View Full Version : Setanta Cup Round 3
Mr_Parker
16/04/2008, 8:13 AM
Didn't hear any sectarian singing or chants from Pats fans can someone please tell me exactly what was sung that was sectarian.Heard some local hoods sing up the IRA a few times but that is political.
What makes a song/chant sectarian is the context of where, when and to whom it is directed. There were songs and chants from both sides that imo were clearly being used in a sectarian manner. It is not unique to Linfield or St. Pats and indeed my own club suffer from it from time to time. Linfield, like many IL clubs have made massive strides in dealing with and minimising the problem at games and should be congratulated for the progress they have made. When the FAI is next re-examining is Uefa 10 point strategy, maybe it could ensure they deal with this issue as much as they deal with the racist one.
I was at the game last night and didn't hear any Pats sectarian chants. That doesn't necessarily mean they didn't happen, just that I couldn't hear them from my seat in the main stand. On the other hand, I could hear the Linfield fans loud and clear. What stood out for me was that they were well organised and appeared to all join in; good supporters IMO.
Clearly Rule Britannia and GSTQ wouldn't be my cup of tea, but they are Linfield fans from Belfast, and I don't have a problem with them singing these songs in Dublin, the Brandy or anywhere else. I was in Windsor two years ago and they sang almost exactly the same repertoire at home. (it would be a different matter if they were singing the Billy Boys, or something similar).
I thought the game was a good one, though I thought it was heading for a 1-1 draw when Pats failed to put away so many chances.
16/04/2008, 9:08 AM
Didn't hear any sectarian singing or chants from Pats fans can someone please tell me exactly what was sung that was sectarian.Heard some local hoods sing up the IRA a few times but that is political.
The IRA being political and non-sectarian ? You forgot the smilie at the end of that post mucker.....:rolleyes:
If the IRA were 'political' then tell me why they needed a separate organisation - Sinn Fein - when they entered the political arena ?
I don't think I've felt this sorry for a poster on here in ages.....:o
Interesting to see that the Independent (tabloid version) had bloody pictures on the front & the back page but small match report buried severals pages from the back of the sports section. :rolleyes:
I am guessing this blown out of proportion? Was there fighting between sets of fans? Indo report makes it sound like was a full scale riot.
CharlesThompson
16/04/2008, 9:20 AM
Interesting to see that the Independent (tabloid version) had bloody pictures on the front & the back page but small match report buried severals pages from the back of the sports section. :rolleyes:
I am guessing this blown out of proportion? Was there fighting between sets of fans? Indo report makes it sound like was a full scale riot.
I bought the Indo this morning and to be honest, if anybody looked at the 'story' with any kind of objectivity you could only come to the conclusion that a few ****ed up lads had a bit of aggro. Nothing more than you might see on an average Saturday night in Inchicore anyway.
They (Indo) have 7 pictures from the match. None of them have any football in them. One of them with Tardelli (hero!) sitting in his seat. Two of them are the same (front page and back page!!), one on the inside of some fool wearing a Queen Elizabeth mask (why?) and the last on the back page is of the fella that they've already two of the same pictures printed only in a different position.
In fact looking at it more closely, the lad beside the one being dragged out looks like he's the one in the other picture with two Gardai kneeling on him (printed twice). Front AND back pages of the Indo for two idiots having a row and it's the Gardai that spill the blood.
I bought the Indo this morning
Mistake number 1.
First thing non-LOI fans said to me in the office this morning was about Linfield fans. No one mentioned Pats & glancing through the report might actually miss what team Linfield were playing. Of course this kicked off a whole debate about how football support is violent worldwide as opposed to GAA, rugby etc... Events seemed like non-event to me but I was not there so don't really know.
16/04/2008, 9:29 AM
First of all the football - I thought Pats were superb (OK finishing was poor) but they played the game at a different pace to Linfield and were a different class. It was one of the best performances I've ever seen from an EL side.
The sectarian chanting was a disgrace and clearly audible in the mian stan dfor much of the game. Certainly some of them at least had Pats colours and the club has to stamp that out. It was also evident at the Glentoran game. Linfield fans did sing the Sash at the end which could also be deemed sectarian. That was the only sectarian song I heard from that end.
I think the trouble was overblown. I witnessed the guards giving 2 Linfield fans a beating just inside the main gate on the Pats side of the security fence. One was the guy with the bloody face all over the papers. I didn't see what they did to warrant it. It could have kicked off as 4-5 Linfield fans were pulling at the fence before being pulled away by their own fans.
Was there fighting between sets of fans?
