Page 62 of 74 FirstFirst ... 1252606162636472 ... LastLast
Results 1,221 to 1,240 of 1469

Thread: Tipp South & District League 2010/11

25 Posts
    Wildeerness beat St.Michaels 4-3 to-day. Heard St.Michaels had mixture of youth and 'B' team players. Moyglass beaten so St.Nicholas finish runners-up in First Division. From recent results obvious neither St.Nicholas or Moyglass wanted to go up to Premier Division. St.Nicholas were quite happy to stay in the First Division and now face the nightmare of what happened three seasons ago when one more walkover would have seen them out of football. Their panel is too small, they haven't the players and fear becoming the annual whipping boys of the Premier Division.

I really dont understand why they cant sign a few players. They have a decent squad now and if they could get a few more heads they could be a good premier division team. Shur they are just outside tipp town. Why cant they get players from there. Every rural club could use that excuse if it was the case.
    If they dont want to go up, maybe they should be given a choice of getting relagated from division 1 instead.

25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by footballfanatic View Post
    I really dont understand why they cant sign a few players. They have a decent squad now and if they could get a few more heads they could be a good premier division team. Shur they are just outside tipp town. Why cant they get players from there. Every rural club could use that excuse if it was the case.
    If they dont want to go up, maybe they should be given a choice of getting relagated from division 1 instead.
    St.Nicholas are a typical local team and they want to stay that way. Sure they could sign players from Tipp Town etc but they prefer to keep it local and I admire them for that. Signing players from outside means local players have no football or have to move elsewhere - that is not the policy of the club. Local parishioners have dug deep in their pockets to pay for the excellent facilities so they want to ensure local players, schoolboys, youths and juniors, are first priority and catered for. I am not attached to the club so my views are personal but I know from talking to them they know they are out of their depth in the Premier Division. Their panel of players is small and in the current climate will get worse so lets applaud them for trying to stay local.

Fair enough.

Any team who doesn't want to get promoted has no business in the league.

By playing at a higher level surely all the St Nicholas players involved will become better players. Belief in your own ability is crucial if you are to compete, by the way Nononsense is talking they have already excepted their fate without a ball been kicked. Maybe they should consider getting a proven manager into their set up to help develope their players, who by virtue of the fact that they have competed with Borris strongly throughout the season have proven their ability.

That is a very simplistic view that you have pony. St. Nicholas, like every other team like to get promoted. But when you get promoted to the very top tier for a club like St. Nicholas there is little or no chance of silverware. The next year is all about trying to survive in the premier and if they are lucky they will finish 3rd or 4th from bottom. There is a lot to be said about competing for cups that you can realistically win during the year, it gives the club a chance to lift the parish when competing in finals and semi-finals and with no shield or paddy purtil cups to play for next year there will be nothing to shout about. I'm sure they will enjoy playing against the best teams but its all about winning things at the end of the day and that can't happen next season.

pony you are well out of order with that remark, agree totally with the addict

I would like to compliment the refs on their awards night in Clonmel last Saturday night. It was very well run and no expense had been spared with the awards. I know we give them a lot of stick from time to time but without them we would have no football to watch or talk about, Hats off to ye on this occasion.

Well done to all the people who made a great turn out on the night and represented their clubs well. Good to see Cahir Park getting a special award for their centenary year. Hopefully they can kick on from this year as they have one of the best set ups in the country. One sad note for me was the disrespect Peake Villa showed to the night. Their youth’s player was up for Div 2 player of the year, He nor the club seen it fit to represent the club in any aspect.

Best wishes To Saints this weekend ye are a great club and represent Tipp well.

Preds believe me you do not know the half of it,to be honest there is nobody from the club i would even want down there,in the next 2-3 years Peake Villa will just be a schoolboy club and wont have a junior side,the club are trying to build the profile of the schoolboys and youths,the junior side is a lost cause,there was a time when we won back to back Munster Youths cups and beat Town and Saints 8-0 on a regular basis at youth level,amazing to be in division 2 now of the youths less than a decade after contesting 2 Fai youth cup finals

in fairness preds the clonmel park hotel is a savage place to have the awards , it gives the whole event a far more professional feel. did not atend this year but delighted to hear it went well. Chris higgins well deserved winner of premier award aswell top class player. as for the peake no show its dissapointing alright think it happened last year as well with a division 4 award a no show again from peake player but a commitee member picked it up from the club. the lad could have had a legitimate reason for not making it so its harsh of us to slate him or the club online here without knowing the full facts. things are hardly that bad megatots that you reckon peake wont have a junior team in a few years. they have two teams at the moment and both teams are mid table in there leagues and they finished out seasons so they should have no problem getting out 1 team in future if it comes to it. fair enough the quality and commitment may have dropped of there 1st team but every club is suffering that the past few years if ur not winning lads lose interest very easy. start missing training , drinking night before games etc thats just the way the modern young lads are now all clubs suffering that problem. . look at clonmel town even all the players that sulked and packed it in playing with them this year for example, with facilities town have players should be giving there left arm to play with them but they dont seem to give a dam. i heard even michaels were getting very small numbers training few months back so what hope do rest have(doubt its the case now with saints though at business end of season). Peake still have decent team and no reason with few signings in my opinion why they cant challenge again next season, this season was always gonna be stop start for them after losing few players and going out of cups early after xmas there games were very spaced out so fair play to them for sticking at it and i wish them best of luck peake always were decent bunch anytime i came up against them.

