Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast

Thread: Republic of Ireland V Bosnia and Herzegovina - Saturday, 26th May 2012 - Friendly

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    Steven Reid would be one.

2,284 Posts
    Where will this win put us in the rankings, by the way? A victory over a top-thirty side will surely benefit to some degree.

1,159 Posts
    McGeady like that at the Euro's has the potential to cause devastation. It's amazing how anyone who wanted to assert some form of a faux-insightful opinion on him would state "McGeady's final ball isn't good enough." I'd like to think at this stage anyone who chances saying it would be ridiculed.

Again, Long and Walters cranked up the pressure on Doyle-Keane which is very positive. I'm still not sure as to combinations, but at this stage, with Keane somewhat undroppable, it should be Keane-Long or Keane-Walters at the Euro's, whichever Trap sees as a better tactical fit. Not sure if he'll go for it though.

As for McClean, he acquitted himself well enough but didn't blaze a trail onto first-team selection, particularly in light of McGeady's assist. He's first winger on now though, surely?

646 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Olé Olé View Post
    McGeady like that at the Euro's has the potential to cause devastation. It's amazing how anyone who wanted to assert some form of a faux-insightful opinion on him would state "McGeady's final ball isn't good enough." I'd like to think at this stage anyone who chances saying it would be ridiculed.
    I would of been one of McGeady's biggest critics, and with justification, over the last few years. But he was very good when he came on today, and I'd have no reservation in giving him man of the match. Before his final ball was below par because he was wasting too much energy taking too much out of the ball. Today he got the balance right. I hope he carries this form into the Euro's. Being in the shop window will be an extra incentive for him.

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by tricky_colour View Post
    LOL, my PC crashed!! It doesn't cope with the heat too well, total wipe-out.
    When I rebooted they were showing the replay.
    Ireland seem to play better when I am not watching!!
    My PC is nearly 8 years old and also wasn't dealing well with the heat so yesterday I opened it up and cleaned out all the crap that was inside (especially around the fans) and it is running much smoother now.
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

1,159 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joe_denilson View Post
    I would of been one of McGeady's biggest critics, and with justification, over the last few years. But he was very good when he came on today, and I'd have no reservation in giving him man of the match. Before his final ball was below par because he was wasting too much energy taking too much out of the ball. Today he got the balance right. I hope he carries this form into the Euro's. Being in the shop window will be an extra incentive for him.
    Most definitely. I don't think either Aiden or his father John have ever attributed his allegiance to Ireland to cultural identity or heritage in too pronounced a fashion. Consequently, with a nod to careerism, McGeady is primed to establish himself in the eyes of Europe's biggest clubs, if he can at all manage to do so. That's Ireland's gain also.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by theworm2345 View Post
    My PC is nearly 8 years old and also wasn't dealing well with the heat so yesterday I opened it up and cleaned out all the crap that was inside (especially around the fans) and it is running much smoother now.

Yes I have been thinking of doing that myself when I get the time. I got the CPU off ebay as an upgrade so maybe it has a slight problem
    with heat. Not sure if I should have up graded the fan as well, I went from a amd 3800 to and a X2 version of the same chip. I think I put too
    much heat sink sealant on when I upgraded so I could redo that.
    Mind you by the time I get round to it this hot spell will probably be at an end.
    Can't remember it being this hot in May before, dunno whether it will last, 4 months of over-cast skys with temp in the mid teens C is the norm round here!!

229 Posts
    Most definitely. I don't think either Aiden or his father John have ever attributed his allegiance to Ireland to cultural identity or heritage in too pronounced a fashion. Consequently, with a nod to careerism, McGeady is primed to establish himself in the eyes of Europe's biggest clubs, if he can at all manage to do so. That's Ireland's gain also.
    I'm confused. You think it was a career move choosing Ireland over Scotland?

2,284 Posts

282 Posts
    Just banged the match up on Irish Torrents, don't think I won't know if you aren't seeding
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

1,825 Posts
    Zing!
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

417 Posts
    Tricky you can put a small fan pointed towards the back in those situations if you have one.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

123 Posts
    Very impressed by McGeady and Longs finishing was superb. Pleased the defence kept a clean sheet, some of Keane and Duffs general interplay was clever. Walters needs to be less wasteful, though his movement was very good. One negative was I felt McClean was way out of synch with the team and looked a bit out of place at times in an otherwise tidy performance, he showed sparks of attacking quality that would merit him as an attacking impact sub if we fall behind but McGeady absolutely blew him to smithereens in the 2nd half in every aspect.

