View Full Version : Tonight's latest
skitz3
25/08/2008, 9:37 PM
How is it disgraceful. The away support sit in the stands most of the time. The worst I seen is Dundalk and Shels. Drunken mess they were.
I was told i wasn't welcome in the stands on more than one occasion and the chipper van should be condemned as well as very heavy handed stewarts (all but one that is, he was a hero)
5ForKeeps
25/08/2008, 9:40 PM
I was told i wasn't welcome in the stands on more than one occasion and the chipper van should be condemned as well as very heavy handed stewarts (all but one that is, he was a hero)
The stewards take no **** alrite. It is due too those two sets of supporters, the Gardai had to be called in as the shels fans were on the warpath. Skitz, who do you follow?
wexfordned
25/08/2008, 9:42 PM
You having a giraffe??? For an away fan it's one of the worst in the league, disgraceful treatment of away fans down there too.
Away fans can use the stand. Away fans always take up far end of the stand, no one seems to stop them. One can only wonder why you keep getting stopped.
skitz3
25/08/2008, 9:44 PM
The stewards take no **** alrite. It is due too those two sets of supporters, the Gardai had to be called in as the shels fans were on the warpath. Skitz, who do you follow?
There's a difference between taking no **** and being heavy handed. I support Shels and when were we on the warpath?
5ForKeeps
25/08/2008, 9:53 PM
There's a difference between taking no **** and being heavy handed. I support Shels and when were we on the warpath?
Bit of a strong word warpath by myself which i take back, but most your fans were drunk and the nature of their attitude was not shined upon by fellow supporters who had kids in the line of fire.
At the end of the day its nothing against you personally but your fans weren't on there best behaviour on their last visit which was not too the liking of the stewards or the Gardai. The FAI officer in the south east is at every Wexford and Waterford game and the security, safety of supporters is paramount but if supporters are not adhering those standards...well you know what can happen. Wexford is been promoted as family club, local based. If parents see that supporters both home and away cause problems and get away with it would you bring your kid back, the answer is no which Mick Wallace and co. are trying too avoid.
This thread below, a St. Pats fan mentions the great welcome.
http://foot.ie/showthread.php?p=1006756#post1006756
25/08/2008, 10:02 PM
A section of the shels support at the last game in flancare were a shower of vermin, drunken ****ant skangers.
5ForKeeps
25/08/2008, 10:05 PM
http://www.eircomloi.ie/
Youths4Ever
26/08/2008, 12:20 AM
what a great night in Cork (just back) the atmosphere was electric and the longest last five minutes in the world.
draw for home advantage was already made it was whoever won tonight games so it currently set for Ferrycarrig Park not sure of date.
no doubt in my mind that with some forward planning more than capable of holding cup final.
Aaron
26/08/2008, 12:47 AM
what a great night in Cork (just back) the atmosphere was electric and the longest last five minutes in the world.
draw for home advantage was already made it was whoever won tonight games so it currently set for Ferrycarrig Park not sure of date.
no doubt in my mind that with some forward planning more than capable of holding cup final.
Not according to Stephen Kenny tonight and also if the past 3 years are anything to go by. It has been the toss of a coin for home advantage for the last few years, so AFAIK nothing has been confirmed in terms of the venue
Bohemian1890
26/08/2008, 1:49 AM
Great result for the Wexford would be great to see them go on to beat the whingers.
Candystripe
26/08/2008, 2:16 AM
First of all, a massive well done to Wexford in one of the biggest upsets in LOI history.
But AFAIK the toss of the coin has been done at a football match the following friday to decide the venue.
We lost the toss to UCD 4 years ago and we won the toss which happened at our game V Bohs at Dalyer the following year with Shels having to travel to the Brandywell.Last year we won the toss for the 2nd time out of 3 to host Bohs.
Unless something has changed without Derry being informed, and considering we were the only team who were in the final until the game tonight then I very much doubt it has been decided yet.
I'm sure if the game was in Wexford we would take at least 1,500 down as it's on a friday this year. We took 1,300+ to the UCD game which was on a monday.
How many can Wexford cater for as I'm sure they would get the barstoolers out for this game, 4,000? If so it won't make any difference to the gate as thats probably how many would be at the Brandywell.
So either a toss of a coin or possibly a big day out in Tolka on a weekend might bring a bit of extra glammour for Wexfords biggest game in their history.
Candystripe
26/08/2008, 2:22 AM
Great result for the Wexford would be great to see them go on to beat the whingers.
