Page 7 of 76 FirstFirst ... 567891757 ... LastLast

Thread: Sporting Fingal Gone Belly Up

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GalwayRed View Post
    Sorry to drag this up again but as someone from Swords are you trying to tell me I'm from County Fingal?
    You can be from where ever you want to be, you can say you live in hogwarts for all i care Galway/swords your choice.

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Ah come on man. I even said that being a Shels fan will automatically make me not like ye. why? . That's a given. And long may a sustainable rivalry remain.

The hard-done-by attitude is there to be seen. Im not having a pop but you may need to look a bit closer to home on that one judging by some comments made across the boards by some shells fans. I've yet to see much positivity emanating from Fingal fans tbh. A few Fingal fans have posted as it is on here but you chose to be blind to it . And if there's positivity out there then let's see it.

I just think that the wider community of LOI fans are tired of the negativity and we want to see this league finally strengthen. I agree the league needs a few years with football being the only news. But yet again it seems that the annual crisis is imminent. What was that you was saying about negativity ?
    You are going on as if Fingal are doomed, this is far from the case. 2010 and 2011 are sorted we will wait and see what 2012 brings . At worse it could be a lot less finance available which would mean the same as what other clubs have done and cut back,it would be common sense but there will still be a Sporting Fingal there to support. We post a loss for the year and some think its the end of us others have made far worse losses and are still around.
    Look at Derry when their main sponsor pulled out, they made changes and are still around. Look at shells who had some dodgey dealings whilst spending crazy money whilst trying to get into the champions league group stages, they are still around. If and i say a big IF, Fingal has some money worries down the road then im sure it will be dealt with accordingly. Just to clarify so that i dont have to post it again, be NO means do i take for granted that Sporting will be at the level they are now for a number of years and paying the wages some claim they are paying

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by higgins View Post
    It's perfectly acceptable for one man to pump money into a club but the worry here is that this guy is going to lose everything he has when NAMA come knocking.
    How will you bridge the 15K per week gap after his assets are frozen?

Has he already given the 2010 money to Fingal?
    If so that's fine but we'll have the same problem in 2011 or however long it takes for NAMA to act
    What makes you think he is going to lose anything ?

It could be worse we could have had that Fingalton chap instead
    Last edited by The Lep; 18/03/2010 at 7:03 PM.

61 Posts
    Administratively speaking... technically you are. But screw technicalities. Culturally you're a Dub and proud!
    I live in Fingal, im not Dub.

Quote Originally Posted by The Lep View Post
    Look at Derry when their main sponsor pulled out, they made changes and are still around.
    Emm - they actually aren't around anymore - did you miss the 200 odd page thread?
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Celdrog View Post
    Emm - they actually aren't around anymore - did you miss the 200 odd page thread?
    Arnt they?They seem to have had a decent crowd at their matches so far this year.

I know about what happend up there last year or what was reported anyway.

415 Posts
    Arnt they?They seem to have had a decent crowd at their matches so far this year.

I know about what happend up there last year or what was reported anyway.
    Ah now do you not know that you shouldn't mention crowds in a Sporting Fingal thread?

61 Posts
    Ok sorry boss, i should have been more careful . Let me know the next time i post the word crowds again. Dam, ive just done it again, sorry it just happpens from time to time.

Have you seen that Colin Firth movie thats been in the cinemas lately?
    Lets redefine what it means to heal

You can be from where ever you want to be, you can say you live in hogwarts for all i care Galway/swords your choice.
    Well seeing as I was born and raised in Swords I think I'll choose to be a dub.

61 Posts
    Good choice, well done.

1,825 Posts
    I live in Fingal, im not Dub.

Oh for the love of Jesus.

Were you born after January 1st 1994? Fingal has only existed as an administrative county since then.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

Ah Bonnie come on. The thread is already starting to decend into the usual. Not worth adding to it.

