go.
    Claremorris vs Westport - Away
    Killala vs Ballyglass - Draw
    Partry vs Urlaur- Home
    Conn Rangers vs Castlebar - Home
    Snugboro vs Swinford - Away

I apologise if I offended you I didn't mean too. I thought I was only having a laugh.
    Back to the soccer now,big game for the lads this weekend away to Snugboro. How are they going this year?? It was always a tight fixture in the past.
    Thank you. Now back to football.

I think that would be a good idea

Claremorris V Westport - draw
    Killala V Ballyglass - Draw
    Conn Rangers V Castlebar - home
    Partry V Urlaur - Home