The same way as you's failed for the 2nd year in a row to beat us in it :D
You having a giraffe??? For an away fan it's one of the worst in the league, disgraceful treatment of away fans down there too.
Absolutely wrong. Already one of the best away trips in the league, a great place to go, and we'd have had a big crowd there both times with no problems at all. No problems with away fans sitting anywhere they liked, the stand for both our games had both sets of supporters well mixed all through the middle (we had an end each). No hassle at all with stewards, and why would you get chips when you can have a panino? Nothing but good memories of the place from both our trips there. Since most others say the same I wonder why you don't.
Fantastic result for the Youths, wonderful achievement, delighted for ye. Will be more delighted when ye win it now. :)
twowheelsonly
26/08/2008, 7:32 AM
Well Done to the Youths and fair play to the travelling support, a credit to the club. Good luck in the final and for the rest of the league season.
skitz3
26/08/2008, 7:33 AM
Absolutely wrong.
Actually you're right, yeah none of it happened at all, i must have imagined it :rolleyes:
ForzaWexford
26/08/2008, 8:40 AM
I don't think the venue for the final is decided yet. There's an interview with Mick after the game on www.wexfordyouthsfcsc.com. He's kinda like "we were lead to believe we might get a home fixture if we won".
If we win the toincoss we'll definitely want to play it in Ferrycarrig and not Waterford/Tolka/Wherever. At the minute we've only a temporary stand holding 600-odd though so it could be a bit of a problem! Lets just wait and see what happens.
26/08/2008, 9:37 AM
"we were lead to believe we might get a home fixture if we won". The FAI in a nutshell.
If we win the toincoss we'll definitely want to play it in Ferrycarrig and not Waterford/Tolka/Wherever. At the minute we've only a temporary stand holding 600-odd though so it could be a bit of a problem! Lets just wait and see what happens.Whats your safe holding capacity?
Doesn't sound like the ground is up to it, although given they allowed Belfield a few years ago, anythings possible.
Actually you're right, yeah none of it happened at all, i must have imagined it :rolleyes:
Well if you say so.
What I was saying, I would have thought quite obviously but there you go, is that you are absolutely wrong to make the sweeping claim that 'for an away fan' the Youths complex is one of the worst in the league, when you're clearly basing it on one occasion when you were there, which coincided with the p***ed-up carry-on of a bunch of your fellow fans that necessitated Garda involvement, and that if you read the various testimonials over the last couple of seasons from people who've been to games there you'll find very few of them, if any, to join your bandwagon. That's all.
5ForKeeps
26/08/2008, 12:28 PM
I don't think the venue for the final is decided yet. There's an interview with Mick after the game on www.wexfordyouthsfcsc.com (http://www.wexfordyouthsfcsc.com). He's kinda like "we were lead to believe we might get a home fixture if we won".
If we win the toincoss we'll definitely want to play it in Ferrycarrig and not Waterford/Tolka/Wherever. At the minute we've only a temporary stand holding 600-odd though so it could be a bit of a problem! Lets just wait and see what happens.
With Mick's contacts in the construction/building industry. I can see him get more temporary seating if the draw came to be we played the final at Ferrycarraig. It can cater for this kind of game, more food needed though. Standing wise Ferrycarraig could bring in a crowd of a 1000+. If worse comes to worse, the RSC would be the only alternative, close for our own fans and convenient too.
skitz3
26/08/2008, 12:36 PM
when you're clearly basing it on one occasion when you were there
No, basing it on three occasions i've been there (one more than you if we're counting)
which coincided with the p***ed-up carry-on of a bunch of your fellow fans that necessitated Garda involvement
Funnliy enough i wasn't there the last time we were down there, which is when this incident is said to have happened, i couldn't get off work in time so i went to watch Rovers and Harps that night instead.
and that if you read the various testimonials over the last couple of seasons from people who've been to games there you'll find very few of them, if any, to join your bandwagon. That's all.
Well were are these testimonials then? I'd like to see them. The concensus from people i've spoken to about it has been spilt on Ferrycarrig park. 50/50 i'd say roughly.
26/08/2008, 12:43 PM
I love my trips to Wexford, friendly people, lovely ground, clubhouse like a hotel. Its a great place to go and except for the distance it would be one of my fav places.
5ForKeeps
26/08/2008, 12:44 PM
http://www.wexfordyouthsfcsc.com/youthsforum.htm?forumID=1759758&page=1&topicID=887306
My prediction back in March what i thought would be a great season for us at the bottom....
oldyouth
26/08/2008, 12:49 PM
Just back from Cork and I'm not going to make reference to your post in my main comments. You're a fool........
oldyouth
26/08/2008, 12:57 PM
Had a great night in Cork and first things first. Many, many thanks to the Cork supporters who stayed behind to applaud our team off the pitch. Our players celebrated for a good while before coming off the pitch and you waited. Very impressed and it made the night extra special, as did the number of fans that offered their hand for a shake and wishing us good luck.