Overall a very positive performance and much better than I was expecting, main player who put their hand up tonight was probably Long while the rest of the expected first XI remain on course.

675 Posts
    Very good performance and a bit of a party atmosphere at the Aviva on a beautiful Saturday afternoon - hard to beat.

McClean was excellent in the first half, had the right back beat every time. Great to see him play with such confidence. Looked a bit tired in the second but I think he's in line for a significant contribution in Poland.

Sticking to the Derry theme, thought it was Gibson's best showing in an Ireland shirt. Few wayward passes in the first half, but by the end he played two or three superb balls for every poor one. His passing and vision is really a class above our other midfielders, and now the Everton move seems to have provided him more willingness - he was all over the ball like a rash. Great to see - not least because with Fahey out, Gibson will be more crucial as our defacto playmaking centre mid.

McGeady was excellent. Clearly he is still a rubbish crosser.

Defence were solid, though O'Dea looked like he switched off once or twice. McShane did ok even though he gives you the heebies every time the ball comes near him. Looked like he was battling early onset of sun stroke when he was taken off too, looked fairly wiped.

Doyle had a decent game but I'd be in favour of dropping him for Walters/Long. Probably the Stoke man for me, he's a beast physically but with an excellent touch and gets in great positions. Kevin just looks like he needs to find his predatory instinct again.

BTW did Hunt throw a bit of a strop in the second half? Noticed he was stripped to come on, then it cut to him on the stadium big screen and he was sitting back down but looked in a right huff. Take it there was a limit of six subs?
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

2,284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SwanVsDalton View Post
    Clearly he is still a rubbish crosser.
    If you watch the goal again closely, you'll notice Long not only has to run at least two or three metres to connect with McGeady's stray ball, he has to go as far as jumping too. At full stretch!

675 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    If you watch the goal again closely, you'll notice Long not only has to run at least two or three metres to connect with McGeady's stray ball, he has to go as far as jumping too. At full stretch!
    It wasn't even a cross - was a stepover gone wrong, he totally misjudged the ball and ended up hoofing it into the box. Hopefully Paul Green will give him some tips in training.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Crosby87 View Post
    Tricky you can put a small fan pointed towards the back in those situations if you have one.
    Possibly but I would have to buy one first, the temperature here does not get anywhere near as high as say NYC for example,
    so I don't know if it is worth the bother, especially as it might not make any difference anyway.
    I have cleaned the air vents on the case a bit and I will see if that helps.
    I will also have a look at the heat sink and give that a clean if necessary.
    It's only happened 2 or 3 times in total so it's not a big problem.
    I will also try it without the cover on - actually I think I would have put the fan in the wrong place because it seem the flow
    goes in the opposite way to what I had though. So I will give it a clean and see how it goes. The CPU might actually be at slightly faulty as
    I got it on Ebay and there is little reason to sell them as there is only about an extra 25% available increase in speed (38 to 48) available on the socket
    and you pay a heavy price for that slight increase in speed. The X1 processor never had that problem but then is only had half the heat to deal
    with.
    I find the sound of the fan more annoying than the few annual crashes I get, it is pretty loud, it's enough to make you consider water cooling.

47 Posts
    Haven't had such a positive feeling because of an Ireland performance (as opposed to result) in a while. Think Long really needs to start ahead of Doyle now. Keep Duff/McGeady on the wings but have McClean come on without doubt. Then have McGeady/McClean for our next campaign.
    "If you don't work harder I'll pull you off at halftime,"
    “Crikey, at Manchester City all we get is an orange and a cup of tea,"

1,159 Posts
    I screwed up big time there lads! Always attributed McGeady to a real Irish background, must ascertain the sources that drew my opinion otherwise.

Sorry again.
    Last edited by Olé Olé; 27/05/2012 at 3:41 AM.

24. Thanks From:

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by theworm2345 View Post
    Just banged the match up on Irish Torrents, don't think I won't know if you aren't seeding
    Can't seem to get on to this site and mad to watch the game (fecking China). Anybody know how to join it?

Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast