View Full Version : MNS 14 April discussion
pól-dcfc
15/04/2008, 12:33 PM
http://www.theredcard.ie/img/stratplanting2.gif
happy now:D
I know I've got an infraction for personal abuse before, but this guy is a total ballroot.
15/04/2008, 12:35 PM
Well apologies if that was sung, because its not on, but I was sitting in the same stand as Ramblers' singing kids and didn't hear anything of the sort.
Seems to be the general opinion alright.
I know I've got an infraction for personal abuse before, but this guy is a total ballroot.
This a manchester term mate??
pól-dcfc
15/04/2008, 12:40 PM
This a manchester term mate??
Nah, it's a Derry one. Mate (is this a Cobh term?).
15/04/2008, 12:41 PM
nah i was going for the english term.
pól-dcfc
15/04/2008, 12:42 PM
nah i was going for the english term.
Oh. Cheers.
lofty9
15/04/2008, 12:52 PM
So your not one the ones touting McCourt to play for Norn Iron?
Is Boco not an International?
I don't think that was the debate. No one is arguing that Wesley Charles is or isn't good enough for St Vincent/Grenadine, are they? It was a debate on if any EL players are good enough for Trappatoni's 40 man squad. I personally don't think any are.
As for Paddy McCourt, the ROI team draws on a larger pool of players than NI. In fact you probably could put a full team of Premier league players in the ROI team. I don't think the North can do that. He was good enough to play against Spain at 17 - maybe he is good enough for a squad call up now? I'd surely have him coming off the bench with 15minutes to go. It would also do more for Derry / IFA relations here if McCourt was called up.
I've talked to Ivan Sproule and Sammy Morrow who think Paddy should walk onto the team. I reckon most of the Linfield lads here would know better than me if he could do a job saying they get to watch NI play regularly.
cheifo
15/04/2008, 1:09 PM
Sometimes its good to have a little gratitude for a good thing and for the first time ever we have a good eircom league show to look forward to every week.Has to be good for the players as well to have some kind of showcase to review their efforts every weekend.RTE gets rightly slated for some of their efforts at comedy etc but MNS IMO has broken the mould and everybody invovled deserves huge credit.I know I am preaching to the converted here but
the people who deserve criticism here are the Irish "football supporters" who turn on to Eastenders or whatever other tripe is showing at the same time.
Con Murphy is perfect for the job and makes a tricky assignment look effortless(Deecay,I honestly cant see what your whinging about!).
My worry is that if viewing figures dont improve then some pen pusher will hatchet it and we all be looking back thinking God wish that was still on.
Lord help us but I am even beginning to enjoy sixty seconds!:eek:
15/04/2008, 1:13 PM
I don't think that was the debate. No one is arguing that Wesley Charles is or isn't good enough for St Vincent/Grenadine, are they? It was a debate on if any EL players are good enough for Trappatoni's 40 man squad. I personally don't think any are.
As for Paddy McCourt, the ROI team draws on a larger pool of players than NI. In fact you probably could put a full team of Premier league players in the ROI team. I don't think the North can do that. He was good enough to play against Spain at 17 - maybe he is good enough for a squad call up now? I'd surely have him coming off the bench with 15minutes to go. It would also do more for Derry / IFA relations here if McCourt was called up.
I've talked to Ivan Sproule and Sammy Morrow who think Paddy should walk onto the team. I reckon most of the Linfield lads here would know better than me if he could do a job saying they get to watch NI play regularly.
I apologise then so, I presumed the discussion was about players ability to play for their national team not just Republic of Ireland.
15/04/2008, 1:16 PM
Any translation here mucks? :confused:
pól-dcfc
15/04/2008, 1:21 PM
General term of abuse really. Originally meaning the same as ballbag (a liar), but like ballbag, ballroot has just become another term of abuse.
15/04/2008, 1:29 PM
General term of abuse really. Originally meaning the same as ballbag (a liar), but like ballbag, ballroot has just become another term of abuse.
Ah right, I will sleep so much better tonight knowing there are still perfectionists out there willing to bring terms of abuse to a new level.
