Page 15 of 24 FirstFirst ... 51314151617 ... LastLast

Thread: EA Sports League Cup 2011

2,771 Posts
    well deleted post by the way, Sligoman...
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

So Mons bow out to Limerick.

Quote Originally Posted by GlasnevinRed View Post
    Short highlights. He may do an extended version with interviews included in time.
    http://vimeo.com/25732534
    Yer man in the background at 2.13 is class.

433 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by magicme View Post
    so mons bent over to limerick.
    fyp
    Cumann Peile Dún Dealgan - Champions 2015 (too many accolades to be typing)

Termonbarry Athletic TID!

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    Only three of our first team players so Roddy looking at Fridays game, did not expect Limerick to be all out for the ea crap cup have they given up the hope of going up
    what are you about givin up on going up. just to let you know tonight or midfield four and two strikers average age 17-18.
    shane tracey, dave o leary, john frost, dave ryan, steven o flynn, joe gamble, denis behan, gary sheenhan, did not play tonight 8 players

just we have very talented young lads comign through.

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    what are you about givin up on going up. just to let you know tonight or midfield four and two strikers average age 17-18.
    shane tracey, dave o leary, john frost, dave ryan, steven o flynn, joe gamble, denis behan, gary sheenhan, did not play tonight 8 players

just we have very talented young lads comign through.
    Really your post doesn't hold any water with the examples given. Is Sheehan long back from injury or has he played much at all? And Joe Gamble and Denis Behan couldn't play anyway and haven't done all season. So really it's 5 players you're talking about.

Barry Ryan was rested. The back four was full strength except for Frost who was suspended anyway. The midfield was without O'Leary (who picked up a knock against Wexford) and Tracy (who is injured). Up front, he favoured Brosnan to Hynes as I presume he wanted to use Hynes for Friday. Brosnan only came on to accommodate for the loss of Breen; people need to realise that, and he came off again after an hour, which shows that he clearly is being used for Friday too.

Ryan
    Treacy
    Purcell
    McCarthy
    Bhandarkar
    Judge
    Quinn

McGann
    Lyons
    Sheedy
    Breen

The players in bold are first choices given the circumstances we found ourselves in with injuries and with suspensions (Frost). So we didn't play a weakened side? Why is that a bad thing? The club is showing ambition.
    Get into them! ( They're easyyyy! )

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Really your post doesn't hold any water with the examples given. Is Sheehan long back from injury or has he played much at all? And Joe Gamble and Denis Behan couldn't play anyway and haven't done all season. So really it's 5 players you're talking about.
    Gary Sheehan aside it holds water with regards to our probable starting eleven for the rest of the season.

FWIW, of tonights team the lads in bold here wouldn't have been first team regulars all along:

D. Ryan
    C. Tracy
    Purcell
    McCarthy
    Bhandakar
    McGann
    Quinn
    Lyons
    Judge
    Breen
    Sheedy

SUBS:
    Coughlan
    Broughall
    Brosnan

In fairness there's no reason why a club with our vast, vast, VAST, resources can't compete on two or three fronts.

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    It's still nonsense to suggest that we've given up on promotion because we only rested half our team for this game (and I know it wasn't you who suggested that we had). Dave Ryan (it was brother Barry who was rested in goal), Andrew Bhandarker, Thomas Lyons, Stephen McGann and a young guy called Sheedy who is so new and raw that I'm not even sure what his first name is (possibly another Barry) all started today and have been nowhere near starting for us all season. There's no way that they have six starts between them in league games all year. All three subs (Garbhan Coughlan, Sean Brosnan and Garbhan Broughall) have been bit players so far this year too.

Just because Scully didn't use the game to hawk about his mediocre son is hardly evidence of an abandonment of any promotion hopes we may have.

Quote Originally Posted by LFC-Zulu View Post
    Barry Ryan was rested. The back four was full strength except for Frost who was suspended anyway. The midfield was without O'Leary (who picked up a knock against Wexford) and Tracy (who is injured). Up front, he favoured Brosnan to Hynes as I presume he wanted to use Hynes for Friday. Brosnan only came on to accommodate for the loss of Breen; people need to realise that, and he came off again after an hour, which shows that he clearly is being used for Friday too.

