X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • blue til i die
    • May 2005

Club Statement:
    On behalf of Cork City FC, we wish to confirm our decision to appeal the decision made by the revenue commssioners not to accept the proposal put forward in the High Court this morning.

It is our intention to seek a stay on the order for leave to appeal to the supreme court. During this period we will settle our outstanding liability in full.

We believe that our proposal demonstrates not just our commitment but also our ability to settle our liability in full in the short term. In addition to this, under the guidance of the Quintas Group we now have a sustainable business model which will protect jobs and ensure that a similar situation will not arise going forward.

We have a big match tonight against Bray Wanderers at Turner's Cross, so we are looking forward to getting back to football and hope to see the Rebel Army there in big numbers

It is appropriate that we take this opportunity to thank all of those who have rallied behind the cause and demonstrated their support in recent times. In particular we would like to thank our manager and players for their loyalty and continuing hard work to deliver success on the pitch. Also, Dermot Desmond and Celtic FC for their commitment to come to Cork, John Delaney and the FAI who have been very helpful and supportive behind the scenes and of course, Jim McCarthy of Quintas for lending us their considerable expertise and advice. Also, we would like to thank Olann Kelleher and Mark Riordan.
    I’m not pedantic...I’m merely overly concerned with minute details.

Comment

• pineapple stu
      Biased against YOUR club
      • Aug 2002

I believe that as much as I believe Arkaga put in E1.5m.

Supreme Court is only for appeals on a point of law, isn't it? No chance there; has to be purely a stalling tactic?

Surprised at how many people are surprised Revenue didn't come to a deal today.

Comment

• Mr A
        Like the Fonz. Only a dog.
        • Jun 2004

How the hell can they appeal a decision by the revenue? This looks like just a stupid charade and a criminal waste of money.

Comment

• Black and White
          • Mar 2008

Will Turners Cross be packed to the rafters tonight to give out about Coughlan and the Revenue(not their fault but you have to hate them anyways)?!
          Drogs Who?!?

Comment

• John83
            • Feb 2003

Originally posted by Larry 'da' Wyse
            Has he not written off €700k of his own money? Whatever stupid decisions he made once he got control of the club, would the club not have gone under a lot earlier had he not got involved?
            He's made that claim. The numbers don't add up, and most people don't believe he's put in a penny.

Originally posted by Black and White
            Will Turners Cross be packed to the rafters tonight to give out about Coughlan and the Revenue(not their fault but you have to hate them anyways)?!
            I doubt it. If anything, I'd have thought it'll be a very small crowd.
            You can't spell failure without FAI

Comment

• White Horse
              • Dec 2006

The Club statement is bullsh!t. They want to appeal the decision of the Revenue Commissioners?

The Supreme Court cannot tell the RC whether to accept the deal or not.

Who is advising these eejits?

Comment

• Mr A
                Like the Fonz. Only a dog.
                • Jun 2004

And do they really think they'll ever get paid?

Comment

• SeanDrog
                  • Apr 2004

looks like they are buying time to pay off revenue and hope that this will make it all go away (will it?)
                  Drogheda United in this together

Comment

• roinuj
                    • Jul 2009

its official, waterford united = munsters biggest club

Comment

• Ezeikial
                      • Jan 2009

Club Statement:
                      Quote:
                      On behalf of Cork City FC, we wish to confirm our decision to appeal the decision made by the revenue commssioners not to accept the proposal put forward in the High Court this morning.

It is our intention to seek a stay on the order for leave to appeal to the supreme court. During this period we will settle our outstanding liability in full.

We believe that our proposal demonstrates not just our commitment but also our ability to settle our liability in full in the short term. In addition to this, under the guidance of the Quintas Group we now have a sustainable business model which will protect jobs and ensure that a similar situation will not arise going forward.

We have a big match tonight against Bray Wanderers at Turner's Cross, so we are looking forward to getting back to football and hope to see the Rebel Army there in big numbers

It is appropriate that we take this opportunity to thank all of those who have rallied behind the cause and demonstrated their support in recent times. In particular we would like to thank our manager and players for their loyalty and continuing hard work to deliver success on the pitch. Also, Dermot Desmond and Celtic FC for their commitment to come to Cork, John Delaney and the FAI who have been very helpful and supportive behind the scenes and of course, Jim McCarthy of Quintas for lending us their considerable expertise and advice. Also, we would like to thank Olann Kelleher and Mark Riordan.
                      Is this a hoax or genuine?

"appeal the decision made by the revenue commssioners "

"During this period we will settle our outstanding liability in full"

Comment

• Umberside
                        • Mar 2009

Originally posted by roinuj
                        its official, waterford united = munsters biggest club
                        Ye deserve it.
                        I'm a 23yr old right-handed heterosexual who drinks milk and likes democracy. - dcfcsteve knows me well

Comment

• Larry 'da' Wyse
                          • May 2004

Originally posted by Mr A
                          He has in his arse put in 700k!
                          From the Examiner this morning (so it must be true )

He has also agreed to write off his personal investment in the club, a sum of money which is understood to be in the region of €700,000.

Jim McCarthy Quintas:
                          There are obviously other creditors but nothing of too much significance, nothing that can’t be sorted out from managing the cash flow of the club carefully going forward which I think has to be a priority. A big creditor of the company would be Tom Coughlan himself and I think to be fair he has put €700,000 in and he’s prepared to write that sum off in its entirety.
                          "oh my, that was some beer we had last night, I think I feel like getting sick" Effin Eddie

Comment

• John83
                            • Feb 2003

Originally posted by SeanDrog
                            looks like they are buying time to pay off revenue and hope that this will make it all go away (will it?)
                            No. If they raise the money, they have wages to pay (this week's wage payment was voluntarily deferred by the players), and prize money brought forward already. They'd be dead in a couple of months at best.
                            You can't spell failure without FAI

Comment

• Umberside
                              • Mar 2009

Suppose next year we'll be playing A Championship against Salthill Devon and Tralee Dynamos in Bishopstown. I doubt we'll still play in Turners Cross.
                              I'm a 23yr old right-handed heterosexual who drinks milk and likes democracy. - dcfcsteve knows me well

Comment

• Magicme
                                • Dec 2005

So is it better to put the gun to the head now or let it writhe and suffer for another while?

Comment

Working...