Page 28 of 29 FirstFirst ... 1826272829 LastLast

Thread: Clare League 2011/12

Legendstriker10 I think the champions league and Heineken cup finals are on this weekend ..

Quote Originally Posted by avenueC View Post
    fixtures are obviously a night mare to sort,,cup final 2 yrs ago was on a friday night,, 5 days after an oscar traynor final, which included 5 or 6 avenue players,,
    and to top it off the last league game had to be played less then 48 hours later,, so its hard to find a balance it would seem
    cant please everyone,, someones going to get caught

as for finishing out a season, its different circumstances for every team in every season
    as mentioned before , rock fielded basically a b team vs newmarket last yr and gave them the 3 points when avenue were chasing the title,, nobody came on here having a go at rock,, thats their right to do what they want, they could have had players injured , rested, away, not bothering to turn up..
    a few seasons ago newmarket won the league , an put their b team out in last game of league vs avenue in lees road and were beaten 6-1.
    so its quite clearly not just a supposed avenue tactic and conspiricay to get shannon olympic relagated,, not being smart but no one gave a second thought to shannon olympic going to the mountshannon game
    if they wanted to stay up, they should have shown the same heart in all their games as they did in the 2 avenue games.
    Sorry Davy just to pick you up on the point about Newmarket playing their Bteam I don't think that is true from what I remember about this as I was watching that match . Newmarket had league won and Avenue had nothing to play for , Newmarket played most of their young players that did not get much of a run all year but had trained just as hard as the rest from what I was told that day by a few of the Newmarket supposedly senior players that were on the line . I thought fair enough sounds like good management to me . To put this in the same category as what happened Sunday is wrong ye should have been professional and played out the game with ye're full compliment of players as ye would have done if ye had beaten Newmarket the week before .Nobody is saying ye relegated olympic what we are saying is ye claim to be a great club well in my opinion if ye were ye would have treated this game and the league with the respect it deserved .

Quote Originally Posted by Second View Post
    Legendstriker10 I think the champions league and Heineken cup finals are on this weekend ..
    Sorry my mistake but does this not make it all the worse that the final is on a Friday they have no excuse not to have it on the Sat

Quote Originally Posted by LegendStriker10 View Post
    Sorry my mistake but does this not make it all the worse that the final is on a Friday they have no excuse not to have it on the Sat
    I totally agree but there is probably a Gaa match on in doolin that the chairman wants to watch

Meant second string not b team. Apologies. So what's the difference in ye playing a load of young fella's in the last game of the season in a game that means nothing. And avenue playing a few young fella's in the last game of the league that means nothing to avenue. ?
    Let's not deflect away from the fact that Shannon got themselves relegated an not avenue. Dirt free started the conspiracy n it's snowballed. Winning 2games in the league is relegation
    Enjoy the summer holidays.

Quote Originally Posted by avenueC View Post
    Meant second string not b team. Apologies. So what's the difference in ye playing a load of young fella's in the last game of the season in a game that means nothing. And avenue playing a few young fella's in the last game of the league that means nothing to avenue. ?
    Let's not deflect away from the fact that Shannon got themselves relegated an not avenue. Dirt free started the conspiracy n it's snowballed. Winning 2games in the league is relegation
    Enjoy the summer holidays.
    One final point when you say ye you are referring to me been Newmarket . I will say it again as I have said before on this site I have no allegiance to Newmarket Celtic although I do go to a lot of their games as I think the play the most attractive football and are a joy to watch at times .

Season over with now,anyone want to pick a best 11 out of the league?

Next Saturday there is a 'Ball' on in the Clare Inn for John Laverys (former Cloughleigh/Avenue/Turnpike manager) daughter, who was 26 when she sadly passed away a few months ago. There are 400 tickets sold and many a soccer fan young and old from Ennis will be attending. I assume the friday night fixture is one of respect for John, a former league/cup winner, and his family.

Rock Rovers put out the best team that was available against Newmarket last year. Please dont disrespect the lads that were playing. Newmarket beat us because they were the better team. We have never handed anyone a game, and we never will. Best of luck to all 4 teams left in the Cup

Mastermind earlier said your keeper played outfield in that game for rock vs Newmarket ? Nuff said on that point circus pony.
    Leagueis done n dusted. Credit to Newmarket. Ill be brave and go for a Newmarket / Rock final ;-)

Did 'studsup' just post the WHOLE Newmarket squad when someone asked for the best eleven from the entire league? Are you actually serious because that's a ridiculous post to make, saying all 35 named should be included.. Yes, they were the best team, without doubt, but we're talking about individuals now.. And they give out about Avenue thinking they're the best.. Ye're just as bad..

Sur its no wonder ye won the league. It was 11 against a whole village . Seriously thats some panel lads ye could have fielded 3 teams.fair play to ye.

Welldone to avenue b. Could be another upset tomorrow. Hard one to call. Welldone again lads.

Does anyone agree that play off finals OR any final should NOT be played during a week day

The last thing lads want to do after work is play a match never mind play a final + players are away working and in college

Well done to Mountshannon tonight they were the hungrier team from the first whistle to the last whistle .. Very under par performance by Bunratty/Cratloe ..
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 24/05/2012 at 11:14 AM.

any chance of an upset tomorrow night? cant see it myself,, comfortable 3-0 the newmarket,,

Formerly: vidic-class
    Great picture from the Cup Final Friday

Last edited by MikeBassett; 29/05/2012 at 2:44 PM.

Excellent pic.

Avenue true & true for ya.

is that two fingers as in two trophies for newmarket.. or is it two finger ' hey look i'm making a fool of myself ' ..

I would like to say farewell to con collins. A great player for the avenue, bunratty and for clare soccer. Good luck on your big day and hope it all goes well. Oh ya and a sound olde skin too.

Quote Originally Posted by Wolverine View Post
    I would like to say farewell to con collins. A great player for the avenue, bunratty and for clare soccer. Good luck on your big day and hope it all goes well. Oh ya and a sound olde skin too.
    Here Here... Have a good one Con.

Page 28 of 29 FirstFirst ... 1826272829 LastLast