Page 52 of 65 FirstFirst ... 242505152535462 ... LastLast
Results 1,021 to 1,040 of 1294

Thread: Cork AUL 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by streetscene View Post
    big fella i agree with you that wilton are on top on merit and that every team gained in some way by those teams folding..the only thing which i would argue is it did give the rest of us 2 to 3 less games to catch them and when ballyphehane folded it did set us back a bit personally.we had just put a good run together and were after slipping into fourth but we really needed those two games.its no secret that wilton have been struggling lately for numbers and stuff and whose to say they would not have slipped up..again i know its not their fault but they did gain out of it that way..we all got the points but two less games was a killer... i have to say we played glenthorn on sat in mossy and it was my first time seeing them this year and i have to say if they had more league games played then it could well be a different story at the top.. they are extremely quick and dangerous up front and in alan greaney they have the best finisher in the league.. altough he was brilliantly marked out of it throughout the game by babsy he still managed to get one chance which he took in some style..the match did finish two all and i felt we were unlucky but it was a great game... they are still in the running and could yet have a huge say...
    dont know why they have so little games played but if i was involved with them i wouldn be too happy with the way its fell
    Streetscene I totally understand what your saying.I used to get info off one of the lads playing with wilton an from what he used to tell me there confidence was flying before and after all this stuff happened.The likely hood of them wining the 3 games was high anyway.I just don't think that it should be taken away from them if they do win the league.Like in fairness there's not many teams will go to grattan and come away with a 3-1 win.I'm not from these parts but I think it makes good reading to see so many teams in contention for the league at this stage of the season.

Foot.ie! Littlemans Littlerant in Little Island

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    I could'nt have planned the way Sunday morning was going to pan out even if I had a team of writers from the X files.My experience should have told me that wether the clocks are goin froward or backwards an hour,some idiots will get caught out by it,and if you add any kind of a party the night before then your on a hiding to nothin with what you expect to turn up on Sunday morning for a game.

I was at home Sunday morning an had the intention of watching the first half of the A game an then the 2nd half of the B game.How wrong could I have been.The B manager txt me to say that of the 17 he had at training Thur only 11 had turned up an as I had signed the B form encase of emergency's then could I turn up as sub.Fair enough I said an got into the car an got to the pitch.Then at the gates I met one of the lads envolved with the A team,he missed his spin,I thought to meself I'll drop him down to Leeside as I wont be used in the 1st half of the B game,at least hopefully not at all.Got down to Leesides place to findout 5 or 6 of the team had gone to a christening the night before an failed to show,we had 11.Manager went in goal an asked if I'd tog off as sub,I thought to meself I'm 36 an I was expectin to be on the bench for the B team an I'd got promoted to the A team with out even toggin off.

Leeside had at least 20 togged off an were well up for it for the 1st 15,then just seemed to self destruct,unbelivable display from them.The ref was in a word,dispicable.Ignorant an emotionless also spring to mind.Like talkin to a cow,stuipd look on his face throughout and any questioning of his decisions drew a yellow he got envolved in stuipid arguments with the side line which only drew both sides and the game out.He sent off a leeside player who had nothin to do with the incident that drew the foul.The Leeside center half,was an I dont like sayin this about any player but he was a disgrace,3 challanges in the 1st half alone that were straight red and I challenge an person watchin the game to defend what he got up to durin the game.

I can understand a player being commited,even bein well up for it so to speak,but this fella went out to hurt people,plain an simple.Dont get me wrong it wasnt a dirty game,just some of the fouls were truly terrible to watch an how some of the players left that pitch in one peice was a miracle an probably more down to their fitness an a bit of luck..

The ref played a huge part in the game,sent the wrong player off an bottled another straight forward sendin off offence,the center half agin put in a terrible challange on Figo,straight through the back of him,bit of a malee an our Brian Sull went head to head with there Sullivan,the Leeside Sullivan kicked him in plain sight of everyone,ref less than 2 yards away an lookin straight at it,what did he do,sent Jack from Leeside off for what knowone knew.With the extra man we were well in control an probably played the best 90 mins I have seen all season.

