i am not a member of the club but i do remember that one about the munster youths game quite distinctly and as i know quite a few guys from the club particularly well they have always remarked about negative petty comments on their site
No such comment was ever on the Clonmel Celtic facebook page. Its a group and its controlled by a club member. However, there is somebody using the clubs name as their own for a personal profile. He has been asked to identify himself but he won't, so this could be anyone, may not even be someone involved with the club. In fact it could be you Bilko.
I just spotted the comment on the website, it is still there, see for your own eyes Roberto, petty if you ask me..
DATE: 28/02/08
TOPIC: Cup game delayed
Clonmel Celtic's Tipperary 3rd Cup clash with Rock Rovers has been put back a week to facilitate the staging of the Munster Youth Cup semi final between Clonmel Town and Cork City that will take place at 2.30pm this Sunday at Celtic Park. Come on the Rebels!!! Celtic will now play Rovers on Sunday week and we will have more about this game next week
Good detective work! Petty comment alright but as I previously suggested I think it was posted in jest, hence the double exclamation mark!! Would you not agree? If this was one of a series of comments it would give some strength to your point but seeing that you trailed through their website did you come across anything else that substantiates your original post that suggested there was a lot of such negative comments towards Town.
Actually what I would consider petty is digging up a harmless comment from 3 years ago and then trying to use it as evidence that Celtic routinely use their website to fire off derogatory comments about Town.
i would have to disagree with you entirely, i also admire the use of your adjective "digging" but all it took was to search the word "rebels". This topic all came about the use of a facebook account on behalf of Celtic with their negative comments about incidents in the st michaels match which from what i am to believe was the fault of a select few in the club, nothing to do with as you put it "trying to use it as evidence that Celtic routinely use their website to fire off derogatory comments about Town" Celtic need to find out who is behind this soon before this kind of thing escalates
This is ridiculously petty lads,only a matter of time until the 12th man is asking ye to move on,Stelling hit the nail on the head its great to see the rivalry alive and well and no doubt Celtics potential to challenge next year is probably already aggravating Town and Bilko
1st of all that comment should never have been made it is completely unnesscessary and distasteful. I'm sure every other member of the club would disagree with it being there in the 1st place, it was the opinion of one man. As you stated that comment was made almost 3 years ago, it is an isolated comment. I seem to recall that there was an incident in a game between both junior sides just previous to that so bad blood may have still lingered. This is not a justification of it by any means. I do however think this is getting a bit over played. The comment was 3 years ago there are no such comments before or since. I think suggesting the club needs to get "control" of this is slightly over the top. Facebook pages are out of the control of the club. It is not an official page and therefore little the club can do. Many clubs have unnofficial ones also.
Last edited by bishbash; 31/05/2011 at 2:25 PM. Reason: grammer
tipp top i am not affiliated with Clonmel Town in any way so it most definitly is not aggravating me, i was just makin a point to the angels down there in Celtic Park. Is the Celtic/Michaels game on tonight?
there will be no title for celtic next season. i think they had a great chance to win 1 over the last couple of years, especially last year, but they werent good enough. nothing to suggest they will be good enough next year either. kevin waters is a good signing, no doubt, but they need a good bit more than him
is there any truth in the rumour that barry ryan is going to UCD??
I dont think he is a fan of agriculature either so highly doubt it.
oh right...all sorts of rumours going around....quality goalscorer.
Shane nobody is going to think your "Barry" by putting up those posts,you may as well have said Barcelona as UCD,i am sure he appreciates the confidence boost though cos he's clearly lacking in self believe![]()