Page 27 of 29 FirstFirst ... 172526272829 LastLast

Thread: Clare League 2011/12

Quote Originally Posted by mastermind1 View Post
    That comment wasnt a dig at olympic, its an honest opinion of mine which i m entitled to. Heres a bit of class, mountshannon would have beat ye in de playoff regardless of today. Your knocking mountshannon for only having won one game before todayeary, yet Olympic have only won 2 games and lost 3 more than them. Good luck next
    as for ye comment !!! you assume i am involved with olympic ? wrong again olympic deserved to be relegated on their form in the league , 2 league wins all season and you dont deserve to stay up. we will never know if mountshannon would have won play-off as the Mighty avenue had not got the decency to go out and finish season with a bit of pride.

" football is a simple game "

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    as for ye comment !!! you assume i am involved with olympic ? wrong again olympic deserved to be relegated on their form in the league , 2 league wins all season and you dont deserve to stay up. we will never know if mountshannon would have won play-off as the Mighty avenue had not got the decency to go out and finish season with a bit of pride.
    I wonder if they had beaten Newmarket last week would communions and the rest of the Bull you have spoken about Mastermind been a problem . I doubt it ye would have went out with ye're strongest 11 and thumped Mountshannon . I am sick of saying it Avenue in their own eyes are a big club but yesterday just showed the real Avenue

Did ye read my first post about the game, we had lots of chances in the first half and we just didnt take them, thats football, you win some you lose some. If we needed to get a result down there yesterday we might have had lads that would have stayed off the beer saturday and might have got lads to come back from ther weekends away but thats their own decisions to make. I had family members communion saturday and didnt drink, went to the game and tried my best, it just wasnt to be. We have played alot of times this season with just the bare amount at games, were working with a squad of about 16 and every now and then players get injured, suspended, holidays etc...(like every other team i know) but you didnt come on here giving out when we won games with the same players that played yesterday.

I remember last year going down to watch Rock Rovers play newmarket after Avenue had ended rocks league chances the previous wednsday evening and they turned up with 11 players, played their usuall goalkeeper centre mid, 3 other players that hardly kicked a ball all season and were you on here LEGENDSTRIKER10 giving out about that. Every time you post its to criticise Avenue about something, have they done something wrong to you?

shannon olympic werent relegated because avenue lost to mountshannon
    shannon olympic were relegated because they won 2 games all season

Quote Originally Posted by mastermind1 View Post
    Did ye read my first post about the game, we had lots of chances in the first half and we just didnt take them, thats football, you win some you lose some. If we needed to get a result down there yesterday we might have had lads that would have stayed off the beer saturday and might have got lads to come back from ther weekends away but thats their own decisions to make. I had family members communion saturday and didnt drink, went to the game and tried my best, it just wasnt to be. We have played alot of times this season with just the bare amount at games, were working with a squad of about 16 and every now and then players get injured, suspended, holidays etc...(like every other team i know) but you didnt come on here giving out when we won games with the same players that played yesterday.

I remember last year going down to watch Rock Rovers play newmarket after Avenue had ended rocks league chances the previous wednsday evening and they turned up with 11 players, played their usuall goalkeeper centre mid, 3 other players that hardly kicked a ball all season and were you on here LEGENDSTRIKER10 giving out about that. Every time you post its to criticise Avenue about something, have they done something wrong to you?
    That my friend is Rocks problem . Rock do not claim to be a big club ye on the other had do . If I remember correctly going back a few years on this site somebody named clifford came on to claim that Avenue were the flag bearers of clare soccer , how he came up with that I will never know but he did and the same fellow is Avenue through and through . That my friend really gets under my skin . Newmarket with all their history and silverware have never come on this site to claim something like that, even if they do have their own ground and dressing rooms and in my opinion and before you say it I am not Newmarket are the real flag bearers of Clare soccer .

