View Full Version : The 2008 Olympics Thread

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8

21/08/2008, 8:40 AM
http://results.beijing2008.cn/WRM/ENG/INF/EQ/C51SG/EQX002101.shtml#EQX002101

He wasn't on the start list at 8.30 this morning.

21/08/2008, 9:12 AM
http://www.independent.ie/breaking-news/sport/showjumper-lynch-withdraws-from-olympic-final-1460615.html

Indo reports that Brazilian (including reigning champion), German (including 2000 champion) and Norwegian (including guy who lead qualifying) teams have all pulled out too

BTW Olive Loughnan finished 7th in the 20km walk today.

21/08/2008, 9:13 AM
I don't think that matters, both fought the same number of bouts and both lost to the gold medalist so don't both deserve a silver?
I'm confused now. Can you spell out the scenario?

21/08/2008, 9:52 AM
This from the BBC

1025: Bombshell news from the show jumping... A number of horses have tested positive for banned substances - don't know which ones or what substance. Four have been disqualified from tonight's finale - and they will also be dq'd from the team event a few days ago. GB finished 7th in the team event - so we don't think it would affect them - but we believe it could affect the medals. Think something should develop in next 10 mins with a press conference at 1100 BST.

21/08/2008, 9:58 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/olympics/live_action/default.stm

It has been confirmed that four horses - representing Brazil, Germany, Ireland and Norway - have been suspended for testing positive for a prohibited substance

Ah ****e...

HarpoJoyce
21/08/2008, 10:08 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/olympics/live_action/default.stm

It has been confirmed that four horses - representing Brazil, Germany, Ireland and Norway - have been suspended for testing positive for a prohibited substance

Ah ****e...

They missed this one. Dutch rider with horse called Opium.
http://results.beijing2008.cn/WRM/ENG/BIO/Horse/H000092.shtml

The official start list doesn't include HANSEN Tony Andre, the Individual leader after 3 rounds of qualifying and what push Norway to a Team medal.
http://results.beijing2008.cn/WRM/ENG/INF/EQ/C73SE/EQX002202.shtml#EQX002202
http://results.beijing2008.cn/WRM/ENG/INF/EQ/C73SB/EQX402103.shtml#EQX402103

Tipp Townie
21/08/2008, 10:09 AM
DAMMIT!

At least we didnt win have the medal taken away from us this time.

What is it with us and drugged horses?!

21/08/2008, 10:14 AM
Other riders are Christian Ahlman (germany), Tony Andre Hansen (Norway), Bernardo Alves (Brazil)
Judging by Results from qualifiers (http://results.beijing2008.cn/WRM/ENG/INF/EQ/C73SE/EQX002202.shtml#EQX002202) and order to go in final (http://results.beijing2008.cn/WRM/ENG/INF/EQ/C51SG/EQX002101.shtml#EQX002101)

21/08/2008, 10:39 AM
Should equestrian continue in the Olympics? Can we have greyhound racing instead?

Seriously thought I think have to consider not sending equestrian team to the Olympics in London. Give them time to clean up their sport & police themselves. Give their funding to Boxing as they are delivering results.

Are horses tested in normal showjumping events or no they just get caught at the Olympics because of greater scrutiny?

Good result by Loughnane in the race walk as I believe she was ranked 7th in times going into that race.

21/08/2008, 10:40 AM
She was ranked 9th by seasons bests, 12th by personal bests. A good result

21/08/2008, 11:19 AM
DAMMIT!

At least we didnt win have the medal taken away from us this time.

What is it with us and drugged horses?!

Lot of money in horses in Ireland. And still loads of coke floating around even though fewer people can afford it. Some of these horses believe their own hype. It was only a matter time really before the dealers saw the opening in the market.

finnpark
21/08/2008, 11:34 AM
The Jamicans have great genes appartently :rolleyes:

If you want Ireland to get a few Gold medals in the next Olympics sign the petition:

http://www.gopetition.com/petitions/london-2012-tugowar/sign.html

21/08/2008, 11:38 AM
The Jamicans have great genes appartently :rolleyes:
yep, anyone who knows anything about athletics knows how important gentics is.

Also its the number one sport there. Far, far more popular tha cricket, basketball or football (the other top 4)

zenokelly
21/08/2008, 11:47 AM
3rd positive drugs test from a top Irish rider's horse in 4 years. Unbelievable really.

It's a complete disgrace that there wasn't more care taken when the cream(containing the banned substance) was chosen after Cian O Connor.

