Page 12 of 17 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast

Thread: Dave Rogers Sacked

147 Posts
    I agree, the man flashed his backside at a group of fans, any damage to reputation was done by himself
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

It doesn't matter a jot what you two think.
    DCFC

125 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post

this depends on the forum to which he would take the case (EAT, Labour Court,Civil Courts). compensation can be awarded for "distress" "damage to reputation" "breach of procedure by employer" etc. This could be additional to compensation for loss of earnings. it is true however that the main consideration is loss incurred by the player. Any compensation would be based on the level of responsibility he incurred for his dismissal versus the level of responsibility on the part of Dundalk.

The most likely scenario is that the parties will agree a pay off figure on a confidential basis.

I can't see that happening. I think the board and especially Mr. Matthews will stick to their guns on this. Indecent exposure is what this was and it does warrant a summarily dismissal by his employers for gross misconduct and for a contravention of numerous public laws. In summary dismissal due procedures do not need to be followed.
    I would love to know if there was a precedenct case in relation to this and i can't seem to find one.

the "money in back pocket" gesture and money counting gestures. Is it OK in Dundalk to slag off paying customers as long as they are away fans ?

By the way dont go down the UD road until you see the outcome of Rogers case (Hypocracy is not a defence in Irish civil or Labour Law)
    we all know that there is a gulf in difference between Sean Connors' case and if their will be one between Dave Rogers and DFC. Connor improved bohs and then got fired while rogers dropped his togs for a laugh when his team where losing

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Given Dundalks new found morality (if we are to believe it) why was Sean Connor not sacked for abuse/ incitement of "paying customers" V Bohs ?
    Is the new morality confined to Dundalk paying customers ? is it okay as long as the infringement is against away fans ?
    the "money in back pocket" gesture and money counting gestures. Is it OK in Dundalk to slag off paying customers as long as they are away fans ?

You don't appear to be well up on this - Rogers was dismissed subsequent to his gesture to St Pats supporters (they were the "away" fans at Oriel, by the way)

If, as it appears, you as suggesting that Sean Connor should have been dismissed because of this "slight" on Bohemians or their fans you seem to have lost all sense of reality - a bit like Bohemians board itself over the last few years

[/quote]

By the way dont go down the UD road until you see the outcome of Rogers case (Hypocracy is not a defence in Irish civil or Labour Law)
    I dont know what you are on about. But Bohemians certainly have been consistent in their ineptitude when it comes to legal issues

Quote Originally Posted by jinxy lilywhite View Post
    I can't see that happening. I think the board and especially Mr. Matthews will stick to their guns on this. Indecent exposure is what this was and it does warrant a summarily dismissal by his employers for gross misconduct and for a contravention of numerous public laws. In summary dismissal due procedures do not need to be followed.
    I would love to know if there was a precedenct case in relation to this and i can't seem to find one.
    Just on the above while summary dismissal can occur immediately and without notice or pay in lieu of notice, it should follow the basic principles of natural justice.

Normal proceedure would have been to suspend Rogers pending an investigation and the hold the disciplinary hearing which he should have been invited to and afforded representation at. Then if the outcome was to summary dismiss so be it. The fact that aparently none of this happened leads me to conclude that Dundalk may have a case to answer at the EAT.

I think a few cases were cited as precedent further up the thread.

1,552 Posts
    Eh? Everybody knows what happened it had many, many witnesses and was even photographed. Rogers isn't denying it so I really don't see what purpose an 'investigation' or a hearing would serve.

He did something outrageously stupid and rightly lost his job. Him and the PFAI should feck right off and leave it at that.

Quote Originally Posted by Black and White View Post
    Explain why he gets nothing if he joins Lisburn almost immediately?
    Quoted the wrong person sorry.
    Quote Originally Posted by jinxy lilywhite View Post
    CSF you can summarily dismiss an employee without due procedures if the actions of the case warrant. I am no legal eagle but I would assume a contravention of the law like indecent exposure and gross misconduct would warrant this action. It is as I guess the cts will look at each case on their own merits but dfc have as much as a chance of getting the correct outcome as rogers does.

if rogers has proceeded with signing for lisburn then i am fairly certain he won't be taking an unfair dismissals claim to dfc as i'm certain (correct me if I am wrong) that Rogers is only able to get compensation for the length of time that he was out of work. I will check this out
    I sincerely doubt mooning comes under the category of dismissal without proper procedures, I'll be shocked if it does. And I'd assume Rogers won't be on the same money at Lisburn as he was at Dundalk, so he'll definitely have a case to make.
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Eh? Everybody knows what happened it had many, many witnesses and was even photographed. Rogers isn't denying it so I really don't see what purpose an 'investigation' or a hearing would serve.