Quote Originally Posted by avenueC View Post
    shannon olympic werent relegated because avenue lost to mountshannon
    shannon olympic were relegated because they won 2 games all season
    Technically Olympic were relegated because mountshannon beat avenue yesterday.. If avenue had won Olympic would be in a playoff so as of today wouldn't be relegated .. Not that you'd know how game went as you weren't there were you.. The burren had nothing to play for but put out a full team..but bitter avenue couldn't .. As for the communion thing Olympic players were at a communion too on Saturday and also a 30th on Saturday night but all stayed off the beer.. It's not hard

Quote Originally Posted by dirtfree View Post
    Technically Olympic were relegated because mountshannon beat avenue yesterday.. If avenue had won Olympic would be in a playoff so as of today wouldn't be relegated .. Not that you'd know how game went as you weren't there were you.. The burren had nothing to play for but put out a full team..but bitter avenue couldn't .. As for the communion thing Olympic players were at a communion too on Saturday and also a 30th on Saturday night but all stayed off the beer.. It's not hard
    As you might have guessed I don t find staying off the drink before a game a problem as you probably know what team we had out sunday. Anyway for anyone that wants to see the team, here it is.

Liam Deacy, David Herlihy, Simon Cuddy, Keith Dormer, Shane Brown, Nicky Twumasi, Alan Roche, Colin Smith, David Smith, David McCarthy, Mikey Mahoney.

This site has been dead for awhile, nothing like the conspiracy theorists to get a bit of discussion going.

7 of that team have been practically ever present for the season, and if people want to blame avenue for olympics season, then so be it.
    ferguson is blaming qpr for united not winning the league if thats the case

It's not a case of blaming avenue for Olympics season. But it's a case of avenue disrespecting the league and other clubs in it.. Because you think it's ok to send a weakened team down to mountshannon just because ye had nothing to play for.. Avenue are a joke of a club..as for that team about only 4 would make it onto your strongest 11..

Mastermind fair play to you for playing but Infairness you are a soccer person and you'd probably take a 2 v 2 in the park serious.. Your very committed and always there..I just think the likes of mr Russell and a few more would have played this game..russels last game for avenue this year he let his team mates down by getting sent off.missing your biggest game of the season.. Surely he would have enough respect for his team mates to finish the season on a high..

Lads it is fairly pathetic to be having a go at Avenue over the fact that Shannon Olympic have been relegated. It is even more pathetic that people are questioning Dave Russell's commitment to Avenue. It is also pathetic that Avenue didn't see out the season in the "professional manner" their manager keeps alluding to.
    Shannon Olympic were relegated because they couldn't win enough games, to come on here blaming Avenue is just grasping. Olympic have been weak all season and sometimes struggling to field a team so I think they need to look at themselves first before making any other claims of wrong doing. They are a club with 2 teams and yet have only scrapped a team together to play some premier games this season. That says something is wrong with the way the club is being run. Looking at the Avenue line up against Mountshannon it is a weakened side but a lot of decent players on it. I also think ye are being disrespectful to Mountshannon in all this. They needed a result and got it. They came to Newmarket and rattled them for 40 mins, Olympic came to Newmarket and capitulated in the first 10 minutes. Look at the season as a whole and Olympic should accept their fate though confirmed yesterday it was decided long before.

As for Avenue they are looking after their own affairs and they don't care about anyone else in this league, I agree they lack class in the way they go about things but to individualise it is wrong, ultimately it falls at the managers and commitee as to how his team and club portray themselves, if you are self appointing yourselves as the "flag bearers" (stupid statement) of Clare soccer then try and live up to it in your actions. At least respect the league and play out the season to it's conclusion. No one from Avenue can condone not having players available yesterday as if they needed a result then the full squad would have been there unless the stories of the players refusing to play for the manager have any foundation in truth.
    Last edited by studsup; 14/05/2012 at 1:08 PM.

Actually does anyone know where this fabled flag is, I'd like to collect it and put it up over McDonagh Park where it belongs.
    If you know where it is you can PM me, Thanks.

Lads. Can't remember the post and its context of this famous "flag bearer" quote. But I'd assume , and how I would view it as , they would have been "carrying the flag" for the county , as in progressing in the fai and the Munster competitions. Obviously 1990 is a long long time ago when they got to the fai final. But down thru the last few 10 years or so , getting to a few Munster junior semi finals n maybe last 16/32 fai so they have been representing their county , with pride It's not being conceited or arrogant. Obviously being successful thru out the yrs brings a certain swagger and "attitude " buts that's common in most codes an most levels. ( avenue have only 2 leagues won in last 8 yrs so this isn't a how great are we post) It's a vicious circle we live in Good teams get cocky an an then get lambasted if they won. Are the whole county going to anti Newmarket now they've won back to back an going for the double this season ?I would hope not. They deserve huge credit , management and players for their outstanding 2 seasons. And in relation to the next seasons national competitions they are the best in Clare so you would hope they are a good representative of the county, hence flag bearers.
    Best of luck to the semi finalists this weekend.

