Page 4 of 65 FirstFirst ... 234561454 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2008/09

Talking

Alright folks! I've been maintaining radio silence for a while. Good to see a few new people on here this yr - could make for some entertaining verbal sparring!!

Everything is going well down in Kinsale despite some less than spectacular pre season results to say the least. We were beaten on saturday 3-1 by avondale however in truth we played very well. Big confidence boost to the lads and the newcomers are settling in well. Dave Barry is also back playing with us this yr. Varian and Mc Carthy also back and in good form so we have a very competitive talented squad.

Any other pre-season results knocking about lads? An news on a manager up on the north side? Wats the low down with Ballyphehane chaps...

Saturday week the season starts i think?!? Cant Wait!!

i cant wait for it to start!!

Re

Quote Originally Posted by Innishvilla View Post
    You got him playing central mid, fair play he played centre half for us and I spent a full season telling him he should be in midfield as he has pace and is well able to play. His retort was always he didn't feel he was fit enough... Was probably one of the fittest guys on the team...
    I may have to play him at centre half for one of the friendlies Innish so I'll tell him someone in Innishvilla said he was a centre half in a past life

how do all, might aswell join in the conversation this season as i watch a bit of the aul in cork! so who's going to challange for the respective leagues this year then, any thoughts?

Quote Originally Posted by Yoda01 View Post
    how do all, might aswell join in the conversation this season as i watch a bit of the aul in cork! so who's going to challange for the respective leagues this year then, any thoughts?
    That'd be a good one. Who's going to win each division??? Predictions BUT can't say your own club just to make it interesting...
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

41 Posts

per season

Collage Corinthans 2 Grattan XI 3

Played up in Garryduff last Saturday.Dont know if it was the right weekend to have a game with the weather an the 2 Cork games but we went ahead with it anyway just to get another game under our belts.We only had 13 players as as result of the Cork double header an work so in all we are really pleased with the result.

Went 1 up through an og after we started like the clappers an added a superb second through Dave Sullivan who had a great game in the middle of the park with Alan O Brien who is also lookin back to his best.Corinthans pulled one back when we lost our concentration an got a bit too cocky but we made it comfortable again when new signing John Cotter combined with Figo for our 3rd an again it was a crackin passin move with a great finish.Corinthans in fairness played football along with us an that did suit our game an the surface though greasy was excellent for the way we like to play.

Corinthans pulled one back with the final kick of the ball but again there were far more plus points than minus ones.Considering we were missing 5 of our first team squad an had 2 B players with us it was an excellent result against a solid football side.Lofty an Figo were a class apart if I may say so on the day.Brian Sull an Shinky were comfortable throughout an physcially wise dominated the Collage forwards.The ref even had a good game with not one yellow which I think was a testement to the good ball played on the day.
    Last edited by littleman; 12/08/2008 at 11:38 PM.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

41 Posts

Premier winners an loosers in the fantasy league

Lets just say we arent in the league this year so Innish for the sake of it.

The pressure is on Kinsale .Big time,take us out of the league an if they didnt win the league then thats the end of them as a force.A new manager an a few new faces cant cover over a side that should but isnt doin better.Tizz an Bog wernt slow to voice their own disspleasure at the same ol faces who played week in week out while they watched win lose or draw week after week.More credit to them for bein honest an stickin by there club by the way.I hope Kinsale change things up an make a go of it,at least that way they would have a better chance of winning it.

Kinsale are my tip for the league this year with Wilton as the darkhorses, with the exodus of players up at Grattan I can only see them finishing mid table and if they pick up a few injuries to key players they might well find themselves in a relegation battle

Fancy Blarney St to put in a strong showing this year too, I hear they beat St Marys 2-1 last week in a pre season match so they must be in good shape for the comin season.

Park also have proved themselves a very good side over the last 2 seasons and should be lookin to go one better this year.
    Looks like it will be very close this year lads!!

41 Posts

we aint dead yet

I agree with ya kroc about Wilton bein dark horses.They have bags of experience in Giltinan/Buckley an Connors an John Lenord is very focused on doin well.

As for the exodus up in O'Neill Park.Its the sum of the parts is what made us what we are,not the individual.

Everyone is expectin us to be weaker because we have changes to make,what if those changes have made us stronger.,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,
    Last edited by littleman; 13/08/2008 at 3:19 AM.

Re

Who did ye get to manage ye're first team Littleman???

41 Posts

Grattan Management 2008/2009

Darren Geaney has come on board as Pat Caulfields replacement with Robbie O'Callaghan staying on as coach so all in all the squad is very happy with the transition from old to new management.An added bonus is that Darren missed most of last season through injury so we have the best of both worlds,a manager the players are comfortable with an a very good player back playin.

I agree with Krocboy about Blarney St.They were in our division 2 years ago and they were a class of their own.2 promotions in 2 seasons shows that they could mount a serious challenge in the league.
    Anyway 2 new signings as well as a new Manager with our A team.A lot of work still to be done as the majority of the team are still tied up with GAA.
    We (B's) played Castle Celtic in a friendly last Saturday.Not much of a game to be honest.7-0 it finshed.Played well as a team and kept a clean sheet.We play Clonmel tommorrow night so that should be a good test.
    Talk soon.

Quote Originally Posted by littleman View Post
    I agree with ya kroc about Wilton bein dark horses.They have bags of experience in Giltinan/Buckley an Connors an John Lenord is very focused on doin well.

As for the exodus up in O'Neill Park.Its the sum of the parts is what made us what we are,not the individual.

Everyone is expectin us to be weaker because we have changes to make,what if those changes have made us stronger.,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

litlleman, this is not a dig at you but i do admire your optimism about everything grattan.

You've been spouting the same lines for the last two years littleman!! Pressure on Kinsale etc... There hasnt been pressure on us since the day you guys took the league off us. That puts you on top of the pile and you're there to be knocked off is the way i see it. Taking nobody out of the league at all and the pressure is of course on the Gratts to do well coz ye're league champs! Especially now coz you guys are allegedly 'weaker' there will be a few curious glances thrown your way for the start of the season. Up to grattan to answer these critics which i've no doubt you will.

I dont for one second think that Grattan will be in relegation trouble or mid table obscurity this yr. Are you off your game Kroc?!? They should have and last yr did have enuf quality besides those players they have lost.

Havnt heard much about Blarney st being honest but a 2-1 win over a grattan re-enforced st marys is a good result. We were supposed to have a game against our second string on tuesday nite but had to call it off due to a water logged pitch....in august!! Madness.

I'd be lying if i said i didn't fancy us for the league this yr. I'm an optimist at heart. I'd like to think we could have a rattle off the munster junior as well. Only time will tell..

Any idea when the fixtures are out?

Quote Originally Posted by bogwarrior View Post

Any idea when the fixtures are out?
    judging by the last few years they should be on billy blog tomorrow.

How about Leeside using the MJC to propel them to the title?

Fixtures??????

Was talking to Tony Chambers last night. He seems organised enough. Fingers crossed he does a good job as its a tough one for anyone with almost 100 teams spread across 10 seperate leagues without however many different cups (which i decided not to count). And he is a nice man so he doesn't deserve the stick

Quote Originally Posted by olachico View Post
    Was talking to Tony Chambers last night. He seems organised enough. Fingers crossed he does a good job as its a tough one for anyone with almost 100 teams spread across 10 seperate leagues without however many different cups (which i decided not to count). And he is a nice man so he doesn't deserve the stick
    Don't know the guy, but I did send him an e-mail wishing him luck in the job because I have to agree with olachico, it is a tough job... I wouldn't fancy it...
    (I'd probably have to spend a couple of grand on some expensive computer program to do it and I'd still probably make a mess of it!!!)
    ”That should be NO problem for the defence – OH NOOOO!!”
    George Hamilton...
    http://www.innishvilla.com

Pre Season

Coachford 0 - 4 St Marys
    Got a rude awakening last Tues. night. We had no answers to Marys fitness levels, although we hadn't a full squad out we were run ragged in the 2nd half. It's no harm to get a wake up call. Our fitness level must improve and quickly before we find ourselves struggling at the foot of the table. I heard Blarney St have been training very hard for 6/7 weeks and this obviously helped there cause against a side like St Marys.
    Now back to the training ground again...

Where's Mossie gone?

Looks like a tough introduction to Premier football for us. Away to Kinsale on Saturday. Hopefully our good pre-season will see us come away with something.

What happened to starting the season with the Mossie Linnane?

Quote Originally Posted by therise View Post

What happened to starting the season with the Mossie Linnane?
    As far as Im aware they want teams to play 6 leagues games before they start the Mossie

Page 4 of 65 FirstFirst ... 234561454 ... LastLast