He did something outrageously stupid and rightly lost his job. Him and the PFAI should feck right off and leave it at that.
    I'm sure you'd do the same if it were you.
    Lets redefine what it means to heal

1,552 Posts
    That's not that likely in fairness since I'm

a) Not a footballer
    b) Not a moron stupid enough to moon the crowd half way though an important match.

[quote=Mr A;1175759]That's not that likely in fairness since I'm

a) Not a footballer
    b) Not a moron stupid enough to moon the crowd half way though an important match.[/quote]

You left out the main part...with his team down 1nil and on the bloody stroke of half time, could have at least waited til after the macth, sure away fans have to wait at least 10 mins after the match to get out!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    McGuinness does not have it in for Dundalk. He works for his members.

nearly as aparanoid as the Corkies who think he has it in for them too

I very much doubt that mcguinness would have it in for dundalk he had a spell too with ye..hes doing his job after all..

You left out the main part...with his team down 1nil and on the bloody stroke of half time, could have at least waited til after the macth, sure away fans have to wait at least 10 mins after the match to get out!
    So that wouldn't have been a sackable offence? So the only reason he was sacked is because he was sent off?

He was sacked for showing a complete lack of respect for the club, his team mates, and the fans. How hard is that to drill into your thick head Dodge?

Are you for real? The post above you said he should've waited until after the game.

So obviously you think that him pulling his pants down after the game isn't showing disrespect to his club and team mates and, of course, the fans?

Are you for real? The post above you said he should've waited until after the game.

So obviously you think that him pulling his pants down after the game isn't showing disrespect to his club and team mates and, of course, the fans?
    Yes because in doing it during the bloody game he risks being caught, sent off and fined or worse, which is what happened, if he did after the game when nobody is bloody paying attention then he probably would still have a job for the reason that it probably would not have been caught with few watching or paying attention! Get the drift now?!

2,771 Posts
    i cant understand how people get so visibly angry arguing on the internet. Quite funny!! calm down B&W - Dodge is perfectly correct in his interpretation of your post. Its only a crime if you get caught, eh??
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    i cant understand how people get so visibly angry arguing on the internet. Quite funny!!

147 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by pól-dcfc View Post
    It doesn't matter a jot what you two think.
    You're right, in fact, itr doesn't matter what any of us think. Shut down this bloody Internet thing once and for all, what were we all thinking?
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

1,552 Posts
    I think that we've established that what we were thinking doesn't matter.

Not that realising that what we were thinking doesn't matter matters in any way either.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    [quote=Black and White;1175763
    ....... could have at least waited til after the macth, [/quote]

Dodge, you are clearly misquoting him

The Dundalk FC board have clearly stated their reasons for sacking.

In my personal opinion mooning at fans (before, during or after the game) shows an incredible level of disrespect to all concerned. But it is obvious to anyone with any level of intelligence that doing so during a crucial game, resulting in a sending off, simple compounds the consequences of his actions for his club, team and the supporters. How do you find that so difficult to comprehend?
    Last edited by Ezeikial; 11/06/2009 at 10:07 AM.

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    In my personal opinion mooning at fans (before, during or after the game) shows an incredible level of disrespect to all concerned. But it is obvious to anyone with any level of intelligence that doing so during a crucial game, resulting in a sending off, simple compounds the consequences of his actions for his club, team and the supporters. How do you find that so difficult to comprehend?
    In all fairness Ezekial, the post you have made (and suggested Dodge has difficulty comprehending) is clearly different from the posts below, where Black and White suggests that if Rogers had mooned the away fans after the game and not been sent off, he (Black and White) wouldn't have been bothered at all.
    For B&W, the main point, and the way Rogers disrespected the club and fans, is not that he mooned, but that he did it at the wrong time and got sent off for it.

Yes because in doing it during the bloody game he risks being caught, sent off and fined or worse, which is what happened, if he did after the game when nobody is bloody paying attention then he probably would still have a job for the reason that it probably would not have been caught with few watching or paying attention! Get the drift now?!
    Last edited by osarusan; 11/06/2009 at 11:28 AM.

Page 12 of 17 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast