Thread: FAI Cup Third Round: Longford Town vs Finn Harps!

862 Posts
    Hope so he's a great player, not affraid to attack from full back but he can defend as well which is something atacking full backs don't always have.

862 Posts
    that was without a doubt the most frustrating 90 minutes of football i have ever seen, bad football, shocking officiating and wasted chances leave us with a needless trip to Donegal on Monday with an already wafer light squad, i can see us losing up there tbh.

footnote: to the poster that said straight away last season that the roaches were muck, i take my hat off to you sir you spotted that before all of us.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

862 Posts
    Btw lads we are trying to put on a bus to Harps this Monday but we need names asap so if your interested text marty or liam.

1,104 Posts
    Very frustrating. We badly missed Brady, Morley and Gillespie for that bit of composure. Skelly looked like he was playing injured but Don was at his wasteful worst. Agree that the replay is decidedly unwelcome and we should have finished them tonight. What on earth was McHugh whining about to get himself sent off for by the way?

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    that was without a doubt the most frustrating 90 minutes of football i have ever seen, bad football, shocking officiating and wasted chances leave us with a needless trip to Donegal on Monday with an already wafer light squad, i can see us losing up there tbh.
    Exactly - sweet jesus what a terrible game
    ref was atrocious for both teams really albeit gave an awful lot to Harps
    (note to self - must back him in next game he officiates for high card count!)
    Longford shud have put harps away easy - not enough pace and drive - the midfield were rubbish (esp number 6 who just stayed in the centre half for the whole game). Cousins hasnt a clue, what a joke, and what a shame as I like Longford

862 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    Exactly - sweet jesus what a terrible game
    ref was atrocious for both teams really albeit gave an awful lot to Harps
    (note to self - must back him in next game he officiates for high card count!)
    Longford shud have put harps away easy - not enough pace and drive - the midfield were rubbish (esp number 6 who just stayed in the centre half for the whole game). Cousins hasnt a clue, what a joke, and what a shame as I like Longford
    Cant Blame Cousins he did everything he could especially as we couldnt even field a full bench.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Cant Blame Cousins he did everything he could especially as we couldnt even field a full bench.
    I dont think so, Longford had the quality on the pitch to beat them, with an extra man, against a team who barely crossed the half way line. Cousins shud have shook it up in the middle of the pitch and tell them to get a move on, put some pace into the game FFS. Is Cousins really such a good manager? (honest question?)

1,104 Posts
    We didn't have any real midfield options to change things though, due to injuries. Not sure there was much he could do to shake things up.

Dissappointing perfromance, not the end of the world, descimated squad last night. Wouldnt be getting too worked up about it, it hasnt happened much this season
    If god wanted us to play football in the clouds he would have put grass up there!

106 Posts
    Bore draw last night, very disappointing game. Harps with ten men looked more likely to score than us. We persisted with long ball after long ball which clearly wasnt working and our only option was to hit don. Walsh never got a kick as the game bypassed him and he either wasnt pushed to impose himself on the game or else instructed against it. A draw and a trip to ballyboffey is not what we wanted, and they will fancy their chances up there

205 Posts

footnote: to the poster that said straight away last season that the roaches were muck, i take my hat off to you sir you spotted that before all of us.
    People are starting to see the light!
    Sporting F*ck All!

862 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    I dont think so, Longford had the quality on the pitch to beat them, with an extra man, against a team who barely crossed the half way line. Cousins shud have shook it up in the middle of the pitch and tell them to get a move on, put some pace into the game FFS. Is Cousins really such a good manager? (honest question?)
    in fairness to him he was giving out plenty of instructions last night,animated as always trying to encourage the team, he just had no options on the bench.

And while I never use to believe in the saying it's up to the players once they cross the line I think that was the case last night they were very poor and lack luster.

For a team that Is suppose to be a good footballing side every time we got into the final third it was a long ball to don or Ozzie, we are asking far too much of them at times.

But like Tallanted said not the end of the world and while I absoutely love the cup there's no doubting the upcoming Limerick game is far bigger.

38 Posts
    l.t.f.c all is forgiven, them two lads are absolute muck....salmon in the middle had to try and do it all himself, craig walsh cant stamp is authority onto a game, and for a centre mid player he needs to do that, it just passes him by...not a lot of options to change things up but my God, if your going to hit long balls atr least have your target man close to another player so he can knock it on for the other striker or wingers, too often the two lads up front were 40 yards away from each other, was never goin to work, just seems like they had an off night because don and aussie are far better than they showed! ref ruined the game aswell...

862 Posts
    I agree that Walsh was poor Friday night but I would like to point out he was clearly carrying a knock and he almost broke down completely during the game so I dont think we saw the real him the other night and I believe he can play a large role yet.

205 Posts
    I really should be a scout. One time seeing a player is all I need!
    Sporting F*ck All!

238 Posts
    Many of ye making the trip up today?
    I'll be up in the corner of the seats with the other hooligans if anyone wants to come up and start a full blown riot?
    Unfortunately our friend that wrote the complaint about us (and sent it to the Gardai + FAI) won't be in attendance as he vowed never to come back, so, one of ye lot will bare the brunt of our abuse for the duration of the match.

Your's in violence, Sam.

p.s. hope we win...........

862 Posts
    Full bus travelling up and loads driving from Longford, Dublin and beyond so once again we will outplay you on the pitch and outsing you off it

CMON DE TOWN - Cup specialists

81 Posts
    I wanna go!!!! Stupid irrelevant thing happening on Wednesday!

I will be headin up too to it. I never take things to heart so to this day I still cant place that town fan of ours that did the complaint!

238 Posts
    Meh, none of us really took it to heart, it's nice to be noticed sometimes p.s. that man's name was made up imo, I'd nearly bet on who it was too.

A repeat result of the last FAI Cup replay in Finn Park between the sides would be just the tonic anyways.