I think the problem is not with the Avenue players it is more for the way the management of Avenue conduct themselves. Yes Avenue have done well in the National competitions and should be applauded for it. Hopefully Newmarket will take that and move Clare football on again. On the field the 2 clubs are good for each other and the yardstick for other clubs but that is where the comparison stops it is the off field stuff that annoys people and again Sunday Avenue have dismissed the rest of the league with their failure to have the strongest team available when the result of the game had an affect on other teams future. If they had won against Newmarket they would have had a full squad in Mountshannon without doubt. This leaves it open for people to criticise.

lads just to change away from the cub bashing..does anyone think with the cup final being fixed for friday the 25th that this is madness.. it has been on a saturday evening for as long as i can remember .. especially with lads in college or lads working away its going to be hard to get a good crowd..

Quote Originally Posted by Second View Post
    lads just to change away from the cub bashing..does anyone think with the cup final being fixed for friday the 25th that this is madness.. it has been on a saturday evening for as long as i can remember .. especially with lads in college or lads working away its going to be hard to get a good crowd..
    I don't think it matters but yes Friday is an odd time for a final. I say this using the league game between Avenue/ Newmarket as the example, this game was played on a Sunday at 2.30 with no other fixtures clashing and the crowd though reasonable wasn't great for a game like this. There are only a certain amount of football supporters in Clare, (though yesterday an almost embarrassing amount of Liverpool/Man City supporters seemed to have appeared everywhere) and they will most likely attend whenever it is on and the attendance will be greatly determined by the teams in it.

Have the league consulted with the teams left in the competition, maybe it is the most suited time for them?
    Last edited by studsup; 14/05/2012 at 2:22 PM.

i'm a neutral here lads and have been reading this forum for a long time. i do however remember the comment of the flag bearers of clare being avenue. it goes back a long time.

Would like to wish all four teams the best of luck in the Clare cup this weekend.
    Does someone know the logic behind one semi final of the cup being on a fri and another on the sunday? Which means either Newmarket or Bridge Utd will have two days less rest before a cup final on the following fri night? Why isnt the final on a saturday anyways? It seems disrespectful that some players from whatever teams make the final will be rushing from work to make the showpiece game of clare soccer.

Quote Originally Posted by guvnor View Post
    Would like to wish all four teams the best of luck in the Clare cup this weekend.
    Does someone know the logic behind one semi final of the cup being on a fri and another on the sunday? Which means either Newmarket or Bridge Utd will have two days less rest before a cup final on the following fri night? Why isnt the final on a saturday anyways? It seems disrespectful that some players from whatever teams make the final will be rushing from work to make the showpiece game of clare soccer.
    fixtures are obviously a night mare to sort,,cup final 2 yrs ago was on a friday night,, 5 days after an oscar traynor final, which included 5 or 6 avenue players,,
    and to top it off the last league game had to be played less then 48 hours later,, so its hard to find a balance it would seem
    cant please everyone,, someones going to get caught

as for finishing out a season, its different circumstances for every team in every season
    as mentioned before , rock fielded basically a b team vs newmarket last yr and gave them the 3 points when avenue were chasing the title,, nobody came on here having a go at rock,, thats their right to do what they want, they could have had players injured , rested, away, not bothering to turn up..
    a few seasons ago newmarket won the league , an put their b team out in last game of league vs avenue in lees road and were beaten 6-1.
    so its quite clearly not just a supposed avenue tactic and conspiricay to get shannon olympic relagated,, not being smart but no one gave a second thought to shannon olympic going to the mountshannon game
    if they wanted to stay up, they should have shown the same heart in all their games as they did in the 2 avenue games.
    Last edited by avenueC; 15/05/2012 at 10:44 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by guvnor View Post
    Obviously the answer to that is the people that run the league have no idea how to run it and have no common sense . You especially should know this having been around the clare league for so long . Now I know you can't say much about them seen as they hired you for next year but lets call a spade a spade here the decision to play a cup final on a friday evening is complete madness . The clubs that do make the final should get together and tell these people that they will not play the final on a Friday evening simple as that . My guess is the match is been played on the Friday because the Champions league final and the Heineken cup final are been played on the saturday .

Page 27 of 29 FirstFirst ... 172526272829 LastLast