Was it not forced onto them?
Printable View
Fair play to the players for accepting the cut. They probably realise as well that the remaining big 3 can't afford to take any of them on, so what choice do they have?
Does anyone know what kind of wages that the players were on? I can't help think that with all the talk around inflated wages in the LoI, that some of the players took the club completely to the cleaners & sucked larger-than-deserved wages.
This whole affair is really going to be a kick in the teeth for any attempts to tempt investors into the league, especially a main sponsor.
You can't really blame the players for trying to get the best possible wage. The fault lies with the clubs not having the balls to develop any sort of wage structure, or to refuse the player his demands.
What struck last night reading the news was how come Cork got Joe Gamble to resign on a lucrative deal last month knowing full well that this was around the corner . They must of signed at least two first team players in the window also. Cork City/Arkaga whatever their called showed a complete breach of their duties as owners of the club and I hope the Director of Corporate Enforcement is looking into the clubs situation.
Nothing wrong with players asking for money, up to those in charge to say no.
LOI football is never an investment. There's simply no way to make money here. If people put in money for "the right reasons", they can get lots out of it. A monetary return on their investment won't be one of them.Quote:
This whole affair is really going to be a kick in the teeth for any attempts to tempt investors into the league, especially a main sponsor.
This is a reply to a Cork fan that I put up on our own website today and as the content in it implies, I'm not too optimistic for a positive outcome for CCFC.
http://www.btid.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1596
Dunnocks, yere brownbread, end of. You've a massive debt to try and clear. Its costing 55k to run CCFC every week. Last night only 120 odd people turned up to the FORAS meeting. Where in the name of Allah are you going to come up with the cash to a) clear the debts and b) come up with the shekels to pay the remaining players and officials reduced wages. Your players are free agents and can leave any time. Not to mention the PFAI wont be too happy as either will the FAI for that matter. And anyway who the hell is going to invest in your club when you have no fixed assets to speak of and a list of creditors banging down the front looking to be paid.
Right now over on Cáwk Central, its desperation time. http://www.ccfcforum.com/forum/Tonig...lu-t27094.html
You are practically holding out for a Lord of the Rings-esque Knight in Shining Armour to come galloping along and rescue all the hapless & doomed inhabitants of all of Cáwkiedom. Guess what, it aint going to happen and we know that through our own bitter experience. You left it too late to get organised and allowed yourselves to get sucked in by all the fvckwittery of Arkaga - 30,000 seater stadium which inflated your already over inflated egos and drifted off further into cloud-cuckooland.
A bit of advice, right now you'd be better off allowing CCFC to go into liquidation, start off with a new club in the 1st Division, this time run by you, the fans. Any money you put into CCFC right now is only getting Arkaga off the hook as they have stated that they wish to hold onto a stake within the Club. Only problem is what to call yourselves. I must admit, put the thinking cap on. You have already used up the City, Hibernians, Celtic, FC, Bohemians, United, Alberts, Fordsons, Evergreen names.
At least our 6 league titles and 2 cups are safe for foreseeable future.
What FORAS & CCOSC need to do is get organised, build up a war chest and take over CCFC from Arkaga, thats if Arkaga do decide to cut and run. Failing that, the Cáwkies would be better off letting the Club go into liquidation, start from scratch with a new club. With Arkaga announcing that they wish to hold a stake within the Club, I feel FORAS are swimming against the tide.
Is it true that at the FORAS meeting ,the grand total of 100 people showed up ?
out of an average attendence of 3,000-ish?
If so then the second city dont deserve a football club.
expect to hear "at least you've still got sunderland" & "arkaga our hero" at the game tomorrow.
I believe it was arranged pretty quickly. A cork friend of mine didn't hear about it until going on internet last night.
From my reading of it, FORAS need to raise €5k a week until the end of the season. If there's any Cork fans who don't contribute as much as they possibly can to this, they don't deserve a club.
If the club survives, they could be even stronger for it
au contraire , my sterling-lined pocketed friend.
"We" were orgaanised, raised the money quickly with roughly 40% of our core support wiling to help out finacially to keep "our" club afloat.
i have every sypathy for the genuine carkies who care about their club:
it just appears that not enough of them care that much to actually stop them going down the tubes.
singing "kilcoyne our hero" to hoops fans long afte the game was finished a few weeks ago was never gonna get much sympathy from us i can tell ye.
"cork wednesday"-
"cork juniors"
"cork academicals"
are any of these nom de plumes any use to you biys?
Bit of a fcukin smart alec all the same aren't we.
You might find it funny, but we don't. We're fighting to save our club here, we're all digging into our pockets and becoming members of FORAS, regardless of whether or not we can afford it, we are al lgetting the money from somewhere because we know that if we don't our club is gone.
