22/08/2008, 8:50 PM
Full time Mons 1-2 Wex

Gutted.

niallsparky
22/08/2008, 8:52 PM
FT: Galway 0-2 Bohs

Moose
22/08/2008, 8:53 PM
delighted. great win. bring on cork monday night!!!!

oldyouth
22/08/2008, 8:53 PM
Phew,

Magicme, I know how you feel but we needed that one. Spirits were down and that A Championship is on the horizion

MysticMon
22/08/2008, 9:10 PM
Boys in Pink take another 3 points from KCP :rolleyes:

Flexy
22/08/2008, 9:21 PM
Feel sorrrry for Cobh they havent had the luck with the fixtures this year, 2 visits to Ballybofey and 2 visits to derry, while cork only have 1 of each away, derry have had to play away to 4 out of the top 5 twice this year, Pats, Bohs, Cork, and Shamrock Rovers all away from home twice. Next year everyone will play each other twice which makes it fairer unlike the current format which is a joke

22/08/2008, 9:22 PM
Protest at the cross after the game &seems still there.

Should be on TV3 later.

22/08/2008, 9:25 PM
Next year everyone will play each other twice which makes it fairer unlike the current format which is a joke

So there will only be 20 games?.................thats crap!

Ramblers were 10 seconds from relegation tonight and we finally got a bit of luck...........has our season taken a turn for the better?

22/08/2008, 9:32 PM
Phew,

Magicme, I know how you feel but we needed that one. Spirits were down and that A Championship is on the horizion

Great to see that result tonight, such an inexperienced team getting an away win will do them the world of good.

Don't think the A championship is any danger this year as none of the new teams look like finishing in the top 4 in their leagues. Still it's be nice to keep off the bottom.

KianD
22/08/2008, 9:46 PM
So there will only be 20 games?.................thats crap!

Twice home twice away! Like the First up to this season, and it'd be 18 (actually 36) games because you don't play yourself :D

22/08/2008, 9:48 PM
you don't play yourself :D

Guaranteed 6 points!...........I havn't a problem with it anyway.:D

22/08/2008, 11:26 PM
Anto Murphy sent off for Bohs at Terryland for dissent.He was bound to get sent off for it eventually:D.

WoodquayBoy
22/08/2008, 11:53 PM
Shocking decision - again - by the officials that led to Murphy's sending off. He was clearly fouled by Davoren, play waved on, he argued with ref who showed him second yellow, followed by red. That said, he should have known better to shut it as he was on yellow.
Makes next week interesting, aren't Bohs playing Pats? They'll be without Murphy and o'Donnell

D.U.F.C Daire
23/08/2008, 12:00 AM
Shocking decision - again - by the officials that led to Murphy's sending off. He was clearly fouled by Davoren, play waved on, he argued with ref who showed him second yellow, followed by red. That said, he should have known better to shut it as he was on yellow.
Makes next week interesting, aren't Bohs playing Pats? They'll be without Murphy and o'Donnell

Playing us mid-week.

sonofstan
23/08/2008, 12:03 AM

Pat's game moved to 8th Sept. 'cos of Yur- up - we've Drogs on tues 26th (home) and Sligo on the 5th (away) before

23/08/2008, 2:20 AM
Drogheda 1-1 Rovers

Thiam equalised in the last 5 minutes.

M'eh.

23/08/2008, 2:46 AM
Next year everyone will play each other twice which makes it fairer unlike the current format which is a joke

Some people like to play UCD 6 times a season, as they will if they get them in the cups. :confused:

4-tier league means more Friday night games, an extra €400 a year in matchday expenses, and less fans at them. Brilliant!!! :rolleyes:

oldyouth
23/08/2008, 9:34 AM
Great to see that result tonight, such an inexperienced team getting an away win will do them the world of good.

Don't think the A championship is any danger this year as none of the new teams look like finishing in the top 4 in their leagues. Still it's be nice to keep off the bottom.
Very early in the A Championship and when you see a result like Derry 1 Mervue 3 it rattles the nerves

Comic Book Guy
23/08/2008, 10:38 AM
Very early in the A Championship and when you see a result like Derry 1 Mervue 3 it rattles the nerves

Even if teams like Mervue won the A championship would they want a shot at getting into the 1st div and all it's associated expense?

gordongekko
23/08/2008, 10:49 AM
Even if teams like Mervue won the A championship would they want a shot at getting into the 1st div and all it's associated expense?

