Page 15 of 74 FirstFirst ... 513141516172565 ... LastLast

Thread: Tipp South & District League 2010/11

poor result from cashel expected them to get good run in the cups this season taught they were after getting there act together from early season slump, as for cahir things may not be as bad as appears, glengoole on there day can put it up to most teams and have a few scalps down the years to there name hopefully cahir can pick it up now in the league and get points to keep them safe. premier division needs there facilities and a good competitive cahir park team is what the tsdl needs . As for barry ryan it is some return of goals. to watch him you think he is only handy enough player doesnt do much in games wouldnt appear to be as skillfull as your tony scullys , barnesys etc but the man bangs in goals for fun.
    if it wasnt for birds and booze id have played for ireland juniors!!!!!

132 Posts
    The game against Borroway was a bit of a joke as far as Cashel were concerned yesterday. No offence to Borroway, they were hungry and tried to play some good football, but Cashel had the better of the play and played most of the football throughout the game.

But, in the end they deserved to lose. They wasted chance after chance after chance, and made the Borroway keeper do no work whatsoever. The penalty was soft, but so what, that happens in soccer, and once they equalised they should have been able to kick on. Instead, they handed up and unbelievably soft goal less then ten minutes after, and then apart from one shot which skimmed the crossbar, never once looked like equalising again.

We really should have done better yesterday, and to top it all, Mackey got badly hurt. I hope he'll be ok. Players are more important than any result.

That said now, best of luck to Borroway for the rest of the competition.

As for barry ryan it is some return of goals. to watch him you think he is only handy enough player doesnt do much in games wouldnt appear to be as skillfull as your tony scullys , barnesys etc but the man bangs in goals for fun.[/QUOTE]

That sums him up perfectly, he would not have had the skill or ability of foggy or donal duggan when he was at Villa but he just comes to life in the box, he will win TSDL player of the year again this year but has zero chance of being capped while James Walsh is involved in the Irish set up, he is scoring 30+ for the last ten years and deserves some form of recognition

Thats a fair record of goals, in fairness to him. but when you play in a league and cups that most of the teams you play against are very poor, you would be expecting a top teams striker who are in the running to win the league and will get a long run in the cups, to be getting a few goals..not about 1 player but the quality around him says alot. would he get those goals with Galbally no disrespect to them but an example of a team that struggles?doubt it very much has he done it in big games?against saints?..dont know the man but if your looking for him to be getting call ups to the irish squad, think of more tougher leagues around the country..as i said i dont know him or anything about him, but what I have seen and heard of him if he was a cone he would lick himself.doesnt help when your looking for praise or call ups.

rushy if your saying standard in tsdl premier is poor you need your head examined, clonmel town saint michaels clonmel celtic are a match for any junior team in the country ,they would also match any msl or lsl maybe not up to standard of crumlin and rockmount but definatly as good as all other intermediate teams in the country, then you have peake villa wildies and cashel would put it up to most junior teams in country bar killester , carrick or pike so i dunno where your coming from. fair enough galbally and cahir are poor this year but both are good clubs and have lost mass amounts of players from there squads for various reasons. another strength of tsdl is our lower divisions are very competive you wont see many 11 nil wins etc in earlier cup rounds like you do in cork limerick etc. so ill disagree with your statement about barry playing at poor level

when barry was scoring for villa few seasons back they were not exactly world beaters so he has done it with a lesser club also

Quote Originally Posted by balls View Post
    when barry was scoring for villa few seasons back they were not exactly world beaters so he has done it with a lesser club also
    He won player of the year with Villa after scoring 30 goals from midfield including that goal in the complex to force the play off that called all the drama,he scored a hat trick against Celtic this year in the derby so i would also disgree with the big games slur

Quote Originally Posted by rushy12 View Post
    Thats a fair record of goals, in fairness to him. but when you play in a league and cups that most of the teams you play against are very poor, you would be expecting a top teams striker who are in the running to win the league and will get a long run in the cups, to be getting a few goals..not about 1 player but the quality around him says alot. would he get those goals with Galbally no disrespect to them but an example of a team that struggles?doubt it very much has he done it in big games?against saints?..dont know the man but if your looking for him to be getting call ups to the irish squad, think of more tougher leagues around the country..as i said i dont know him or anything about him, but what I have seen and heard of him if he was a cone he would lick himself.doesnt help when your looking for praise or call ups.
    I know the chap and his family for years,nobody laughs at the ridiculous celebrations more than he does himself,its all showmanship and for a reaction, off the pitch he is a fierce nice fella and im sure any of the Clonmel Town lads would tell you the same and he drove them mad for years with his carry on,i dont agree that should cost anyone a cap,i would love to see him given a chance because he scores goals and thats the bottom line

132 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rushy12 View Post
    1. That's a pretty unfair assessment of the TSDL. Clonmel Town and St Michaels are regularly at the business end of national competitions, and neither won the TSDL last year .. kudo's to Peake Villa.

2. Add in Peake at their best and Clonmel Celtic, and you have half a league of very strong quality in Junior Football.

3. Cashel may flatter to deceive but will give any team a hard time on their day, and as the Wildies showed this year, they are no pushover either.

All in all, the TSDL is a strong league.

As for him "loving himself".. so what if he does, he has the form and goals to back it up.

