Page 11 of 16 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast

Thread: Connaught Cup 2008/09

judging on all the nuetral posts it sounds like westport were not as hard done by as they claim to have been. they are making no friends for themselves in the way that they are going on just like they did when they won the fai junior cup. if you are beaten on the day, you are beaten. the amount of teams that have been done by refs over the years is huge and you never hear of any other appeals. and westport werent even that hard done by. sour grapes and there is no way that there appeal should be successful and that has nothing to do with me coming from castlebar, its a nuetral post.
    www.castlebarceltic.com

What the mind can conceive and believe, it can achieve!

Foot.ie!

I brought an under 12 team to Mayo few years ago for Conn Cup match , a team which at u13s in the first div won 4 cups , league and Cup, Cork International Cup, Umbro Cup and last 8 of SFAI cup beating both Salthill and Mervue A teams on the way .
    That day , we were sent to the wrong pitch , arrived late , played an overage team in long grass, played with a gaelic football, a ref who was utterely biased and lost 1-0 ect. ect.
    We all feel aggrieved at times but it balances out and i think we all wrongly feel , that we all , in our own counties have the best refs in Conn.
    I know it was in the refs report re West game about the abuse he and the linesmen received from the Westport support and i will pubically state here that i will bet the house that West will keep game.
    The sooner West play East next Sun week in the semi final , the better and put all this bitterness in the past . Theres always next year .............

FAHY Forever;To the Galway lads.. I have already posted on this forum that I think criticising the West team for not offering a replay on a neutral venue was wrong, but the post by Murty was just totally out of line and offensive. I notice he´s only 18 and that might account for the immaturity of his post, but the fact that the moderators allow this kind of offensive garbage to stay on the forum (despite their written policy of screening sensitive or offensive posts) is blatantly wrong. Personal insults should be left out of what is already a ´huge can of worms´ as you call it yourselves. Every team has the right to object when they feel it´s justified, but it should be confined to a footballing issue, rather than a Mayo V Galway one.

Fair play to the Galway lads who posted here for keeping their posts unbiased and not reducing themselves to mindless slurs and insults.
    To explain re comments on Galway Forum , i am actually the admin of the site for my sins , but the guy in question is a lot more than 18 and actually informed me he was p... taking to see the reaction from Mayo as he knew it was being visited . I know this guy personally , and has no connection to West and does a lot of business in Mayo .....he is a total messer and a genuine nice guy and threw out the bait to see who would bite???? There are no bad intentions from any of the forum members to any Mayo person. I tend to allow freedom of speech to a certain degree , but have deleted and banned posts and postees in the past . I can assure you i knew in advance the purpose of his p... take . I apologise if it was taken out of context and offended anyone , it was basically as i said "bait".
    Last edited by buddyb; 26/03/2009 at 8:40 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by buddyb View Post
    I brought an under 12 team to Mayo few years ago for Conn Cup match , a team which at u13s in the first div won 4 cups , league and Cup, Cork International Cup, Umbro Cup and last 8 of SFAI cup beating both Salthill and Mervue A teams on the way .
    That day , we were sent to the wrong pitch , arrived late , played an overage team in long grass, played with a gaelic football, a ref who was utterely biased and lost 1-0 ect. ect.
    We all feel aggrieved at times but it balances out and i think we all wrongly feel , that we all , in our own counties have the best refs in Conn.
    I know it was in the refs report re West game about the abuse he and the linesmen received from the Westport support and i will pubically state here that i will bet the house that West will keep game.
    The sooner West play East next Sun week in the semi final , the better and put all this bitterness in the past . Theres always next year .............
    who was it that ye played and who are you involved with?? id say id get who ye played in 2 or 3 guesses
    Last edited by hoop4life; 26/03/2009 at 8:34 PM.
    www.castlebarceltic.com

are we still on about this ??????!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! you lost !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!move on. Portest about the state of our health service if you have nothing better to do
    Finn Harps FC, Liverpool FC, Castlebar Celtic FC

Northern Gale , you wont have to wait long as West will keep match....100% sure.

hoop4life , i was involved with Tuam Celtic and we travelled to F+St.........incidently we lost to the eventual winners in QF of the sfai cup , St Kevins Dublin, and they nicked my best player for u14 season , who at 15 signed for West Brom!!! Not involved in club or management now , but doing a bit of reffing!!!

Northern Gale , you wont have to wait long as West will keep match....100% sure.

hoop4life , i was involved with Tuam Celtic and we travelled to F+St.........incidently we lost to the eventual winners in QF of the sfai cup , St Kevins Dublin, and they nicked my best player for u14 season , who at 15 signed for West Brom!!! Not involved in club or management now , but doing a bit of reffing!!!

year 2004????

No 05/06 season ..