61 Posts
    Oh for the love of Jesus.

Were you born after January 1st 1994? Fingal has only existed as an administrative county since then.
    Nope, i was born a good few years before that North County Dublin was called Fingal many many years before North County Dublin reached into it. Have a look at a really old map of Dublin.
    Fair play to you for declaring your love to Jesus but what has that got to do with me living in Fingal and not being a Dub ?
    Why is this thread now about whether Fingal is a county or not ?
    The thread was about Fingal maybe being the next club to fold, a bit OTT of a thread title but never mind. Lets stick to the topic with something NEW cos there is no point going off topic just because you havent anything new to say.
    To go back on topic. Is Sporting Fingal the next club to go belly up ? No i dont think so,even IF we lose Gannon as a backer Sporting would still be around in some shape or form, maybe not as we are now but still around all the same. We are ok this year and next but havent a clue what 2012 brings so i'll enjoy the Premier Division experience until our points say otherwise at the end of the season.
    If as some of you wish that we do go belly up then so be it, there isnt a lot i can do about it at the moment and id be gutted like a Sligo fan at a cup final if it happens but until it does Sporting Fingal is in the league and those that wish that we arnt will just have to deal with it for a bit longer Others teams before us have gone through some hardship and survived in some shape of form so im sure we will as well if it comes to it although like most of you i want the league to run smoothly without any of the goings on of last season and the only talking points is the about the wins and losses on the field of play along with the usual banter with fans of other teams.
    Lets make this the season of love and good will in the Airtricity league and hug a fan of the away team when you can and do away with the hate for one season at least

What makes you think he is going to lose anything ?
    NAMA is an FF creation, I doubt the developers will lose much. The most recent developer to lose "everything", went off to slum it in his Marbella villa. But they'll be claiming the poor mouth, so I doubt they'll be throwing money at such things football clubs due to the optics.

But to be honest, that's not really the point. If a benefactor simply gets bored they could pull the money. Is there protection for the club, and the league, no matter the reason if a benefactor stops paying?

3,491 Posts
    2010 and 2011 are sorted
    On what basis?

Also, Derry City FC went into liquidation and were restarted by a different bunch of people (as is my understanding). If Sporting Fingal go into liquidation, who outside of Gannon and Buckley is going to restart it?

You are going on as if Fingal are doomed, this is far from the case. 2010 and 2011 are sorted we will wait and see what 2012 brings .

Has Gerry Gannon paid up his 750k X 2 (or whatever the exact amounts are for this season and next?) in advance?

If he hasn't - but he decides to walk away any time soon - then you are fecked.

There is way you can assert that you are sorted for 2010 & 2011.
    A transient, horrible, fantastic dream,
    Wherein is nothing yet all things do seem:
    From which we're wakened by a friendly nudge
    Of our bedfellow Death, and cry: "O fudge!"

Ambrose Bierce

Ok I'll go on topic now. If Gannon does stick to his word and invest the money for the next 2 years then this is the window they have to build up a fanbase and progress in the league. if Fingal can maintain a crowd similar to what they had against Sligo then its a very good start but to be honest its a very tough ask. I have witnessed the efforts Fingal have made to attract new fans and to be fair to them its excellent. However thats mainly down to the money Fingal have and the fact they are a full time set-up. For example Shels wouldn't be able to send players around to schools to promote the club and such as the players all have second jobs. If Gannon decides to pull out in two years time then Fingals finances are going to be cut drastically which will probably result in relegation and part time football. From their its tough to see how the club can continue on. Time will tell though.

21. Thanks From:

61 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    NAMA is an FF creation, I doubt the developers will lose much. The most recent developer to lose "everything", went off to slum it in his Marbella villa. But they'll be claiming the poor mouth, so I doubt they'll be throwing money at such things football clubs due to the optics.

But to be honest, that's not really the point. If a benefactor simply gets bored they could pull the money. Is there protection for the club, and the league, no matter the reason if a benefactor stops paying?
    Thats true for all clubs but in our case we have some decent sponsorship across the board . If and if our main benefactor pulls out for whatever reason we may have to do some major changes then and only then.

dont Sporting Fingal plan to move to a new pupose built stadium in lusk or somewhere? just wondering if is there a timeline for this and if any of the fingal fans know who will fund it etc

Page 7 of 76 FirstFirst ... 567891757 ... LastLast