Personally, I've met him a few times (he won't know me, but I know him), and off the field from what I have seen personally and been told by close friends of mine who would know him better than me, he's a grand young fellow. Unassuming, and will listen to people if he feels they have something to offer him, which is as much as you can expect from any player. Too many players fancy themselves as some kind of Maradona but don't produce the results to back it up.

On the field, he can be *****ly and a pain in the backside for opponents. But so what. That's his job. He's there to score goals, but not make friends. And that's what he does, fair play to him. If he deserves an international call up, and from his record, he does, best of luck to him.

How many new players did 2 mile borris sign for a finish after all rumours at start of season. i see they have lad called jamie morrissey signed is this the fella who was with saints last year, also they have a michael ivors signed is this the young fella who played for town last year.

first time poster, long time lurker...
    As a very respected person in irish and world football, i have taken an interest in the tsdl lately, it looks a decent quality league but i worry about the lower divisions. I was very suprised at the weekend result involving cashel town football club. Are these lads good enough for the premier league in south tipp when they cannot beat a division 1 side in north tipp (only promoted last season). Peake Villa had a poor result the weekend aswell, has north tipp improved rapidly or is southtipp soccer on a downward curve?

Also cahir parks results tyher last 2 weekend, rediculous for a club of thsat stature.

Oh ya someone got carried away with cashel and wildies giving pike a game?C'mon lads.....

Wink

Quote Originally Posted by balls View Post
    How many new players did 2 mile borris sign for a finish after all rumours at start of season. i see they have lad called jamie morrissey signed is this the fella who was with saints last year, also they have a michael ivors signed is this the young fella who played for town last year.
    Iv heard a rumour they might be puttin in a bid for wayne rooney

any word when will the draw be for next round of tipp cup?

31 Posts

Red face

Quote Originally Posted by footballfanatic View Post
    first time poster, long time lurker...
    As a very respected person in irish and world football, i have taken an interest in the tsdl lately, it looks a decent quality league but i worry about the lower divisions. I was very suprised at the weekend result involving cashel town football club. Are these lads good enough for the premier league in south tipp when they cannot beat a division 1 side in north tipp (only promoted last season). Peake Villa had a poor result the weekend aswell, has north tipp improved rapidly or is southtipp soccer on a downward curve?

Also cahir parks results tyher last 2 weekend, rediculous for a club of thsat stature.

'A very respected person in irish and world football' Is this guy taking the p155? I sense a WUM.

FAI Junior Cup

I heard the Tipp Fm show last night and as always Muiris Walsh spoke very well. He did say that he would fancy Town to go a long way in the FAI and gave them a right chance of winning it. I normally agree with what he has to say but I think this is a bit of blind loyalty on his part given his involvement in the club

No roberto, not wum but more a fanatic, a "footballfanatic"
    Aint we all respected in world football...at least we like to think anyway

Quote Originally Posted by Soccer Fan View Post
    I heard the Tipp Fm show last night and as always Muiris Walsh spoke very well. He did say that he would fancy Town to go a long way in the FAI and gave them a right chance of winning it. I normally agree with what he has to say but I think this is a bit of blind loyalty on his part given his involvement in the club
    Former Involvement.

At last something to talk or debate about, yes i need my head examined but for other reasons, this thread was getting boring.Predicting results for the weekend?hard in the tsdl?saints town and maybe celtic each week, there is your controversial treble, stick in borris in 1st divison for the acca, collect = rocket science!Anyway going back to those well worded replies and opinions, I didnt say the league was bad but a few poor teams and even poorer in the lower divisions of the cups that the top teams meet and steam roll where a fella might score 3 or 4 goals a game, talking double figures after 3 cup games.Now I was harsh on barry and to be honest after hearing a few stato's there I agree he should be at least given a shot and hopefully for the tsdl he does.
    Forgive me Barry...and forget about cones.
    But to suggest wildies or cashel would give the likes of Pike a game maybe assuming but for how long, 20 mins?do you balls go watch football?and junior football?Pike saints town have the pick of seriously good players other clubs cant compete with that unless its a historic win at home for some team like cashel or wildies.I see roberto talks sense? BUT thanks for changing my perception on Barry lads, i'll sleep tonight.Insidetherock as a fellow football fan please show respect and leave maradona's name out of this thread..

yes i need my head examined but for other reasons.I tried to post a big apology there but wouldnt leave me?probably doesnt like cones either.didnt say the league was poor, maybe a few teams and teams of lower divisions who top teams steam roll in cups and a player can score 3-4 goals in these games, 3 games your in double figures.now I have been persuaded with your stats to change my opinion on barry and by the replies I cant see why he doesnt deserve a shot at it.As for insidetherock and being a top quality league?i see that through your predictions every week - saints town celtic and throw in borris for the acca= rocket science, does this equal to a top quality league?i'm afraid not.top 3 teams probably quality and if anyone else beats them in the league or cup its historic.and please as a fellow football fan dont use Maradona's(god) name that loosely on this forum.thanks insidetherock!

Quote Originally Posted by tipp man View Post
    Former Involvement.
    I heard he was back with them and everything was resolved, maybe not.
    Anyway, I still think he is deluding himself if he thinks Town will win FAI.

Page 15 of 74 FirstFirst ... 513141516172565 ... LastLast