Page 21 of 65 FirstFirst ... 11192021222331 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2008/09

Quote Originally Posted by streetscene View Post
    yoda with reference to villa folding since we went to fairfield that is utter bull.there has always been two teams playing up there so thats not the issue.believe it or not we had a very good relationship with them.obviously we were two premier clubs both wanting to progress so there was rivalry but it was healthy. 2 or 3 of my close buddys are villa players and there was never any badness. just good natured banter. to suggest we had anything to do with it is actually an insult to them.obviously they had other issues themselves which is completely their business.come on man thats just nasty
    if you read me post again i think you will see i'm not being nasty or stating any bull as you say. i said that since ye went to the fairfield villa have folded, this is 100% fact i did not insinuate it was yere doing or did not mean to imply that, i just stated a fact. i have little knowledge of the situation and was speaking from how it looks from my view on the outside.

Quote Originally Posted by Yoda01 View Post
    if you read me post again i think you will see i'm not being nasty or stating any bull as you say. i said that since ye went to the fairfield villa have folded, this is 100% fact i did not insinuate it was yere doing or did not mean to imply that, i just stated a fact. i have little knowledge of the situation and was speaking from how it looks from my view on the outside.
    Yes but that was only incidental, the way you said it implied that Blarney Street may have been a causing fact.

I could say that, since the goalmouths in the fairfield have been re-sodded Villa have folded. Whilst being 100% fact, it clearly had nothing to do with Villa folding

Quote Originally Posted by pacman View Post
    Yes but that was only incidental, the way you said it implied that Blarney Street may have been a causing fact.

I could say that, since the goalmouths in the fairfield have been re-sodded Villa have folded. Whilst being 100% fact, it clearly had nothing to do with Villa folding
    ok, i get it, i apologise if any one from blareny street thought i was implying it was there fault.
    have the goal mouths in the fairfield been re sodded?

41 Posts

do you like dime bars

I think hes takin the mick Yoda,they havent been re sodded.
    ,stop,take a deep breath an compose yourself before you answer any other posts thats way he wont take the mickey again,I hope
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    I think hes takin the mick Yoda,they havent been re sodded.
    ,stop,take a deep breath an compose yourself before you answer any other posts thats way he wont take the mickey again,I hope
    so was i, but i think my dry humour may be lost in translation.

the norries are fighting again

its a sh!t thing to happen but i think we're all agreed that it was a 100% villa decision to fold, there may have been other things happening off the pitch but no other team were responsible for the fact that they went under

if you wanna check out some real handbag waving just wander into the limerick forums in the new year when things start hotting up a little, they give each other savage abuse

simple misunderstandings due to biased reports can sometimes lead to some of us getting a bit hot from time to time but we all get on with it .......... wouldnt you agree littleman , football speaks louder than words, besta luck to the oscar lads over the w/e if the game goes ahead

Quote Originally Posted by Yoda01 View Post
    have the goal mouths in the fairfield been re sodded?
    They did some work during the summer to the goalmouths alright. Not sure to what extent

Quote Originally Posted by le tizz View Post
    its a sh!t thing to happen but i think we're all agreed that it was a 100% villa decision to fold, there may have been other things happening off the pitch but no other team were responsible for the fact that they went under

if you wanna check out some real handbag waving just wander into the limerick forums in the new year when things start hotting up a little, they give each other savage abuse

simple misunderstandings due to biased reports can sometimes lead to some of us getting a bit hot from time to time but we all get on with it .......... wouldnt you agree littleman , football speaks louder than words, besta luck to the oscar lads over the w/e if the game goes ahead
    Totally agree with ya but on another note there is a language filter in place for a reason so for future posts don't try to get round it

Jock Mib

Spooky

The Fairfield is cursed - Blarney Street get out before its too late - City Bars/Villa/Parkview?/Various others - all played in the Fairfield and are now gone.

Villa folding had nothing whatsover to do with Blarney Street. It could have been any club up there and it wouldnt have made a tap of difference.

41 Posts

The Norrie X files

Well there seems to be all sorts of stories goin on about the Fairfield an its bad luck,pitchs are pitchs there green,for the most part an bumpy bar the odd few.I've never been beatin by a pitch,I have however been beaten by a team that adapted better to a pitch than the team I was playin with though.

Blarney St played a game on a pitch when they were told too,thats all.Pitchs are put on the line week in weekout,games called off or played in mudbaths.Lets not fool ourselves by blamin the blameless an makin stuipid statements ye have a bit more cop on than that.

Villa's problems stem from sometin a bit more straight froward than that,plain ol commitment from players who love the club thats all.There are too many teams that are available to join if you dont fancy puttin in the effort to become apart of sometin worth while.Too easy to walk away an join some one elses team if you cant get a startin 11 place.

Villa had sterling work done week after week by the management,commitee an a core group of players but you cant survive on that for ever,eventually it catchs up with you an I for one am very sorry to see them gone an those who think I'm delighted to have 6 easy points,its the worst way to get points in my book.The last 3 or 4 seasons have seen proud old clubs fall from grace an even dissapear altogether.Rockville,Northvilla,Alberts an now Villa.And yet there are at least 20 or 30 new clubs in those few years whcih have started and dissapeared as well.Im all for encouraging new growth but not if it damages the core of the Aul.If what is after happening dosent act as a wake up call to the Aul to decrease the number of clubs and teams with our league then I honestly fear for us.An dont be fooled into thinkin the Msl is any better,the top 6 or 7 big clubs are doin well an the rest are strugglin for players an facilities the same as the Aul an your only foolin yourself if you cant see it.Even the intervention of the Fai or the MFA wont be able to pick up the peices when humpty dumpty Aul falls off the wall.

