View Full Version : Setanta Cup Round 3
15/04/2008, 8:31 PM
Bitter at all the goals he didn't score last year as he tangled with his own frame?Thought so...
Still bitter?
Yeah, he destroyed us in Belfield. :D
His penalties are superb though, never seen him miss one.
Have to say that the same thought crossed my own mind. I'd be interested in your views on this SB - surely an AIL would improve the overall standard of football all around the island. In the eL it started with Shels and Bohs going full time, then Cork, Pats, Derry, Drogheda followed suit. Now we have Galway and Sligo gone full time.
Has the Setanta improved the standard in the IL? With respect, it's the league which is more likely to gain through a "being dragged up" factor. I'm not sure how people can claim an AIL would improve the overall standard while looking at the Setanta Cup which, while interesting, is a fairly mundane tournament dogged with thoughts of "Why bother?"
Also, Shels, Bohs, Drogs and Pat's are really only full time on the basis of huge losses, covered by sugar daddies or ground sales. That's what's improved the league in the past few years, and an AIL won't really affect things as much as someone willing to put a million into a club.
Back on topic, can't believe Pat's are only a goal up. Serious amount of, to all intents and purposes, one on ones going a begging. This is definitely heading for a 1-1 draw...
Did I hear earlier that Pats have only two players on the bench? :confused:
15/04/2008, 8:34 PM
Did I hear earlier that Pats have only two players on the bench? :confused:Four.
Cork had only two in a game last season.
Due to the requirement to pre-register your SC squad.
Fester
15/04/2008, 8:34 PM
4 players on the bench..............
15/04/2008, 8:35 PM
Due to the requirement to pre-register your SC squad.
Pre-register how big a squad?
15/04/2008, 8:36 PM
They have 4. Stains gaffer said it's nothing to worry about as Cork had 2 on theirs for one of the games last season.
15/04/2008, 8:38 PM
2-0 Pat's. O'Neill with great strike.
15/04/2008, 8:39 PM
Pre-register how big a squad?No idea, Johnny Mac didn't cover that question in his pre-match bit!
Also not sure if you can supplement players in before the Oct games, presumably you can as its a new season in the IL so players will be out of contract etc.
15/04/2008, 8:39 PM
1-1 FT at the Oval. Wasted a heap of chances.
dortie
15/04/2008, 8:40 PM
Bitter at all the goals he didn't score last year as he tangled with his own frame?
Still though, he must be over the moon to play in front of a crowd, Job satisfaction at least.
Erstwhile Bóz
15/04/2008, 8:40 PM
Smacking goal by Gary O'Neill there. 2-0.
dortie
15/04/2008, 8:43 PM
1-1 FT at the Oval. Wasted a heap of chances.
Got text updates from one of our SC members, wasted a serious amount of chances by all accounts.
Personally i cant get motivated with the Setanta cup, dont know what it is..
They have 4. Stains gaffer said it's nothing to worry about as Cork had 2 on theirs for one of the games last season.
I was only half paying attention, I heard him mention us but that is obviously where I got the two from.
2-0 Pats. Linfield lucky there is only 10 minutes left. Pats have missed a load of chances.
15/04/2008, 8:45 PM
Some seriously angry people in the crowd judging by the audio.......:D
Fester
15/04/2008, 8:56 PM
2 v 0 Saints. Could have been cricket score............ :D
15/04/2008, 9:00 PM
Why would we want to play in a league from a completely different country?
You know perfectly well that's not the point.
Why wouldn't you want to do something to arrest the demise of the IL? In a more competative league, with standards gradually rising year on year?
Erstwhile Bóz
15/04/2008, 9:01 PM
:D Looked like Jeffries was saying, "You b***ard you! You effer, eff you!" to McDonnell when he was shaking hands.
Must switch over for the David & Patrick post match interview :D
Finlay Harp
15/04/2008, 10:15 PM
Looks like it all kicked off at the Pats Linfield match. 6 arrested according to the BBC website!
HolylandsMan
15/04/2008, 10:19 PM
Derry had by far the most of the possession and probably shoulda won although Glens created a fair few good chances with minimal possession.
Sloppy defending for the Glens goal - bad missed header. McGlynn almost won it late on when he smashed a shot against the bar from 35 yards.
Not a terrible result but shoulda taken the 3 points.