Quote Originally Posted by FahyForever View Post
    Just had a look at that Galway website. Some of the remarks on it are a disgrace. Some utter moron called Murty had this to say:

Let all those whinging Mayo f**kers remember they wouldn't have a bob to their names only for all their illegal relations that have moved up here and taken all the jobs .They are worse han the Mexicans in the States , ye can tell them all by their wooly haircuts and tan brogue shoes . Their always asking bands and deejays to play the green and red of mayo and are usually louder than a bus load of spanish kids during the summer. I mean to say Westport , for feck sake , their most famous citizens are the fecking monkeys in the House . Better pitchs , sure ya , but at least , bad an all as things are we have hospitals , university ,and a decent place to live , ye hairy legs in Westport have got the whole thing wrong , get the basics first then get your nice pitch .By the way Westport clowns , here we also have Sportsground , Terryland , Mervues complex , Drom , NUI,G pitchs , Rangers pitchs , Knocknacarra , Millers lane , Pearse stadium etc etc , the fact ye lost to a team that used HOME ADVANTAGE to its ADVANTAGE is brilliant , fecking brilliant ....na na, na na na . Up yers , by the way , has it dawned .......ye are out of the Connacht cup , a competition no matter what type of grass ye think ye float on ,is a competition recently dominated by Galway clubs .......... thats right , come on east and west , pity ye couldnt grace the final ! By the way Westport Zoo fc , a third division side in Galway went further than ye !

... So it´s good to see the voice of reason alive and kicking in Galway. Absolute disgrace that moderators would allow that kind of neaderthalic sentiment to stay on their pages. Totally sickening. Please God Castlebar win it now...
    To all the people of Mayo including myself , my parents and all my relatives , the teams and players I have trained in Mayo , I am not apologising , the fact that Mr Fahy cannot see a mickey take when it is staring him inthe face is not my problem , and if he is offended by it , why then did he bring it to everyones attention ? I love the publicity by the way !!!! I even went out of my way to use Fr Jack language rather than anything worse , God forbid , I don't want to give that poor elderly man a heart attack . Lot of things in Galway he is not happy with , refs , pitchs , teams etc ..not up to Mayo standard as was said on one post .
    Well Mr Fahy & co while you were browsing through the Galway websites , did you see the request from the Galway admin to clubs , asking for all the local and Connacht trophies to be returned to him asap , now here is where the real standards come in to place , 80%+ of all Connacht cups and shields are in the hands of Galway clubs ......how about an objection to that ? Oh the green and red of Mayo .......incidently thats sung by a Galway band , lets all round on the Leitrim people for a while .
    When the above post went in initially , I was full sure the protest over the West game was a big slag ! Any way anyone want a bet West Utd V East utd next week in the semi final , any one take €1,000 I will give them 5/1 .

lads, westports appeal is bad, but just after hearing worse.

our u18s beat corrib celtic 4nil in the connaught cup semi final last week. we used 4 u16s in that game (we have six u16 players in the squad) and corrib celtic said that they are going to appeal that we had too many underage players playing.
    what ye think of that?? bad or what?? seems to be a trend now. if you are beaten fair and square, sure make an appeal anyway. poor form
    www.castlebarceltic.com

Quote Originally Posted by hoop4life View Post

our u18s beat corrib celtic 4nil in the connaught cup semi final last week. we used 4 u16s in that game (we have six u16 players in the squad) and corrib celtic said that they are going to appeal that we had too many underage players playing.
    what ye think of that?? bad or what?? seems to be a trend now. if you are beaten fair and square, sure make an appeal anyway. poor form

Thats a complete joke,if anything thats a good thing for corrib that ye where playing so many young players.

Sad, very sad -The fact that u an northern gale are still going on about the appeal westport are making. I put it down to jelousy or lack of respect for a club that have out performed you over the last 5 years.

I haven't seen a post from Westport fan about this topic since the day after the game so my friend it is you that needs to get over it.

hoop4life , i thought you could play up to and, including 2 yrs above your age , is this not the rule?????
    Dont think Corrib have much of a case , more embarassing they were bet by a younger team on the whole!!!

Fairly sure the rule is , you cannot play more than two years above your age group .I manage an u 16 team and enquired as to whether I could play an u 14 one week when we were struggling to field and was told no .He could play U 15 but not u 16 . By this rule an u 16 cannot play u 18 not one two three or six of them can play two age groups above this .What is sad here is that this seems to be a genuine mistake on Celtics behalf , the players must be gutted .But rules are rules , so before ye start giving out about Corib Celtic , stop and think for a minute , what would you do in the same situation ?
    This rule is used and abused , even swept under the carpet in one instance that I can recall involving a player last year with Corofin Utd , which no doubt buddy b will fill ye in on .A foreign lad looking about 20 , built like a brick outhouse , played everything from u 12 to u 16 !!!!

