Page 48 of 56 FirstFirst ... 384647484950 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI Junior Cup 2011/12

Quote Originally Posted by Longshanks View Post
    Lads I take an interest in Junior soccer, most notably the FAI, Connacht and Munster Junior Cups and enjoy reading the posts to keep up to date. Given that Pike were beaten yesterday and the lack of any match report from the usual Pike followers, you know the ones who gloat and look down at other clubs. Well there are 2 posts, one on this page by @hotspur 13/02/2012 1:13pm 'Karma.what goes around comes around. ' to the Midelton lads after losing to Ballymun and more disturbing one by @theboywonder8 15/01/2012 12:45pm 'can you post todays score please' on the Castlebar Celtic FC thread on the day they lost to Sherriff.

to me these 2 posts are bang out of order and show a lack of grace and its thing like this that get Pike fans a bad rap on here, I'm pretty sure that the 2 posters arent representative of the vast majority of Pike fans, but it does leave a bad taste. I can only concur with MilfordFC when he congratulates Pike on their team and travelling support as I mentioned before my only dealings with Pike were similar to Milfords, we also got handed a football lesson but the Pike people carried themselves with a humility and dignity that can be only but admired.

anyway just wanted to get that off my chest and want to confirm that I am not tarring all Pike people with the same brush.

Best of luck to all 8 teams left
    good post , pike are great club. just a handfull of supporters let them down. I think Boywonder8 got banned of foot.ie few weeks back so that might explain his lack of activity. Not sure bout rest of there foot.ie posters but im sure they will all be back on this if pike beat clonmel in fai in 2 weeks time
    if it wasnt for birds and booze id have played for ireland juniors!!!!!

Longshanks,that was said for a reason,since you went to the bother of going through the posts,you might just go through the rest of them,after the appalling officials in the pike B mj game they midleton lads came on here whinging about the officials in their fai game,and that was why i said it.

Quote Originally Posted by hotspur View Post
    Who have they taken players off,players move from club to club willy nilly nowdays,have they taken players from your club,view doing it for years and boro but yet you have a problem with pike,most of the players have played most if not all their junior football with pike.grow up
    Tell me this whats sean kelly doing playing his football with pike. Makes perfect sense a league of ireland player from kerry playing his football with a junior club in limerick he must have heard great things about pike up with limerick fc. Get back in your box and dont be waffling on here about boro and fairview. Between
    poaching best players in town and recruitng players from all over the country its junior football not the premier league i couldnt care less if ye won the fai or if ye dispanded yere a disgrace.

Quote Originally Posted by Begrudger View Post
    Tell me this whats sean kelly doing playing his football with pike. Makes perfect sense a league of ireland player from kerry playing his football with a junior club in limerick he must have heard great things about pike up with limerick fc. Get back in your box and dont be waffling on here about boro and fairview. Between
    poaching best players in town and recruitng players from all over the country its junior football not the premier league i couldnt care less if ye won the fai or if ye dispanded yere a disgrace.
    For starters he's a regraded junior player like ALL the other ex loi players playing with different clubs like the boro and view and the rest.and secondly why does it bother you so much?

Quote Originally Posted by hotspur View Post
    Longshanks,that was said for a reason,since you went to the bother of going through the posts,you might just go through the rest of them,after the appalling officials in the pike B mj game they midleton lads came on here whinging about the officials in their fai game,and that was why i said it.
    hotspur,

in fairness every team that gets beaten in a tight game can and usually will point to an unfavourable decision that went against them as a turning point. The Midleton lad was saying the pen against Ballymun was a harsh call, if Ballymun had been beaten on Pens and a Ballymun lad came on here saying the sending off was harsh would you be willing to stick the knife in? It just struck me(the karma post) of being a bit childish and that it made you look like a sore loser after the Pike 'B' team losing in the Munster Junior Cup. Its probably not too often that a 'B' team get that far in a provincial cup and the defeat must've been hard to take, but suck it up and move on.

Its not that often that Pike lose a big game these last few years but when they do these threads generally turn into a bitch fest.

A wise man once told me, 'Son to be a good winner you have to learn how to be a good loser'
    'I can live with disappointment, its the hope I cant handle'

31 Posts
    I think Pike should take a lesson in humility from Milford. They lost 6-0 to Pike but a poster from Milford was still decent enough to come on here with a post that was full of praise for their victors. Pike had a rare defeat last Sunday and there was hardly a sentence on the match here never mind giving a bit of credit to the team that beat them. For those that were looking for a report on this match I was there and believe me the Pike keeper may have made a mistake but Clonmel Celtic were worthy winners. Pike didn't create a decent chance in the whole game. For Pike followers who think they had an off day and will easily reverse the result in 2 weeks I should point out that I have seen Celtic play better as well. There is a good chance you will win in 2 weeks but I hope ye will be ready for one hell of a battle.

Looking at the last 8 has anyone an opinion as to why the AUL have 5 teams left. The powerbases of Limerick Tipperary and Waterford seem to be waning, not saying that neither of the 2 from the south won't go and win it. Could it be that the Dublin teams are more focused on junior soccer and less on infighting?