2 up with an should have added another 2 or 3 but again the final ball an in fairness a good young Leeside keeper kept it down.Leeside were gifted a goal in injury time when a clearence by our right back on the line hit the backside of the keeper an went in(twas par for the course considerin the way the mornin went) on back in injury time butt too little to late.Oh ya I came on for the last 25 at left back.What age did Bobby Charlton play on too,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    Hi Guys .I just logged on to this Footie crack a few weeks ago .Heard a lot about the quotes and comments from some of the charactors involved .Having watched from the sideline these last few weeks i must say i,ve been amused and bemused by some of the stuff i,ve been reading. WOW! Hav,nt we come a long way these last few years ,from travelling to Church Rd on cold Sunday mornings courtesy of CIE to venting or anger at players and officials from behind a typewriter or key board { as they are now called } Courtesy of the WWW . Having read the article posted by this fella who calls himself Littleman i was surprised some of the more regular contributors to this page did,nt take him to task on some of his comments .Littleman having watched your club grow to the successful club it has become over the past few years i take my hat off to all concerned ,Yes There is only one Dinny Pops. Littleman how any man could watch and play in a game of football ,come home and sit behind a key board and pick words from a dictionary to discribe a man who took the trouble to put his clock forward Saturday night ,got out of bed Sunday morning to referee a match ,that ye won by the way . IT beggars belief Littleman .I shudder to think what you would have called him if you had lost the game .PS . Grow up little man

71 Posts

Site Buzzing again

I like it when we have a little controversy now and again. Its good for the site!!...............and I had this line written before I read cechmate's bit!!

Doug, our game is off. Im kinda upset that we only got confirmation tonight. Its not fair on the other players. Its great for my brother and Im delighted for him, but it should have been sorted earlier.

Cechmate, Im only on the site a few months myself and it takes a while to know the run of it. In my opinion, Littleman may have been a tad OTT but I dont believe he was attacking the man personally as such - it was kinda like he was just effing and blinding at the "authority" figure in the middle. Its tough to explain what I mean, but it was like us with the right full from Kinsale a few weeks back. Us on the sideline were winding him up and he was winding us up back. For that 110 minutes we hated him...GARY NEVILLE.....but when the final whistle went, he wasnt a player anymore, he was just a normal guy. We werent going to fight him after the game or anything. A fella's upset at a ref might even last a few weeks, but its the ref not the person you are arguing with.. I hope my point came across as I meant it lads.

I agree with Shilts upto a point. I understand what you mean by more teams should make the club more stable, but thats not always the case. Maybe there should be some stability tests in the same way as the FAI Licencing works. Is that what the 5 year plan is trying to do? Maybe the question should be how many of the 20 would still be in the division if the 5 year plan was implemented tomorrow? 8 or so I think. So if the five year plan is implemented, then it should provide the stability that is needed.

A good bunch of teams gone this year, and I think some more may struggle over the summer. Strretscene is right about the cattlemarket, but in a lot of cases, its who you know. Between Grattan and yourselves wouldnt be much of a difference, so it may be who he knows on what team. I see you are still afraid to write too much in one post!! I think they fixed that!

Well hello Cechmate let me be the 1st to welcome you to our fourm, A rant at Littleman is good way to start, with all that should follow you will be a coach in no time

Declare your allegence? Obviously a true Blue from London?
    "Build it and they will come"

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    I like it when we have a little controversy now and again. Its good for the site!!...............and I had this line written before I read cechmate's bit!!

Doug, our game is off. Im kinda upset that we only got confirmation tonight. Its not fair on the other players. Its great for my brother and Im delighted for him, but it should have been sorted earlier.

