Page 53 of 70 FirstFirst ... 343515253545563 ... LastLast
Results 1,041 to 1,060 of 1382

Thread: Clare League Season 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by azceltic View Post
    my problem is they will change regular times -for games on tv. So why can't they change for local games
    please explain why clare league should arrange one of the hightlights of the season around another sport... the gaa would not do it for us ... unfortunatly if teams rely on players who favour other sports as first choice then so be it let them deal with the problem

" football is a simple game "

Quote Originally Posted by avenueC View Post
    cup final will have an attendance of what? 200 --500 people depending on who is in it
    gaa county final,, 5000 - 9000 depending on who is in it

as for lifford lying down next sunday, i doubt they will not with mick kennedy over them
    only thing is they are not good enough to beat bunratty so it doesnt really matter.
    avenue/moher will be tough.if avenue come away with a win it will make a few clubs happy not to have that long drive back there again,
    and with the gaa/soccer debate will moher have a conflict with football games at the weekend?
    personally i always favoured soccer as my main sport so i would take a cup final with 10 people over a county final with 5000 -9000 people biggest game in history of rineanna what is more important to their club ...

Well I think my main point is I think that the Cup Final is the pinnacle of Clare Soccer and should be the showcase of Clare Soccer, It should be on in the county grounds with all the Fanfare each club deserves but maybe its just me but having players to choose between a cup final and an important match in another code is unfair on the players. I just think it may become overshadowed by players and supporters having to choose. but then again this happens alot and will happen again next year.And seriously do you think if the h-cup final or F.A cup final were on the same time as the clare cup final they wouldn't change it

lads i hate to see players missing games and it would be very unfair if they do on a cup final day. christ they worked their socks off to get there. But as a soccer fan i believe the final should be on saturday evening around six like it has been the last couple of years. its a game i always go to so lets hope both sides have a full compliment.

Quote Originally Posted by azceltic View Post
    Well I think my main point is I think that the Cup Final is the pinnacle of Clare Soccer and should be the showcase of Clare Soccer, It should be on in the county grounds with all the Fanfare each club deserves but maybe its just me but having players to choose between a cup final and an important match in another code is unfair on the players. I just think it may become overshadowed by players and supporters having to choose. but then again this happens alot and will happen again next year.And seriously do you think if the h-cup final or F.A cup final were on the same time as the clare cup final they wouldn't change it
    yes it is the showcase of clare soccer... so if you play soccer it should be the highlight of your season to play and represent your club in the cup final so it should be an easy decision to chose to play in cup final... would gaa even consider switching matches because of clash with soccer i don't think so .. when players signed for rineana /lifford they signed to play soccer and try and win trophies for their clubs.. or did they sign to keep fit during off season in gaa and then chose to play their no 1 code ( gaa) when both clash.. the problem is if players refuse to play gaa match they will be told were to go and may never play with local gaa team again .. but when they refuse to play soccer match they usually tog out in next weeks game ...

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    yes it is the showcase of clare soccer... so if you play soccer it should be the highlight of your season to play and represent your club in the cup final so it should be an easy decision to chose to play in cup final... would gaa even consider switching matches because of clash with soccer i don't think so .. when players signed for rineana /lifford they signed to play soccer and try and win trophies for their clubs.. or did they sign to keep fit during off season in gaa and then chose to play their no 1 code ( gaa) when both clash.. the problem is if players refuse to play gaa match they will be told were to go and may never play with local gaa team again .. but when they refuse to play soccer match they usually tog out in next weeks game ...
    true old git but its not the players that are forcing this issue it the biggots in gaa clubs who still think their is a ban.

Quote Originally Posted by hacker View Post
    so lets move on 3 more weeks of this topic will be fair boring and nobody will have any interest in the final when it comes along..

Especially if it clashes with the first round of the hurling championship
    I'll update this next year.

the problem is if players refuse to play gaa match they will be told were to go and may never play with local gaa team again .. but when they refuse to play soccer match they usually tog out in next weeks game

Keep in mind that a soccor player can move to a different club if he has a bake or P**** off with the set up - GAA players can;t do this -

lads when i started this i was'nt giving out about the lads that play both sports
    they are entitled to do so when they sign for a club we no wat comes wit
    there signature gaa is first and we all know dat,but teams should not
    be complaining when this happens and just get on wit it, it dos'nt deserve
    a metion.wat the lads (gaa players)give to there team on the way to the
    cup final is worth havin and the only people that really lose out is them!!!!!!!

lads i think ye all need to take a step back from this topic..there is no clash of fixtures..as fixtures for hurling not out yet..we can worry about it when fixtures come out.both gaa clubs involved are being very supportive to rineanna and are trying to help us out if allowed..so lets leave it at that..

and old git when you start managing a team then and only then can you decide who plays for you i have no issue with gaa players playing soccer.most clubs have them(name 1 that doesn't).the lads mentioned are good players so im not going to tell them i dont want them because they play gaa..maybe you would but then again thats you..

so lets move on 3 more weeks of this topic will be fair boring and nobody will have any interest in the final when it comes along..
    so you have no issue with 3-4 of your first choice players deceiding to miss one of the biggest games in rineanna's history find this extremly hard to accept as a player / manager you would always want your first choice 11 players starting week in week out.. fair point on most teams having gaa players .. but most may only have 1-2 gaa players .. how do rest of squad feel now if these players play in your last game in preimer league and then miss cup final due to clash of intrests .. i am not having a go a just your club it is a big problem in clare that a lot of clubs suffer over the season due to dual sports players who always chose gaa over their local soccer clubs when situation arises

The clare league should give both teams every chance of playing a full team in the final.Both teams will feel its such a big day in there history,any way i dont believe the the GAA would ever change.Their fixtures are not planned great anyway

They haven't decided or missed anything yet have they
    hopefully they dont miss out on cup final and ye can go on to win it
    then it might stop alot of the abuse / slaggin rineanna get here from alot of people on these threads

Hacker - may i suggest a ban on any comments made and let the football do the talking

Quote Originally Posted by Planners View Post
    Hacker - may i suggest a ban on any comments made and let the football do the talking
    Is this a new approach from Planners

Always well able to stir it in the past... Especially with RATS

Quote Originally Posted by CousinSylDolan View Post
    Is this a new approach from Planners

Always well able to stir it in the past... Especially with RATS

Rats by name rats by nature - - if the hat fits and all that !!!!!

rineanna wont mind who there missing they have a big sqaud and its
    only lifford b there playing rineanna have done well in the cup competions
    this year and must fancy there chances

Formerly: vidic-class
    Quote Originally Posted by b777b View Post
    only lifford b there playing
    rineanna have done well in the cup competions
    Alright b777b you haven't fooled anyone reading this forum with your shenanigans of reverse psychology since your arrival here. You playing down Lifford B's chances and building up their opposition isn't going to get them to take ye for granted.

What do ye think of that ref Brosnan getting €100 to do the line in the Rineanna Olympic game Sunday?

how could u say rovers or olimpic are favourets after the lifford b knocked out mount shannon newmarket and lifford a the bs have earnd there right to be there they done it the hard way and have to fear no one in the final
    only lifford b there playing rineanna have done well in the cup competions
    nice one

Anyone know who won the match between Shannon Olympic B and Manus Tuesday night, no mention of it on the clare league site
    I eats the beef......

Quote Originally Posted by chappie View Post
    Anyone know who won the match between Shannon Olympic B and Manus Tuesday night, no mention of it on the clare league site
    It said on the website on Tuesday that it was postponed

Page 53 of 70 FirstFirst ... 343515253545563 ... LastLast