14/04/2008, 10:29 PM
Interesting piece on Listowel (sp?).

Would be nice to see a Kerry team in the LoI

Great to see it, really good feature.

pól-dcfc
14/04/2008, 10:46 PM
"I'm a greyhound, not a bulldog"

Bloody Nora. What a ballbag.

And saying Pat Walker wouldn't be able to do the job because he has no knowledge of the eL? Roddy has managed for years without any knowledge of football.

kingdomkerry
14/04/2008, 10:59 PM
Interesting piece on Listowel (sp?).

Would be nice to see a Kerry team in the LoI

It would have to be the formation of a new club and should probably be based in Tralee or Killarney. No disrespect to Listowel but they are not loi material, far better to have a team the whole county can get behind.

Good MNS tonight

depor
15/04/2008, 12:16 AM
ya roddy is a joke. they only spent a very short time talking about the ramblers win over rovers, and it was roddy doing the talking. he spent that short time talking about rovers defeat to bohs last week, wat a c*nt. he has nothing positive to say, and he says it too loud.:mad:

i have huge respect for rovers but we beat them fair and square, but roddy couldnt say anything positive about it. you would have to admit it was a great result.

and as regards the racist chanting people said happened at the match, i heard nothing, nothin that i havnt heard a million times at any game.

15/04/2008, 12:21 AM
Slightly tangently, I read something today that set out the wage bills of all the SPL sides for last season; quite a few were lower than similar figures for one or two EL teams. Wages here are inflated by the relatively closed pool of talent; only players here already are on offer, bar one or two returnees every year, which means the slightly better can command wages at a differential well in excess of what the small increment in ability would suggest; until there's real competition from players to get into this league that will continue to be the case - teams will bankrupt themselves to get the best players who aren't good enough for Div. 2 (or even the conference) - and because we're paying them so much, well they must be good, eh?

Can you post a link to this piece you read Stan ? I find it hard to believe one or two EL clubs are paying more wages than quite a few SPL clubs. The bottom 3 or 4 in the SPL - yes. Particularly as one of those has gone 'pop', but I'd be surprised if the likes of Kilmarnock, Motherwell, Aberdeen and even Inverness were paying less than the likes of Droghesd or Bohs, as there's so much more money in Scottish football.

Re EL fans beign overly-sensitive to criticism. You're right in that there is a degree of chippiness. However - This is greatly magnified when it comes to Shoddy Collins. The man clearly has an agenda rto run the league down to boost his own ego/status, and RTE need to get wise to it.

15/04/2008, 12:23 AM
Below email was sent to MNS tonight. Will keep yee's postyed on any replay :

Dear Sir/Madam,

Firstly, congratulations on Monday Night Soccer as a show. It's a huge improvement on TV3's token effort with 'Eircom League Weekly' last year, and as a show it is maturing week by week.

One thing I would state that needs changing this early on, however, is the presence of Roddy Collins. Mr Collins has very little to offer your show. The man is of limited knowledge of our game - as shown by the fact that he hasn't been able to get a job in the league for years now, not even with First Division teams. All he does on MNS is use it as a platform for his own vanity and to constantly attempt to denigrade the league.

Doubtless Mr Collins is hurting inside over the fact that he can't get a job in a league that he is so quick to castigate, but I would've hoped that RTE could see through his antics by now. Unless you want your show to be used as a platform for bitter failed Managers - and in so doing drive away a large chunk of your core viewership (i.e. those who know about Irish football) - I would suggest you send Mr Collins on a period of gardening leave in the hope that it will enable him to address his inner turmoil.

Your in sport,

Boh_So_Good
15/04/2008, 12:35 AM
Does Roddy understand the concept of irony when he goes on about "they were not good enough to make it over the water..."

15/04/2008, 12:45 AM
Does Roddy understand the concept of irony when he goes on about "they were not good enough to make it over the water..."

Very good!

I'll bet he doesn't, but I'd like it to be pointed out to him, preferably live on air.

15/04/2008, 12:57 AM
I was amazed that the racist chanting by Cobh fans wasn't mentioned.

I'm going to hope this is a joke based upon the Ramblers tannoy asking 3 or 4 times over the course of the evening for inappropriate behaviour such as racism to be reported to stewards. Otherwise, I'd have to imagine you were so drunk and so venomously bitter at your own team crashing and burning in St. Colemans that you actually believed there was racist chanting happening at a game where, as far as I could tell, every single player on the field was a white Irish man.

15/04/2008, 1:12 AM
you actually believed there was racist chanting happening at a game where, as far as I could tell, every single player on the field was a white Irish man.