Quote Originally Posted by Notaclue View Post
    Looking at the last 8 has anyone an opinion as to why the AUL have 5 teams left. The powerbases of Limerick Tipperary and Waterford seem to be waning, not saying that neither of the 2 from the south won't go and win it. Could it be that the Dublin teams are more focused on junior soccer and less on infighting?
    teams in limerick were just hard done by with the draw. pike knocked out janesboro and ballananty this season. 2 clubs who could easily still be involved in the competion if they did not draw pike. Carew Park are decent also but played a stinker against a killester 2nd 11 and were knocked out in 5th round. fairview are not the force they once wore but after winning the competion in 2010 there not going to panic about 1 or 2 bad years and will rebuild. In tipperary saint michaels drew sheriff and were beaten fair and square on the day by the better team. Clonmel celtic still in competion and a much improved peake villa were unlucky to be beaten by the odd goal in last 16. To agree with your point one of the power houses Clonmel town are struggling at present and will take abit of time to get back to competing at national level, but there record in the fai was superb over past 10-15 years and its very difficult to sustain that level year in year out. But i have no doubt they will be back. In waterford again carrick united like clonmel have lost a lot of players who brought huge success to the club domestically, at provincial and national level over past 10 years but are making a damn good fist at staying competitve at the top level and were unlucky to go out again in the last 16 by the odd goal. tramore the coming force in waterford were a dissapointment to go out in last 16 i expected more but maybe the defeat to cardonagh was just a blip ( these things happen in cup footbal) and they should do well over the coming years.

To finish it was a good point you raised but the dublin Aul is a decent league and fair play to them having 5 teams in last 8 but i think it was 2 years ago limerick had a similar number in last 8 and the tipp league could have easily had 3 this year if peake and saints had won. So these things go in cycles. If the aul were getting 5 and 6 into last 8 for a sustained period of say 4 or 5 years on the trot then it would be time to worry. But i cant see that happening at least i hope not anyway
    if it wasnt for birds and booze id have played for ireland juniors!!!!!

Thanks for that balls. Great response. I'm aware that the luck of the draw doesn't help when top sides get drawn against each other early on. However I still did not think that the AUL league would dominate the Q/Fs this year to such an extent. There are still some heavy hitters left so it should make for some great stuff yet.

As I said earlier I have been following the Junior Cup for a few years and here is the county by county of the last 8 since 2005:

Dublin 16
    Limerick 13
    Tipp 8
    Waterford 6
    Galway 5
    Mayo 2
    Comb. Co 3
    Wexford 2
    Meath 2
    Donegal 2
    Cork 1
    Kerry 1
    Leitrim 1

If I get a chance I'll list the teams but I have them in an excel format that doesnt copy and paste well

44 Posts
    Great post by Longshanks there earlier. Spoke volumes to me that on the day that Pike enjoyed an emphatic 6-0 victory in a big game, all some of their fans were interested in was gloating at Midleton.

Also, absolute silence with regard to the Clonmel defeat, only to insinuate that they were somehow lucky and that it was only an error that cost Pike. Despite the fact that neutral observers claim that Clonmel were the better side.

It's pretty pathetic. No other club has a cohort of fans on here who behave like this.

2005 Westport(mayo) Crystal(wat) Carew(lim) Hibs(Gal) Bellurgan(meath) Killester(Dub) Ballynanty(lim) Parl(lim)
    2006 Crystal(wat) Athenry(gal) Killester(dub) Castlebar(mayo) Clonmel T(tipp) Aisling(lim) Pike(lim) Portmarnock(Dub)
    2007 Killester(Dub) St John Bosco(Dub) Villa(wat) Salthill(gal) Wembley(lim) Carrick(wat) West(gal) Grattan(cork)
    2008 Carrick(wat) Killester(dub) Corduff(dub) Castlebar(mayo) Redcastle(don) Manor(leit) St Michaels(tipp) Clonmel T(tipp)
    2009 Ballymun(dub) St Peters(co. co.) Bohs(wat) Erris(mayo) Sherriff(Dub) Clonmel T(tipp) Fairview(lim) Lisselton(kerry)
    2010 Fairview(lim) St Michaels(tipp) Regional(lim) Clonmel T(tipp) Pike(lim) Shangan(dub) Willow(co. co.) Killmallock(lim)
    2011 Pike(lim) St Michaels(tipp) New Ross(wex) Sherriff(dub) Athenry(gal) St Peters(co. co.) North End(wex) Cavan T(cav)
    2012 Pike(lim) O'Devaney(dub) KUFC(dub) Carn FC(don) Clonmel C(tipp) Sherriff(dub) Sandyhill(dub) Ballymun(dub)

not the easiest to read, and some of the teams may play in different leagues than the county they are from, eg Cavan Town are in the Meath league.

Killester made it to at least the quarters 4 years in a row 05-08
    Clonmel Town made it to at least the quarters 4 years in 5, 06, 08, 09,10
    Pike have made it to the last 8 for the last 3 years
    Sherriff made the quarters for 3 of the last 4 years, 09,11,12
    St Michaels have been to the last 8 three times since 05
    Athenry, Crystal, St Peters, Castlebar, Ballymun, Carrick, Fairview have all been there twice since 05

FAI Player of the year nominees:

Junior International Player of the Year
    Chris Barbour - Mountview United
    David O'Sullivan - Wicklow Rovers
    James Walsh - St Michaels FC

wait for it

Quote Originally Posted by prawnsandwich2 View Post
    wait for it
    how long???

Quote Originally Posted by Longshanks View Post
    how long???
    To be fair its crazy pike dont have a representitive, me being 100% neutral.

Ridiculous pike not represented, who will they give the award to when chalkie finally retires and where is smith going to find a centre half after walsh getting 60 odd caps

Its for Junior International, not a national Junior award. thats why Pike are not represented.
    Carrick United:
    Munster Junior Cup Champions 04,10 & 15, Munster Senior Cup Champions 2011, FAI Juinor Cup Champions 2008
    12 x Waterford Premier League Champions

Quote Originally Posted by cufc champions View Post
    Its for Junior International, not a national Junior award. thats why Pike are not represented.
    its not really a junior player of the yr so. sounds absolutely daft, and iv seen that chawlkie fella playin numerous time now includin the fai final last yr, and imo, its his centre half partner who does all the defendin.

Page 48 of 56 FirstFirst ... 384647484950 ... LastLast