And whether or not ye like to admit it, the league would be a worse place without Cork City, far worse. A bit of moral support from our nearby neighbours wouldn't hurt
Guardian article:
http://blogs.guardian.co.uk/sport/20...y_the_pri.html
Apologies in advance if this triggers the mods to move the thread!
You also had a 2 year head start ,400 club already in place for close to 2 years prior .FORAS was due to launch in september ,and untill a month ago before Gerard Walsh and co decided to pull out ,everything was ok .Now it has to go at full pelt ,very different scenario to what you faced
As for Kilcoyne is our hero ,its a harmless chant ,directed at some morons that security allowed stay behind in the stands to taunt us 20mins after the game and its a hell of lot more harmless than 50 or 60 of your hard boys waiting around the corner from Kennedys and destroying 2 buses or indeeed attacking a old man with his 8 year old grandson at the bank next door
well it appears,through your fellow city fans parsimony,you wont have them problems for much longer.
bye bye biy
What are you on about here? if you are implying that Waterford FC & Waterford United FC are different entities, than I'm afraid your barking up the wrong tree.
http://www.waterford-united.ie/honours.php
I beg to differ.Due to the genorosity of our fans my children will get to enjoy Cork City Football Club in their life the same way that I did,and we'll be a stronger club for it.
and appearances arent everything,speak with those that ran your 400 club and they'll explain it to you
Also I dont get your snarling attitude to be honest ,how old are you ?? are you able to tell the difference between internet and reality !!
The lunatic is on the grass....
Be careful with that axe Eugene or should i say Niall ;)
Hope Cork pulls throough.... never liked your involvement with Kilcoyne...just as I hated Bohs fans chanting "... Christmas trees in Miltown..." when the old ground was used as a depot for them the Xmas after Kilcoyne sold it....
however still want both to survive so we can have the pleasure of thrashing them in Tallaght when normal service resumes next March:D
I'm utterly amazed at the bile being expressed towards CCFC and their fans by "fans" of other clubs. I'm no lover of Cork City but, for the vast majority of football fans, this could be any of our clubs in this predicament and a little human empathy and a kind word, at what must be a troubling time for many, would go a long way.
Good luck to all those involved in trying to pull CCFC back from the brink. And if the club does go to the wall, there are several good examples on this side of the water to show that you can rise again.
http://www.accringtonstanley.co.uk - returned to the Football League after 44 years
http://www.theshots.co.uk - returned after 18 years
http://www.afcwimbledon.co.uk - on the long road back and now just 2 promotions away...
Cork Phoenix FC anyone?
:ball: PP
Why have sympathy for a board that have squandered everything that CC had. If the shoe was on the other foot then they would be telling us "no, you should of done it this way?, Our way is better?, Do you have a clue how to run a football club?" I have empathy with their supporters but other than that just proof that professional football is dead on this island
We're not all arrogant so dont tar us all with the one brush.
As for you being glad to see the back of Cork City, that is pathetic. We have the biggest attendances and are the best supported team in the league so obviously there would be a big void if we were to fold. Our travelling support obviously wouldnt be at away games therefore it would have an effect on every club in the league.
We're not asking for sympathy for our board. We hate the p ricks and can see as much as the next person the damage they have done. We always knew there was something not right with them and unfortunately we were proven right.
All we are asking for is a little support from our fellow Eircom League fans. There aren't many of us around and a bit of support would go a long way
This what sickens me about this league.The people who are taking most enjoyment out of Corks current Predicament are only one step away from surpassing Corks demise on a much larger scale.
Whats the good in winning something if your club is spending way beyond its means.The FAI have to carry the can for allowing personal guarantees and loans being allowed to be included in the wage cap which led to the top 4 clubs firing absurd amounts of money at players .
We have the biggest attendances and are the best supported team in the league so obviously there would be a big void if we were to fold.
Where are they !!??
why are they not helping to save their own club.
jesus wept are you all blind?!?
Can you not see that when i talk of the demise of the club its not something I wish to happen. far, far from it.
the X is THE best ground in the country and christ knows i'm been to most of em. i love going to games aginst city as there always appears to be a buzz in the city for the Rovers-City game and its a great stopover in a decent city.
but it would appear, to the outsider, that your club is on its last legs and no kiss of life is imminent.
It is because i'm a rovers fan and have gone through this process before with my own club that i find is frustrating.
apologies if offence was caused.
read today that cork citys joe gambles income has dropped considerably from 3000e to 900e a wk. he surely must ave regrets about stayin in cork now.:eek:. personally speakin i dont want to see cork city go as they were always welcomin to us whenever we played in turners x or we were in the horse shoe or the tavern... best of luck lads in yer battle..:)
Just back to where he was before signing his new contract, surely?
I really don't think any LOI fan wants to see Cork go as the whole idea of a full-time league could disappear with them.
However I can understand people being a bit smug about it given the smug/arrogant **** they've had to put up with from C*rkies on here and elsewhere.