Secondly, to the players and team who came in to the pub afterwards and took the 'shoes off', what can I say but well done.
Footsoldier
26/08/2008, 1:13 PM
I was at it last night and I just want to echo what the rest of the lads said. The City supporters were brilliant. Very dignified and staying on to applaud our players off the pitch was a very gracious thing to do. I'd swear that some of them thought I'd been playing in the match, they were all coming up to me, shaking my hand and congratulating me. To those people, thanks. I did my best!
As for the final, I suspect that Ferrycarrig mightn't be up to holding it. That's based purely on the ground capacity and parking facilities at present. I'm also angling for a weekend in Derry!
26/08/2008, 1:15 PM
Is their a date set for the final yet?
26/08/2008, 1:29 PM
Is their a date set for the final yet?
Friday 26th September.
wexfordseagull
26/08/2008, 1:53 PM
just home and very happy!!again i want to thank and praise the cork city fans to their reaction to our win.to stay behind and applaud our players off and the way that you wished us well and congratulated us is a great credit to you many thanks,best of luck for the rest of the season,and to all of you who have posted to congratulate us :Dmany thanks:)
Friday 26th September.
I thought it was a tueday? Didn't think they'd re-arrange league fixtures for it
Bohemian1890
26/08/2008, 3:50 PM
The same way as you's failed for the 2nd year in a row to beat us in it :D
No the same way you haven't beat us in the league since GF was boss:p:)
Bohemian1890
26/08/2008, 3:57 PM
Derry beat the whingers in the quarter final
AFAIK Wexford beat Cork:o,that was maybe your last chance to win a trophy as you mite not be around for the Derry FAI Cup game:D
26/08/2008, 4:34 PM
No the same way you haven't beat us in the league since GF was boss:p:)
Thats quite a boast ..... :D
Supreme feet
26/08/2008, 5:02 PM
Just back from Cork and I'm not going to make reference to your post in my main comments. You're a fool........
Just ignore skitz - he's a wind-up merchant, and as far as I recall, he was banned from the Ireland section for a while for trolling. Even his signature is unnecessary and inflammatory, as were his comments about Wexford.
Delighted about last night. The report on rte.ie made reference to the good pitch in Cork being conducive to the fluent, passing football that Wallace's teams have always tried to play. I think that if more EL managers encouraged this style of football, the League would certainly be more attractive to the general public. Just a thought.
Candystripe
26/08/2008, 5:38 PM
As for the final, I suspect that Ferrycarrig mightn't be up to holding it. That's based purely on the ground capacity and parking facilities at present. I'm also angling for a weekend in Derry!
Not a bad place for a cheapish weekend.
Standing wise Ferrycarraig could bring in a crowd of a 1000+. If worse comes to worse, the RSC would be the only alternative, close for our own fans and convenient too.
With Derry having almost 2,000 season ticket holders this could prove to be difficult for us to get tickets for it!
oldyouth
26/08/2008, 7:01 PM
Our current 'temporary' stand holds 607 and is located at the opposite side of the pitch to where last year's one was. The reason it was moved accross was to allow for construction of the permanent stand as soon as planning permission was granted. Last year's stand held around 1,000 and there is still the room there to put in even a bigger one. I would estimate there is capacity to easily seat 2,500 but I have to conceed that access and parking could be an issue.
Some clubs need big home fixtures to survive financially, we need a home fixture to show the Wexford public and the Council planners that the Youths are here to stay
Youths4Ever
26/08/2008, 7:40 PM
our current capacity is 3200 max but if a temp stand was put in where it was last year increases the capacity depending on size of stand
parking would be an issue but easily overcome with a park and ride at someplace like the race course which would be easier for traveling support to find anyway
match is not fixed for either ground yet but last night officials from both clubs said at end of game that then where told home advantage to winners probably assuming Cork would win.
bohs til i die
26/08/2008, 9:24 PM
our current capacity is 3200 max but if a temp stand was put in where it was last year increases the capacity depending on size of stand
parking would be an issue but easily overcome with a park and ride at someplace like the race course which would be easier for traveling support to find anyway
match is not fixed for either ground yet but last night officials from both clubs said at end of game that then where told home advantage to winners probably assuming Cork would win.