Absolutely none. I wasn't even aware of any trouble until I got home last night. certainly a bit of tension in the air and obviously a few idiots singing sectarian songs, but absolutely no trouble.
There was no way there could've been trouble after the game (between fans) as we were clearly segregated (with a no mans land on either side of Linfield), and Pats fans kept back for 20+ minutes
16/04/2008, 10:11 AM
The sectarian chanting was a disgrace and clearly audible in the mian stan dfor much of the game. Certainly some of them at least had Pats colours and the club has to stamp that out. It was also evident at the Glentoran game.
Absolutely. These children were far more interested in winding up Linfield than watching the match. Celtic scarves and jerseys, "Who let the Huns out", "Go Home Huns", the modified Fields of Athenry, "Gerry Adams" :eek:, "Ian Paisley is a ******" (maybe they meant Stephen Paisley :confused:).
Nothing wrong with tricolours but how come they won't bring these flags to the Cobh game (if they turn up). Linfield did their bit as well but saying "They're just as bad" is just about the worst excuse for this type of behaviour.
Yes, these young folk clearly have shrewd political minds - "We're from Ireland we're better than you". Eire 26:confused:
16/04/2008, 10:18 AM
'The I, the I, the IRA!' was clearly audible on Setanta last night at various times during the second half. It seemed like a poor enough crowd too on the TV. That is two reasons right there why I think an AIL should not happen at the moment. We don't need more excuses for trouble at games and I don't see it having that much of a change in attendances...
finnpark
16/04/2008, 10:22 AM
Any publicity is good publicity. Bring it on. What we need is a good few riots. Thats what it takes to make the front page. :)
inchicore_saint
16/04/2008, 10:24 AM
Hold on lads I never said I agreed with the local hoods chanting up the IRA.Theese lads have no brains,as another poster pointed out they also sang "were from Ireland and were better then you".The point I am making is the word sectarian is used to loosely like a few drunk Linfield fans who clashed with the Gards because they refused to be searched was described by the media as sectarian trouble.
charliesboots
16/04/2008, 10:38 AM
http://stpatsfc.com/news.php?id=2196
ST PATS THANKS FANS FOR PATIENCE & CO-OPERATION AT SETANTA CUP
Last night St Patrick’s Athletic hosted over 800 travelling Linfield fans to Richmond Park. This travelling fan base, one of the largest to visit Richmond Park in recent years behaved impeccably over the night and gave their team great support.
One incident where two Linfield fans were ejected from the ground following a scuffle with gardai was captured by the press and the resulting images shown in the national media may have given the impression of more widespread trouble occurring at the match which was simply not the case. The match night arrangements ensured that fans were successfully segregated at the game itself and also when leaving the stadium.
While St Pat’s fans were maintained in the ground Linfield fans were escorted directly to their buses. A small group of Dublin youths did appear in the area as the match finished, these were not supporters of the club and had not attended the game. With the home support being kept in the ground and the street outside the ground clear this group was easily identifiable to the gardai and were ordered to move on. One of this group was subsequently arrested for criminal damage to a wing mirror of a car. No further arrests or instances of match-related trouble are understood to have been reported to the gardai in the area.
St Patrick’s Atletic Football Club would like to thank both sets of fans for their patience and co-operation as well as our match night security teams and local gardai for their excellent work on the night.
Do the guards have a duty to arrest those making the sectarian chants. If the numbers are small even dragging a few lads out would send a message to the rest?
So the conclusion is that Linfield fans were fighting with the Gardai? This was before the match started? Assuming these were on official transport I presume they will be banned by Linfield?
charliesboots
16/04/2008, 10:50 AM
Do the guards have a duty to arrest those making the sectarian chants. If the numbers are small even dragging a few lads out would send a message to the rest?
So the conclusion is that Linfield fans were fighting with the Gardai? This was before the match started? Assuming these were on official transport I presume they will be banned by Linfield?
I've been told the trouble kicked off because the two lads were pointed out as troublemakers by Linfield stewards.
If that's true then they're probably already banned.
Stato
16/04/2008, 10:54 AM
Of course this kicked off a whole debate about how football support is violent worldwide as opposed to GAA
That's because GAA rules restrict violence to those on the pitch. :D
I wasn't surprised at a few little scumbags using the match as an ocassion to shout sectarian chants, it shows their serious lack of education. I was more surprised that the Gardai and stewards didn't at least move them further away from the Linfield section and back down to the shed. They went to the trouble of ejecting a supporter for letting off a flare.
I thought Linfield's fans were excellent. I didn't notice any sectarian chants until they were goaded by the scumbags in the second half.
