Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • TheOneWhoKnocks
    • Dec 2013

Jazz hands Robbie Keane better than Shane Long in his worst EPL season.

Someone that spends 85% of games chastising the referee and his teammates while another striker invariably does all the donkey work for him. Thank God he gobbles goals against small teams because if he didn't have that.... he's not renowned for his technical brilliance.

Now I may be not be appreciating Robbie Keane enough but you could accuse other people of not appreciating Shane Long or Kevin Doyle enough too!
    Last edited by TheOneWhoKnocks; 30/05/2014, 1:33 AM.

Comment

• Charlie Darwin
      Banned. Children Banned. Grandchildren Banned. 3 Months.
      • Jan 2010

Here we go again.

Comment

• back of the net
        • Jul 2007

Looking like roy keane is on way to celtic. O'Neill has announced that dermot Desmond has rang him asking him wud it be ok to speak to him. O'neill said he expects roy to be at italy game on sat but now unsure if roy will going on the American tour for costa rica and portugal games
        My Country is My Club.

Republic of Ireland Forever

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Um_ZvP2cUdo

Comment

• Paddy Garcia
          • Feb 2006

Originally posted by TheOneWhoKnocks
          Jazz hands Robbie Keane better than Shane Long in his worst EPL season.

Someone that spends 85% of games chastising the referee and his teammates while another striker invariably does all the donkey work for him. Thank God he gobbles goals against small teams - he netted more in one game against Burnley than he in anyways because if he didn't have that.... he's not renowned for his technical brilliance.

Now I may be not be appreciating Robbie Keane enough but you could accuse other people of not appreciating Shane Long or Kevin Doyle enough too!
          You could simply decide to see the best in everyone?

Comment

• Charlie Darwin
            Banned. Children Banned. Grandchildren Banned. 3 Months.
            • Jan 2010

Originally posted by back of the net
            Looking like roy keane is on way to celtic. O'Neill has announced that dermot Desmond has rang him asking him wud it be ok to speak to him. O'neill said he expects roy to be at italy game on sat but now unsure if roy will going on the American tour for costa rica and portugal games
            Walking out on your country IS THAT THE NEW THING NOW ROY

Comment

• DeLorean
              • Jun 2008

It probably seems worse to us because he's so high profile, but would anyone really bat an eyelid if Mark McGhee left his assistant manager job at Scotland to manage Celtic? It would be seen as an opportunity too good to turn down, a man only trying to better himself by accepting a greater challenge. I think we might be better off without the Keano circus anyway to be honest, especially with his new book coming out at the beginning of the Euro campaign. Will there be a chance that he'll do both roles? I hope not.
              Last edited by DeLorean; 29/05/2014, 7:24 PM.

Comment

• shakermaker1982
                • Sep 2005

Why would you want to manage Celtic at the moment? Where is the challenge? If he wins title after title people will go so what.
                "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Comment

• DeLorean
                  • Jun 2008

They're still a massive club, day to day management and an opportunity to rebuild his managerial reputation by winning a few handy trophies.

Comment

• TheOneWhoKnocks
                    • Dec 2013

This could go one of two ways.

He signed a ream of Irish players at Sunderland, so if he maintains that transfer policy we could see a lot of Irish players in the CL.

Or Celtic could fail to qualify for the CL, in which case we would just have a lot of Irish players playing a sh*t level of football every week.

Personally, I would like to see Irish players playing CL football but Celtic qualifying is a big, big ask.
                    Last edited by TheOneWhoKnocks; 29/05/2014, 7:07 PM.

Comment

• tricky_colour
                      • Sep 2003

Originally posted by Stuttgart88
                      We might need to change the headline of this thread back to "managed" if the Indo is to be believed. Keane bookies' fave to manage(d) Celtic.
                      Yes, it was always a correct title, I am well ahead of the game, even my typing errors turn out to be correct!!

Hmmmm...... Ireland win 2018 world cup.....

Comment

• geysir
                        • Apr 2005

As I always said, Celtic and Keane are a marriage made in paradise
                        So the seating arrangement at he last game could have reflected the cooling relations?
                        No escape for our Anthony, what did he do to deserve this?

if Keane goes I would like every cent that was paid to him returned and.......... give us back the jersey.

Comment

• Yard of Pace
                          • Apr 2009

Originally posted by DeLorean
                          I think we might be better off without the Keano circus anyway to be honest, especially with his new book coming out at the beginning of the Euro campaign. .
                          I agree wholeheartedly. That article by Paul Rowan last week, the photos of Keane at the training sessions before the Turkey game, the rigmarole of people giving out about him doing punditry on the CL final before an Ireland match, just brought home how distracting it is to have so much focus on the assistant manager.
                          He's currently bigger than the team. I don't like that. Let these lads make a name for themselves and let MON go about his business without having to give a soundbyte about Roy at every press conference.

Comment

• tricky_colour
                            • Sep 2003

Originally posted by Stuttgart88
                            We might need to change the headline of this thread back to "managed" if the Indo is to be believed. Keane bookies' fave to manage(d) Celtic.
                            The worst odds I can see on that are 1/3 , he is 1/8 at PaddyPower, and 1/10 on at another bookie.

Looks like someone thinks they know something!

Comment

• geysir
                              • Apr 2005

Worth a punt Tricky?

Comment

• tricky_colour
                                • Sep 2003

Originally posted by shakermaker1982
                                Why would you want to manage Celtic at the moment? Where is the challenge? If he wins title after title people will go so what.
                                Because it is easy job guaranteed to make you successful.

Lets face it even I would struggle to screw the job up, it is chance for Roy to show he can manage a 'big team'.

I say guaranteed but then look how Moyes struggled at Man U, what if half way through next season Celtic
                                are struggling in 4th or 5th place? It could happen. I am not a follower of Scottish football so I don't know
                                what sort of shape Celtic are in for next season, Roy may have been left a poisoned chalice a bit like Moyes was
                                perhaps?

Comment

Working...