Cechmate, Im only on the site a few months myself and it takes a while to know the run of it. In my opinion, Littleman may have been a tad OTT but I dont believe he was attacking the man personally as such - it was kinda like he was just effing and blinding at the "authority" figure in the middle. Its tough to explain what I mean, but it was like us with the right full from Kinsale a few weeks back. Us on the sideline were winding him up and he was winding us up back. For that 110 minutes we hated him...GARY NEVILLE.....but when the final whistle went, he wasnt a player anymore, he was just a normal guy. We werent going to fight him after the game or anything. A fella's upset at a ref might even last a few weeks, but its the ref not the person you are arguing with.. I hope my point came across as I meant it lads.

I agree with Shilts upto a point. I understand what you mean by more teams should make the club more stable, but thats not always the case. Maybe there should be some stability tests in the same way as the FAI Licencing works. Is that what the 5 year plan is trying to do? Maybe the question should be how many of the 20 would still be in the division if the 5 year plan was implemented tomorrow? 8 or so I think. So if the five year plan is implemented, then it should provide the stability that is needed.

A good bunch of teams gone this year, and I think some more may struggle over the summer. Strretscene is right about the cattlemarket, but in a lot of cases, its who you know. Between Grattan and yourselves wouldnt be much of a difference, so it may be who he knows on what team. I see you are still afraid to write too much in one post!! I think they fixed that!
    Horse .Thanks for your comments i know you mean well but this little man was OTT in every sense of the word .Dont get me wrong the only man in black i could take to was Johnny Cash .I know for a fact my name was mentioned manys the Monday night in Blackpool Community Centre ,if you know what i mean ,but fair is fair .Horse ,believe me i,ve been reading all yer stuff over the last weeks/months and i must say i,ve enjoy them to say the most .But this little mans comments have been P.ing me off to tell you the truth .He seems to be an authority on all aspects of the game playing /coaching /administration /and now refereeing .John Delaney CEO /FAI beware.

Quote Originally Posted by casilles View Post
    Well hello Cechmate let me be the 1st to welcome you to our fourm, A rant at Littleman is good way to start, with all that should follow you will be a coach in no time

Declare your allegence? Obviously a true Blue from London?
    Thanks Cas ,Sorry for the little rant by way of intruduction but thats the way i am . Lets be honest we,ve all had our little outburst at the man in black over the course of 90 mins .But once he blows that whistle its over [roll on next week ] you dont go broadcasting it on the WWW. Happy days when that whistle would blow at 12.15ish on Sunday ,win /lose /or draw and we,d all go for a few pints Now we have gown men going home to play with their key boards [GOD HELP US ]
    Last edited by cechmate; 07/04/2009 at 12:30 AM.

Why shouldnt we be allowed to comment on the refs performance?? It's not a personal attack but an attack on his capabilities as a referee... as horse pointed out he called our right full a plonker!! To be fair there was a fair few plonkers on the line and the pitch for them that day as well...that centre half to name one but that's during the game!! Totally different after the game... well except for the game last thursday nite but lets not get into that!

Refs put themselves out there to ref a game and they should be open to criticism like anybody else. We had John Lyne at the weekend for the grattan game and even though we felt some decisions went against us...as did the gratts i'm sure, all in all he did a solid job. But nobody wants to hear about someone who does a solid job... that doesnt entice us to get on our typewriters or keyboards and post it here!! If you get p'd off by a decision then you'll write about it, like cechmate eventually did here, or littleman did previous to it.

Who was the ref anyway?

Wink

Big Fella dont get me wrong..Wilton are the best team in the league right now simply cause they are top of the league.the old saying the table never lies springs to mind..they are also a decent bunch of lads and in john leonard they have a great clubman and more like him and i for one wouldnt begrudge them there moment in the spotlight..after all we ran them right to the last game of the season last year for the prem a title..so if any one knows about wilton i reckon im well up there...
    my point is that when ballyphehane folded then it did narrow down the chase and they had a lot more games than 3 left then so all im saying is for those of us chasing we all hoped they would slip up somewhere..after all this is football and you just never know..on the other side if we had took more than 1 point from our first four games then it wouldnt have mattered to us. and as wilton took 9 from there first four then there is the difference. for me i just think it took the gloss off the run in cause whatever slight chance ourselves and another one or two teams had it then dissapeared.. this surely can never be allowed happen again.. and i still reckon ghlenthorn could yet run them all the way
    cechmate welcome on board and you have certainly arrived in style.. but we need to know where your allegiance lies...... altough i like the reference to mr.cash. as you said we have all had a go off refs at some stage and i get the point that you dont like the fact that its done from behind a keyboard and i accept that.but in recent times i myself had a run in with a ref who point blank refused to address me or acknowledge me and then went and reported me when we could have just had a chat about it afterwards.. he never gave me a chance to explain myself...i think thats what really frustrates people and its a hard balance to get right i know cause some people go way over the top with the refs.. at the end of it all though i think we all appreciate them cause without them we would have no league at all to whine about.. must say im looking forward to the reply!!!!!!

