Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Are Cork City Gone

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    Everyone that took that wage cut to help save the club is a legend in my eyes. Quite unbelievable
    Was it not forced onto them?

Fair play to the players for accepting the cut. They probably realise as well that the remaining big 3 can't afford to take any of them on, so what choice do they have?

30 Posts
    They could have left as free agents as far as I know

20 Posts
    Does anyone know what kind of wages that the players were on? I can't help think that with all the talk around inflated wages in the LoI, that some of the players took the club completely to the cleaners & sucked larger-than-deserved wages.

This whole affair is really going to be a kick in the teeth for any attempts to tempt investors into the league, especially a main sponsor.

Quote Originally Posted by Ash View Post
    They could have left as free agents as far as I know
    I think they still can, judging on what the PFAI were saying on Morning Ireland. Also said that it is a wage deferment rather than a cut, and that they (the PFAI) expect the wages to be honoured.

125 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by amaccann View Post
    Does anyone know what kind of wages that the players were on? I can't help think that with all the talk around inflated wages in the LoI, that some of the players took the club completely to the cleaners & sucked larger-than-deserved wages.

This whole affair is really going to be a kick in the teeth for any attempts to tempt investors into the league, especially a main sponsor.
    You can't really blame the players for trying to get the best possible wage. The fault lies with the clubs not having the balls to develop any sort of wage structure, or to refuse the player his demands.

What struck last night reading the news was how come Cork got Joe Gamble to resign on a lucrative deal last month knowing full well that this was around the corner . They must of signed at least two first team players in the window also. Cork City/Arkaga whatever their called showed a complete breach of their duties as owners of the club and I hope the Director of Corporate Enforcement is looking into the clubs situation.
    Long Live King Kenny

Quote Originally Posted by amaccann View Post
    Nothing wrong with players asking for money, up to those in charge to say no.

LOI football is never an investment. There's simply no way to make money here. If people put in money for "the right reasons", they can get lots out of it. A monetary return on their investment won't be one of them.

30 Posts
    This is a reply to a Cork fan that I put up on our own website today and as the content in it implies, I'm not too optimistic for a positive outcome for CCFC.

http://www.btid.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1596

Dunnocks, yere brownbread, end of. You've a massive debt to try and clear. Its costing 55k to run CCFC every week. Last night only 120 odd people turned up to the FORAS meeting. Where in the name of Allah are you going to come up with the cash to a) clear the debts and b) come up with the shekels to pay the remaining players and officials reduced wages. Your players are free agents and can leave any time. Not to mention the PFAI wont be too happy as either will the FAI for that matter. And anyway who the hell is going to invest in your club when you have no fixed assets to speak of and a list of creditors banging down the front looking to be paid.

Right now over on Cáwk Central, its desperation time. http://www.ccfcforum.com/forum/Tonig...lu-t27094.html

You are practically holding out for a Lord of the Rings-esque Knight in Shining Armour to come galloping along and rescue all the hapless & doomed inhabitants of all of Cáwkiedom. Guess what, it aint going to happen and we know that through our own bitter experience. You left it too late to get organised and allowed yourselves to get sucked in by all the fvckwittery of Arkaga - 30,000 seater stadium which inflated your already over inflated egos and drifted off further into cloud-cuckooland.

A bit of advice, right now you'd be better off allowing CCFC to go into liquidation, start off with a new club in the 1st Division, this time run by you, the fans. Any money you put into CCFC right now is only getting Arkaga off the hook as they have stated that they wish to hold onto a stake within the Club. Only problem is what to call yourselves. I must admit, put the thinking cap on. You have already used up the City, Hibernians, Celtic, FC, Bohemians, United, Alberts, Fordsons, Evergreen names.

At least our 6 league titles and 2 cups are safe for foreseeable future.

What FORAS & CCOSC need to do is get organised, build up a war chest and take over CCFC from Arkaga, thats if Arkaga do decide to cut and run. Failing that, the Cáwkies would be better off letting the Club go into liquidation, start from scratch with a new club. With Arkaga announcing that they wish to hold a stake within the Club, I feel FORAS are swimming against the tide.
    Last edited by Partizan; 28/08/2008 at 10:54 AM.

185 Posts
    Is it true that at the FORAS meeting ,the grand total of 100 people showed up ?
    out of an average attendence of 3,000-ish?
    If so then the second city dont deserve a football club.
    expect to hear "at least you've still got sunderland" & "arkaga our hero" at the game tomorrow.
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    out of an average attendence of 3,000-ish?
    If so then the second city dont deserve a football club.
    expect to hear "at least you've still got sunderland" & "arkaga our hero" at the game tomorrow.
    How quickly you forget.

It made them all free agents. They are all staying, for now anyway.

I believe it was arranged pretty quickly. A cork friend of mine didn't hear about it until going on internet last night.

From my reading of it, FORAS need to raise €5k a week until the end of the season. If there's any Cork fans who don't contribute as much as they possibly can to this, they don't deserve a club.

