Just giving my opinion, but I seem to have hit a little nerve!! If memory serves me correct both Peake and Cashel had very few players on those teams that had come throught their respective schoolboy teams.....the majority had been poached with the promise of success and the possibility of progressing to a higher level of football........ I think Cashel actually toyed with the idea of entering the Loi U19 league. As for me being bitter.........grow up kid!! Peolple are entitled to opinions whether you agree or disagree, but don't get personal with your comments!
"There is no pressure at the top. The pressure's being second or third."
For anyone who thinks they could do better than the guy in the middle every Sunday, there is a Referees Course being run in Co Tipperary at the end of this month (27th Nov). Even if you only wish to learn the Laws of the Game from the refs view contact your local Referee Branch. Course is of great benefit to Club Officials and those who wish to take up refereeing.......No's can be found on www.tsdl.ie/referees
I see your point and take it on board but IL give you an example of Tipperary’s most successful player Shane Long. Shane signed for St Michaels when he was 14 from St Kevin’s. I ask you if Shane had of stayed playing with St Kevin’s and not signed for Saints would he be where he is today? He got the best of coaching at Saints; got the chance to play in the latter stages of National cup competitions, all of this developed his game. This meant he would be seen by Irish scouts and Scouts from foreign clubs. With the greatest of respect to St Kevin’s Would he have got those opportunities playing with his friends at St Kevin’s would he have been able to develop into a better player if he had of stayed at St Kevin’s. A player will develop more when he is playing with good players around him and is playing against some of the best players in the country at that particular age. If he or any other player waits until they are a junior player to better themselves then they very likely won’t get the opportunities they would have got had they moved earlier in their career?
This is a great post and explains alot about whats happening junior football at the moment, clubs are being damaged at the moment for looking for instant success which leads to bringing in every decent player from outside a town, who stays for 1 to 2 seasons and leaves the club. These clubs should be working with the players at a younger level and then if they are lucky they will get 4 or 5 players for the future. Take Michaels for example they have one player from the town on the 1st 11!maybe 3 or 4 on the panel..is that right?success is everything but morals are needed too. How many people go watch matches now? From what I hear about that new club in tipp there is twice the amount of people watching them than saints?any truth in that?only inquiring not stirring..
Fair point Tipptop, But I think it's fair to say that maybe the bigger Clubs, 5-6 years ago had better standard of coaching available to them. I think now, because of the Fai grassroot coaching programmes that even the rural Clubs have experienced coaches who can help develop youngsters. The question I'd ask you is, do you think St. Michaels had Shane Longs interests at heart,or do you think they just wanted to win win win?? I'd have no problem with a Club helping to develop a young player further than what his parent club is capable of............. If this was done with the approval of the parent club......
If I am to be totally honest I think that the grass root coaching programme has brought a hell of a lot of bad coaches into the game. People now think that if they have a level 1 badge that they are the next Jose Mourinho. I have never seen so many people to try jump on the band wagon and say they are a qualified coach when really they have no experience at all. There is people now coaching in some of the clubs that never played the game or had an interest in the game up until recently. These same people now think they are the greatest thing since sliced pan all because they got a level 1 coaching badge. I would much rather see somebody who had played the game and had a good knowledge of football coaching my son than some of the people that are out there now. I was down at the Kennedy cup Last year, I was horrified at what I heard and saw some of the managers doing and I’m sad to say the TSSDL management team was in that category. I still think that the bigger clubs have better coaches in place and the reason is they bring back old players to get involved.
There can be no doubt that Saints signed Shane as they hoped he would help them win things, but they took him under their wing and looked after him very well. In situations like that its win win for both player and club. Personally I don’t think it should matter if the parent club approve as no club has a divine right to any player.
Last edited by Tipp Top; 11/11/2010 at 4:42 PM.
hey you want to send a few of the referees to that course while your at it
well said tipp top, agree with you about the coaches who never stepped a foot on a pitch in their life, most of them do get involved because their son are involved, fair play to them for doing it but as you said you would prefer to have your son coached by someone who played the game
The same people will leave the club when their son gets bored of playing or if another manager doesn't select their son, These people are no good to any club. Your club is a club that I admire as any schoolboy game I go to see involving Town Their is always ex players involved. These same players don't need any badges to prove their worth.
The points about coachs are valid but what about the clubs that cant get enough volunteers to coach?I understand totally its great to have former players or someone who played some bit which would gain the respect of the young fellas but it doesnt always work that way..some clubs have to deal with who they can get, which is unfortunate in some cases as there is some nut jobs out there coaching who I see roaring and f@*** on the lines of underage games, they soon become addicted to the power of football management and as one post suggests think they are Jose.On the other hand I know a few coaches who work with underage and who were in and out of football for years(calling someone a poor footballer not allowed as this is junior football forum), but they work really well with young lads and have gained respect from them that works to develope players.It is a very interesting debate tho..like the premiership have to have a certain amount of home grown players on the squad..would it be good for junior football???
Ya but if clubs really want to progress they need to keep these people out of the club these people will be detrimental to the development of these players future in the game. I don’t mind if someone was a poor player at all at least they played and they will know what their limits are as regard coaching. What I find astonishing is that certain clubs won’t ask back their former players as they have no regard for their former players. Certain people in certain clubs think that players should be privileged to play for their club when really it should be that the club are privileged to have any player playing for them.
How will the TSDL line out Saturday night against the MSL? Has anyone withdrawn from the panel?
this forum has finally got an intelligent post, and its ironic that it comes from a fella called "quietman". All I can say about that is junior football is not like before and certain clubs dont care about the community or who passes through the gate, all they want is instant success and one day that will come back to bite them in the a55!they would think that they were built in one day and got success instantly without a hand from the community..wrong..someone recently told me that a big club in the tsdl is losing a lot of respect from former players and supporters who do not want anything to do with them due to who is in charge of the club..if that continues they are asking for trouble I think.
Tipperary Southern League 1, Munster Senior League 0. Excellent game. Sean O'Hara scored the winner on the stroke of half-time.
jaysus thats a poor team, fair play to them for pullin the result out of the bag, fair play to seanie o'hara
how is that a poor team when it is made up of the top two teams in the league bar one?interesting..and harsh on those selected.thats a decent team