Page 25 of 74 FirstFirst ... 15232425262735 ... LastLast

Thread: Tipp South & District League 2010/11

Comeonthetownnow is merely on this for controversy and wind ups so i wouldnt get too hyped up and before he has a go i would like to say there is nothing wrong with that either,bit of banter is good on this,it gets very dull at times

i dont subscribe to the merry go round that surrounds james walsh, i believe that breen makes him look better than he is, he is a good organiser but as a defender i think leahy is better, recently when breen got injured against clonmel celtic i heard he was all over the place, i am entitled to my opinion, this is a forum isnt it? i wont comment on the 2 other players you mention as they are from the club i support but again i am entitled to my opinion, mcgrath is back for town, he is a super player, can start playin again on Dec 1st im told, will be a serious addition to the club

Quote Originally Posted by ComeOnTownNow View Post
    i dont subscribe to the merry go round that surrounds james walsh, i believe that breen makes him look better than he is, he is a good organiser but as a defender i think leahy is better, recently when breen got injured against clonmel celtic i heard he was all over the place, i am entitled to my opinion, this is a forum isnt it? i wont comment on the 2 other players you mention as they are from the club i support but again i am entitled to my opinion, mcgrath is back for town, he is a super player, can start playin again on Dec 1st im told, will be a serious addition to the club
    There has been some negative and uncalled for comments regarding James Walsh. There is no merry go round surrounding him. Before last year's FAI semi final against Town, some negative comments appeared about him again. This drives him on to play better, hence he played one of his games of the season that day, 3.0! score line. the wind up gets you nowhere really. He wouldnt be where he is today without his talent.

The thing with James walsh is that he is human, he does have bad games too. As for when breen got injured, I havent seen so wont comment but il guess and its normal in football. When you play alongside a fella for so long you presume stuff, your covered if anything goes wrong. Now for anyone who knows anything about football when you know in your head that a team mate will be in a certain position you become confident he will be there. so for james walsh behalf he is so used to playing with breeno that he has to adapt to a new player and their position, which can make you look bad at times(all over the place), its like knocking on balls to your strike partner and he reading your knock ons but if a new fella comes in and doesnt read them you look like your knocking them onto no body, hence you look rubbish. look at rio without vidic, terry without carvaliho, they too can look lost without their right hand. JUST my opinion comeontowns comment and yes your right your opinion is much needed on this!But if you were watching town v Michaels on a hot day in cahir and the result was 3 nil and walsh and breen were immense, I think you might understand!

I have a question for all the referee's on here. Can you award a penalty for handball if you admit to not seeing a handball? Please note there were no assistants

Massive point for Villa against Saints today,all heart and pride in the jersey,an outfield player had to play in goals and still Saints could not find a goal, with Alan Leahy injured Donal Duggan played centre half and was immense, Saints just have no strikers at all

31 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ponyobrien View Post
    I have a question for all the referee's on here. Can you award a penalty for handball if you admit to not seeing a handball? Please note there were no assistants
    I think the short answer to that is no! However what is even more bizarre is that he admits to not seeing a handball afterwards Was Freiberg the ref by any chance?

we probably have the worst set of referees in the country, heard there was murder today above in two mile borris, some fella attacked john maguire, its disgraceful just for the record!

what happened anyway pony?

The referee was the disgrace more than anything comeonetownnow, he completely over reacted and instantly abandoned the game. maybe if he would of thinkin to himself for 10seconds, things would have been better off.

The ref awarded a penalty for handball, and when questioned after the game he admitted he didn't see it. He was standing behind the player (he clearly chested the ball by the way) so he couldn't possibly have seen it. He listened to the oppositions calls.

Did he really say that he didn't see it?? Did you actually hear him yourself?........can't believe he said that!!
    "There is no pressure at the top. The pressure's being second or third."