If the club survives, they could be even stronger for it

185 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    How quickly you forget.
    au contraire , my sterling-lined pocketed friend.
    "We" were orgaanised, raised the money quickly with roughly 40% of our core support wiling to help out finacially to keep "our" club afloat.

i have every sypathy for the genuine carkies who care about their club:
    it just appears that not enough of them care that much to actually stop them going down the tubes.
    singing "kilcoyne our hero" to hoops fans long afte the game was finished a few weeks ago was never gonna get much sympathy from us i can tell ye.

"cork wednesday"-
    "cork juniors"
    "cork academicals"

are any of these nom de plumes any use to you biys?
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

Quite.

Quote Originally Posted by Partizan View Post
    This is a reply to a Cork fan that I put up on our own website today and as the content in it implies, I'm not too optimistic for a positive outcome for CCFC.

http://www.btid.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=1596

Dunnocks, yere brownbread, end of. You've a massive debt to try and clear. Its costing 55k to run CCFC every week. Last night only 120 odd people turned up to the FORAS meeting. Where in the name of Allah are you going to come up with the cash to a) clear the debts and b) come up with the shekels to pay the remaining players and officials reduced wages. Your players are free agents and can leave any time. Not to mention the PFAI wont be too happy as either will the FAI for that matter. And anyway who the hell is going to invest in your club when you have no fixed assets to speak of and a list of creditors banging down the front looking to be paid.

Right now over on Cáwk Central, its desperation time. http://www.ccfcforum.com/forum/Tonig...lu-t27094.html

You are practically holding out for a Lord of the Rings-esque Knight in Shining Armour to come galloping along and rescue all the hapless & doomed inhabitants of all of Cáwkiedom. Guess what, it aint going to happen and we know that through our own bitter experience. You left it too late to get organised and allowed yourselves to get sucked in by all the fvckwittery of Arkaga - 30,000 seater stadium which inflated your already over inflated egos and drifted off further into cloud-cuckooland.

A bit of advice, right now you'd be better off allowing CCFC to go into liquidation, start off with a new club in the 1st Division, this time run by you, the fans. Any money you put into CCFC right now is only getting Arkaga off the hook as they have stated that they wish to hold onto a stake within the Club. Only problem is what to call yourselves. I must admit, put the thinking cap on. You have already used up the City, Hibernians, Celtic, FC, Bohemians, United, Alberts, Fordsons, Evergreen names.

At least our 6 league titles and 2 cups are safe for foreseeable future.

What FORAS & CCOSC need to do is get organised, build up a war chest and take over CCFC from Arkaga, thats if Arkaga do decide to cut and run. Failing that, the Cáwkies would be better off letting the Club go into liquidation, start from scratch with a new club. With Arkaga announcing that they wish to hold a stake within the Club, I feel FORAS are swimming against the tide.

Bit of a fcukin smart alec all the same aren't we.
    You might find it funny, but we don't. We're fighting to save our club here, we're all digging into our pockets and becoming members of FORAS, regardless of whether or not we can afford it, we are al lgetting the money from somewhere because we know that if we don't our club is gone.
    And whether or not ye like to admit it, the league would be a worse place without Cork City, far worse. A bit of moral support from our nearby neighbours wouldn't hurt
    low lie the fields of Bishopstown......

Guardian article:
    http://blogs.guardian.co.uk/sport/20...y_the_pri.html

Apologies in advance if this triggers the mods to move the thread!
    Together with all our hearts.

82 Posts
    Last time I checked
    1) I earn in euros
    2) I keep them in a wallet
    3) my pockets are lined with a durable poly-cotton mix

i have every sypathy for the genuine carkies who care about their club:.
    Clearly.

Quote Originally Posted by Partizan View Post
    Only problem is what to call yourselves. I must admit, put the thinking cap on. You have already used up the City, Hibernians, Celtic, FC, Bohemians, United, Alberts, Fordsons, Evergreen names.

At least our 6 league titles and 2 cups are safe for foreseeable future. [/I]
    Funny how you have the Cork teams seperate, but don't seperate your lot...

67 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by michaelguineys View Post
    the league would be a worse place without Cork City, far worse

Why do you think that? I don't. Would be glad to see the back of your over arrogant supporters

"We" were orgaanised, raised the money quickly with roughly 40% of our core support wiling to help out finacially to keep "our" club afloat.

i have every sypathy for the genuine carkies who care about their club:
    it just appears that not enough of them care that much to actually stop them going down the tubes.
    singing "kilcoyne our hero" to hoops fans long afte the game was finished a few weeks ago was never gonna get much sympathy from us i can tell ye.

"cork wednesday"-
    "cork juniors"
    "cork academicals"

are any of these nom de plumes any use to you biys?
    You also had a 2 year head start ,400 club already in place for close to 2 years prior .FORAS was due to launch in september ,and untill a month ago before Gerard Walsh and co decided to pull out ,everything was ok .Now it has to go at full pelt ,very different scenario to what you faced
    As for Kilcoyne is our hero ,its a harmless chant ,directed at some morons that security allowed stay behind in the stands to taunt us 20mins after the game and its a hell of lot more harmless than 50 or 60 of your hard boys waiting around the corner from Kennedys and destroying 2 buses or indeeed attacking a old man with his 8 year old grandson at the bank next door
    The lunatic is on the grass
    Remembering games and daisy chains and laughs
    Got to keep the loonies on the path

Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast