Page 10 of 12 FirstFirst ... 89101112 LastLast

Thread: Where to now for Bray Wanderers

25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by benbulben View Post
    Looks like a great deal for the club to get loans written off.
    Im my opinion to take a loan and promise to pay back that loan and then decide not to pay back the loan back is deceitful, and certainly not something that should be found going on in a sporting club, it is just bad example for the young players, the followers and the sponsors.
    Is this the image Wanderers want to have going forward, something like this can last a long time in the public memory.

50 Posts
    Thanks for the link.So Mr Deering resigned-I don't know what all the stuff earlier in this thread is about.It seems a pity that all the people who feel so passionately about the club do not channel their energy into making it a success.Are there enough people in Bray /Wicklow/South Dublin who would get togetrher to get the club into good financial shape?
    The problem is that apart from the tiny clique that currently are involved they don't appear to want anyone else involved unless they are YES men. What is the point of that? They got rid of people who would not be YES men. People have tried to buy shares but the board has rejected their applications, these are people who obviously want to get involved but are not being allowed. IF one was a cynic you would think the clique know something that the rest of us don't know and that there is a large financial benefit due which they want to keep for themselves. So in theory you are right but in practice it wont be allowed to happen.
    "And I will strike down upon thee with great vengeance and furious anger those who attempt to poison and destroy my brothers. And you will know my name is the Lord when I lay my vengeance upon you!"

That does niot make sense.Directors cannot give out shares-shareholders can onl do that -how long are the shareholders in place?Have they just come alog now thinking they can get something at the expense of the club? What financial benefit is there in the club ? There is a message on this thread say the ground is the Council's and if the club closes it reverts to the Council so what value is there on the club?

25 Posts
    That does niot make sense.Directors cannot give out shares-shareholders can onl do that -how long are the shareholders in place?Have they just come alog now thinking they can get something at the expense of the club? What financial benefit is there in the club ? There is a message on this thread say the ground is the Council's and if the club closes it reverts to the Council so what value is there on the club?
    Hi Benbulben,

There is a lot about Bray Wanderers that does not make sense.
    The place needs new young shareholders with an interest in the club but they are being denied a place.
    You will see on past posts that the Directors were accused of reversing previous decisions at the behest of certain resentful shareholders who for a long time wanted to kick out other shareholders in the club. They also kicked out directors who had contributed greatly to the club.
    All unbelievable but true and its a long runnining story.
    That kind of behaviour is not on in the sports world and Bray Wanderers and going to end up with a brand image problem.

There is going to be a legacy left here on the club's image.
    I'd also be worried about the effects on the reputation of the people who set up the situation.
    Not to mention effects this type of behaviour has on morale, sponsers and how long it will take for this to be forgotten.

The story will be around for a long time as you know how people have a habit of draging up the past.

50 Posts
    It's nice to see that the club are obviously confident of getting a Premier Division License with all the players they have signed. I'm sure all the creditors will be delighted too because at least they will get paid now.
    "And I will strike down upon thee with great vengeance and furious anger those who attempt to poison and destroy my brothers. And you will know my name is the Lord when I lay my vengeance upon you!"

50 Posts
    Any idea when the licenses are announced, last year it was 15th Feb

Dean Marshall was playin for us last night. was he with ye last season?

Yeah he was with us for the 2nd half of the season. Decent enough with plenty of pace. Actually kind of surprised we didn't resign him seeing as Hanlon signed for Shels. I'd say he will do very well in the 1st division for you.

50 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Albatross View Post
    Where to now for Bray Wanderers?

It would appear they are going to Bray District Court, although not quite yet. Tomorrow's case has been postponed again but I suppose it's a matter of watch this space.
    District Court case finally settled with costs, despite the fact that the club did not adhere to its original proposal of staged payments they settled in full before thy were due to appear in court again this month. There are now Circuit Court and probably a High Court case pending.

Three weeks tonight and we have the kick off to what promises an exciting new season.
    Met some die hard Bohs and Rovers supporters this week and they were asking when will the Licence awards be made public.

By this time over the last few years they were announced by now.

What is going on?

Why is there a delay?

When will they be announced?

Anyone out there know something?

Over to you!!!!!!!!!!!

25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dove View Post
    Three weeks tonight and we have the kick off to what promises an exciting new season.
    Met some die hard Bohs and Rovers supporters this week and they were asking when will the Licence awards be made public.

By this time over the last few years they were announced by now.

What is going on?

Why is there a delay?

When will they be announced?

Anyone out there know something?

Over to you!!!!!!!!!!!
    You have to ask yourself should a club:

1. Who fires the financial director for no good reason other than because a certain shareholder wants rid of him and then tries not to pay him for his work.
    2. Who gets rid of other directors for no good reason other than another back seat shareholder wants to get rid of them.
    3. Who does these things for the improper reasons of getting themselves out of paying back loans they took.