Quote Originally Posted by footballfanatic View Post
    The referee was the disgrace more than anything comeonetownnow, he completely over reacted and instantly abandoned the game. maybe if he would of thinkin to himself for 10seconds, things would have been better off.
    Nothing a referee does during a game warrants a player physically assaulting him/her!! Once this happens, the game is automatically abandoned regardless of how serious the assault is. Cast your minds back a year or two, I think it was Sweden were playing and a fan ran on and tried to hit the ref, thankfully he missed, but even so the game finished.

I'm scratching my head here that this question was actually asked!!............

Of course a referee cannot act on any incident that he does not see. For example, if one player punches another behind the referees back, the referee turns around and sees the offended player nursing a bloody nose, he tells the referee what happened.....the referee is powerless to act! Hope this helps. Also if the referee did admit to a mistake afterwards, hopefully he'll put this in his report!

Quote Originally Posted by ComeOnTownNow View Post
    we probably have the worst set of referees in the country, heard there was murder today above in two mile borris, some fella attacked john maguire, its disgraceful just for the record!
    If ye think ye can do better lads, the Fai are running a Referee Beginners Course next weekend in Cahir. (advertised in the Nationalist)..............Put up or shut up as they say!!

about borris v saints b game ( the ref ) he shouldnt get saints games , his brother was playing ............
    Last edited by bad bhob; 21/11/2010 at 9:21 PM.

I heard that myself, that is absolute farcical in my oppinion. How can this happen? no fairness what so ever.

poor result for saints, celtic drop points again, so town are the real winners today late goal to seal the 3 points. was at the cahir game today even though have slated both galbally and cahir for being poor sides they really served up great game of football today both teams gave it everything. hope robbie costigan is alright was taken away from game in ambulance in what looked like nasty facial injury
    if it wasnt for birds and booze id have played for ireland juniors!!!!!

132 Posts
    The referee just lost it today unfortunately, and it really was a pity, because unlike in so many cases when refs lose control of a game, it had absolutely nothing to do with the players. It was a good game, no problems between the teams at all, and for some unknown reason, he started to give crazy decisions, which bamboozled both teams.

It seemed to start with that crazy "third" goal when the goalie kicked the ball off Coleman and it went back over his head for Slattery to roll in. He seemed to give it, and then the Celtic players had to explain the rules to him i.e. that Slattery was offside when it came back off Coleman, so he changed his mind and gave a free out. Celtic were right in this case, no complaints from me here.

But, they were wrong a few minutes later when they scored their "equaliser", which was offside. Not clear, it was a close call, but it was offside and shouldn't have been given. Cue Cashel complaints, and he was a bit harsh I think in sending Paul Hoare off. The whole game changed on that call, and then Celtic got a cracking third goal.

After that, to be honest, I think he took the easy option and "made it up" to Cashel in giving the penalty at the end.

The real pity is that it was a game that probably deserved to be a draw.. but that's not for a referee to decide, that should play itself out on the field, and I know and understand that it is of no use to Celtic to say that at the end. Had Cashel been on the other end of it, I imagine I wouldn't be happy now either.

Like I say, a real pity, because it was a really good honest game... but the referee just let it get away from him

Quote Originally Posted by Mega Tots View Post
    Massive point for Villa against Saints today,all heart and pride in the jersey,an outfield player had to play in goals and still Saints could not find a goal, with Alan Leahy injured Donal Duggan played centre half and was immense, Saints just have no strikers at all
    Yeah was at game. definitely a case of 2 points dropped by Saints. Peake were delighted to get the point. I heard someone say that the goalie was an outfield player. Saints hit cross bars, posts, everything, except the back of the net. They just couldnt finish the job. Saying that, Derek Breen was virtually a spectator for most of game. Peake goalie didnt have a minute to catch this breath. it's still game on. Saints have a game in hand against Galbally and town have to go to Cooke Park, so its all to play for. Saints were missing 5 players. They better improve for next Sunday. Celtic will be a hard test for them in FAI.

Page 25 of 74 FirstFirst ... 15232425262735 ... LastLast