as for premier next year nicholas getting alot of discussion on here, lads saying they wont sign outside players they have had loads of tipp town lads play with them over past few seasons so they dont just limit themselves to local players. im sure if players from anywhere presented themselves to the club they would sign them not a bother as would any club. they have great chance of staying up next year if they give it a shout if cahir go division 1 next year ur looking at 8 team premier.

if i were nicholas manager then right off there 6 games against town,saints and celtic not much of a chance of beating them. try get full team out then versus wildies,cashel,peake and borris. none of these teams are world beaters so no reason why they shouldnt pick up a few wins. hope they give it a good shot anyway cause they have some very good players
    Last edited by balls; 16/05/2011 at 5:46 PM.
    if it wasnt for birds and booze id have played for ireland juniors!!!!!

25 Posts
    Addicts post above sums up exactly my views on St.Nicholas - very well said. SgtBilko is also correct - horrible comment from Pony O'Brien. Balls, as always, an excellent post. Just to clarify, the present St.Nicholas team has no Tipp Town players - a rural team, managed by a local manager and local committee. Realistically, St.Nicholas appear to be destined for the Premier League and so be it. Lets hope their season isn't over by mid September. Meeting St.Michaels, Clonmel Town and Clonmel Celtic in midweek in August would not be pleasant. Roll on 2012/2013, Paddy Purtill Cup, Shield (hopefully 3rd time lucky).

is Eamonn O Dwyer not a player from Tipp town nononsense??

Eamonn O Dwyer signed for the club in the middle of Janurary. St. Nicholas don't activally seek players but if anyone from the area was interested in signing then they would be happy to sign them but as nononsense says they will keep the main part of the team local.

i dont think there is anything wrong with st nicholas and their preference to play in the 1st division, there is nothin worse than for a team to be gettin bet by cricket scores week in week out, fellas lose interest and the club suffers, most of the lads there are out there for the love of the village area and to play a bit of football but thats where it ends, same way goes for galbally and bridge were the same boat, going up and down from the premier to the first, thats life and that football.

Quote Originally Posted by SgtBilko View Post
    pony you are well out of order with that remark, agree totally with the addict
    No I'm not. So you think it's ok for a team to take points off other clubs at the start of season, and then deliberately lose games to avoid promotion later on, ruining the league for clubs who wish to be competitive. Thats a terrible attitude to have.

31 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nononsense View Post
    Addicts post above sums up exactly my views on St.Nicholas - very well said. SgtBilko is also correct - horrible comment from Pony O'Brien. Balls, as always, an excellent post. Just to clarify, the present St.Nicholas team has no Tipp Town players - a rural team, managed by a local manager and local committee. Realistically, St.Nicholas appear to be destined for the Premier League and so be it. Lets hope their season isn't over by mid September. Meeting St.Michaels, Clonmel Town and Clonmel Celtic in midweek in August would not be pleasant. Roll on 2012/2013, Paddy Purtill Cup, Shield (hopefully 3rd time lucky).
    'horrible comment'!!!! less of the drama please. And Pony is dead right. To avoid promotion the suggestion is a team deliberatly loses games or doesn't make the effort to win. That is wrong and should be condemned and has no place in sport. To follow the logic of some posts on this matter the Premiership in England should only have 3 to 4 teams as no other team starts the season with realistic aims of winning it. Every team in Tipperary should be striving to play at the highest level and finishing 7th in the Premier is a bigger achivement that winning the 1st Division. Any club who deliberately avoids promotion because of fears that they will be out of the depth have no business in league and maybe should play Sunday pub soccer instead. Let Wilderness Rovers be an example of what a promoted team can achieve.

There can't be that much of a difference in 1A and premier is there?barring the two big ones,St michaels and clonmel town.

Michaels, Town and Celtic can match with anybody. Peake Villa always seem to shoot themselves in the foot. Cashel have done well under Kenny Condon and are going in the right direction. as Roberto said Wilderness were excellent this year. I think Pony is correct- if teams dont want to get promoted- then they have no place in the league, getting in the way of teams who do

last 6 seasons winners and runners up.....05/06 Town / Michaels 06/07 Town / Michaels 07/08 Town / Michaels 08/09 Town / Villa 09/10 Villa / Town 10/11 Town / Michaels.... based on these facts Villa are the only team that have broken the hold of the big 2.... I believe that Celtic have hugh potential but need to be at the business end of the league, the facts above show they flatter to decieve, but are a great cup team.

Page 62 of 74 FirstFirst ... 1252606162636472 ... LastLast