Dont forget those leaving the country for "leisure"![]()
The unadjusted figure (real rate) rose by 5,000 - http://www.cso.ie/en/media/csoie/rel...eg_jan2012.pdf
Long-term unemployment continues to increase, Under 25's dropping off the register indicating emigration, this is an another disasterous set of figures.
The only minor positive is that the real figure and the flaky seasonally adjusted figure have converged so we have a better understanding on how many are actually on the LR.
Forced emigration, useless FAS Courses, slave labour Internships and the increasing amount of unemployed who don't qualify for Jobseekers Allowance all have done a great job in preventing 600,000+ (20%+) on the LR.
No end to this ********.
The Leinster Senior League needs a strong Bohemians
Dont forget those leaving the country for "leisure"![]()
I have been approached by the Government of Saskatchewan to lead a recruitment drive in Ireland for targeted occupations in healthcare (particularly psych nurses, occupational and physical therapists). There will also be other reps there focusing on some specific trades and engineering. The recruitment fairs are on in Dublin on March 3/4 and Cork on the 7th. See you then.
Now that ive got my plug out of the way, what are peoples views on this? Its very ruthless but there is a real shortfall of workers in certain areas here and while it is unfortunate to pick on economies where emigration is one of few options, there is also the other side of the story. I know some people are very resentful to this "cherry picking". Its certainly interesting being on both sides of the argument!!
http://www.leaderpost.com/business/S...367/story.html
http://www.huffingtonpost.ca/2012/01...n_1215769.html
Saskatchewan’s skilled labour crunch, meanwhile, is the result of a booming economy on the heels of decades of stagnating population numbers. In 2011, officials say the number of jobs posted on SaskJobs.ca, the government-sponsored jobs portal, increased by 39,000 positions over the previous year, bringing the total number of vacancies to 150,000.
In December, there were a record number of people employed in Saskatchewan -- and it appears a growing number of Irish would like to count themselves among them. According to officials, last year web traffic from Ireland to SaskJobs.ca increased by 60 per cent over 2010.
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.
No problem with that. Ireland takes in loads of medical staff from various countries.
accounts and finance positions are a little harder to justify fast-tracking visas for as there are plenty of local graduates and (relatively) less vacancies. But interestingly, one lady who is coming with me is coming specifically with a view to finding a Director of Finance - only problem is she is based in Northern Saskatchewan (La Ronge) which is quite remote. Theyll pay very handsomely and will pay all your moving costs, free accoms even but you could really only do it for a 2 or 3 years before moving to a bigger centre (Regina or Saskatoon).
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.
i have figured out that its the Working Abroad Expo in the RDS and Silver Springs in Cork.
Dont lay eggs on my food.
Hold on, this is Saskatchewan, not BC, or Ontario, or, god help them, even PEI, but out where the Mounties are men and the horses are scared. Then again, from my last experience of medical staff in Ireland, it's just about enough for them :-)
Were you on newstalk stu? Wouldn't listen to hook, but people giving out on politics.ie (shocking I know) about some dub saying it was grand as he still had facebook. Assuming it wasn't you, as surely you'd have said facebook and foot.ie...
Haha - yeah that was me... Was on Ireland am and Pat Kenny today... I was just making the point that you can stay in touch easier than before and I actually was talking about Skype More so in terms of talking to my family every week... I knew some people would disapprove of the fact. No matter what haters gonna be hatin...![]()
The lunatics have taken over the asylum on politics.ie. Wouldn't worry about anything posted there - I'm surprised anyone's left, and they're not holed up with their shotguns and tins of beans because of the meltdown that would come when the atm's stopped working ("after the weekend/ end of the month" every week for 4 feckin years!)
You wouldn't do much damage with a tin of beans.
1st day of the expo today. Absolutely insane. Estimates that 6000 people went through and another 2500 were turned away at the gates into Simmonscourt as they were locked at 3pm.
Pretty sad state of affairs to be honest. So many people desperate for work...
Done.