43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    really? who?

Denis Maher

2,771 Posts
    would you believe me if i said that my post was about to contain the words "Apart from Denis Maher"?

Look, i got the point you were making - and it was a nice dig - but Maher will be gone by the time the transfer window reopens. There will be no additions to the Bohs payroll this season.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

138 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by hoopy View Post
    And there in a nutshell is what's wrong at Bohs and what'll always be wrong at Bohs. Instead of stabilising your club you want to get rid of Fenlon's wages, not to ensure you have a club in the future, but to bring in players who'll be on big money. It's not only your board who have themselves to blame.
    God bless the internet, endless entertainment.

420 Posts
    look lads, all the Rovers-Rovers fighting here, Dodge raises a good point but Ezeikials reply is just as accurate. Fenlon is not at fault for our woes, he was doing his job as a manager and, yes, in a manner that would benefit him and his reputation. I dont have a problem with that. Thats his remit and his prerogative. Fenlon, at worst, is a contributing factor to whats transpired down Dalymount. It is the board and the board alone that must shoulder the blame for the mess that we are in.

Fenlon is on big money - the wrong sort of money for Bohs to be paying (now or at anytime in honesty). For that expense to be gone is a good thing - it frees up some money to bring in some top class players who will genuinely challenge Rovers for the title and that is very important to me.

Joking aside - Fenlon is on big money, was looking for a huge budget again and from that respect we are better off without him. From a footballing point of view, i dont see it as a major loss either. His management/tactics/signings last season were erratic and ineffective. If true, this is a good thing.
    In fairness lads how were ya supposed to know he was joking.

89 Posts
    would you believe me if i said that my post was about to contain the words "Apart from Denis Maher"?

Look, i got the point you were making - and it was a nice dig - but Maher will be gone by the time the transfer window reopens. There will be no additions to the Bohs payroll this season.
    Do you think Maher will actually be gone this time, is there serious support against him this time. Really was a big opportunity missed for Bohs not heaving against the board (and Fenlon) at the end of last season.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts

The insightful informed journalism of Cathal Dervan

There some really funny passages in the Star today from Cathal Dervan :

"The financial troubles that have plagued the club for the last 12 months have finally forced Fenlon's hand."

"The club only secured a Premier Division licence a week before the start of the season and Fenlon has operated on a budget of just €250,000"

2,771 Posts
    so clearly Fenlon has been feeding him those lines. What scares me most is that this seems like an attempt at leverage from Fenlon.

Jicked, man, i dont know if he will go for sure but it seems like the balance in the membership as a whole (not just the internet folk) is tipping the right way. He better be gone.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

64 Posts
    oh dear... couple of sandwiches short i reckon.
    Oh sorry...I was ..eh..joking of course
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

I hope Fenlon stays...........we need the points
    If YOU are not part of the solution,
    YOU ARE part of the problem

Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    There some really funny passages in the Star today from Cathal Dervan :

"The financial troubles that have plagued the club for the last 12 months have finally forced Fenlon's hand."

"The club only secured a Premier Division licence a week before the start of the season and Fenlon has operated on a budget of just €250,000"
    Wasn't this followed by something like "despite the millions fenlon has at his disposal in the past". Poor old Pat eh

From what I can see the man is a mug. He can win the league with all the money in the world and when the going gets anyway tough he is gone. If I see in the papers how little money he has to spend or how he has scraped together a make shift squad one more time I think I will actually get physically sick. Christ he has a better team than the majority of the league and the whole first division and Bohs have only lost one game. Grow up Pat for feck sake.

63 Posts
    I think your issues lie with how journo's refer to Fenlon than the man himself. I have never seen an interview by him pleading poverty at Bohs so your a bit unfair on him. Feel free to prove me wrong though...

Defo did at the start of this season. Tabloids don't do websites so probably won't find a link for you

Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    I agree with you Dodge, up to a point.

The problems in Bohs are partially to do with successive boards inability to face up his demands. Fenlon is certainly part of the problem
    For the record I didn't say Nutsy wasn't completely innocent, but their problems started before he went there, and he just carried on with the sham spending. problem lies with the board (and members)

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Defo did at the start of this season. Tabloids don't do websites so probably won't find a link for you

Wasnt there some interview where he was talking about barely having enough money to get a team together.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by horton View Post
    I have never seen an interview by him pleading poverty at Bohs so your a bit unfair on him. Feel free to prove me wrong though...
    Unfair comments on Fenlon, becuase you have not seen an interview by him complaining???

Where do you think the €250k figure comes from?

Have you thought about the purpose behind feeding gullible journos with this rubbish?

Just because Dervan says it again and again does not make correct or believable

71 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by total hoofball View Post
    Drop in the ocean with Zurich lurking around the corner in 2012, the year of the Bohs apocalypse
    So that's what the Mayans knew.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by horton View Post
    I think your issues lie with how journo's refer to Fenlon than the man himself. I have never seen an interview by him pleading poverty at Bohs so your a bit unfair on him. Feel free to prove me wrong though...
    Before the start of the season he was saying how hard it was to put together a squad at all and wasn't sure if it would be possible, suddenly he has a grand sized squad with plenty of experience and title winners in it. Remember the story that he shopped around everywhere about how his poor, poor title winning side weren't able to spend the night in Derry after a game? Rovers are pretty well off respectively, not all full time players and managed to survive getting the bus back from Derry last night.

205 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Nutsy's a decent bloke, and I've yet to hear a single player who's played under him to have a pop.
    Know them all do you?
    Sporting F*ck All!

63 Posts
    Jaysus far to much hostility on here for my liking. Fair enough, I live in England so I'm not exposed to the local tabloid fodder about the LoI. I retract my comment.

Quote Originally Posted by L.T.F.C. View Post
    Know them all do you?
    Course not, but I've heard loads of players complain about other managers. Its a small enough league

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast