Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast

Thread: Are Cork City Gone

46 Posts
    Everyone who reckons cork got away lighty cop on

If Fai took away Cork's Licence now they would not be allowed to play any more games in Prem league this season which would have the league in a worst mess.

If the cork have not sorted out their mess by end of season they will stugle to get a prem licence next season ( same thing that happend to shels)

Quote Originally Posted by holidaysong View Post
    A ten point deduction is an insult to all the clubs playing by the rules and keeping their finances in order. Cork City's Premier Licence should have been withdrawn and they should have been relegated.

That can still happen at the end of this season. The teams in the premier division next year will be the teams who get premier licenses.

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Trainee View Post
    Everyone who reckons cork got away lighty cop on
    Of course they got away lightly they were paying massive wages for players they couldn't afford which was stopping other clubs from signing them. Maybe Rovers, Bray or even yourselves could have signed some of these players and would be challenging more.
    Cork only lost 10 points which made no difference really to their season. But they affected other teams season's by taking points off them with these players.
    How many points have cork taken off Galway this season?
    In my opinion cork should have lost all their points up to now or at the very least start next season with a massive point deduction. a 10 point loss when they had nothing to play for is no punishment at all.

Quote Originally Posted by Louth4sam View Post
    Of course they got away lightly they were paying massive wages for players they couldn't afford which was stopping other clubs from signing them. Maybe Rovers, Bray or even yourselves could have signed some of these players and would be challenging more.
    Cork only lost 10 points which made no difference really to their season. But they affected other teams season's by taking points off them with these players.
    In my opinion cork should have lost all their points up to now or at the very least start next season with a massive point deduction. a 10 point loss when they had nothing to play for is no punishment at all.
    You realise the trouble Cork are in, don't you? You realise they may not be around, next year?

Got off lightly?

Cork could now miss out on europe for next season, or even still not be given a premier licence for next season. On top of that they could also miss out on Setanta cup qualification. That adds up to €250k when you include gates, sponsorship etc.

Cork got a licence on the back of written assurances from the owner about putting money into the club. They might not get a licence to play in the premier next year.

The FAI cant really do much more at this stage. At the start of the season they could afford the squad because they had a backer who said as much in writing.

Quote Originally Posted by stickyjoe View Post
    Absolutely scandalous decision from the FAI, but hardly surprising. Where is the consistency? They hung Shels out to dry and rightly relegated them and since then have come riding to the rescue of Waterford and Limerick and now give Cork a small slap on the wrist. Its no wonder Shels fans are giving out.
    Small slap on the wrist? Rovers were deducted 8 points for submitting false accounts in their licensing application. They got no further sanctions for going into examinership.

City got deducted 10 points for going into examinership and may yet face further sanctions depending on how the rest of the season pans out. But for now the season continues on with minimal disruption to other clubs and City have to fight for survival let alone to avoid the possible further sanctions down the road.

The situation is different to Shels, City were given a budget and stayed within it. They were spending money that they were guaranteed. Now that guarantee is rescinded City received a ten point penalty for going into examinership and all future breaches of the license from now to the end of the season will also be punished.

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    How much exactly?

Do you have immediate access to it?
    In the words of a board member, "Not enough to build a stadium but enough to redevelop one"

82 Posts
    Yes i do realise what trouble they are in and i have every sympathy for their fans but yes they did get off lightly with the punishment they received from the FAI. Are you saying they were punished severely?

Quote Originally Posted by bohs til i die View Post
    The FAI cant really do much more at this stage. At the start of the season they could afford the squad because they had a backer who said as much in writing.
    They could say from next season they are not accepting non legally binding bits of paper to get around their own rules. It would be a feckin start from the idiots that were supposed to be ensuring this didn't happen again.

Yes i do realise what trouble they are in and i have every sympathy for their fans but yes they did get off lightly with the punishment they received from the FAI. Are you saying they were punished severely?
    Are you reading what has been posted?

They were docked 10 points for entering examinership. They could yet be punished more, denied a premier licence for next season. It is far from over. The examinerhsip process hasnt even fully begun yet.