And of course, chanting can only be aimed at the players :rolleyes:

hoopy
15/04/2008, 6:31 AM
I'm going to hope this is a joke based upon the Ramblers tannoy asking 3 or 4 times over the course of the evening for inappropriate behaviour such as racism to be reported to stewards. Otherwise, I'd have to imagine you were so drunk and so venomously bitter at your own team crashing and burning in St. Colemans that you actually believed there was racist chanting happening at a game where, as far as I could tell, every single player on the field was a white Irish man.

If you think "I'd rather be a Paki than a Dub" is nothing then I'm glad I live a long way from you.

sonofstan
15/04/2008, 6:42 AM
Can you post a link to this piece you read Stan ?

Apologies - it wasn't for last season but for 05/06 - since I don't have accurate figures for EL clubs, I'm guessing a bit, but I bet at least one club now and another then are/ were spending more here.
http://www.pwc.com/uk/eng/ins-sol/publ/hosp-leisure/pwc_spl_report_sep07.pdf?utr=1')

Scroll down to page 9

Inverness £1.3m ( €2m approx) wage bill
Livingston £1.2 (€1.9)

Dundee and Falkirk weren't much higher - but with much higher attendances

WoodquayBoy
15/04/2008, 7:32 AM
and as regards the racist chanting people said happened at the match, i heard nothing, nothin that i havnt heard a million times at any game.
Well, which is it? You heard nothing, or else you heard something but it was stuff you heard before?

15/04/2008, 7:59 AM
Jeez, I didn't think Roddy's (and Rico's) comments were that outrageous at all. Some of the defending etc on show was pretty amazingly bad (Harps the worst offenders here) and some of the chances missed were pretty appalling.

I prefer MNS with Roddy and Rico on it, they at least have opinion, while many of the other people they have on just tend to say the same old thing.

15/04/2008, 8:12 AM
Nothing wrong with what they said at all. I don't think any of the players in the league are good enough to play international football either

lofty9
15/04/2008, 8:25 AM
Nothing wrong with what they said at all. I don't think any of the players in the league are good enough to play international football either

Agreed.

15/04/2008, 8:48 AM

That's not really the issue. Richardson made valid points about what needs to be improved and worked on to take the league to a higher level. Roddy basically said 'it's crap, it's always been crap and it'll always be crap', OK I'm paraphrasing, but, that was the gist, and it was following on from similar comments on the league preview on Newstalk Thursday night.

I'm not going to try to say the quality of the players in the league is any better than League 2, but, I'd rather hear constructive criticism from pundits, not bitter moans about how the league is poorer for want of a Roddy managed team of over-paid imports.

WoodquayBoy
15/04/2008, 8:56 AM
Ah, Roddy is off to Livingston soon so we won't need to worry about him

15/04/2008, 9:02 AM
I would agree, however, considering some of the no marks called up for some of the friendlies/ tours I think some league players should've been called up for them in the past.

No doubt we are paying over the odds for players, but that's not a recent thing. Inevitable when a league is half way between full time and semi pro - you have to match normal wage + football wage. Isn't a recent thing, and some of the spending is clearly unsustainable (not that you'd ever hear Rico or Roddy interested in that type of argument).

It's total bs if any of the panel were seriously suggesting that the league hasn't come on in terms of skill in the last 10 years. Now that would be a bitter rant from a bitter man if that suggestion was made (as it was on Newstalk - didn't see MNF).

15/04/2008, 9:25 AM
BTW have been times in the past that several players should've been called up ahead of the likes of Peter Murphy or Joe O'Cearuill (ironic I know)

The league now is vastly superior to even 5 yeas ago, never mind 10 yeas ago. In fairness to Rico he made that point, he just added that we need to develop further

EDIT; Just read that Tardelli is expected to watch Pats v Linfield tonight (indo)

Presumably looking at O'Cearuill, Fahey & Quigley

15/04/2008, 9:46 AM
I don't disagree with Roddys comments on International players but I think he annoys people with the way he communicates. He seems very quick to criticise the standard of the league when we all now if he would jump at opportunity to manager possibly any Premier division side expect UCD (no cash).

His comments on Newstalk about no improvement in last 5-10 years except for fitness makes no sense. We may have moved to summer football but most of the European success has been achieved against teams who also play summer season. Maybe I am biased but I don't remember any Doyles or O'Donovans 10 years ago.

