Page 108 of 121 FirstFirst ... 85898106107108109110118 ... LastLast
Results 2,141 to 2,160 of 2414

Thread: Cork AUL 2010/11

You are joking me, springfield up to that crap again that is unreal, agree with booboys experienced managers. I was out there last week when leeside played fairview grass was small bit high in places but there was no problems in playing the game. And they wouldnt play on Blarney St pitch either?? how many where springfield missing so??

Thats crazy that they refused to play. Its not like a bad pitch was going to help Fairview who are a good footballing team who like to pass the ball around. Seems ridiculous to me that they could get 3pts for it.

Foot.ie! A Bit of Balance

Hi Lads,

been away for a while but have kept a close eye on the boards. Alot of the same going on. I have not been playing with Springfield A for a while due to new baby syndrome so I can put a bit of balance on this issue:
    This is coming straight to you lads. Springfield traveled up this morning to Fairview only to find when they got there that the grass was well above boot level. You can throw insults at Springers all you want but I don't think its too unfair for Springers to expect a soccer pitch, at this time of the season, to be in good nick. Its not that hard to get a tractor a cut a pitch lads. To be giving out about Springers is comical if you ask me. One poster said they were out there last week and the pitch was high. One week later its not going to get any shorter ffs. Surely it would be more in line to tell Fairview to get their act together.
    The adjoining pitch was like a billiard table by all accounts and yes attempts were made to play on that pitch- which Springers had absolutely no objection what so ever in fact putting the idea forward- but Fairview could not get permission.
    The biggest point of all- Springers did not just decide that the game was off- that decision was made by the man in black. The ref turned up and indicated that the pitch was not in a playable condition. That is all that matters here.
    To be suggesting that the AUL should look into this is hilarious. The big cover up of Springers & the referees give me a break. If the pitch is not playable then the club at fault should be looked into. Lower division footie is bad enough facilities wise without clubs not being able to cut the grass ffs.
    By all accounts there was alot of personnel abuse directed towards Springfield personnel also, which is disgraceful imo.
    Don't hate the player- hate the game lads. Cut the grass ffs and you don't have an issue. Springers want to play football- if people have an issue with that then the future of AUL football is a very grim one.
    Forget what YOU want and think about the CLUB before there is none.

Quote Originally Posted by the owl View Post
    What happened at Fairviews pitch this morning was a complete joke and of very bad taste. Like Leeside, we played there last week and there was no prob. Yes the grass was a bit long but it was the same for both teams. So how in the space of a week could it be decided that it was too long ????? And to refuse to play on the pitch beside it beggers belief ! This isnt the first time this has happened with this club and the aul would seriously want to ask questions as to why a team would travel from cobh all the way out there and refuse to play on two seperate pitches ????? 22 players, 2 pitches, 1 referee and no match !!! To be fair, Fairview wanted to play the game but were denied. If Springfield get 3 points from this then its a disgrace. What next, the ball isnt round enough !!, the lines are not straight enough !!! the grass isnt green enough !!!
    If carrig, leeside and every other team had no prob playing out there, then why did Springfield refuse ?
    If they did refuse Owl- do you think they could possibly get the points?? Don't you think the refs report would indicate that and the points would then be awarded to Fairview. Obviously the ref was of the same opinion!!! Otherwise he would have indicated to Springfield that if they did not tog out Fairview would be awarded the win. SERIOUSLY. You said yourself the grass was long. Cut the fecking grass for superman's sake.
    Forget what YOU want and think about the CLUB before there is none.

Lads,
    If it was the ref who called the game off then it has nothing at all to do with springfield.
    In fairness a team cant decide whether a game goes ahead or not only the ref can.

Sounds to me like fairview are trying to save a few quid by not getting it cut

71 Posts
    As I read down the posts from my last one, they were valid....then got silly towards the end.

I wasnt there but its our pitch too and our responsibility too.

From the Fairview account and another independent one the pitch was playable. Both teams were willing to play. A decision was made that baffled many.

The other pitch issue doesnt come into it - Fairview couldnt get permission.

We got the grass cut middle of last week - 10 days ago. We thought it was playable.

We are not trying to "save a few bob" and Im insulted by that. I typed a reply a few times but not sure its worth it.

To Carrig & Springers, we didnt mean it to happen and would wish it hadn't.

I hope they replay it.

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    As I read down the posts from my last one, they were valid....then got silly towards the end.

I wasnt there but its our pitch too and our responsibility too.

From the Fairview account and another independent one the pitch was playable. Both teams were willing to play. A decision was made that baffled many.

The other pitch issue doesnt come into it - Fairview couldnt get permission.

We got the grass cut middle of last week - 10 days ago. We thought it was playable.

We are not trying to "save a few bob" and Im insulted by that. I typed a reply a few times but not sure its worth it.

To Carrig & Springers, we didnt mean it to happen and would wish it hadn't.

I hope they replay it.
    Horse, Owl said he played their last week and the grass was a bit long, that would have been 3 or 4 days after ye got it cut. Leeside lads also said it was a little long last week presumably after the cut also.

Surely that would suggest it wasnt cut correctly 10 days ago. I'll retract the 'save a few quid' comment even though it was not intended as an insult. I think its somewhat reasonable for a team with one game left not to pay out scarce money for a fresh cut just to get a single game out of it.