If the FAI are serious about developing new clubs outside Dublin this final should be in Wexford.
26/08/2008, 9:41 PM
Surprised there's been no mention of the Bohs Drogs match.
2-0 to Bohs. They only need to win seven out of their final ten.
i was waiting to see who'd be man enough to post about it. None of our so called rivals deemed it newsworthy - lol.
The dominance continues. We really are untouchable, has any team ever dominated like this before? The quality throughout the team is incredible. And i think we have now surpassed Pats in goals scored so *bang* goes the boring 1-0 theory...
sorry if i come across as a dick but im enjoying this while it lasts.
brianw82
26/08/2008, 9:51 PM
What has happened to Drogheda? They're just useless this year. 2 and 3 grand being payed for players to just kick the ball out of play. Brutal.
Bohs were good tonight, but not great. They didn't have to be, though. Kalonas is some find. He did brilliantly for Crowe's goal. Didn't hear a MOTM being announced, but it should surely have been him. Bohs had a shaky spell for about 5 or 6 minutes in the 2nd half when Drogs had a few chances, but that was the only downside.
On a personal note, I got a lovely 10/11 on Bohs just to win this match. Can you believe that?
26/08/2008, 10:07 PM
Yeah we not really been under serious pressure in any game over the last few weeks. It got edgy a bit towards the end of the Rovers game but we should have had the game finished before half time anyway.
The game on the 8th against Pats will be huge.
Aaron
26/08/2008, 10:12 PM
Yeah we not really been under serious pressure in any game over the last few weeks. It got edgy a bit towards the end of the Rovers game but we should have had the game finished before half time anyway.
Win that and they may as well start planning the celebrations
26/08/2008, 10:13 PM
We are invincible!
26/08/2008, 10:24 PM
Win that and they may as well start planning the celebrations
Tis my birthday that day as well - what a present it would be to virtually wrap up the title
TheBoss
26/08/2008, 10:29 PM
What has happened to Drogheda? They're just useless this year. 2 and 3 grand being payed for players to just kick the ball out of play. Brutal.
I think the problem is an inconsistent lineup, every game, there always seems to be 3 or 4 changes every game, whether injury or tactical. Doolin has to be a more consistent with the starting 11 to start picking up results.
sonofstan
26/08/2008, 10:57 PM
I think the problem is an inconsistent lineup, every game, there always seems to be 3 or 4 changes every game, whether injury or tactical. Doolin has to be a more consistent with the starting 11 to start picking up results.
Well yes, but.....we've just gone through 4 weeks without a recognised centre half, so we've used the two Hearys - RB and MF respectively - as a makeshift central defence. Mark Rossiter has played in nearly every position on the field short of keeper; our best two players tonight weren't even at the club at the beginning of July (Kalonas and Deegan). I've lost count of the number of mid field partnerships we've had; and yet........ we are top of the league, said we are.....
CharlesThompson
26/08/2008, 11:14 PM
Bohs played like champions tonight. We lifted our performance when we needed to, scored to goals and saw the game out without being under too much pressure. Drogheda played the match as if they knew they were not going to get anything from the fixture. Sad reflection on the champions but you can only beat what's put in front of you. 40 points from the last 42 available and I have my championship goggles welded onto my face! can't wait for the Sligo game.
brianw82
27/08/2008, 9:13 AM
Well yes, but.....we've just gone through 4 weeks without a recognised centre half, so we've used the two Hearys - RB and MF respectively - as a makeshift central defence. Mark Rossiter has played in nearly every position on the field short of keeper; our best two players tonight weren't even at the club at the beginning of July (Kalonas and Deegan). I've lost count of the number of mid field partnerships we've had; and yet........ we are top of the league, said we are.....
I think that Bohs should play Crowe and Kalonas in central defence just to give everyone else a chance. They probably still wouldn't concede with that pairing! :)
Joey Killester
27/08/2008, 12:00 PM
A section of the shels support at the last game in flancare were a shower of vermin, drunken ****ant skangers.
Yeah, we're drunk and causing ructions, what of it! Go back to the GAA!
27/08/2008, 1:36 PM
On a personal note, I got a lovely 10/11 on Bohs just to win this match. Can you believe that?
I can believe that.
If you look back at the Pats-this/Pats-that wisdom of MNS this season, you would be forgiven for thinking that Bohs were heading for relegation.
MNS is extremely influential, most of their pundits have agendas of their own, and none of them is in the business of handing out praise to Bohs. Even since Bohs have topped the table, quite a few weeks back now, the recognition has been grudging in the extreme.