• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • DmanDmythDledge
    • Feb 2006

Originally posted by feo123
    what he do?
    I was just sitting there at half time when all of a sudden he's there behind me threatning me...few of the lads told him to go back to where he was sitting before anything happened. he wasnt long backing off when he was threatned...bottler
    Originally posted by sligoman
    although that was before the guard came so he may have kicked him out.
    Ye he said it was the guard alright
    League of Ireland Betting

Latest post: Airtricity League of Ireland 2010: Series 1

Comment

• pineapple stu
      Biased against YOUR club
      • Aug 2002

Originally posted by sligoman
      Don't know if he actually got removed? Think he was just told to stay over the other side
      Got removed and banned from our home games for the season.

Serious questions being asked about the Sligo stewarding though - even the head steward said some of them were useless.

Comment

• Poor Student
        • Sep 2004

Originally posted by pineapple stu

Serious questions being asked about the Sligo stewarding though - even the head steward said some of them were useless.
        One of them seemed to be employing Jedi mind tricks to control the kids beside us after their goal. Some stern staring and gesturing of the hand away from us. Not that it worked!
        Last edited by Poor Student; 02/04/2007, 6:15 PM.

Comment

• pineapple stu
          Biased against YOUR club
          • Aug 2002

And one of them seemed to be retarded (seriously...)

Comment

• Aberdonian Stu
            • Sep 2001

I wasn't at the game but given the way these incidents are being described and the ease with which the participants in them did what they did it says a lot about the standard of stewarding in some grounds.

Away fans in particular should always be protected as they are at greater risk in any game and fans of either side (especially topless away ones!) should be prevented from causing trouble to people sitting peacefully.
            Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

Comment

• Red&White Rover
              • Feb 2006

. He got two bottles thrown at him though
              i was behind where one of these bottles were thrown...an empty, plastic 250ml bottle that wasnt thrown in malice or intended to harm....

Comment

• Aberdonian Stu
                • Sep 2001

A thrown object of any kind is crossing the line, even if the person it's being thrown at has leapt across the line already!
                Check out my new sports blog http://www.action81.com

Comment

• DmanDmythDledge
                  • Feb 2006

Originally posted by Red&White Rover
                  i was behind where one of these bottles were thrown...an empty, plastic 250ml bottle that wasnt thrown in malice or intended to harm....
                  A second bottle (a full Lucozade bottle) was thrown by the lad in the Celtic jersey with plenty of malice just after that.
                  League of Ireland Betting

Latest post: Airtricity League of Ireland 2010: Series 1

Comment

• feo123
                    • Jun 2005

Originally posted by DmanDmythDledge
                    A second bottle (a full Lucozade bottle) was thrown by the lad in the Celtic jersey with plenty of malice just after that.
                    no it wasn't, i was in the front row right in front of him and there was a blue water bottle thrown, then a similar one which was half full was more lobbed than thrown, but whoever threw it obviosly shouldn't have done it, dont think any of the stewards saw him as the one closest to them had her back turned dealing with the gun show host!
                    a seasons ban from ye're home games...very harsh!

Comment

• Schumi
                      • Jun 2001

How was it thrown then? In a friendly manner?

Comment

• pineapple stu
                        Biased against YOUR club
                        • Aug 2002

Originally posted by Kelly-is-God
                        a few stupid students walked bye us kissing creasts,hand jestures,shouting up at us.that nerd with his top off was
                        How immature do you have to be to get riled up by something like that? Wouldn't expect anything more from a 15-year-old though, to be honest.

While, as Aberdonian Stu and schumi have pointed out, the fact that there wasn't any harm intended is utterly irrelevant, yer man has actually acknowledged this point. He said he didn't mind the first one - he just tossed it back - but the second one was full, nearly hit him and was thrown by someone who'd been over looking to start trouble during half-time.

Originally posted by feo123
                        no it wasn't, i was in the front row right in front of him and there was a blue water bottle thrown, then a similar one which was half full was more lobbed than thrown
                        Well, I gave yer man a lift home after the match and he was quite adamant that it was a full Lucozade bottle which had been flung, not lobbed, at him. Given that he'd have more reason to be keeping an eye out on it than you, I'd go with his version of events.

And yes, the season long ban may be a bit harsh, but than I'd be much happier with my club's handling of the issue than yours. Why that scumbag with the Celtic top was allowed in the ground after trying to start trouble at half-time and then throwing a bottle is beyond me. Not to mention the fact that your head steward was very unhappy with the stewarding, and another chief steward apologised for the excessively rough handling yer man got from the stewards.

Comment

• dublinred
                          Formerly: londonred
                          • Apr 2004

Originally posted by Schumi
                          How was it thrown then? In a friendly manner?
                          Over-reaction or what , i rember the bad old days when the trains used to stoned going into Connolly and there would be a mini riot in the station and fights on the way to the grounds in Dublin and to think people get upset about empty plastic bottles nowdays.

Comment

• Schumi
                            • Jun 2001

I'm not interested in how bad things used to be Grandpa, the fact remains that throwing a bottle at someone is unacceptable and given that the same person tried to start a fight at half time, the stewarding in the Showgrounds is a joke. Stewards were more interested in trying to antagonise us than in doing anything about Sligo fans causing trouble.

Comment

• pineapple stu
                              Biased against YOUR club
                              • Aug 2002

Originally posted by londonred
                              and to think people get upset about empty plastic bottles nowdays.
                              While not trying to take anything away from schumi's post, it was the full bottle which was causing particular anger, as previously noted.

Comment

• kkontour
                                • May 2005

While not trying to take anything away from schumi's post, it was the full bottle which was causing particular anger, as previously noted.
                                My apologies to Stu, I am not denying, as you states the SR Forum, but I honestly did not see the bottles being thrown, and I was sitting the entrace side of the singing Rovers fans. Your fellow was a muppett but SR "fan" who thre the bottle should be banned. What will happen now is fans will be segregated and we will have to sit in the red stand and away fans in the blue. I hate sitting over there!
                                Suppose if the football wasnt so poor, the iditos wouldnt get bored and start the trouble. Its the teams fault
                                sligo rovers needs you

Comment

Working...