View Full Version : Trapattoni's first (extended) squad announced!
DeNiro
13/05/2008, 9:18 AM
Surely you mean time, although we could play a game, what name should he call the squad.
I vote for Sandra.
I do mean time. :D. He could name it Stephen. It fits nicely with Ireland for some reason. Although I reckon that name might be busy or have other plans that day.
youngirish
13/05/2008, 9:37 AM
Couple of links attached
http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/2008/02/09/liam-lawrence-gutted-by-republic-of-ireland-snub-89520-20313185/
"On a personal level, Lawrence feels playing in the Premier League might also enhance his ambitions of becoming an established member of the Republic of Ireland in which he has already appeared briefly. "If I can keep playing well, I feel I have got a good chance," Lawrence added.
Pulis, who described Lawrence's sublime strike as: "Absoluterly fantastic; a goal good enough to grace any game" was fulsome in his praise for an industrious midfield in which Roy Delap, Glenn Whelan and Richard Cresswell matched the prodigious workrate of Lawrence." telegraph :eek:
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/acrossthewater/news.asp?n=32187
Whelan could also figure regularly in future squads if he's getting regular games next year in the Premiership. It might be a step too far for him though so we'll see how it goes.
Dr. Ogba
13/05/2008, 10:36 AM
5 changes made to the U-21 squad for Malaysia, including removing Stokes, so he could be another moved to the senior squad
lets hope not. don't think he merits being anywhere near the senior squad at the moment...
13/05/2008, 11:06 AM
Whelan could also figure regularly in future squads if he's getting regular games next year in the Premiership. It might be a step too far for him though so we'll see how it goes.Slightly off topic, but I really fear for the Stoke team next season, they got promoted in second with a worse points tally and goal difference than Derby last season, who came up through the play offs.
Whelan, Lawrence and Delap could be in for a real shock.
Scooby Doo
13/05/2008, 11:08 AM
i assume then today we will find out for definate if finnan, o brien and that little spanner from man city are returning?
13/05/2008, 12:01 PM
Slightly off topic, but I really fear for the Stoke team next season, they got promoted in second with a worse points tally and goal difference than Derby last season, who came up through the play offs.
Whelan, Lawrence and Delap could be in for a real shock.
Very off topic but yup I agree, and if Hull come up with them I think the record score in the Premiership could go next season against either of these teams.
soccerc
13/05/2008, 12:06 PM
Whelan could also figure regularly in future squads if he's getting regular games next year in the Premiership. It might be a step too far for him though so we'll see how it goes.
Glenn is delighted to have been named in the travelling party...."hopefully I do well and go on to get my first senior cap"
13/05/2008, 12:56 PM
Squad announcement live on fai.ie: http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=3163
13/05/2008, 1:06 PM
you have to go to the main page to get the audiio link , thicks didnt put it on that page yet
13/05/2008, 1:08 PM
awful stream, seems to be broadcasting the same audio at 3 different speeds
O'Dea, McGeady and O'Shea out of trip due to club commitments
Keane out due to personal commitments
Andy O'Brien out due to to injury
<edit>
stream problems sorted out now
13/05/2008, 1:14 PM
Kiely, Bruce, Delaney in the squad I think. Ireland also named. Scannell too.
Given, Carsely, Kilbane, Gibson and a couple more are injured.
O'Shea, O'Dea, McGeady and someone else can't go to Portugal because of club games.
Keane can't go to Portugal because of stag arranged a long time ago but still in squad.
RivaldoBabb
13/05/2008, 1:14 PM
awful stream, seems to be broadcasting the same audio at 3 different speeds
O'Dea, McGeady and O'Shea out of trip due to club commitments
Keane out due to personal commitments
Andy O'Brien out due to to injury
Are you suggesting the FAI have cut corners with the development of their website...surely not
John O'Shea club commitments? oh yeh, sitting on the bench in Moscow then picking up a medal for something he contributed feck all to.
Fair play to you John, bag full of medals that you didnt earn...
(sorry, i know thats off topic)
13/05/2008, 1:16 PM
Heard Wes Hoolahan's and Martin Rowlands' names also but could be mistaken.
13/05/2008, 1:18 PM
Heard Wes Hoolahan's and Martin Rowland's names also but could be mistaken.
These named I heard:
Colin Doyle (Birmingham City)*
Joe Murphy (Scunthorpe United)*
Kiely*
Kelly (Birmingham City)*
Dunne (Manchester City)*
O'Shea (Manchester United)*
McShane (Sunderland)*
Foley (Wolves)*
O'Dea (Celtic)*
Bruce*
Delaney*
Miller (Sunderland)*
Ireland (Manchester City)*
Duff (Newcastle United)*
McGeady (Celtic)*
Andy Reid (Sunderland)*
Garvan (Ipswich Town)*
Hoolahan (Blackpool)*
McPhail (Cardiff City)*
Rowlands (QPR)*
Whelan (Stoke City)*
Scannell (Crystal Palace)*
Robbie Keane (Tottenham Hotspur)*
Kevin Doyle (Reading)*
Long (Reading)*
Andy Keogh (Wolves)*
Murphy (Sunderland)*
Finnan has to get hernia op.