Of course we are all talking about Roddy which is probably what he wants. :o

15/04/2008, 10:18 AM
EDIT; Just read that Tardelli is expected to watch Pats v Linfield tonight (indo)

Presumably looking at O'Cearuill, Fahey & Quigley
Or Linfield ones? :p

15/04/2008, 10:23 AM
And saying Pat Walker wouldn't be able to do the job because he has no knowledge of the eL? Roddy has managed for years without any knowledge of football.

POTM!!

6yardpunisha
15/04/2008, 10:40 AM
If you think "I'd rather be a Paki than a Dub" is nothing then I'm glad I live a long way from you.

quite tame in comparison with the way your crowd behaved the night rovers won the first division down in cobh, forgot your crowd were very sensitive:eek:

15/04/2008, 10:44 AM
I don't think people have any problem with the pundits expressing their opinion. Notice how Rico isn't getting slagged off - he made reasonable points that you may/may not agree with. As did Colm Foley on the other side of the debate.

As always, Roddy's inherent bitterness shows him up. It kills him that he still can't get a job with even the worst teams in our league - even when he tries to throw money at them.

If they were any good they'd be in England

This is the type of simplistic cliché that even the laziest of barstoolers have grown out of.

Healy needs to get himself back to The Championship as soon as possible.

Pats had two full internationals playing vs. Harps - young players capped within the last year and a half. Cork can play a full international midfield + Georgie. That's improvement - that's not something I've seen before in my time supporting the league.

Laurel and Hardy on Setanta had an interesting interview with Graham Gartland. Plenty of players that played in the B team international vs. Scotland in November were left out. It's not beyond the realms of possiblity that some of them could have been considered for an extended 40-man squad. What's offensive is the notion by Roddy and others that it is a joke that players playing in their own country could be considered.

Similarly, Dolan couldn't understand why Fenlon wasn't even phoned up and asked his opinion on whether there was anyone decent in the U-23 squad. Brady just made an off-hand reference to the squad when he said "I think Pat Fenlon is the manager".

Having said all that, I wouldn't necessarily be calling for any player to make the proper squad on current form (barring mass withdrawals). I really think summer soccer counts against our players (look at poor Becks! :()

15/04/2008, 11:10 AM
Difficult to watch at times,Con Murphy is a joke and the constant use of the word ''soccer'' hugely fustrates me

You're officially in Con Murphy's bad books:

part from the e-mails which come into to us - and we've had several hundred at this stage, for which thanks - we also look from time to time at the various fans' forums on the Internet to see what the general reaction to the output is like.

One contributor calls me a fool every week, and gives out about the fact that I say soccer instead of football. The irony is that I said football many more times than soccer in the show this week, but some people get a bee in their bonnet about something and tend to listen with rather closed ears.

It reminds me of Gay Byrne's crusade to eliminate the soft Irish 'T'. To Gay, and the person who thinks I'm a fool, I would simply say, 'let it go'. Listen to Nuala O'Faolain's gutwrenching interview with Marian Finucane last weekend, and remember, there are much more important things in life to be getting upset about.

Taken from Con's MNS column on RTE website (http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/mns/features/conmurphy/).

Definitive proof, if it were needed that the lads are avid lurkers on foot! Hi lads :D

Maynard
15/04/2008, 11:13 AM
quite tame in comparison with the way your crowd behaved the night rovers won the first division down in cobh, forgot your crowd were very sensitive:eek:

Your above post shows you, and by association your club, in a very poor light indeed.

15/04/2008, 11:18 AM
how in the name of god can shamrock rovers complsin to us about bad behaviour, sour grapes like.

15/04/2008, 11:21 AM

:eek: So its OK to be a racist?

6yardpunisha
15/04/2008, 11:26 AM
Your above post shows you, and by association your club, in a very poor light indeed.

are you for real, abuse we got from rovers fans before was unreal and then they get a little back and its oh poor us, get a grip

6yardpunisha
15/04/2008, 11:26 AM

only to the dubs:D

15/04/2008, 11:30 AM
only to the dubs:D

Seriously missing the point. It's not the Dubs that would be offended by that chant. You can't justify a racist chant on the basis that the Rovers fans misbehaved on a previous visit to Cobh.

15/04/2008, 11:34 AM
cop on, i dont sing at the games, but like what is said about us with refernce to the queen all that english lark, is that not considered racsist?? Rovers came into town last year destroyed pubs, kicked down barricades, everything, none of us complained not once. Now im not saying what the lads said is right or acceptable but the one time the rovers fans get something said about them they crib, i find that that amazing.