As for Linfield's on-field performance, I can only assume that wasn't their strongest team. That was probably the worst performance I've seen by a visiting team in Richmond in many years, even some of the non-league teams we've played in the cup made for tougher opponents than that.
16/04/2008, 11:06 AM
Main thing last night was the display Pats put on. Fahey is a real gem and his passing ability coupled with his vision has him top of the tree in the LOI at the minute.
Quigley and O'Neill caused real problems all night, if Quigley was at our club I would be so frustrated though, he has such ability, pace and power but his finishing is poor. He should have scored 4/5 against Harps on friday night and could have had a few last night too.
O'Ceiruill looks class at the back, tbh I thought when he signed he could be too big headed and not show the hunger for Pats but he has really been impressive imo.
Mannus in Linfield goal looked good (apart from his kicking which was dodgy at best). Gault was destroyed all night by Quigley and O'Neill.
Well done Pats, I really enjoyed the game, forget about the fact 6 people were arrested, it could happen anywhere, if it was 60 people I would be worried, best to talk about the football.
inchicore_saint
16/04/2008, 11:21 AM
Watching Quigley for Pats is like watching Robbie Keane for Ireland.Both players have so much ability but sometimes their finishing lets them down.
16/04/2008, 11:33 AM
Don't forget Quigley's only young. He will definitely improve and in fairness his finishing is normally fine
Nice statement by the club
16/04/2008, 11:36 AM
Was probably the minority but Setanta could have moved their audio equipment away from where the chants were coming from.
Setanta surely don't have any obigation to censor what we hear crowds singing at grounds. Let them embarress themselves, it might help in the long run.
Linfield fans better behaved during match in my opinion (when it comes to chants i find Rule Britannia or God Save Our Queen far less offensive than chants about terrorists).
Clearly Rule Britannia and GSTQ wouldn't be my cup of tea, but they are Linfield fans from Belfast, and I don't have a problem with them singing these songs in Dublin, the Brandy or anywhere else.
Exactly. Some people seem to go out of their way to get offended these days.
Undoubtedly.
Ceirtlis
16/04/2008, 11:56 AM
Watching Quigley for Pats is like watching Robbie Keane for Ireland.Both players have so much ability but sometimes their finishing lets them down.
The amount of times he failed to see a pass on to one of his team mates last night was very frustrating for anyone watching him.
Steve Bruce
16/04/2008, 11:59 AM
ALL IRELAND league.
ALL IRELAND....
What different country???
You can call it all ireland if you want, it still doesn't take away the fact that it is two different countries that take up this island.
For instance, I spend GBP, you spend Euros, I pay tax's to the British Government, you pay tax's to the Irish Government, Our head of state is the Queen, your's is President Mary McAlease. Your speed is gauged in KMPH, ours is MPH etc etc.
I respect the fact that people can opt for the Irish nationality, that is their call and fine and dandy by me. But Northern Ireland is a seperate entity and until a referendum comes up and people agree for NI to become part of the Republic, then it is a seperate country.
No doubt I will get banned now for this post for what people will think is WUMMING, which is far from the truth.
Funnily enough I pointed out the scraps on the pitch for the GAA & that was the response. :D Did not really want to get into argument so kind of ended there.
16/04/2008, 12:01 PM
No doubt I will get banned now for this post for what people will think is WUMMING, which is far from the truth.
No you won't, but I'd ask everyone to leave it alone now. Next person who brings it up will receive a ban
WHat you make of the match Steve?
Steve Bruce
16/04/2008, 12:01 PM
We're forced to play you in pre-season and that favours the LoI sides?!
Deluded.
Actually you never played us in pre-season you played us after your league started.:rolleyes:
Steve Bruce
16/04/2008, 12:03 PM
You know perfectly well that's not the point.
Why wouldn't you want to do something to arrest the demise of the IL? In a more competative league, with standards gradually rising year on year?
Rangers and Celtic are by far and way the biggest and best clubs in Scotland, should they play in England? No because they are Scottish sides.
16/04/2008, 12:05 PM
Rangers and Celtic are by far and way the biggest and best clubs in Scotland, should they play in England? No because they are Scottish sides.
Steve, give it up. You've made your point. If you think someones trying to wind you up, report the post.
Now back to the game...
Steve Bruce
16/04/2008, 12:06 PM
Doesn't matter. It's incendiary and has obvious unsavoury overtones. EL fans couldn't sit in Windsor Park singing Amhrán na bhFiann.
Yes they could and Cliftonville have done it many times.
What about the St Pats IRA songs? Or is that different?
16/04/2008, 12:07 PM
Actually you never played us in pre-season you played us after your league started.:rolleyes:We had played one game this season (3 days before) and in previous years it was in pre-season.