And in fairness if a pitch was cut ten days ago there should be no problem playing a game so it has to come down to how the pitch was actually cut
    Last edited by pacman; 22/05/2011 at 9:37 PM.

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pacman View Post
    Horse, Owl said he played their last week and the grass was a bit long, that would have been 3 or 4 days after ye got it cut. Leeside lads also said it was a little long last week presumably after the cut also.

Surely that would suggest it wasnt cut correctly 10 days ago. I'll retract the 'save a few quid' comment even though it was not intended as an insult. I think its somewhat reasonable for a team with one game left not to pay out scarce money for a fresh cut just to get a single game out of it.

And in fairness if a pitch was cut ten days ago there should be no problem playing a game so it has to come down to how the pitch was actually cut
    I cant answer that. I didnt see it. We try to provide the best we can for any visiting side - it gives you a sense of pride.

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    We try to provide the best we can for any visiting side - it gives you a sense of pride.
    I don't doubt that horse!

If ref called it then that's that and it's a replay. If springers refused to play then it's up to aul and god knows what will happen.

the other pitch next door is immateial.

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by maninthemiddle View Post
    If ref called it then that's that and it's a replay. If springers refused to play then it's up to aul and god knows what will happen.

the other pitch next door is immateial.
    Surely its only a replay if the ref rules that the pitch is unplayable due to weather related issues (ie. outside the control of the home team)
    If a pitch is unplayable because there are no nets, the pitch is not lined or the grass is too long then in my opinion the home team should forfeit the game.
    Throw in not having a change of kit when there is a colour clash also.

Kinsale's unbeaten run came to an end last saturday when Park Utd beat us 1-0 in Mitchelstown.
    Of greater concern to us is the injury to Derek McCarhy.
    Touch and go as to whether he'll play any part in fridays AOH final.

21 Posts
    Why no results on the Cork AUL site since last week????
    No mention of Kinsale winning the Prem title????
    Technical problem maybe???

Also Hibs are running a fund raiser on 27th - same night as the AULs showpiece game - The AOH Cup Final.
    This is being advertised on the AULs site.
    Are we trying for a small crowd on friday night in Turners Cross???
    Last edited by Shilts; 23/05/2011 at 10:43 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Shilts View Post
    Surely its only a replay if the ref rules that the pitch is unplayable due to weather related issues (ie. outside the control of the home team)
    If a pitch is unplayable because there are no nets, the pitch is not lined or the grass is too long then in my opinion the home team should forfeit the game.
    Throw in not having a change of kit when there is a colour clash also.

Kinsale's unbeaten run came to an end last saturday when Park Utd beat us 1-0 in Mitchelstown.
    Of greater concern to us is the injury to Derek McCarhy.
    Touch and go as to whether he'll play any part in fridays AOH final.
    im specifically talking about the pitch shilts. if it was unplayable due to the grass being to long it would generally fall into the category of the waterlogged pitch as its subjective as to wheteher it is playable or not.

id argue that many dry pitches the last month are unplayable and more unsafe than a lot of the waterlogged ones earlier in the year. id love to have seent the pitch myself.how long are we talking?

it's a bit of a grey area when you add in the circumstances behind it on the day as well.

in the case of the nets etc. that you mentioned it would be a matter reported to the league and then decided upon by them.

it's probably a league decision now anyway.
    there no such thing as a bad pint.there are ony pints and better pints.

According to FIFA's laws nets aren't required for a game to go ahead. Nets MAY be attached to the goals and the ground behind the goal, provided that they are properly supported and do not interfere with the goalkeeper! Doesn't say there has to be nets!
    Last edited by Dixie's Cousin; 23/05/2011 at 1:28 PM.

21 Posts
    [QUOTE=maninthemiddle;1488911]im specifically talking about the pitch shilts. if it was unplayable due to the grass being to long it would generally fall into the category of the waterlogged pitch as its subjective as to wheteher it is playable or not.

QUOTE]

Both are the ref's call to make as to whether the game proceeds or not.
    Then its up to the League to decide what happens next.

However, the home team ARE responsible for keeping the grass cut = away team getting the points, in my opinion
    They can't be held reponsible for a waterlogged pitch though = replay the game in my opinion.

I'd be interested to see if there is a rule about how short the grass must be.

Also Lads, Barry Peelo is on holidays. Let him have a break at least!

19. Thanks From:

i dont think there will be many at the hibs race night that woul have been at the AOH cup final anyway. The hibs race night was moved because a former player collapsed and died aged 32,it wasnt moved to interefere with AOH cup final!
    Last edited by Dixie's Cousin; 23/05/2011 at 2:06 PM.

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluey View Post
    You are joking me, springfield up to that crap again that is unreal, agree with booboys experienced managers. I was out there last week when leeside played fairview grass was small bit high in places but there was no problems in playing the game. And they wouldnt play on Blarney St pitch either?? how many where springfield missing so??
    Heard earlier that they may have had a few players involved with army duties over the weekend. Obama and funeral !!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Dixie's Cousin View Post
    No problem with him having a break but I think he should have posted the fact there'd be an interruption - as based on the quotes here (and what I was thinking) it is still the main location to find all the AUL results.
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dixie's Cousin View Post
    Apologies - Thanks for the post.