15/04/2008, 1:32 PM
Ah right, I will sleep so much better tonight knowing there are still perfectionists out there willing to bring terms of abuse to a new level.
F*cking peon.
pól-dcfc
15/04/2008, 1:33 PM
Yes, the great men tasked with the arduous, thankless job of refining slang are doing a fine job.
15/04/2008, 1:37 PM
Any one else think we should move all the racism stuff to another thread and get back on topic?
Con Murphy (our hero) wrote his entire MNS column this week in reply to the earlier part of this thread. I think that deserves further discussion.
I'm going to hope this is a joke based upon the Ramblers tannoy asking 3 or 4 times over the course of the evening for inappropriate behaviour such as racism to be reported to stewards. Otherwise, I'd have to imagine you were so drunk and so venomously bitter at your own team crashing and burning in St. Colemans that you actually believed there was racist chanting happening at a game where, as far as I could tell, every single player on the field was a white Irish man.
excellent:D:D:D
15/04/2008, 1:45 PM
F*cking pigeon.
You sitting outside with your laptop again?
15/04/2008, 1:46 PM
Difficult to watch at times,Con Murphy is a joke and the constant use of the word ''soccer'' hugely fustrates me
One contributor calls me a fool every week, and gives out about the fact that I say soccer instead of football. The irony is that I said football many more times than soccer in the show this week, but some people get a bee in their bonnet about something and tend to listen with rather closed ears. It reminds me of Gay Byrne's crusade to eliminate the soft Irish 'T'.
To Gay, and the person who thinks I'm a fool, I would simply say, 'let it go'. Listen to Nuala O'Faolain's gutwrenching interview with Marian Finucane last weekend, and remember, there are much more important things in life to be getting upset about.
Con Murphy knows his stuff (even if he sometimes doesn't know which camera to look at :D ).
Id like to know if he or any of the panel actually attend games every week.
Has anyone seen any of them at a game?
Does Roddy ever go to games when he's not paid by RTE do do so?
Why is it that some eircom League fans have such big chips on their shoulders, that they should question the credentials of our guests on the programme, or my credentials for that matter?
The reason that the guests are asked to appear on the programme is exactly because they offer expert analysis, having managed, played in, or covered the eircom League for many many years.
Of course, Damien Richardson still goes to matches. Likewise, Roddy Collins, Richard Sadlier, Colm Foley, Tony McDonnell, Sean Connor, etc. I probably don't even need to make this point, as most observers would be well aware that it is patently obvious that our panellists go to matches. But for the benefit of the doubters. Yes. We go to matches.
http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/mns/features/conmurphy/
Fair play. That's the right attitude. It wouldn't have been blown out of proportion if other Cobh fans had taken your view.
get a grip, it was nothing. sour grapes because they lost. how about wexford fans shouting abuse at red-heads, isnt that discriminatory. i couldnt care less what other people shout at games, wether thats right or wrong but i hate this finger-pointing holier-than-thou buzz.
as for MNS i thinks a great show, well done con, tony, damien and the others.
Con, if you are actually reading this, get make-up to sort out your lips. They are a very deathly looking colour of purple on tv :p
6yardpunisha
15/04/2008, 1:53 PM
get a grip, it was nothing. sour grapes because they lost. how about wexford fans shouting abuse at red-heads, isnt that discriminatory. i couldnt care less what other people shout at games, wether thats right or wrong but i hate this finger-pointing.
Gingerism is really getting out of hand these days IMO:D
15/04/2008, 1:54 PM
Here you go, sur -
'Ballroot' : Noun. Definition : See mirror.....
15/04/2008, 1:57 PM
At least when he's gone to Livingstone we wont have to put up with Roddy Collins. One more failure and the guy will be back to coaching u12s hurling sides. "Expert opinions"? The guy has never said a straight word in his bloody life, blood sucking used car salesman.
sonofstan
15/04/2008, 2:03 PM
If you think "I'd rather be a Paki than a Dub" is nothing then I'm glad I live a long way from you.