13/05/2008, 1:21 PM
On Finnan "In August..sure he'll come back"
Confident is probably the word he wanted though, not sure.
13/05/2008, 1:25 PM
No word on O'Brien then....oh well!
13/05/2008, 1:25 PM
So Ireland is in the squad and Andy O Brien and Finnan are getting operations and Dean Kiely is back so Trappatoni has done his work on that front.
Garvan Mc Pahil Whelan are all in the squad which to me shows that Trappatoni and Brady and Tardelli are looking at good central midfielders who can play the ball rather than just kickers like Douglas.
I think Morrisson is unlucky to miss out if he is not there and I thought that Lawrence was unlucky to miss out.
13/05/2008, 1:26 PM
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=3164
13/05/2008, 1:30 PM
I don't know how I thought I heard Ireland's name.
13/05/2008, 1:31 PM
Sound isn't bad but I'm struggling with Traps language.
I'm glad to hear the intimate whispers of that nice lady.
What was that about set pieces?
Set pieces, set pieces, 1-0 1-0 1-0
Trap sounded so definite, it was like he has had a vision.
Thank féck that Italian ex journo hasn't opened his mouth yet.
13/05/2008, 1:33 PM
So Ireland is in the squad.....
I might be going mad, but I don't see Ireland's name listed in a squad of 29 on FAI website.
13/05/2008, 1:34 PM
Interesting comparison between Stephen Ireland and Antonio Cassano there.
youngirish
13/05/2008, 1:35 PM
Forget Andy O'Brien where's the other O'Brien from Bolton Joey? Surely more deserving of a place than the likes of Alex Bruce, Darren Potter or Glenn Whelan .
He's been playing regularly in the holding midfield role for Bolton this season under Megson when fit.
13/05/2008, 1:37 PM
I might be going mad, but I don't see Ireland's name listed in a squad of 29 on FAI website.
No Ireland is not there,
but that does not mean you are not going mad.
13/05/2008, 1:37 PM
He says Duff and other Irish players have been working too hard and running too much for Ireland. They get tired too quickly. Running around even if they're not near the ball.
Greenforever
13/05/2008, 1:39 PM
NO SI in the squad
13/05/2008, 1:39 PM
Forget Andy O'Brien where's the other O'Brien from Bolton Joey?
Injured - according to fai.ie
youngirish
13/05/2008, 1:40 PM
Injured - according to fai.ie
Thanks for that. Didn't see it. Overall a fairly dodgy squad though I wouldn't worry at this early stage.
Drumcondra 69er
13/05/2008, 1:41 PM
So Ireland is in the squad and Andy O Brien and Finnan are getting operations and Dean Kiely is back so Trappatoni has done his work on that front.
Garvan Mc Pahil Whelan are all in the squad which to me shows that Trappatoni and Brady and Tardelli are looking at good central midfielders who can play the ball rather than just kickers like Douglas.
I think Morrisson is unlucky to miss out if he is not there and I thought that Lawrence was unlucky to miss out.
Morrison still involved with the play offs, the final will be on the Monday in between the two matches if they qualify so that may have gone against him. Actually, just noticed Scannell in so that scuppers that theory, strange ommision.
What's up with Paddy Kenny, is he injured? Deserves a place ahead of both Doyle and Murphy. Agree with you about Lawrence.
youngirish
13/05/2008, 1:43 PM
No Ireland is not there,
but that does not mean you are not going mad.
He couldn't make it. His grandad died.
No the other one.
13/05/2008, 1:51 PM
Recorded the press conference here: http://media.putfile.com/Squad-Announcement-VS-Serbia-and-Colombia
Pretty much everything, except the actual announcement of the squad, and a question about Stephen Ireland, the stream cleared up after that and I could record it
Greenforever
13/05/2008, 1:55 PM
He couldn't make it. His grandad died.
No the other one.
He's just issued a statement clarifying the facts.
He pannicekd as he has had a miscarriage and didnt know what to say so he made up the story about his grandad(s) but now regrests not telling the truth about his miscarriage at the time.:rolleyes:
13/05/2008, 1:57 PM
John O'Shea club commitments? oh yeh, sitting on the bench in Moscow then picking up a medal for something he contributed feck all to.
Fair play to you John, bag full of medals that you didnt earn...
what a nation of begrudgers we are
I said it after seeing him last week I fancied Damien Delaney to get in and Martin Rowlands has been outstanding this season won both Player of the Year awards at Qpr.