Why would you enter the A championship if you did not want a shot at the first division?

gg

Flexy
23/08/2008, 11:13 AM

What you have to think about is that was Derry's under 18 team as Derry were away in Cobh that weekend, so would have expected them to have won

Youths4Ever
23/08/2008, 1:07 PM
delighted with result last night

it was a great performance from such a group of young guys average age of team was 20

23/08/2008, 1:21 PM
Bohs have the league lads.They are heads and shoulders a class above everyone else. Worrying thing is by this time next month they will be gone the way of Cork except their debt will be astronomical betwee €3.5m and €5m.

The league as it stands is finished and unless the FAI and all clubs take realistic steps to sort it out i can see at least 5/7 clubs going to the wall and that includes us.

higgins
23/08/2008, 1:45 PM
Under the 65% rule if Bohs are spending 50K on wages then they are also taking in at least 17,500 a week to cover non wage costs.

They should be turning a profit with that 17.5K a week :)

23/08/2008, 1:50 PM
Watched the Harps Cobh game last week. It was a fairly decent game but I felt sorry for Harps, they threw the game away. They're just lucky that UCD lost.

23/08/2008, 2:06 PM
Lads, you need to provide a source for assertions like the above or retract them. I'll delete your posts this evening unless this request is acted on.

Battery Rover
23/08/2008, 3:29 PM
Athlone Town vs Limerick 37

Match abandoned due to waterlogged pitch and safety reasons

Battery Rover
23/08/2008, 4:04 PM

This game is now refixed for Monday 25th August Kick off 7.45pm

WoodquayBoy
23/08/2008, 4:14 PM
I wouldn't pay too much heed to Mervue's A win over Derry, it was a very young Derry side from what I hear, and it was Mervue's first win in 5, they are still second or third bottom in their section. But to clear something else up, you bet they want to play First Division, as well as Salthill Devon

23/08/2008, 4:33 PM
it was a great performance from such a group of young guys average age of team was 20

Should we be surprised that the average age is 20???:confused:

The team is called Wexford Youths not Wexford Auld fellas!:D

23/08/2008, 6:00 PM
Thought Joxer and his legs (still unbroken as they are, in spite of aspirations otherwise here) did a great job for that first goal.

23/08/2008, 9:07 PM

When was the last game played on that pitch and were there any training sessions on it this week? how many times has your games been postponed or cancelled this season and when we played ye the last time (2 2 draw) it wasnt so hot either. For a brand new facility (the pitch)it seems to be having a lot of problems IMO

24/08/2008, 1:16 AM
There were under 19 international games on the pitch during the week but Flancare had the same amount and I've rarely seen the pitch looking as well as it was on Thursday. Fair enough there's been a bit of rain around here since but not that much I wouldn't have thought!

hoops1
24/08/2008, 3:39 PM
20 Euro to stand on a death trap of a terrace is a disgrace and they wonder why they cant get people through the gates

Battery Rover
24/08/2008, 5:22 PM
When was the last game played on that pitch and were there any training sessions on it this week? how many times has your games been postponed or cancelled this season and when we played ye the last time (2 2 draw) it wasnt so hot either. For a brand new facility (the pitch)it seems to be having a lot of problems IMO

Pitch was playable at 2pm but we had heavy persistant rain since 10 am that morning. It rained up in Athlone virtually every day for the past two weeks. League were contacted at 3pm and asked did they want to get the pitch inspected as water was starting to lay on it round the centre circle. They sent out a ref who decided that unless there was a guarantee that the rain would stop for an hour so the pitch could drain then it wasnt definite that the match could be finished.

So he called it off. It was the right decision as it was still pouring rain at 7.30pm and it would have become dangerous.

Your team were contacted in advance of the pitch inspection and as soon as I knew that it was off I contacted Joe to let you all know.

As for matches played on the pitch this week, you know how many there were but that has no bearing on it.

As for training on the pitch. We dont even allow teams warm up on the pitch never mind train that is what our second pitch is for.

To be honest I don't think that the pitch was any worse with water laying on it than what we played Galway on the previous Friday in the Cup but each referee can look at things in a different way.

Hibs4Ever
24/08/2008, 6:00 PM
Any links for St Pats against Sligo online?

Cheers

24/08/2008, 8:00 PM
It rained up in Athlone virtually every day for the past two weeks. same as Kildare, Longford, Galway etc

Your team were contacted in advance of the pitch inspection and as soon as I knew that it was off I contacted Joe to let you all know.
And it was lucky that the supporters bus left an hour later then usual and we were only a half hour into our journey when we got the news.

