Page 248 of 590 FirstFirst ... 148198238246247248249250258298348 ... LastLast
Results 4,941 to 4,960 of 11790

Thread: Munster Senior League

Quote Originally Posted by townhall tez View Post
    At a high standard of football it shouldn't happen,the msl in fairness are trying to be more professional but this situation is amateurish. When Thomas himself isn't happy about it there is an issue. It's him I feel sorry for. Time to move on now I think.
    well most people will tell you ex players make better refs but they are going to come across friends and family every now and then. im sure tomas doesnt feel comfortable but in theend of the day its easy swap a fixture. he is not the only one reffing family so does everyone avoid certain teams so????

having played from 6 years old to 30 myself there wasnt many people or clubs i didnt know when i started.
    its only one of many things we have to deal with. we are the easy excuse and a handy target all the time but sure it comes with the job.
    there no such thing as a bad pint.there are ony pints and better pints.

Quote Originally Posted by maninthemiddle View Post
    well most people will tell you ex players make better refs but they are going to come across friends and family every now and then. im sure tomas doesnt feel comfortable but in theend of the day its easy swap a fixture. he is not the only one reffing family so does everyone avoid certain teams so????

having played from 6 years old to 30 myself there wasnt many people or clubs i didnt know when i started.
    its only one of many things we have to deal with. we are the easy excuse and a handy target all the time but sure it comes with the job.

Thomas Long has written a letter to the league requesting not to be put in that situation again. Obviously he feels differently than Man in the middle.

i'd say he only done that cos of what happen,he knows everyone has been saying did you hear thomas long sent off a guy for tackling his brother,if that game had gone well,i'm sure he'd have no problem doing a marys game again.thomas long is one of the best refs in the msl

Quote Originally Posted by mayfield utd View Post
    i'd say he only done that cos of what happen,he knows everyone has been saying did you hear thomas long sent off a guy for tackling his brother,if that game had gone well,i'm sure he'd have no problem doing a marys game again.thomas long is one of the best refs in the msl
    He wrote it because he read what all ye have been writing . he really respects ye're views

im sure he does. ill ask him when i see him tonight. anyway for me reffing ex teammates, family and friends is unavoidable.

That's fine Man in the middle but do you ref in the Msl premier league? It's fine reffing family in lower leagues but the msl premier is just down a level from league of Ireland. It's just a case of the league having a more professional approach with their top divisions and best officials.

i have done a few games when i was on msl panel. i am aul panel this year. could just as easily be doing it next year as 95% of refs move panel every year.

im not making any issue here btw tez, just discussing it and simply saying a ref who has played all his life will inevitably always come up against family and friends at the lowest and highest level and it should'nt be an issue!

i actually agree with you and common sense should prevail in fixtures but it also shouldnt matter in any way either.

i have done a few games when i was on msl panel. i am aul panel this year. could just as easily be doing it next year as 95% of refs move panel every year.

im not making any issue here btw tez, just discussing it and simply saying a ref who has played all his life will inevitably always come up against family and friends at the lowest and highest level and it should'nt be an issue!

i actually agree with you and common sense should prevail in fixtures but it also shouldnt matter in any way either.
    Ya,thanks man in the middle,all valid points.

marys 2-1 rockmount 4-5 and the draw is 5-2, not bad prices at all lads

Middleton 1 hall 1

Great game tonight in front of a big crowd Midleton better team in first half Hall the better team in the second great passion shown by both sides tackles were flying in all night but not a dirty game by any means surprised by how passionate Hall were considering they lost there 2 best players recently and still without Decie,It looks like the loss of these players have galvinised Hall. Stracken came on and changed the game for Hall.Well worth the £3 admission.

Quote Originally Posted by Goggs View Post
    Great game tonight in front of a big crowd Midleton better team in first half Hall the better team in the second great passion shown by both sides tackles were flying in all night but not a dirty game by any means surprised by how passionate Hall were considering they lost there 2 best players recently and still without Decie,It looks like the loss of these players have galvinised Hall. Stracken came on and changed the game for Hall.Well worth the £3 admission.
    Midleton isnt the easiest place to get a result on a friday night but i cant see the hall winning any more than 2 or 3 of their remaining 8 games,had they got the 2 players that left recently they would have won down below tonight!

Agreed about the two players but they have fierce team spirit one that I havnt seen before I think they will finish in the top 3 my Mexican friend.

Middleton 1 hall 1
    tez you wont believe this but after talking to you i noticed my fixture next week. listen to this.had to tell ya.

on one side i have a manager who is my closest friend in work and also on his team are 2 other work colleages.

the other team's manager is my brother in law and is full to the brim of fellas i went to school with.

any time i have these teams on their own i get an awful amount of stick/banter but now they are playing each other.

i'd nearly write a letter myself. lol.

its going to be an intersting week next week. ha ha.

tez you wont believe this but after talking to you i noticed my fixture next week. listen to this.had to tell ya.

on one side i have a manager who is my closest friend in work and also on his team are 2 other work colleages.

the other team's manager is my brother in law and is full to the brim of fellas i went to school with.

any time i have these teams on their own i get an awful amount of stick/banter but now they are playing each other.

i'd nearly write a letter myself. lol.

its going to be an intersting week next week. ha ha.
    Let us know how that goes!!!!

Any results from todays games?

Fermoy frustrated at home to Cobh Wanderers today. Finished 2-2. I'm sure Clifford will have more info on it later.

UCC 5 - 1 Ballinhassig Carragaline 8 Ballincollig 0

144 Posts
    Leeds 1-2 Avondale

Mary's 2-1 Mount also
    Last edited by razor; 14/01/2012 at 4:21 PM.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eric View Post
    Fermoy frustrated at home to Cobh Wanderers today. Finished 2-2. I'm sure Clifford will have more info on it later.
    Yes indeed Sir. Shocking sec half.

Fermoy 2-2 Cobh.

Fermoy are the first to blink in the run in and it was dreadful one to slip up in. 2-0 up at half time and should have been five. Hit post early in sec half and then watched as Cobh battled to get back level. A mix up at the back let them back in and an og with 12/13 left got them level. One or two half chances in the end, but hat's off to Cobh for a great bit of fight and effort. We switched off and that is not on at this level.

Only ourselves to blame.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.