By the way, re the highlighted word above, since you're so fond of the Queen, you could at least write in her English.
Steve Bruce
16/04/2008, 12:09 PM
"IRA" chants clearly audible on Setanta on a number of occassions. Sounded like more than a handful involved.
I wonder if those simpletons are aware that the IRA is now merely an ex-prisoner's social club. They'll be singing about the Peep o' Day Boys next... :o
The usual 'party songs' from Linfield too. Yawn....
Decent game though. Linfield's defence was like a swiss cheese. If only Pat's hadn't been taking lessons in finishing from their similarly-clad cousins at Arsenal, it would easily have been at least 4:0.
And how Gault ever got near an international jersey I'l never know after tonight.
Gault played centre back, not his position and DJ is a d**k for putting himself their
Steve Bruce
16/04/2008, 12:12 PM
I wasn't surprised at a few little scumbags using the match as an ocassion to shout sectarian chants, it shows their serious lack of education. I was more surprised that the Gardai and stewards didn't at least move them further away from the Linfield section and back down to the shed. They went to the trouble of ejecting a supporter for letting off a flare.
I thought Linfield's fans were excellent. I didn't notice any sectarian chants until they were goaded by the scumbags in the second half.
As for Linfield's on-field performance, I can only assume that wasn't their strongest team. That was probably the worst performance I've seen by a visiting team in Richmond in many years, even some of the non-league teams we've played in the cup made for tougher opponents than that.
Linfield where aweful and that was the worst performance I have seen in years.
Steve Bruce
16/04/2008, 12:14 PM
Steve, give it up. You've made your point. If you think someones trying to wind you up, report the post.
Now back to the game...
Sorry I was reading through the thread and replying without seeing any of your posts. Sorry about that.
Steve Bruce
16/04/2008, 12:22 PM
St Pats are a very good side, who played well against a very inept Linfield side. It wasn’t our strongest side by any means, but it wasn’t a weak side either. David Jeffrey played a formation we never play, he played 4 or 5 players out of position as well. Our managers performance was pants to be nice.
I don’t want to take away from St Pats too much, they played extremely well, although I feel they need an out and out goalscorer, if Thompson was up front for you, he would have scored 3 or 4 alone.
We couldn’t pass 2 yards last night, we where beaten to the first ball and the 2nd ball. We didn’t test the keeper, who I thought wasn’t that good a keeper.
We never showed up, simple as that. We where extremely poor, St Pats played well and on another night we would have been licking our wounds with a 5 nil defeat.
As was chanted last night ‘You’ve got to come to Windsor’. I was impress with Pats, but I still don’t think they are better than ourselves, they just performed and we didn’t.
On the crowd thing (not the singing or chanting) is that support the normal support or would it be bigger, because I was expecting a far bigger support from St Pats?
Apart from the game, I had a good experience, our bus was bouncing, plenty of beer flowing, but it was controlled and very well behaved way.
I feel though I wont be back to an away match in the Setanta cup. Our chairman is threatening to let all buses leave Windsor and be organised by the club. This will be more expensive and less of an experience.
16/04/2008, 12:36 PM
As was chanted last night ‘You’ve got to come to Windsor’. I was impress with Pats, but I still don’t think they are better than ourselves, they just performed and we didn’t.
For crying out loud, what exactly does a team have to do to be better than Linfield in your books? :rolleyes:
16/04/2008, 12:37 PM
On the crowd thing (not the singing or chanting) is that support the normal support or would it be bigger, because I was expecting a far bigger support from St Pats?
No, we were down a fair few. Some of the papers here hyped it up to Love Ulster style riots and loads and loads of families weren't at the game. Tuesday night and the game on TV didn't help.
BTW we were missing 4/5 of our regulars too and a flu bug meant we had only 4 players on the bench, including our 40 year old goalkeeping coach.
16/04/2008, 12:37 PM
Pats played really well last night and and should have won by a lot more. Fahey was outstanding.
Never saw Linfield play as poorly in a Setanta Cup game but they should still qualify with 2 home games left. Mannus is some keeper.
IRA chants by Pats fans clearly audible in the second half and made me cringe. Thought I heard someone call Jeffrey (presumably) "Oddjob" which is kind of funny.
Linfield chairman was on Morning Ireland this morning and came across well. Said he thought the Guards were a bit heavy handed and the 4 arrested caused trouble when it was discovered they had no tickets. He also said that he thought there were 4 Glens fans arrested at the Pats game last month and there was no mention of that in the media
16/04/2008, 12:40 PM
No, we were down a fair few. Some of the papers here hyped it up to Love Ulster style riots and loads and loads of families weren't at the game. Tuesday night and the game on TV didn't help.