As for matches played on the pitch this week, you know how many there were but that has no bearing on it.

I dont know but i would like to know the numbers, and btw when we were up last time as i said the pitch was in bad condition and the story was that the FAI had been using it for games during the week same again perhalps?

To be honest I don't think that the pitch was any worse with water laying on it than what we played Galway on the previous Friday in the Cup but each referee can look at things in a different way.

Was it one of the Kellys :rolleyes:

and btw what were the safety reasons for calling off the game a pitch unplayable i can get but safety reasons? hope the game is on tomorrow now not many will travel on a monday night

Battery Rover
24/08/2008, 8:15 PM
Was down in the stadium this morning and the pitch was fine.

Safety reasons would be the pitch becoming dangerous for players if anymore water fell on it.

24/08/2008, 8:37 PM
just watched that pats sligo rovers match just now... pats committed the biggest daylight robbery since shergar.. sligo rovers were by far the better team and they should have won.. they would have won if kudozovic was still playin with them..

forza rovers
24/08/2008, 8:57 PM
we were robbed:mad:

brianw82
24/08/2008, 9:19 PM
Pats had the luck of a top team. Teams like Rovers never get a 92nd minute winner.

Fair play to them, though. That late goal is as valid as one scored in the first minute. Can't fault any of our players for effort. You could see that Boco and Almeida were really crushed by losing so late on.

TheBoss
24/08/2008, 9:23 PM
Sligo were the better team by some distance, they just got a little unlucky with Brush fumbling straight to 'D Lynch' as Jefferies called him.

Pats were disappointing, maybe one eye on the UEFA Cup game, like not getting an injury etc. They were sloppy most of time when entering the final third.

24/08/2008, 9:41 PM
Pats had the luck of a top team.
What's that then?

24/08/2008, 10:04 PM
Sligo were by far the better team alright, Cretaro and Boco were outstanding. Their work-rate and quality on the ball was top notch.
Sligos final ball was the only downside for them throughout the 90 minutes, they didn't really threaten the Pats goal enough.
Fair played to Pats though, they kept going to the final whistle and kept the title race open, a loss or draw would have been disastrous for them.

srfc1928
24/08/2008, 10:11 PM
Pats had the luck of a top team. Teams like Rovers never get a 92nd minute winner.

Fair play to them, though. That late goal is as valid as one scored in the first minute. Can't fault any of our players for effort. You could see that Boco and Almeida were really crushed by losing so late on.
yeah fair play to Pats
absolutely gutted to lose the game
our lads gave it their all,
just missing someone to tap the ball home for us.
i watched the game in a local pub and was really proud to call myself a SRFC supporter,
the attitude our lads approached the game was first classs.
Paul Cook is A Rovers legend

Bohemian1890
24/08/2008, 10:20 PM
yeah fair play to Pats
absolutely gutted to lose the game
our lads gave it their all,
just missing someone to tap the ball home for us.
i watched the game in a local pub and was really proud to call myself a SRFC supporter,
the attitude our lads approached the game was first classs.
Paul Cook is A Rovers legend

:eek:doesn't take much to become a legend in Sligo

brianw82
24/08/2008, 10:29 PM
:eek:doesn't take much to become a legend in Sligo

Cook is more of a man than most of the other managers in the league. Never makes excuses, tells it straight, and always gets the best from whatever players he has.

Very much doubt that Fenlon would be doing better in Cook's shoes.

kdjaC
24/08/2008, 10:35 PM
Cook is more of a man than most of the other managers in the league. Never makes excuses, tells it straight, and always gets the best from whatever players he has.

If JMC left pats would like Cook as next manager. Sligo play nice football regardless of players and considering the issues there hes done very well.

We robbed them tonight but they had noone who could nick a goal and we have loads of them.

ref was awful stupid amount of yellows shown.

not gonna fault players or manager for having an eye on thursday biggest Euro game in clubs history and we should be beating Sligo with whatever 11 we send out.

kdjac

Bohemian1890
24/08/2008, 10:39 PM

Yes he has you playing nice football its easy on the eye and he looks a good manager but to call him a legend after 2 years is it?iIs a joke IMO

24/08/2008, 11:13 PM
If JMC left pats would like Cook as next manager.Shams have him signed up for next season apparently.