The Irish Equestrian Federation should be appauled.

graham_d
21/08/2008, 12:59 PM
That's great. The radio commentators were giving him no chance. They called the pace of his race "pedestrian" and expected the fastest qualifiers to come from the other heats.

Anyone hear his (Cragg's) rant/interview afterwards? Just reading about it on RTE but can't watch it from abroad. Sounds like it could be almost as good as Stuey Byrne's.... :D

21/08/2008, 1:14 PM
Anyone hear his (Cragg's) rant/interview afterwards? Just reading about it on RTE but can't watch it from abroad. Sounds like it could be almost as good as Stuey Byrne's.... :D

Not seen it but I am sure he has had a few rants in the past?

Edit: RTE Text (http://www.rte.ie/sport/olympics2008/2008/0821/cragga.html)

DaveyCakes
21/08/2008, 1:44 PM
Carnage in the sprint relay heats. Hilarious stuff..batons flying everywhere. US (as usual) made a balls of both the men's and women's, GB out of men's, Jamaica cantered around in both.

zenokelly
21/08/2008, 1:50 PM
Ya I listened to it on RTE's Olympic site earlier, it's a radio interview!

He lays in to the whole athletics scene and starts off out of nowhere complaining about being lonely and his lonely sporting life. He's got fair points to make in fairness but I can't say that the pundits on RTE are really digging into the athletes too much from the good lot that I've seen of the athletics coverage since it began on Friday, I've seen far worse in previous years.

HarpoJoyce
21/08/2008, 3:20 PM
Re: Horse doping

Dermot Henihan Chef de Mission says he's dissapointed but his sense of humour suggests otherwise....
http://www.independent.ie/sport/other-sports/olympics-2008/olympic-chief-devastated-by-horse-doping-scandal-1460850.html
Henihan "The simple fact of life is he is not allowed to ride tonight, he can't ride for a medal and that is a bitter pill to swallow."

21/08/2008, 3:48 PM
He's got fair points to make in fairness but I can't say that the pundits on RTE are really digging into the athletes too much from the good lot that I've seen of the athletics coverage since it began on Friday, I've seen far worse in previous years.
Coughlan had a go at the whole middle distances a couple of days ago, spouting rubbish about not being as many charachters as in his day. By charachters I presume he meant white guys.

cragg is 100% spot on

21/08/2008, 4:09 PM
Coughlan had a go at the whole middle distances a couple of days ago, spouting rubbish about not being as many charachters as in his day. By charachters I presume he meant white guys.

Coughlan stopped short of saying they all look the same. The other fella did not agree listing off a load of African runners.

I think Coughlan was partially correct as I think events like the Golden league have fallen down the pecking order as the casual observer would find it hard to name top call athletes these days.

21/08/2008, 6:12 PM
what time are the 3 fights on at tomorow? need to try and swindle it so i can go missing for a bit in work when they are on ;)

21/08/2008, 6:22 PM
Sutherland is on at 8.00am, Egan around 1.00pm and Barnes around 2.00pm (all Irish times) AFAIK

21/08/2008, 7:22 PM
Sutherland is at 8am, barnes is at 12pm and Egan is at 2pm

21/08/2008, 9:28 PM
cheers lads,i should be able to get the 12 and 2 ones in.

what do you think of their chances? Egan and Sutherland look like they could do it although Degane and Sutherland have had 5 very close fights. i havent seen Barnes fight yet....

3 golds would be amazing!!

21/08/2008, 11:04 PM
Of the fights I have seen Sutherland is definitely the most entertaining. Go to set the alarm form him.

22/08/2008, 7:00 AM
Sutherland is on in a minute.......gutted I cannot watch it live!

Aberdonian Stu
22/08/2008, 7:22 AM
He reeked, wrong strategy altogether. Didn't force the matter enough. Still he did great to get this far.

22/08/2008, 7:27 AM
Did Degale just run and hold? Gutted. 10-3. He had beaten the cocky Londoner 4 times..... let's hope Joyce and Egan fare better.

22/08/2008, 7:38 AM
He just ran backwards and held, I think he can run backwards faster then Usain Bolt can run forewards :D

FarBeag
22/08/2008, 7:39 AM
Beaten by the cleverer fighter.Shame but he was never in it.Just out of interest where did he get his accent from?Thought he was from Dublin?

22/08/2008, 7:56 AM
His dad is from the West Indies and I think he spent some time in Sheffield a while back.