So long Villa,sorry to see ye go,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

Villa had sterling work done week after week by the management,commitee an a core group of players but you cant survive on that for ever,eventually it catchs up with you
    I think this sums things up perfectly and was probably true for Villa for the last two or three years.

Any transfer news yet?
    Streetscene, ye have many former Villa players already, looking to add to that?

41 Posts

To sign or not to sign

If a club folds mid season then the Aul effectivley hold the Villa players registration.If a club or clubs want to sign any Villa players they will have to wait till the transfer window opens in December an transfer,then register them to there club as if it was an ordinary transfer.Thats a fact.I have have first hand experience with this type of exact situation over the last few seasons an thats the way it goes.Also Villa are out of the Fai and Mjc so again if signed all they would be able to play in would be league games or league compitions.Also a fact.

I wouldnt deny they have a few players worth adding to any squad but its not as straight forward as it seems,there could be a lot of time spent training with no game to look forward to until a league or league cup game came along.Choose wisely...............................
    Last edited by littleman; 30/10/2008 at 6:41 PM.

Sad to hear about Villa folding.Remember playing against them a few years back with the first team,not a bad team.
    What are the chances of them coming back???

Well littleman, the big one the weekend kid, springers vs the killer b's. What you think.
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Any transfer news yet?
    Streetscene, ye have many former Villa players already, looking to add to that?[/quote]

obviously pacman we are always looking to improve.i wont lie we have signed two and there maybe one or two more.littleman was spot on about the players not been able to play till december so a lot can happen between now and then so we will wait and see.we had 15 guys training wend night and for a team with no game i think that says everything.anybody coming in will have to first match that type of commitment.i dont care how good a player is if he dont have the right attitude ha is no good to ya.as for the fairfield been cursed lads believe me it will take a lot more than a pitch for us to fold.we have had a fabolous few years and are only getting better so i think we will be around for a while yet!on the subject of the fairfield work has started on the fencing off of it so things are looking up.have it from a very good source that there is a budget there and it will be finished by start of next season. dont hold me to that though.
    after all the debate onthe oscar traynor team it will be interesting to see how they get on this weekend. i know anthony peelo is unavailable and he will be a loss(im sure littleman we can agree on this) but i still think there is a good enough eleven there. best of luck to all involved anyway. interesting tie between springers and killer b this weekend.should make for some interesting posts next week. im gonna sit on the fence on this one. 2-2 draw.

Quote Originally Posted by Parkboy View Post
    Sad to hear about Villa folding.
    What are the chances of them coming back???
    Maybe Sat.@ 3pm ,
    Have they decided between themselves to quit and take the attitude of "Stuff the AUL" . because as of now, Im none the wiser of any team folding and unfortunately its us that have to travel to the Fairfield on Sat.Even Billy did a report on this game wed. night so if he doesn't know????
    I was telling my manager about this scenario last night and he thought it was fierce funny . No way would Villa throw up the oppurtunity of taking 3pts off Coachford (of all the weekends to fold) Then again the gaffer knows best.

If no one shows up we might use the facilities for a spot of training,
    Would that be ok Streetscene?

maybe sat 3pm

no problem there jj.if you give me enough notice ill put up the nets and make a few sandwiches for ye!
    seriously cant believe the aul havent notified ye.typical.

Quote Originally Posted by junglegym View Post
    Maybe Sat.@ 3pm ,
    Have they decided between themselves to quit and take the attitude of "Stuff the AUL" . because as of now, Im none the wiser of any team folding and unfortunately its us that have to travel to the Fairfield on Sat.Even Billy did a report on this game wed. night so if he doesn't know????
    Its definitely true, ring the AUL and they will tell ye straight away that the fixture is cancelled.

Not sure why ye're manager found it so funny, its bad for everyone in the AUL

41 Posts

'' Reports of our demise have been greatly exagerated''

Read the above an it can be used to describe how the grapevine an a few bad results in the Aul can be the undoing of clubs.A team, such as even ourselves have a few bad games an all of a sudden they are in crisis.I can understand Paddy Martin bein a bit sceptical of the reports of Villas demise because he would hardly want his lads relaxin headin into a game which could be vital to them.By the same token I 'm also not surprised that the Aul have not come out to say that Villa are gone,would that not be akin to admitin there part in the whole unsavoury affair.We are all well aware that the attitude in these matters of the Aul is not to alert the public of the embarrising carry on of its clubs,directly or undirectly due to the Aul itself.

Whats done is done an I cant do anything to get them back.Time to move on.

As for signing some new players,well wait an see an leave that one with ye,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

We have managed to secure the use of St Vincents All weather pitch for trainin of our A an B sides on Tue an Thur nights an I must say the facility is top class an a credit to the GAA heads though it pains me to credit them with anythin.

Bella,I'm lookin forward to the game Sunday big time.The pitch hopefully will be ok an I cant see the frost if there is any ,being a big problem so im fairly confident the game will go ahead.The B team trained last night an trained well an theres plenty of them lookin to play Sunday.We have signed a few new players an they too mat figure on Sunday so all in all it should be a good game so forgive me if my head an heart sway me in the direction of a home win.

Doubt it!!
    COBH RAMBLERS FIRST DIV CHAMPS 2007

http://irish-abroad.appspot.com/GameDayDetails fantastic website by tetsujin1979

Page 21 of 65 FirstFirst ... 11192021222331 ... LastLast