ya lifford played like the team that were playin for league...rats very poor all over pitch from defending to finishing...i imagine dere will be vast improvement in display against avenue... i'm sure puff daddy will be having a stiff word with lads![]()
bunratty were out played by a better footballing side as i have been saying fair play to lifford. avenue scored 8 althought moher were missing a few of the footballers. heard micky mahony scored six giving him the top scorer again this season every1 delighet we wont av to travel back there next season, looki9ng forward to the game sunday should be a cracker martin was the correct choice for the game any predictions too hard to call,
ya lifford played like the team that were playin for league...rats very poor all over pitch from defending to finishing...i imagine dere will be vast improvement in display against avenue... i'm sure puff daddy will be having a stiff word with lads![]()
Yes I agree, should be a cracker. Bunratty were terrible on Sunday and will need a massive improvement if they are to beat an Avenue team that have hit form at the perfect time. Avenue would have to be clear favourites now but I wouldn't be surprised to see it go all the way to penos.
Lifford were much better last week for sure but overall the stanard of football has dropped this season,to be honest it has being poor over the past few years.
Taking the Cup this year as a exmaple the two semi-finals were the worse games of soccer ever played.I could not pick a team worthy of playing in the final from all four teams.The league itself is the most tospy-turby league ever.Apart from newmarket who had a poor season themselves every team who has won the league is either relegated or in a dog-fight to stay up.This league is competitive but poor and asking people to pay into the clare league is like watching TV with no reception terrible
Bunratty very disappointed as ye can imagine, but credit to Lifford they played well and deserved the win. Disappointed also to hear Moher were not near full strength but it was there for us to win and we could not do it.
Big week ahead to try turn things around. Scales got picked up a bad injury and I doubt he will be involved at the weekend.
Surprised to hear Rineanna got dragged into the playoff but I hear they were not near full strength. I'm sure they will have enough for Tulla or Mntshn though when it comes down to it.
hope tulla come up would because there pitch is savage and would be a great replacement.[/QUOTE]
This is the same pitch that is constantly flooded and unplayable ?-
i would rather be swimming in tulla
“The very powerful and the very stupid have one thing in common: instead of altering their views to fit the facts, they alter the facts to fit their views,” Dr. Who
how can u say lifford b are not worty of the final a div 2 team knockin out two prem teams and a good mountshannon side, if ur standard is so high and the clare league is so bad dont bother watchin the games, dont pay to get in, dont bother comin on here complaining about it... stay at home and complain to whoever is there (if anyone )about the weather or whatever else u moan about
relax im just telling the truth.Lifford B are not a good side but yes they deserve to be there.I only go the Premier League and i judge what i see in front of me.I am not bias to any team.The stanard is shocking.In the second half of the shannon O Vs Rinennna game there was not four passes without some one loosing it.Bunratty have played some good soccer eg against newmarket and so has lifford, vs Avenue.There is more also.
I think if the is any decent player thinking of playing in the clare league think again and drive thirthy to a hour away into limerick.I would love to see the clare league improved maybe give clubs more money or improve more pitches??But until then...
I don t agree with you saying that theres no quality in the clare league, ya the pitches could be better but if the limerick league is so good why were limerick 37s reserves and u21 teams coming down to clare to play there games in cassidys park! and as for saying that the cup semis were poor games, did you stop to think that neither teams wanted to lose the games and the fact they were 2 derbys aswell,ya they were 2 scrappy games but if u seen the 2 fa cup semis on the same weekend u couldnt say they were cracking games! the 2 sides that got promoted from the first division this year will make it a really tough league next year so i can see it being as tight at the top next season aswell, anyway my season is finished now and i ll definitly be enjoying the rest we get, 7 games in the last 19 days is tough for any1
What happened Moher at the weekend, that was a bad defeat to ship....They must have been missing a good few lads....
I eats the beef......
Lads gone are the days (in most clubs) of changing at the side of the road/back seats of cars. O' Neills gaelic footballs (just one) and little interest by some clubs/players.
I can recall Newmarket being one of the only clubs in the league with a dressing room. The pitch had a slope. Now they have 2 fantastic surfaces. Lifford's facilites are a credit and gone are the days of playing at the back of Our Lady's hospital. The county grounds are being worked on at present. If the Bridge put in dressing rooms and a new drain they'd be away. Tulla's place is fantastic and will only improve with the new drains. Newspaper coverage of the league has advanced significantly and this very forum is one of the busiest.
Leas Rd is a good facility though the pitches are overused (think they are closing soon for much needed maintenace).
With all this investment I can assure you all that the football has improved too. Lifford A V Bunratty A last Sunday was an enjoyable match, played on an excellent surface with plenty of passing. There is even a club in Gort that have entered 3 teams into the schoolboys league and left Galway. A poster was describing the poor football at both cup semi finals. From my recollection the weather was bad that weekend and that effects games.
Lifford B are a quality side with quality players. They have good strikers too. I think the Cup Final will be a good display of the standard of football in Clare. To say Lifford B don't deserve their place is wrong. They earned it and it is anyones final.
The standard of football is good and no worse than any other league nationwide. Good to have a healthy debate though
Take it easy ! (and if ur getting it easy Take it Again)
You want the Clare league to improve, but also advise any decent player not to play in it?? How is the league meant to improve if the decent players don't join/stay??As a few have already stated on here, the Clare league has improved massively over they years, from the standard of football, to the facilities and the website etc... Im sure things will continue to improve.
Your right the 2 semi finals wern't great football matches, but both were played in terrible conditions and were both derby type matches.You also say Bunratty, Avenue, Newmarket and Lifford play good football, probably the 4 best teams in Clare. Have a look at a game not involving any of the 4 teams in Limerick premier and im pretty sure the football there isn't very good either.
some excelent points ... but not to sure on newspaper coverage it only tends to get more coverage when no gaa matches onheard recently clare people contacted league to ask why they would not change cup final as a possible clash of intrests for a certain teams players may be playing gaa the same day ... wonder if they phoned gaa to see would they change match times
" football is a simple game "