15/04/2008, 10:24 PM
Looks like it all kicked off at the Pats Linfield match. 6 arrested according to the BBC website!Interesting quote from Linfield chairman (http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/northern_ireland/7349649.stm)
Should we continue in the Setanta Cup next season, we will have to look at transporting our supporters from Windsor Park and make sure they get to the ground without incident. There will be no unorganised travel.How exactly do you stop unorganised travel? Close the roads to non-Linfield fan buses:confused:
HolylandsMan
15/04/2008, 10:25 PM
How exactly do you stop unorganised travel?
Don't sell tickets to those who don't travel on official club buses?
15/04/2008, 10:26 PM
Don't sell tickets to those who don't travel on official club buses?Very hard to monitor though, people would always get tickets some way or another.
Maroon 7
15/04/2008, 10:27 PM
Looks like it all kicked off at the Pats Linfield match. 6 arrested according to the BBC website!
It's on the front page of tomorrow's Indo. Big picture of some fella with a bloody face being led away by the Guards.
inchicore_saint
15/04/2008, 10:46 PM
Alot of Linfield fans were drunk and were singing crap like Rule Britannia and GSTQ.
15/04/2008, 10:57 PM
Pre-register how big a squad?
25 I think. We had a few out with flu apparently
Linfield were very. We should've scored 7/8
Absolutely massive police presence. All pats fans kept back for 20 minutes or so and Emmet Road closed from 9.30 to 10.30
No way Pats fans were involved in trouble as we were all kept back. No one allowed leave after start of 2nd half
15/04/2008, 11:02 PM
Alot of Linfield fans were drunk and were singing crap like Rule Britannia and GSTQ.
The crap coming from your lot was embarrassing and was quite clear coming across on TV. Was probably the minority but Setanta could have moved their audio equipment away from where the chants were coming from.
15/04/2008, 11:04 PM
Alot of Linfield fans were drunk and were singing crap like GSTQ.That 'crap' is their national anthem, like it or not.
garyderry
15/04/2008, 11:05 PM
Absolutely massive police presence. All pats fans kept back for 20 minutes or so and Emmet Road closed from 9.30 to 10.30
No way Pats fans were involved in trouble as we were all kept back. No one allowed leave after start of 2nd half
In fairness Pats are not exact;y renowned for causing trouble,
no matter what the result always have a few pints after with your lot
Linfield on the other hand ................
SwanVsDalton
15/04/2008, 11:11 PM
That 'crap' is their national anthem, like it or not.
Doesn't matter. It's incendiary and has obvious unsavoury overtones. EL fans couldn't sit in Windsor Park singing Amhrán na bhFiann.
15/04/2008, 11:13 PM
The crap coming from your lot was embarrassing and was quite clear coming across on TV. Was probably the minority but Setanta could have moved their audio equipment away from where the chants were coming from.
Was 10/15 lads at most. Could only barely hear it myself
15/04/2008, 11:16 PM
Fair enough, I'll take your word for it. They made themselves heard that's for sure.
15/04/2008, 11:18 PM
Not at the game though. Be surprised if Linfield fans even heard it tbh, and there was no obvious reaction to it.
They sang a few GTSQ and Rule Brittania but it wasn't a reactionary type of thing
Not condoning it either btw
forza
15/04/2008, 11:28 PM
The Gardai chasing people up towards the Bulfin Rd area with dogs and battons why I dont know the Linfield fans were well out by then :ball:
ndrog
15/04/2008, 11:34 PM
10/15 ? not a chance .I was stood right beside them for the entire match .There was a group of about at least 40 of them in the shed behind the goal singing sectarian songs all night ,IRA , IRA, IRA " WHO LET THE HUNS IN " etc etc . Giving the linfield players serious abuse ,secterian and otherwise all night . Stewards and cops stood beside them all night and never said a thing .It was a horrible atmosphere in that part of the ground , really agressive and nasty .As for the mess outside , took me 35 mins to get to my car across the street :confused: I also passed a linfield bus on the road home with its windows smashed in.
15/04/2008, 11:40 PM
May have been 40, I was on far side of Camac and barely heard them. 40 is still a small number. Atmosphere near we were wasn't all sunshines and roses either.
rebelarmyexile
15/04/2008, 11:48 PM
May have been 40, I was on far side of Camac and barely heard them. 40 is still a small number. Atmosphere near we were wasn't all sunshines and roses either.
Was there as a neutral, but must say i was disgusted with the blatant republican element there, mostly younger fans involved in Sectarian chanting though could see older fans (in their 20s or 30s) orchestrating chants.