Ryan
    Treacy
    Purcell
    McCarthy
    Bhandarkar
    Judge
    Quinn

McGann
    Lyons
    Sheedy
    Breen

The players in bold are first choices given the circumstances we found ourselves in with injuries and with suspensions (Frost). So we didn't play a weakened side? Why is that a bad thing? The club is showing ambition.
    Gary Sheehan aside it holds water with regards to our probable starting eleven for the rest of the season.

FWIW, of tonights team the lads in bold here wouldn't have been first team regulars all along:

D. Ryan
    C. Tracy
    Purcell
    McCarthy
    Bhandakar
    McGann
    Quinn
    Lyons
    Judge
    Breen
    Sheedy

SUBS:
    Coughlan
    Broughall
    Brosnan

In fairness there's no reason why a club with our vast, vast, VAST, resources can't compete on two or three fronts.
    Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    It's still nonsense to suggest that we've given up on promotion because we only rested half our team for this game (and I know it wasn't you who suggested that we had). Dave Ryan (it was brother Barry who was rested in goal), Andrew Bhandarker, Thomas Lyons, Stephen McGann and a young guy called Sheedy who is so new and raw that I'm not even sure what his first name is (possibly another Barry) all started today and have been nowhere near starting for us all season. There's no way that they have six starts between them in league games all year. All three subs (Garbhan Coughlan, Sean Brosnan and Garbhan Broughall) have been bit players so far this year too.

Just because Scully didn't use the game to hawk about his mediocre son is hardly evidence of an abandonment of any promotion hopes we may have.
    Defensive aren't we? A classic example of a team's fans starting to adopt the traits of their manager.

2,446 Posts
    I wasn't for a second suggesting you are giving up on promotion, just saying that naming 3 players that aren't even playing anyway as 'not in the side tonight' doesn't hold any water.
    For the record I expect you to be pushing promotion the whole way this season.

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    Defensive aren't we? A classic example of a team's fans starting to adopt the traits of their manager.
    Did I mention our VAST resources??

Limerick at home for the semi please!

And in the star newpaper today, "Roddy collins fielded only two of the side hat won last weekend while pat scullys limerick team was close to full strength"

Only Paddy P was over 23, seven of the team were playing under 20s last year and two of them will play under 19s this year. Must have a fantastic youth set up

19. Thanks From:

We gave a few lads that haven't been getting games a run and also a few of the younger lads which was great to see.

Presume we will have to wait till Monday for draw. Only 4 teams left so they may as well get it over with as soon as possible. Wouldn't mind anyone at home.

jaysus lads, who gives a ****? 2 yound sides played, and one hammered the other. Does it matter who took it more seriously? The only thing that matters is who won

147 Posts
    My sentiments exactly Dodge. Two teams played a match, one hammered the other and are through to the semi-finals of a naitonal competition. Congrats to Limerick
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

53 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    Only three of our first team players so Roddy looking at Fridays game, did not expect Limerick to be all out for the ea crap cup have they given up the hope of going up
    Got some great bites there with that one. Good luck to Limerick for the rest of the league cup but after last season I'd definitely take promotion over a cup run. I suppose the Limerick result can only be judged when we see what happens v Shels on Friday.

25. Thanks From:

Quote Originally Posted by MagicMon View Post
    but after last season I'd definitely take promotion over a cup run.
    We'll take both please, we've got tons of cash didnt ya know?

22 Posts
    Well done Limerick on the win. Obviously, the 5-0 scoreline shows that they had a better side out than us and there is no doubt most clubs have a lot more player depth than United. Hard to blame Roddy at playing our reserves. Got to remember that we have a small squad and effectively no real reserve or Under-20 side to pick from. Obviously, the decision will only be vindicated by promotion but there is no doubt that our cup runs caught up with the team at the end of last season. Whether, as a fan, who trade a chance for promotion or a chance for another big day like in Sligo last year is up to you. Monaghan also have quite a few genuine injury worries so it wasn't a complete resting exercise. Good luck to Lims in the semi-finals.
    Monaghan United official site
    http://monaghanunited.tv/
    Monaghan United blog
    http://monaghanunited.tumblr.com/

28. Thanks From:

Page 15 of 24 FirstFirst ... 51314151617 ... LastLast