41 Posts

A raw nerve.

Well Cechmate its quite a way to introduce yourself.But in all fairness what ever reason you may have for deciding my comments were somewhat ott then they are your opinions an your well entitled to them.Those who choose to agree with you or disagree ,thats their choice.With regards to the ref situation then again you quote your obvious experience in the game,yet when frustration boils over towards a refereeing display then is it not better to vent it on a keyboard than at the ref himself in a verbal fashion.I would challange anyone who was at the game to say that they thought the ref was in control of it.At the end of the day its only a game an players have to hopefully walk of it an go back to their familys or jobs in one peice.The man in charge is quite entitled to have a bad day,as even players do more often than not but he still has a higher responsability to ensure the safety of the players,which he did not.Players got hurt,im no saint an i was an still am able to put myself about in a physcial fashion.But theres a difference between gettin physcial an actually hurting an the ref should be able to spot it.Again he did not.

Lastly Cech,this is a forum.I'm entitled to my opinion an you to yours,if you dont agree or like what you read then you are quite entitled to pass comment or not .The comments towards refereeing displays tend to be varied an not based towards any referee in general just with rather the standard of dispaly,its not a forum for a witch hunt,just for football chat an views to do with the Aul or what ever league your in.Their are plenty of good refs but equally bad an thats a fact as their are good an bad players.

We few on this thread are Aul through an through an vent our fury using a keyboard because its safer an cheaper than gettin a yellow,red or a letter from the Aul.I do have opinions on a lot of issues an we express our views on this thred,some are very good an some are not but for the most part we all seem to have a mutal respect for the other side of the story which is always a good thing.I have pointed out more than once that people should be careful when commenting on refs because I know the site is checked by refs,but anyone who is envolved in junior football is aware of how dire the situation is with clubs an trying to keep players envolved an if the man in the middle decides to be awkard then players get frustrated an even worse.Players come on this site and willingly admit their clubs or players had a stinker,yet you think its ott for myself to comment on a refereeing display.Refs can for the most part be solid enough an are quite entitled to have a bad day,may even cost you the game,but to fail to ensure the safety of the players he is in charge of,cant defend that I'm afraid.

PS,your bang on cechmate their is only one DINNY POPS.
    Last edited by littleman; 07/04/2009 at 10:11 AM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Quote Originally Posted by streetscene View Post
    Big Fella dont get me wrong..Wilton are the best team in the league right now simply cause they are top of the league.the old saying the table never lies springs to mind..they are also a decent bunch of lads and in john leonard they have a great clubman and more like him and i for one wouldnt begrudge them there moment in the spotlight..after all we ran them right to the last game of the season last year for the prem a title..so if any one knows about wilton i reckon im well up there...
    my point is that when ballyphehane folded then it did narrow down the chase and they had a lot more games than 3 left then so all im saying is for those of us chasing we all hoped they would slip up somewhere..after all this is football and you just never know..on the other side if we had took more than 1 point from our first four games then it wouldnt have mattered to us. and as wilton took 9 from there first four then there is the difference. for me i just think it took the gloss off the run in cause whatever slight chance ourselves and another one or two teams had it then dissapeared.. this surely can never be allowed happen again.. and i still reckon ghlenthorn could yet run them all the way
    cechmate welcome on board and you have certainly arrived in style.. but we need to know where your allegiance lies...... altough i like the reference to mr.cash. as you said we have all had a go off refs at some stage and i get the point that you dont like the fact that its done from behind a keyboard and i accept that.but in recent times i myself had a run in with a ref who point blank refused to address me or acknowledge me and then went and reported me when we could have just had a chat about it afterwards.. he never gave me a chance to explain myself...i think thats what really frustrates people and its a hard balance to get right i know cause some people go way over the top with the refs.. at the end of it all though i think we all appreciate them cause without them we would have no league at all to whine about.. must say im looking forward to the reply!!!!!!
    Not a bother streetscene,no doubt you know them better than I do an totally take your comments.I think we're both in understanding of the way the league has gone and it shouldn't happen again!!.We won't fall out over it,I think cechmate an littleman have a few issues to sort out!!!!!.Anyway welcome cechmate to the site,a little controversey to stir things up a bit!!!!!

