i agree it is annoying having no showers after a game but its not that easy to secure a piece of land and proper facilities, we would give anything to have our own facilities and are trying hard to do so but without much success, theres the small matter of finance to take into account some clubs are just about staying afloat at the moment but we do have a plan in place and hopefully in the near future we will achive our goal
i think borrisokane and lough derg will fight out relegation along with borroway and ya either town b or rearcross will win division 1
i think alot of the improvement we should see over the next 5/10 years is down the work being done at underage level, James Scott has done great work on that level and if these young lads can be brought through we will have a much strong hand to play in national competitions, if some other clubs can get proper facilities like Town, Rearcross, Borris and others we will be a strong league in the future, i do think south tipp and the likes a still a bit ahead of us but we have closed the gap a bit
Town players can tackle hard, sure it was hard listening to most of the clough team crying about them! like i said the game was a hard tough game with hard tackles from both sides. ye can come to brickfields and tackle as hard as ye like because thats all ye are good for, thats what seperates teams who win trophys from some teams that dont! If some of ye concentrated on playing football rather than always giving out and blaming refs that would help too.
Schoolboy football has improved an awful lot in Nth Tipp past five years or so, will be interesting when these players start feeding into junior football. Worryingly though for teams other than Nenagh AFC, Brickfields schoolboys are well ahead of the competition. Pity that Celtic's schoolboy teams have dipped so much, admittedly a lot of this is down to the facilities on offer to kids and their parents in Brickfields, as over the years when Celtic produced a good one they tended to be special.
yes your dead right about our schoolboys and brickfields is a huge draw for both parents and children alike, but although we dont have the good teams we use to have we do have a few talented youngsters in most age groups trying to hold onto them is our problem, in fairness brickfields is a top class facility and i wouldnt begrudge any child who would rather play down there instead of the tech
Ahh thats hurts !!"Thats all we are good for " - Ye barely beat us 2 . 1 ?? Ahh look never mind ..
Anyway , i am over my thickness from sunday's match .. It might have sounded bitter but i wasnt blaming the ref ..
We play borris away on sun , think this will be a tough one for us but hopefully we can bounce back and get the win .. Looking forward to seeing their pitch , i heard its very nice .. Will be glad to get away from our cow field !!
I've no connection to north tipp league anymore but on the topic of facilities a friend showed me around holycross setup lately.A nice little setup and big plans for the future, out of interest what kind of football do they play. Also i,ve always wondered why thurles town never set up a youths team
Facilities are the only way to go but unfortunately, and I speak for a number of clubs here, there's often barely enough funds to run the club never mind buy a field or build a clubhouse! North tipp land is some of the best farming land in Ireland and there aren't too many farmers with much of a grá for soccer, so any purchase of land is paid for through the nose.
Granted nenagh town have fantastic facilities but they are a club in operation over fifty years, so, founded in 2001, we're not doing too bad at all and we have lots of time to catch up![]()
very true, alot of clubs only have the committee and a handful of people helping out, it can be difficult to just run a club never mind raising fund to buy land and the rest, we would all love to have a good facility but like panda said it is very difficult to purchase land at a good price around here and even if you can meeting repayments is not easy, but i will say in recent times a few clubs have upgraded or bought land and other clubs like ourselves are trying hard to do the same
During the good times, 5 or 6 years ago, there were generous Sports Capital Grants available from the Department of Arts, Sports & Tourism. Did clubs in North Tipperary have any luck with these grants? My club, Clonmel Celtic, got up to €500k to develop Dressing Rooms and All Weather. Did ye miss out up there? I blame dat Michael Lowry. He probably made sure all the Lottery grants went to GAA clubs. The sooner ye get rid of dat waster the better.
I think its poor form from some town posters on here to look down there noses at other clubs for not having pitches and facilities that are up to scratch. They have a huge catchment area and population and dont realise how hard other clubs are trying just to keep the show on the road.
When town play in their only big games of the season against non ntdl teams how many players do they field who came from the so called "unworthy teams".
Maybe some one can answer this. On towns starting 11 how many played for another club before town?
A bit of respect for the other teams in the league you play in. They provide you with half if not more of your team.
Definitly agree that the underage structure in north tipp is providing some great young players, hopefully when it boils down to it they dont choose GAA over soccer - thats what happened alot of lads i played with - now they are playing no sport! A waste of talent..As for facilities, i think every club does as much as they can - standards will improve with time and credit must be given to the core group of lads that have worked wonders with our set-up - they seem to be constantly on the go..Big game this weekend against clough, will be a tough game - Really need a point from this at least coz we're chasing the two teams above us and clough will be looking to bounce back from last week.