Reading this thread makes me think I'd rather be a Hoop than a Culchie
pól-dcfc
15/04/2008, 2:06 PM
get a grip, it was nothing. sour grapes because they lost. how about wexford fans shouting abuse at red-heads, isnt that discriminatory. i couldnt care less what other people shout at games, wether thats right or wrong but i hate this finger-pointing holier-than-thou buzz.
Passively condoning racism is the road to ruin.
"I'd rather be a Paki than a Dub" implies that Pakistani's are somehow an inferior people.
15/04/2008, 2:07 PM
You sitting outside with your laptop again?
Minding the sheep should any Harps fans pass through on their tractors on their way to Cork.
15/04/2008, 2:13 PM
Minding the sheep should any Harps fans pass through on their tractors on their way to Cork.
Why would that be now, sure we have our own fine fluffy sheep up here in Donegal, you'd never know what you would catch off ones outside the country (especially in Derry :eek:)
Queue Dahamsta and his delete button shortly, lets make the most of it while we can :D
Con Murphy is a legend btw.
Any one else think we should move all the racism stuff to another thread and get back on topic?
Con Murphy (our hero) wrote his entire MNS column this week in reply to the earlier part of this thread. I think that deserves further discussion.
Agreed!
Good article by Con, replies to most of the issues raised in a direct and straightforward manner. Love the poll too:
Roddy Collins believes there are no players in the eircom League good enough for the Republic of Ireland squad. Do you agree?
Yes
No
I never listen to Roddy Collins!
6yardpunisha
15/04/2008, 2:17 PM
Cant for the life of me see why you got an infraction for personal abuse cause your quite crap at it
Show gets better every week.
Fair play to Con Murphy for taking issues up with people. Takes balls in fairness.
Hopefully they'll show the Johnny Glynn mud-goal from Bishopstown in the early 90's on Raiders sometime
15/04/2008, 2:19 PM
I never listen to Roddy Collins!
Has 60% of the vote thus far. that's 72 votes
:eek::D:eek:
pól-dcfc
15/04/2008, 2:21 PM
Cant for the life of me see why you got an infraction for personal abuse cause your quite crap at it
That's me told.
15/04/2008, 2:22 PM
Rico's fantastic wit again:
"I'm sure the people of Letterkenny would not mind moving to Stranorlar or Ballybofey were it to ensure Ireland's qualification for South Africa. They wouldn't, would they? I mean, it's not as if we were asking them to move to Longford or somewhere like that is it? Ask not what your country and all that. "
15/04/2008, 2:30 PM
Rico's fantastic wit again:
"I'm sure the people of Letterkenny would not mind moving to Stranorlar or Ballybofey were it to ensure Ireland's qualification for South Africa. They wouldn't, would they? I mean, it's not as if we were asking them to move to Longford or somewhere like that is it? Ask not what your country and all that. "
:confused: it would be a bit cramped in fairness :p It would be funny to see though.
15/04/2008, 3:07 PM
That post by Con Murphy is deliberately shifting the subject so that he can defend Collins. Of course it is reasonable to suggest that there are no eL players currently good enough for inclusion in the Ireland squad. We could argue about it, it's wholly misinformed, but it is a valid point of view.
The objection, as you well know Con, since you read this forum, is to the utterly dismissive and nakedly hostile manner in which it was made, and allowed to be made unchallenged, by someone to whose anti-eL agenda is clear to everyone, it seems, other than broadcast producers.
MNS may not be there to promote the league, but you are not there to facilitate a sustained one-man campaign against it either.
Otherwise, and with all that out of the way, a huge well done on the programme. Bigger studios and smaller egos please.
Fair play to Con Murphy for taking issues up with people. Takes balls in fairness.
Absolutely. Fair play Con
15/04/2008, 3:26 PM
you'd never know what you would catch off ones outside the country (especially in Derry :eek:)
Nope, but you'd know, no doubt.
Passively condoning racism is the road to ruin.
"I'd rather be a Paki than a Dub" implies that Pakistani's are somehow an inferior people.