I think the answer is obvious - this is no way to run a sporting club and it is a bad example to the followers of Irish football and to all those who want to see fair play as one of the most important standards to be upheld in any sport.

25 Posts
    LETS MAKE IT A BIT CLEARER FOR READERS:

There was no good reason other than spite to get rid of the financial director.

The man was quite happy to continue working with the club. In fact he was instrumental in bringing in over 600k into the club. What thanks did he get?
    Like others he was also generous enough to give loans to the club from his own pocket.
    There is a story about how not to run a club, about how to indulge yourself in sharp practices and about how to loose friends and alienate people.
    Stay tuned we haven't even reached the half time whistle yet.

25 Posts
    You know you can talk about fixing matches and making illegal gambles on the outcome,
    you can talk about stamping out racism in football,
    you can talk about the prolems highlighted here,
    but as long as the people involved in club management think they can act in ways that run contrary to what is taken as the normal standards of behaviour and as long as they feel free to make calls that just break their word when it suits them, then these sort of things will continue. Its time to do something about it and like all these things it starts at the grass roots.
    Last edited by starryknight; 15/02/2013 at 9:46 PM.

50 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by starryknight View Post
    You know you can talk about fixing matches and making illegal gambles on the outcome,
    you can talk about stamping out racism in football,
    you can talk about the prolems highlighted here,
    but as long as the people involved in club management think they can act in ways that run contrary to what is taken as the normal standards of behaviour and as long as they feel free to make calls that just break their word when it suits them, then these sort of things will continue. Its time to do something about it and like all these things it starts at the grass roots.
    Well said, it's time to clean up football and the FAI could start by carrying out random Financial Audits on clubs during the season, making sure players are being paid, and paid in line with their contracts, that amateur players are not being paid. The Revenue is up to date and creditors are being paid in line with credit terms. Clubs are more likely to behave if they can expect a visit at any time from the FAI and sanctions imposed for breaking rules.

21. Thanks From:

25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Albatross View Post
    Well said, it's time to clean up football and the FAI could start by carrying out random Financial Audits on clubs during the season, making sure players are being paid, and paid in line with their contracts, that amateur players are not being paid. The Revenue is up to date and creditors are being paid in line with credit terms. Clubs are more likely to behave if they can expect a visit at any time from the FAI and sanctions imposed for breaking rules.
    Are you saying that there have been cases like you have listed that have happened internally in clubs.
    If so do you have any evidence that would stand up to an investigation?

50 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by starryknight View Post
    Are you saying that there have been cases like you have listed that have happened internally in clubs.
    If so do you have any evidence that would stand up to an investigation?
    Two comments to your question:

1. It would be wrong to use the word "clubs" as in plural.

2. Everything that I post here is based on fact.

I hope that answers your question.

24. Thanks From:

Any news on the lcensing?

26. Thanks From:

50 Posts
    Not Yet

2013 - Season Start 8/03/2013

2012 were issued on 15th of Feb - Season Start 2/03/2011

2011 were issued on 14th of Feb - Season Start 4/03/2011

2010 I think was on 18th Feb - Season Start 5/03/2010

It looks like there is a delay for some reason or maybe not as the season starts later

28. Thanks From:

50 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    FAI press release via email.
    Looks to be official

Club Licensing Committee Awards Licences for 2013 Season

Following a meeting of the Independent Club Licensing Committee, 14 Premier Division licences, 4 First Division licences and 1 conditional Premier Division licence were awarded.

Dundalk FC were awarded a conditional Premier Division Licence as the Licensing Committee requested further information regarding the transfer of ownership of the club.

Cobh Ramblers FC were previously awarded a First Division Licence by the Committee on January 23.

Clubs have five working days from the date of the decision notice to lodge an appeal.

Independent Cub Licensing Committee – 2013 Licences ;

Premier Licence

Bohemian FC, Bray Wanderers FC, Cork City FC, Derry City FC, Drogheda United FC , Shamrock Rovers FC, Shelbourne FC, Sligo Rovers FC, St Patrick's Athletic FC, UCD AFC, Athlone Town FC, Longford Town FC, Waterford United FC, Limerick FC, Dundalk FC (Conditional)

First Division Licence

Mervue United FC, Wexford Youths FC, Salthill Devon FC, Finn Harps FC, Cobh Ramblers FC

30. Thanks From:

25 Posts
    It is nice to see that the boys got their licence and managed to make the effort necessary to satisfy the FAI that they deserved one.

Of course the FAI are rightly only concerned with the facilities and the players’ conditions and not with the internal goings on at company level.
    After all for the FAI to spend time looking at all the internal goings on and to try to keep high standards, other than that needed for players, would need big resources.

But those of you following this forum know that some other matters remain outstanding.

Don’t worry all you followers of Wanderers on foot.ie, more will reveal itself soon and you won't be dissappointed.

Still it is time to pause in this war of words for a little eight second breather and let the lads in those old portacabins reflect on their achievements to date.

Page 10 of 12 FirstFirst ... 89101112 LastLast