BTW many times on this forum i have said and still believe the rovers fans are the best in the country, their fantastic but i find this a bit OTT being honest.

outside in
15/04/2008, 11:34 AM
ffs lads its nothing dat doesnt go on at most clubs(outside of dublin)its been taken way out of context imo

15/04/2008, 11:35 AM
its amazing wherever theres controversy theres outside in!!!:D:D:D

outside in
15/04/2008, 11:37 AM
its amazing wherever theres controversy theres outside in!!!:D:D:D
i aim to please

6yardpunisha
15/04/2008, 11:39 AM
Seriously missing the point. It's not the Dubs that would be offended by that chant. You can't justify a racist chant on the basis that the Rovers fans misbehaved on a previous visit to Cobh.

misbehaved, try abusive, destructive and down right intimidating and no im not missing the point, they dish it out and start crying when someone chants something at them, didnt hear the chant but you can bet your life that the rovers response wasnt politically correct

15/04/2008, 11:43 AM
misbehaved, try abusive, destructive and down right intimidating and no im not missing the point, they dish it out and start crying when someone chants something at them, didnt hear the chant but you can bet your life that the rovers response wasnt politically correct

So now you're trying to justify racism because they're just as bad? Very mature.

It would look a whole lot better for ye if ye just said the chant was out of order, the offenders were asked to stop and if they're heard singing it again they'll be banned from the ground.

I'm no Rovers apologist either, I was sickened to hear a big group of Rovers casuals singing "..... ..... is a Hoop, is a Hoop, he kills coppers" while being escorted by the Gardai into the ground before the Bohs match.

Still no excuse for racism.

6yardpunisha
15/04/2008, 11:46 AM
So now you're trying to justify racism because they're just as bad? Very mature.

It would look a whole lot better for ye if ye just said the chant was out of order, the offenders were asked to stop and if they're heard singing it again they'll be banned from the ground.

I'm no Rovers apologist either, I was sickened to hear a big group of Rovers casuals singing "..... ..... is a Hoop, is a Hoop, he kills coppers" while being escorted by the Gardai into the ground before the Bohs match.

didnt hear it, wasnt involved in it, not a racist and quite mature btw

15/04/2008, 11:48 AM
ffs lads its nothing dat doesnt go on at most clubs(outside of dublin)its been taken way out of context imo

Whats the context then? And it only happens in Cork. Trust me I'm a dub...

Now im not saying what the lads said is right or acceptable but the one time the rovers fans get something said about them they crib, i find that that amazing
The song didn't say anything about Rovers fans as far as I'm aware

they dish it out and start crying when someone chants something at them, didnt hear the chant but you can bet your life that the rovers response wasnt politically correct
Its nothing got top with being politically correct. Its about not being rascist. Politics have nothing to do with it. And again, there isn't a single Dub that is offended by the sog because it mentions us

outside in
15/04/2008, 11:53 AM
[quote=Dodge;921002]Whats the context then? And it only happens in Cork. Trust me I'm a dub...
sorry i forgot wat good people ye are up there:eek:
like i'd trust a dub:rolleyes:

6yardpunisha
15/04/2008, 11:55 AM
http://www.theredcard.ie/img/stratplanting2.gif

happy now:D

15/04/2008, 11:56 AM

i did say i couldnt condone that sort of stuff and i dont. But i do think that this is being blown out of proportion.

15/04/2008, 11:59 AM
i did say i couldnt condone that sort of stuff and i dont. But i do think that this is being blown out of proportion.

Because people are saying "Rovers deserve it because they did blah blah" and "sure it happens at every ground" (which it doesn't)

The thread that was deleted was far more sensible with several posters saying it was an unfortunate incident.

15/04/2008, 12:00 PM
Agreed.

So your not one the ones touting McCourt to play for Norn Iron?
Is Boco not an International?

15/04/2008, 12:01 PM
its amazing wherever theres controversy theres outside in!!!:D:D

Or Cobh fans in general :p

6yardpunisha
15/04/2008, 12:06 PM
Or Cobh fans in general :p

very harsh sammy boy:D

15/04/2008, 12:08 PM
Bottom line is anyway, i wasnt there i didnt do it. Trying to defend my club by saying it wasnt at all acceptable, but i do feel it is being blown out of porportion.

15/04/2008, 12:13 PM
Bottom line is anyway, i wasnt there i didnt do it. Trying to defend my club by saying it wasnt at all acceptable, but i do feel it is being blown out of porportion.

Fair play. That's the right attitude. It wouldn't have been blown out of proportion if other Cobh fans had taken your view.

15/04/2008, 12:30 PM

Well apologies if that was sung, because its not on, but I was sitting in the same stand as Ramblers' singing kids and didn't hear anything of the sort.