I was at the game with Gavinzac and we were commenting on how odd it was that the announcer mentioned the racism thing 3 times(before, halftime, halfway throuhg second half). We were wondering why and cracking jokes as to if it was cos someone had screamed Foxy at a sub that came on.
We were in the same stand as the Cobh lads, down by the halfway line. I didnt hear nay of it, but couldnt really hear anything they sang tbh. I dunno if its something got to do with the way the sound travels or if they were really low.
We heard more of the rovers fans
15/04/2008, 6:17 PM
Roddy Collins looked like he was bloated last night, kept touching his stomach and even rubbing his belt:rolleyes:...must be all the bull trapped inside him.
I was at the game with Gavinzac and we were commenting on how odd it was that the announcer mentioned the racism thing 3 times(before, halftime, halfway throuhg second half). We were wondering why and cracking jokes as to if it was cos someone had screamed Foxy at a sub that came on.
We were in the same stand as the Cobh lads, down by the halfway line. I didnt hear nay of it, but couldnt really hear anything they sang tbh. I dunno if its something got to do with the way the sound travels or if they were really low.
Correct. The Anti-Racism note was announced three times. The FAI like you to announce it before the game and at halftime. Failure to do so and it goes into the Ref's match report and the club gets punished. The third announcement halfway through the second half was at the request of the Event Controller as there were apparently comments made somewhere out there but by what supporters I do not know. Hope that clears it up a little for you.
18/04/2008, 12:40 PM
I do the PA at our games and have been told to announce the Anti-Racisim message twice if not three times at every game. I usually do it early before the game and just again before the teams come onto the pitch, half time and sometimes during 2nd half.
Its an important message and the more often it is stated the quicker it will get through to the dumbasses who think it is cool to give racist abuse.
As for MNS I love it! Have it series linked on Sky coz have club committee meetings on Monday nights so am usually off dropping kids at my parents while it is on. Only got to catch up on it last night due to a mad busy week and was overcome with joy when I saw a certain Mr Lestor doing the "60". It has now been saved on the sky box so I can watch it over and over and over.
As for Con Murphy, thank God for someone with a sense of humour and knowledge of the game. I think in general the guests are great, Roddy wrecks my head but everyone else is grand. Have Liam Mackey on more though would be my suggestion. A funny guy with a love of the game.
19/04/2008, 12:27 AM
That post by Con Murphy is deliberately shifting the subject so that he can defend Collins. Of course it is reasonable to suggest that there are no eL players currently good enough for inclusion in the Ireland squad. We could argue about it, it's wholly misinformed, but it is a valid point of view.
The objection, as you well know Con, since you read this forum, is to the utterly dismissive and nakedly hostile manner in which it was made, and allowed to be made unchallenged, by someone to whose anti-eL agenda is clear to everyone, it seems, other than broadcast producers.
MNS may not be there to promote the league, but you are not there to facilitate a sustained one-man campaign against it either.
Otherwise, and with all that out of the way, a huge well done on the programme. Bigger studios and smaller egos please.
Perfectly worded there BD. I wonder will there be anything done about it though. We are all watching anyway so we'll soon enough what the policies are.
And as for the rant going unchallenged, did you see the other panellists faces when he was saying it .... disbelief and horror knowing they had spoken just before him and wouldn't be able to contest it. And also knowing it was Roddy and was there any point in saying something :rolleyes:
If he features regularly on it i dont think i watch it as regularly to be honest. If i was a balance argument/rant i'd stomach it a bit more but Con just left have the run of himself.
Personally I think Collins should be removed from the panel at all costs for the good of a very well thought out and put-together programme. What little contribution he makes is usually worthless garbage anyway and I agree that he does come across very much Anti-EL. Personally I believe that he's very very bitter with life and needs a little reflection time.
19/04/2008, 11:33 AM
Agreed, they have to make a choice. Either they put up with his drivel that with turn viewers away just to have the comedy factor he brings to the show or they pick someone who would make a meaningful contribution to the show and give it some credibility.
I think the choice is simple, its not rocket science.