22/08/2008, 8:39 AM
Beaten by the cleverer fighter.Shame but he was never in it.Just out of interest where did he get his accent from?Thought he was from Dublin?

Cleverer on the day. Can't argue with that as he got his tactics spot on in previous fight. Disappointing end for him though.

He's from Palmerstown in Dublin. His dad is from St Vincents (of St Vincent & the Grenadines fame...). As above he spent a fair bit of time in Sheffield as a kid

22/08/2008, 8:44 AM
Sutherland well beaten. He looked nervous at the start. Once you are behind in amateur boxing seems to be difficult to chase it.

22/08/2008, 11:14 AM
Same with Paddy Barnes, well done lads and hard luck

22/08/2008, 11:49 AM
FROM THE BBC website

Irish light-flyweight Paddy Barnes will have to be content with a bronze medal in Beijing after losing against China's Zou Shiming in Friday's semi-finals.

The Chinese gold medal favourite claimed a comprehensive 15-0 win over the Belfast fighter.

Barnes chased Zou all over the ring in the first round but still found himself 2-0 down despite landing a great shot.

Zou picked Barnes off during the rest of the bout although the Irishman later dubbed the final margin a "disgrace".

In the immediate aftermath of his defeat, a furious Barnes claimed that he didn't "care about the bronze medal".

"They can keep it for all I care," added Barnes, who blasted the judging in the bout.

"They (the judges) should hang their heads in shame.

"There's no doubt I lost the fight by miles but not scoring a point?

"I'm getting drug tested here. The judges should be getting drug tested.

"But we're in China so what do you expect."

The 21-year-old Irishman came out fighting in the first round and he certainly looked as though he had landed one good shot on the Chinese fighter.

Zou picked up six more points in the second round although the brawling Barnes, once again, appeared to be unfortunate not to have got on the scoresheet.

It was more of the same in the third round at Zou racked up five more points and kept the increasingly ragged Barnes scoreless to increase the lead to 11-0.

The pattern continued in the closing round as the defending world champion progressed to the decider.

beautifulrock
22/08/2008, 11:50 AM
Paddy was always going to be up against it, Darren was outclassed on the day. DeGale has quick feet to be fair and was able to slip Sutherlands punches relatively easy. Come on Kenny lets get to the final.

22/08/2008, 12:01 PM
When your that far behind in amateur boxing after two rounds you have to go for broke. I thought he stood off him way too much. Yes the Chinese lad was like a snake (good movement and will win gold) but he needed to be roughed up and pinned on the ropes as much as possible. Make sure he knows he was in a fight.

22/08/2008, 12:14 PM
C'mon Egan best of luck.

Hard lines Sutherland and Barnes, done yourselves and country proud.

On the Usain Bolt topic, we can kind of claim a bit of glory from him, he's trained by a Donegal man Richard Simms so if all else fails we can claim a few golds :D

22/08/2008, 1:00 PM
C'mon Egan best of luck.

Hard lines Sutherland and Barnes, done yourselves and country proud.

On the Usain Bolt topic, we can kind of claim a bit of glory from him, he's trained by a Donegal man Richard Simms so if all else fails we can claim a few golds :D

damn right!!! :D

graham_d
22/08/2008, 1:31 PM
Egan wins, 10-3!!

Now we have to hope the Chinese fella doesn't win the other semi.....

22/08/2008, 1:33 PM
Easy win in the end.. What time is the final on Sunday?

Tipp Townie
22/08/2008, 1:35 PM
Great stuff Ken Egan.

I hope the final isnt too early- i'll be waking up from a stag do on Sunday morning/afternoon...

graham_d
22/08/2008, 1:38 PM
Looks like it's in the morning, 8.51..... better than this morning but not by much.

22/08/2008, 1:45 PM
excellent performance and good to see he fought till the end and didn't run around the ring like a track runner once he edged in front.

22/08/2008, 1:45 PM
Well done Egan, keep her lit :cool:

22/08/2008, 1:48 PM
Final is definitely scheduled for 8.50am Sunday Morning. He'll fight a Chinese boxer, who just beat the kazakhstan favourite on countback

22/08/2008, 1:48 PM
Well done, Kenny

22/08/2008, 1:56 PM
Thought Simms was his manager. I think all the Jamican sprinters are trained by a Jamican legend from the 70's who's name escapes me at the moment.

22/08/2008, 1:59 PM
Good win by Egan even if it is difficult to watch on RTE.ie

Keeps some Irish interest in the Olympics for the weekend anyway.

Fights Chinese boxer in the final Sunday morning at 8.51 AM