Quote Originally Posted by murty View Post
    Fairly sure the rule is , you cannot play more than two years above your age group .I manage an u 16 team and enquired as to whether I could play an u 14 one week when we were struggling to field and was told no .He could play U 15 but not u 16 . By this rule an u 16 cannot play u 18 not one two three or six of them can play two age groups above this .What is sad here is that this seems to be a genuine mistake on Celtics behalf , the players must be gutted .But rules are rules , so before ye start giving out about Corib Celtic , stop and think for a minute , what would you do in the same situation ?
    This rule is used and abused , even swept under the carpet in one instance that I can recall involving a player last year with Corofin Utd , which no doubt buddy b will fill ye in on .A foreign lad looking about 20 , built like a brick outhouse , played everything from u 12 to u 16 !!!!
    lads, there is a rule alright, but it is a rule that ye have in the galway league, it does not count for the mayo league or for connaught cups. it does not apply anywhere else. we have a lad a few years ago that was playing u14, u15, u16, u17 and u18. i never heard of yer rule until corrib brought it up and its one of the daftest rules i ever heard. most u16s are as big and physically developed as 18 year olds so if you are good enough, you are old enough. i even think that corrib didn't bother appealing. they were laughed at when they brought it up. tell me that you wouldnt laugh if someone said they were appealing because you had too many underage players?? its a joke
    Last edited by hoop4life; 28/03/2009 at 6:48 PM.
    www.castlebarceltic.com

Quote Originally Posted by GoodFootball View Post
    Sad, very sad -The fact that u an northern gale are still going on about the appeal westport are making. I put it down to jelousy or lack of respect for a club that have out performed you over the last 5 years.

I haven't seen a post from Westport fan about this topic since the day after the game so my friend it is you that needs to get over it.
    whats very sad is the fact that every post you seem to make is trying to start an arguement with someone from celtic. yes, i mentioned the westport appeal but did not start making points about it. i was talking about an appeal that was being made about castlebar celtic.
    would you ever stop trying to start arguements with celtic people?? its all you do when you post so will you please start talking about something else. its getting boring
    www.castlebarceltic.com

100% Correct

whats very sad is the fact that every post you seem to make is trying to start an arguement with someone from celtic. yes, i mentioned the westport appeal but did not start making points about it. i was talking about an appeal that was being made about castlebar celtic.
    would you ever stop trying to start arguements with celtic people?? its all you do when you post so will you please start talking about something else. its getting boring
    Can I just concur what my colleague hoops4life just said

Quote Originally Posted by 1924 View Post
    Can I just concur what my colleague hoops4life just said
    Same as
    Finn Harps FC, Liverpool FC, Castlebar Celtic FC

hoop4life

lads, there is a rule alright, but it is a rule that ye have in the galway league, it does not count for the mayo league or for connaught cups. it does not apply anywhere else. we have a lad a few years ago that was playing u14, u15, u16, u17 and u18. i never heard of yer rule until corrib brought it up and its one of the daftest rules i ever heard. most u16s are as big and physically developed as 18 year olds so if you are good enough, you are old enough. i even think that corrib didn't bother appealing. they were laughed at when they brought it up. tell me that you wouldnt laugh if someone said they were appealing because you had too many underage players?? its a joke
    Totally agree with ya ,why stop a 16 yr old playing Junior if hes good enough and strong enough???? But i think a 14 yr old playing u18s would be few and far between????

im nearly sure he did. he definetley played u17 though. our youth managers have always brough younger lads along to give them experience, but they have minded them. they wouldnt throw them into a fiery game against a very physical side. the lad in question is now with birmingham city.
    do ye allow 16 and 17 year olds play junior football in galway?? its a bit pointless if ye dont and then mervue play a number of 17 year olds in the a league last year which they did!! defeats the purpose
    Last edited by hoop4life; 28/03/2009 at 10:49 PM.
    www.castlebarceltic.com

I didn't know that rule was exclusive to Galway , mind you that wouldn't surprise me if it were true as no club gets a "rule book " down here .The rules are very "flexible " and seem , at different times , to suit certain situations one week and differnt the following week .Eg West United ,( who as a team of 11 players on the same pitch as Westport beat them ), recently played Corrib Rangers in the premier , it was proven Rangers played two illegal players , who were part and parcel of Rangers winning the game .The outcome Rangers lost the three points , correct decision . West , wait for it , did not get the three points , so they will now have to win the league witha game less than their rivals ! Where else would this happen .Similar situation happened a couple of weeks ago , forget the teams , but think Moyne Villa were the rightfull recipients of a reversal of a game they had originally lost to Loughrea ! So one rule for one team and one for another .Any one able to access the FAI official guidelines on ths one ?

Page 11 of 16 FirstFirst ... 910111213 ... LastLast