Linfield fans better behaved during match in my opinion (when it comes to chants i find Rule Britannia or God Save Our Queen far less offensive than chants about terrorists). Didn't see why trouble kicked off but can well understand it when you have republican thugs goading you all night.
Is there normally a republican element at Pats games? Always thought it was just with Rovers.
rebelarmyexile
15/04/2008, 11:49 PM
40 is a big number by Eircom League terms for chants
15/04/2008, 11:53 PM
Is there normally a republican element at Pats games? Always thought it was just with Rovers.
Oh yeah, loads of them love goading the union jack waving masses in Longford and Cork :rolleyes:
You obviously missed the Linfield fans fighting with each other. Here's what their chairman said
Alcohol was the problem and there were people here who were spoiling for a fight.
"Some people whom I have never seen at Windsor Park were being aggressive towards fellow supporters, safety officers and the Garda
Not going to get into the semantics of which songs are more offensive either.
rebelarmyexile
15/04/2008, 11:59 PM
Oh yeah, loads of them love goading the union jack waving masses in Longford and Cork :rolleyes:
You obviously missed the Linfield fans fighting with each other. Here's what their chairman said
Not going to get into the semantics of which songs are more offensive either.
Regardless of the fact the trouble was within the Linfield group, it should not have been acceptable to normal fans for supposed St. Pats fans to be singing Sectarian Republican chants. The Pats fans simply wanted to get the Linfield folks blood boiling.
charliesboots
15/04/2008, 11:59 PM
Whatever about the sectarian chants from both sets of supporters (which I certainly don't condone) the most sickening part of the night for me were the four or five people in the Linfield end (in the section closest to the main stand) who made monkey noises whenever Joe O'Cearuill touched the ball in the first half - absolutely sickening behaviour.
16/04/2008, 12:00 AM
"IRA" chants clearly audible on Setanta on a number of occassions. Sounded like more than a handful involved.
I wonder if those simpletons are aware that the IRA is now merely an ex-prisoner's social club. They'll be singing about the Peep o' Day Boys next... :o
The usual 'party songs' from Linfield too. Yawn....
Decent game though. Linfield's defence was like a swiss cheese. If only Pat's hadn't been taking lessons in finishing from their similarly-clad cousins at Arsenal, it would easily have been at least 4:0.
And how Gault ever got near an international jersey I'l never know after tonight.
charliesboots
16/04/2008, 12:05 AM
Regardless of the fact the trouble was within the Linfield group, it should not have been acceptable to normal fans for supposed St. Pats fans to be singing Sectarian Republican chants. The Pats fans simply wanted to get the Linfield folks blood boiling.
The trouble within the Linfield group was prior to the game when two fans were arrested for fighting with each other on the way in so it was nothing to do with any sectarian chanting.
However, the sectarian chanting from the section in the Pats end should be condemned. I have my suspicions that a lot of them weren't Pats fans at all but some definitely where and should be dealt with.
AnnaghRed
16/04/2008, 12:22 AM
EL fans couldn't sit in Windsor Park singing Amhrán na bhFiann.
LoL
Cliftonville have been doing it for years, Glenmen might even have given it the odd whirl :D
inchicore_saint
16/04/2008, 7:01 AM
Didn't hear any sectarian singing or chants from Pats fans can someone please tell me exactly what was sung that was sectarian.Heard some local hoods sing up the IRA a few times but that is political.
WindmillWarrior
16/04/2008, 7:26 AM
Didn't hear any sectarian singing or chants from Pats fans can someone please tell me exactly what was sung that was sectarian.Heard some local hoods sing up the IRA a few times but that is political.
You are a strange bloke. You question Linfield fans for "being drunk and singing crap like Rule Britannia and GSTQ" (something they probably do at most games! - imagine - drinking and singing your own national anthem :eek:) and yet you have no problem with Pats fans singing "IRA" and "who let the huns in"??
I thought I heard "IRA, IRA" chants on the tv but told myself I must be hearing things. Seems not, very sad.
CharlesThompson
16/04/2008, 8:01 AM
Wha'???
Mr_Parker
16/04/2008, 8:02 AM
Doesn't matter. It's incendiary and has obvious unsavoury overtones. EL fans couldn't sit in Windsor Park singing Amhrán na bhFiann.
They could. It has been sung there by visiting supporters many times before.