82 Posts
    Are you reading what has been posted?

They were docked 10 points for entering examinership. They could yet be punished more, denied a premier licence for next season. It is far from over. The examinerhsip process hasnt even fully begun yet.
    Yes i am reading what was posted. Do you really believe that they will be punished more by the FAI because i don't. The FAI will do everything in its power to keep Cork in the premier as they are such a big club with great attendances.

101 Posts
    That can still happen at the end of this season. The teams in the premier division next year will be the teams who get premier licenses.
    When Shels imploded I don't think they even applied for a premier licence for the following season but I can see Cork trying their luck and the FAI giving in.

What are the financial differences between a first and premier licence anyway?
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Yes i am reading what was posted. Do you really believe that they will be punished more by the FAI because i don't. The FAI will do everything in its power to keep Cork in the premier as they are such a big club with great attendances.

I dont believe the FAI are the ones who have that say and if Cork's financial situation isnt assured I doubt they will get a premier licence

The FAI should do everything in its power to help clubs. However it should also punish them for breaking the rules. If City have unmanageable debts at the end of the season they will, most likely, be denied a premier license. Similarly they'll be punished for any other breach of licensing. Personally I hope that a deal can be agreed with the creditors (including staff & players) during the examinership process. This is what the process is for and is outside of football.

Would you feel it was a slap on the wrist if Sligo Rovers, Cobh Ramblers, Waterford Utd, or any other club in difficulty got a 10 point deduction for going into examinership (touching wood it doesn't happen)? Or should clubs like City, Drogheda, Bohs and St Pats* get punished more severely? The size and position of the club should have nothing to do with the punishment, one rule for all.

* Left out Derry as they seem to be cutting back for next season

When Shels imploded I don't think they even applied for a premier licence for the following season but I can see Cork trying their luck and the FAI giving in.

What are the financial differences between a first and premier licence anyway?

Shels applied for and were given a premier licence for the 2007 season - which were awarded in Dec 06.

The First Instance Cmtee withdrew it in Feb 07 and issued Shels with a first div licence instead.

112 Posts
    Cork could now miss out on europe for next season, or even still not be given a premier licence for next season. On top of that they could also miss out on Setanta cup qualification. That adds up to €250k when you include gates, sponsorship etc.

Cork got a licence on the back of written assurances from the owner about putting money into the club. They might not get a licence to play in the premier next year.

FAI as you say can't do much at this stage...but they can learn from this, they must in future refuse to accept "written guarantees" from so called backers which as has been demonstrated in Cork's case aren't worth the paper they were written on...instead starting next season they should insist on a bonding system whereby in the event of a club not meeting it's debts then the value of the bond could be drawn down... in reality I'd guess the likes of Arkaga would't be prepared to fund the cost of a bond.

If a club applies and qualifies for a premier license they should get it. It's not about giving in.

Quote Originally Posted by Calcio Jack View Post
    FAI as you say can't do much at this stage...but they can learn from this, they must in future refuse to accept "written guarantees" from so called backers which as has been demonstrated in Cork's case aren't worth the paper they were written on...instead starting next season they should insist on a bonding system whereby in the event of a club not meeting it's debts then the value of the bond could be drawn down... in reality I'd guess the likes of Arkaga would't be prepared to fund the cost of a bond.
    Or give themselves powers to ban the guarantors from being involved in owning/running a football club under the FAI's juristinction from 5 years up to indefinately.

101 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fintan Cassidy View Post
    Shels applied for and were given a premier licence for the 2007 season - which were awarded in Dec 06.

The First Instance Cmtee withdrew it in Feb 07 and issued Shels with a first div licence instead.
    Sorry, my mistake.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Quote Originally Posted by LeixlipRed View Post
    How many times has this been discussed on here? We own the lease to Tolka. And have already sold it. For 20 million plus. And there's a sizeable sum left.
    Can't remember the last time had a Shels discussion

Genuine question but did someone really pay 20m for the lease at Tolka? Was this before the floods as I would think almost impossible to get planning permission next to the Tolka river now. Well certainly after recent changes mooted by Minister for the Environment.

Page 7 of 8 FirstFirst ... 5678 LastLast