Delaneys reaction here http://www.qpr.premiumtv.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10373~1308908,00.html .
FarBeag
13/05/2008, 2:21 PM
I said it after seeing him last week I fancied Damien Delaney to get in and Martin Rowlands has been outstanding this season won both Player of the Year awards at Qpr.
Delaneys reaction here http://www.qpr.premiumtv.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10373~1308908,00.html .
Yep i am delighted that these two guys are in especially Delaney.Seen both of them play on a few occasions this season and they excelled. Pity about Lawrence and St Ledger as they should both be give the chance for sure.
FarBeag
13/05/2008, 2:29 PM
Look at Delaneys reaction to have got his opportunity. Now compare this with S Ireland's attitude and judge for yourself on who deserves to wear the green jersey. Poor Ciaran will be gutted!!
13/05/2008, 2:31 PM
He's just issued a statement clarifying the facts.
He pannicekd as he has had a miscarriage and didnt know what to say so he made up the story about his grandad(s) but now regrests not telling the truth about his miscarriage at the time.:rolleyes:
I heard his pink underwear ran in the wash and he couldn't get either of his grannies to go shopping for him before the squad met up. That meant he would have only had his Superman jocks to wear and despite the fact he was happy for the whole world to see them when playing for Man.City, he was afraid the other lads in the squad would bring along the Kryptonite and as we all know how he is allergic to anything green. :D
13/05/2008, 2:37 PM
Look at Delaneys reaction to have got his opportunity. Now compare this with S Ireland's attitude and judge for yourself on who deserves to wear the green jersey. Poor Ciaran will be gutted!!
To be honest I'd prefer if footballing ability was the criteria for who deserves it rather than a positive reaction to being picked
soccerc
13/05/2008, 2:39 PM
he was afraid the other lads in the squad would bring along the Kryptonite and as we all know how he is allergic to anything green. :D
POTM there Superhoops, made me splutter coffee all over my new laptop keyboard, so you owe me!
back of the net
13/05/2008, 2:47 PM
all
did anyone get their serbia tickets in the post yet???
cheers
To be honest I'd prefer if footballing ability was the criteria for who deserves it rather than a positive reaction to being picked
Delaney has plenty of Ability and whats more his attitude and application is 10 times that of the poisioned dwarf.;)
theworm2345
13/05/2008, 2:51 PM
I'm excited to see this midfield in action. However, I wasn't expecting Connolly, but Long, Doyle, Murphy, and Keogh over Morrison?
Keogh is good and doesn't get the recognition he deserves as he doesnt score many goals (he sets quite a few up for Ebanks-Blake, but Long has one goal in 6 months, Doyle has 2 in 6 months, and their both relegated. Murphy has only 3 goals on the season (though he has been played on the wing quite a bit). Morrison has scored 16 this season. We will struggle to score goals this fall if this is our strike force, mark my words.
FarBeag
13/05/2008, 3:00 PM
I assume you don't think that Delaney has ability then? Believe it or not he has ,and to be honest myself I would rather all the squad to have Delaney's attitude than that of the personality disordered S Ireland.
FarBeag
13/05/2008, 3:06 PM
I'm excited to see this midfield in action. However, I wasn't expecting Connolly, but Long, Doyle, Murphy, and Keogh over Morrison?
Keogh is good and doesn't get the recognition he deserves as he doesnt score many goals (he sets quite a few up for Ebanks-Blake, but Long has one goal in 6 months, Doyle has 2 in 6 months, and their both relegated. Murphy has only 3 goals on the season (though he has been played on the wing quite a bit). Morrison has scored 16 this season. We will struggle to score goals this fall if this is our strike force, mark my words.
Yes agree with you there. should be in the squad there is no doubting.
boovidge
13/05/2008, 3:07 PM
yeah agree with you their worm, Morrisons apparent exclusion is shocking. I can only imagine Trap isn't aware of Lawrence's elegibility also. Their is no way a Championship player of the year who will be playing regular premiership football next season can justifiably be left out of the current ireland squad imo.
Some of the selections at least show that the current management team are thinking outside the Stan box though.
13/05/2008, 3:09 PM
My guess re: Morrisson is that they think he'll be knackered after the play-offs.
13/05/2008, 3:13 PM
I assume you don't think that Delaney has ability then? Believe it or not he has ,and to be honest myself I would rather all the squad to have Delaney's attitude than that of the personality disordered S Ireland.
Not at all , I just disagree with your statement that he deserves it more because he was delighted to get it
theworm2345
13/05/2008, 8:48 PM
My guess re: Morrisson is that they think he'll be knackered after the play-offs.
Scannell is in the squad though
zenokelly
13/05/2008, 9:35 PM
Scannell is in the squad though
Ya I just watched him there. He played fairly well for a 17 year-old.
He reminds me of Walcott, fast and light.