41 Posts

Thumbs up First things first

Before it kicks off today lads I was very sad to read Billys note on his site telling us hes jackin it in.The man is a gent an a true legend in football in Cork.I for one have the highest respect for him an the work he dose for clubs,all clubs.He an his reports an photos were one of the few things we had in the Aul that the Msl wished they had.Thanks for all the memories Billy it has been a pleasure all the way.
    Last edited by littleman; 07/04/2009 at 8:06 AM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Before it kicks off today lads I was very sad to read Billys note on his site telling us hes jackin it in.The man is a gent an a true ledgend in football in Cork.I for one have the highest respect for him an the work he dose for clubs,all clubs.He an his reports an photos were one of the few things we had in the Aul that the Msl wished they had.Thanks for all the memories Billy it has been a pleasure all the way.
    I totally second that wee man, even credit to him for the website. I know it is no add for web building or anything like that. But he gets the info out there. He will be sorely missed, and lets be honest it was always nice to get a call/slagging from a mate for having your pic or name in Wednesday's echo!!!
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

71 Posts

Billy Lyons

Sad to see Billy going. He made you look forward to the Echo on Wednesdays and was nothing but helpful to Blackstone Rovers all through the years. See ya round the place Billy.

Good man Bogwarrior - dont let abuse of your team go unanswered!!!!

With all its troubles, the AUL Premier League is still wide open in mid April - anything can happen. It can only be good for the league.

Cechmate - where do your allegiances lie?

Well Cechmate its quite a way to introduce yourself.But in all fairness what ever reason you may have for deciding my comments were somewhat ott then they are your opinions an your well entitled to them.Those who choose to agree with you or disagree ,thats their choice.With regards to the ref situation then again you quote your obvious experience in the game,yet when frustration boils over towards a refereeing display then is it not better to vent it on a keyboard than at the ref himself in a verbal fashion.I would challange anyone who was at the game to say that they thought the ref was in control of it.At the end of the day its only a game an players have to hopefully walk of it an go back to their familys or jobs in one peice.The man in charge is quite entitled to have a bad day,as even players do more often than not but he still has a higher responsability to ensure the safety of the players,which he did not.Players got hurt,im no saint an i was an still am able to put myself about in a physcial fashion.But theres a difference between gettin physcial an actually hurting an the ref should be able to spot it.Again he did not.

Lastly Cech,this is a forum.I'm entitled to my opinion an you to yours,if you dont agree or like what you read then you are quite entitled to pass comment or not .The comments towards refereeing displays tend to be varied an not based towards any referee in general just with rather the standard of dispaly,its not a forum for a witch hunt,just for football chat an views to do with the Aul or what ever league your in.Their are plenty of good refs but equally bad an thats a fact as their are good an bad players.