BTW we were missing 4/5 of our regulars too and a flu bug meant we had only 4 players on the bench, including our 40 year old goalkeeping coach.
Matt Cooper has a piece yesterday evening about AIL and introduced it by saying something like "With trouble possible at tonights game between PAts and Linfied....".
FFS would love to have rung in and asked what evidence he based that assertion on.
Steve Bruce
16/04/2008, 12:44 PM
For crying out loud, what exactly does a team have to do to be better than Linfield in your books? :rolleyes:
One match doesn't determin if your better or not. Whist St Pats played well, they didn't look like world beaters either. A good side no doubt but nothing to make me any more fearful than if we where playing Derry City.
Steve Bruce
16/04/2008, 12:46 PM
It's ashame that papers down their are as bad as the ones up here.
The chance of a riot or something happenin in the Linfield end was nil.
One person threw a fizzy orange bottle on the pitch. The Linfield support where quick to boo it and shout to knock it on the head.
16/04/2008, 12:50 PM
One person threw a fizzy orange bottle on the pitch
Even your drinks are sectarian
BOOOOOOooooooooo!
16/04/2008, 12:52 PM
BOOOOOOooooooooo!
POTY!:D
Steve Bruce
16/04/2008, 1:03 PM
BOOOOOOooooooooo!
The steward rerouted the bottle off the pitch. The steward obviously doesn't know that the bottle was taking it's tradional route;)
16/04/2008, 1:11 PM
The steward rerouted the bottle off the pitch. The steward obviously doesn't know that the bottle was taking it's tradional route;)
:D Quality. Nominated for POTM.
Who? This steward? (http://www.flickr.com/photos/soccerc/2417005081/in/set-72157604562821597/) Wearing what colour?
Your lot are taking over
Booooooo
16/04/2008, 1:20 PM
If you were to pick an all Island 11 who would be in it>?
saint dog
16/04/2008, 1:28 PM
thought we were great on the pitch
both set of fans were very well behaved during and after the game
didn't hear anything out of the ordinary
seen 2 lads getting thrown into a garda van before the game but apart from that it was
grand .
one incident blows the whole thing out of proportion imo
16/04/2008, 1:29 PM
Breaking News from Evening Herald Late Edition: HUMOUR BREAKS OUT BETWEEN PATS AND LINFIELD SUPPORTERS - NO ONE IS SAFE
Da Real Rover
16/04/2008, 2:03 PM
Hold on lads I never said I agreed with the local hoods chanting up the IRA.Theese lads have no brains,as another poster pointed out they also sang "were from Ireland and were better then you".The point I am making is the word sectarian is used to loosely like a few drunk Linfield fans who clashed with the Gards because they refused to be searched was described by the media as sectarian trouble.
Too true. Sectarian chants are awfull ugly, but chants like GSTQ, Rule Britannia, Fields of Athenry, Boys Of the Old Brigade etc are not sectarian.
As posted before they are political, while chants with 'Hun' 'Fenian' etc are sectarian.
In this day and age it seems like any side that sings a politcal orientated song is lambasted as sectarian which is ridiculous. With the miss use of the word it demeens its significance when there is an actual sectarian event.
I don’t want to take away from St Pats too much, they played extremely well, although I feel they need an out and out goalscorer, if Thompson was up front for you, he would have scored 3 or 4 alone.
Hmm. I daresay if Quigley played up front for Linfield he'd score a bucketful in the IL, so I wouldn't be too sure about that. Pats finishing was astonishingly bad last night, I can't remember us missing so many good opportunities in one game. For a long time it looked like the kind of game where it would be one nil with five minutes to go and Linfield would grab a scrappy equaliser from a corner or something.
On the crowd, very disappointing on the Pats side. I'd expect more than that against Cobh Ramblers on Friday. It would be sad to think that the prospect of trouble put a lot of people off coming. I thought both sets of fans were fairly well behaved really. I was in the main stand and didn't hear the IRA chants spoken about earlier from the Pats end. (I did think I heard chants of "Whats it like to serve the Queen" though, which kind of tells you all you need to know about the knowledge of the people involved). Nothing out of order from the Linfield fans I didn't think (Rule Britannia though lads - nobody cares).
16/04/2008, 2:46 PM
No you won't, but I'd ask everyone to leave it alone now. Next person who brings it up will receive a ban
WHat you make of the match Steve?
Can you ban him for just not getting the point, and ignoring the 'wooshing' sound over his head...? :D