We few on this thread are Aul through an through an vent our fury using a keyboard because its safer an cheaper than gettin a yellow,red or a letter from the Aul.I do have opinions on a lot of issues an we express our views on this thred,some are very good an some are not but for the most part we all seem to have a mutal respect for the other side of the story which is always a good thing.I have pointed out more than once that people should be careful when commenting on refs because I know the site is checked by refs,but anyone who is envolved in junior football is aware of how dire the situation is with clubs an trying to keep players envolved an if the man in the middle decides to be awkard then players get frustrated an even worse.Players come on this site and willingly admit their clubs or players had a stinker,yet you think its ott for myself to comment on a refereeing display.Refs can for the most part be solid enough an are quite entitled to have a bad day,may even cost you the game,but to fail to ensure the safety of the players he is in charge of,cant defend that I'm afraid.

PS,your bang on cechmate their is only one DINNY POPS.
    Hello again BOYS .Right first things first,Was,nt that a bolt from the blue and we all logging on Saturday morning to read the fixtures for the business end of the season as its now called .Billy lyons stepping down as press officer .I must say lads ,without getting too emotional .,but it was like reading about a death in the family .Will he be missed ? will he what ?. Thirty years of match reports ,photos,player profiles ,club profiles ,births ,marriarges and deaths with a cast of 1000s ,where and how will Iend ?
    .Billy enjoy your retirement ,and thanks for the memories BOY .Ps lads , Talk is Littleman has sent in his CV already. Right Littleman here goes,lets not keep the Streetboys ,warriors and horses waiting any longer .I think we,ve all mellowed a bit with our approach to this thing over the last 24hrs .From my own point of view i probably got carried away in the fingers department ,then after all ,it was my first venture into the literary world, so to speak .But Littleman im not backing down on this one .I still think you where wrong ,out of order or over the top ,what ever term you want to use .Believe me L.man i know as well as you how hard it is to grind out a result on Sunday morning went you have 13 or 14 fellas who havent been home for 24hrs and your acting as doctor ,physio,marriage councellor,child minder and you then you have Johnny Cash telling you ,the pitch is too hard or too soft ,the ball is too hard or too soft the nets are turned back to front and thats before there,s a ball kicked at all.STOP . But saying that ,we cant start or finish a game without them .Truthfully L.man what disappointed me about you in that article last week was your choice of words .in your reply to me you made reference it only being a game of ball and we all having to go home after and get up for work Monday morning ,your spot on L.man .but the referee must go home to his wife and family as well and face his workmates on Monday morning who may have read your comments on this tread ,as you call it .You know Cork is a very small place and we tend to be very cruel to our own in these matters .Come on now L.man,how would you like to be discribed as being DISPICABLE /IGNORANT /EMOTIONLESS /LIKE TALKING TO A COW AND STUPID i dont think you,d like your family and friends to be reading that discription of you .Thats about it now Little man ,nothing personal but i had to get that off my chest ,thats the way i am . PS .BY the way how IS POPS .[ A LEGEND ]
    Last edited by cechmate; 07/04/2009 at 11:01 PM.

21 Posts

AOH Cup Semi Finals?

AOH Cup Semi Finals

Blarney Street United v Glenthorn Celtic
    Kanturk v Kinsale

Heard this yesterday. Is it correct? Neutral venues?

Quote Originally Posted by Shilts View Post
    AOH Cup Semi Finals

Blarney Street United v Glenthorn Celtic
    Kanturk v Kinsale

Heard this yesterday. Is it correct? Neutral venues?
    The legend that is Billy Lyons confirms that the venue for both semi-finals is Casement park...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

21 Posts
    Maybe somebody is reading this site... the neutral venue for the AOH Cup Semis is a positive step. They should do the same for the Mossie. Who is in the Mossie Semis anyway???

I think my old team are now pushing for a spot Shilts

21 Posts

Foot.ie!

I'm guessing that's a team a little further west than your present side junglegym
    Thought it might be you alright

Hope you're keeping well!!!

mossie semis

hey shilts,
    from what i have seen on billys blog ballyvolane and kinsale have qualify for the semis so far the other two group are fairly close ether grattan/leeside from one group or macroom or glenthorn in the other group,would have to say grattan and glenthorn to go through

Page 52 of 65 FirstFirst ... 242505152535462 ... LastLast