View Full Version : Trapattoni's first (extended) squad announced!
lionelhutz
23/04/2008, 10:11 AM
Liam Lawrence was born in Retford and qualifies for Ireland because of his Irish grandfather, who came from Kerry. He played with Mansfield Town before joining Sunderland for £175,000 in June 2004 and in his first season he made 20 appearances, scored six goals and helped them win promotion to the Premiership. He was an ever-present in 2005/06 season when Sunderland again fell back into the Championship. He has been a member of Ireland’s panel since Stephen Staunton took over as manager. He moved to Stoke City on loan in November 2006 and the transfer was completed in January 2007. He has not figured with Ireland since the squad went to training camp in the Algarve in the summer of the same year.
http://www.fai.ie/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=56
Cheers for that
tomred23
28/04/2008, 10:36 AM
Liam lawrence makes Championship team of the year! why was he not picked? Does anybody know why?
Paddy Garcia
28/04/2008, 11:09 AM
Liam lawrence makes Championship team of the year! why was he not picked? Does anybody know why?
Yes, cos there are eejits selecting the squad.
Shedender81
28/04/2008, 11:23 AM
Yes, cos there are eejits selecting the squad.
Might have something to do with why he left Sunderland
Paddy Garcia
28/04/2008, 11:43 AM
Might have something to do with why he left Sunderland
I strongly suspect you are correct. However if we are willing to have Ireland back then I don't see any reason not to have Lawrence. Upsetting Sunderland and Roy should not be a reason for exclusion.
We have not been in a position to be too picky in the past, though Jack certainly made O'Leary wait. McGrath (not comparing him to Lawrence here!) was forgiven and so have many others such as Kennedy and Co.
Given our midfield has been so lightweight recently we really need to try out a player like Lawrence with some urgency.
We have all sorts in there - Potter, Rowlands, Whelan, Miller even Gibson, all far less compelling candidates than Lawrence - currently.
colster
28/04/2008, 12:41 PM
I strongly suspect you are correct. However if we are willing to have Ireland back then I don't see any reason not to have Lawrence. Upsetting Sunderland and Roy should not be a reason for exclusion.
We have not been in a position to be too picky in the past, though Jack certainly made O'Leary wait. McGrath (not comparing him to Lawrence here!) was forgiven and so have many others such as Kennedy and Co.
Given our midfield has been so lightweight recently we really need to try out a player like Lawrence with some urgency.
We have all sorts in there - Potter, Rowlands, Whelan, Miller even Gibson, all far less compelling candidates than Lawrence - currently.
Lawrence is a winger. He's behind Duff, MacGeady, Hunt, Ireland and Reid.
boovidge
28/04/2008, 1:33 PM
Reid and Ireland arent wingers or shouldnt be played there anyway.
kingdom hoop
28/04/2008, 1:56 PM
Trap has spoken to QPR's Italian manager Luigi de Canio about him, and Tardelli savoured two QPR games where Rowlands was his typically impressive, inspiring self. But more than the benefits arising from QPR's Italian revolution, being the key cog (captain and midfield dynamo) in turning a side that looked doomed to relegation a few months back to a comfortable mid-table one suggests Rowlands (on form and personality) merits a place in the squad.
I'm not necessarily saying he's better than Lawrence, but that the somewhat denigrating "all sorts" tag is a little harsh. :)
On the subject of QPR players, I think Damien Delaney's exclusion was a mistake given the paucity of defenders in the squad and his excellent form over the past four months. Tardelli went to QPR's game last week against Charlton, a game that many said Delaney was MOM in, so if there are a few defensive withdrawals I'd say Delaney might be called up. And rightly so. :cool:
28/04/2008, 3:04 PM
Yes, I was sure that Trap/Tardelli and De Canio would have been in contact so I was surprised neither QPR lad made it. I wonder does Delaney regret leaving Hull?! Their march up the table seems to have coincided with his departure.
To be honest, excited as I am about the new regime, I get the impression that between them all they simply don't know yet the full options available to them. There were a few in the squad I was disappointed with and a few outside I'd expect to have been included.
28/04/2008, 3:08 PM
Yes, I was sure that Trap/Tardelli and De Canio would have been in contact so I was surprised neither QPR lad made it. I wonder does Delaney regret leaving Hull?! Their march up the table seems to have coincided with his departure.
To be honest, excited as I am about the new regime, I get the impression that between them all they simply don't know yet the full options available to them. There were a few in the squad I was disappointed with and a few outside I'd expect to have been included.
OF course thats only natural, but hopefully they will learn from this and cop on. Its hard with the little coverage outside of the premiership - even top half of premiership - to learn about/gauge players unless you are going to all the games. Time will only tell on this.
kingdom hoop
28/04/2008, 3:42 PM
I was surprised neither QPR lad made it.
Oh Rowlands is in the squad alright. :)
On Delaney leaving Hull, I seem to recall him saying in interview a few weeks ago that he had absolutely no regrets leaving Hull; QPR was the best long-term move. Of course, that's his external veneer, though I'm sure winning the team-bonding karting race last week will have eased any regrets.
Paddy Garcia
28/04/2008, 7:15 PM
I'm not necessarily saying he's better than Lawrence, but that the somewhat denigrating "all sorts" tag is a little harsh. :)
Sorry, did not intend to be so dismissive of Rowlands (mind you I did watch him win those caps at the Valley:eek:).
Agree Delaney should be given a shout.
30/04/2008, 11:05 AM
Probably mentioned a few times here already, but Jon Walters should be there. Best attacking header of a ball we have and good feet too.
FarBeag
30/04/2008, 12:13 PM
Trap has spoken to QPR's Italian manager Luigi de Canio about him, and Tardelli savoured two QPR games where Rowlands was his typically impressive, inspiring self. But more than the benefits arising from QPR's Italian revolution, being the key cog (captain and midfield dynamo) in turning a side that looked doomed to relegation a few months back to a comfortable mid-table one suggests Rowlands (on form and personality) merits a place in the squad.
On the subject of QPR players, I think Damien Delaney's exclusion was a mistake given the paucity of defenders in the squad and his excellent form over the past four months. Tardelli went to QPR's game last week against Charlton, a game that many said Delaney was MOM in, so if there are a few defensive withdrawals I'd say Delaney might be called up. And rightly so. :cool:
I agree with everything you say here. I have been to a few QPR matches and I have to say that I was very impressed with both. I was very surprised when Delaney was left out particularly when left back is an area we are struggling with .Contrary to some peoples somewhat negative attitude towards Championship players he is a good footballer and consistently plays well in this position. I really hope he is given a chance. Rowlands inclusion speaks for itself.
theworm2345
30/04/2008, 12:19 PM
Speaking of CCC midfielders, Devaney is pretty good too, if Delaney were to be in, he should be too (though obviously Hull is better than Barnsley)
30/04/2008, 12:25 PM
Typical, a player leaves Cork City and next thing you know he's Ireland material :D :p
FarBeag
30/04/2008, 1:45 PM
Typical, a player leaves Cork City and next thing you know he's Ireland material :D :p
Oh really! He left Cork a good few years back yeah.Anyway its got nothing to do with where or who he has played with in the past, its his ability that counts.
Paddy Garcia
30/04/2008, 2:15 PM
Speaking of CCC midfielders, Devaney is pretty good too, if Delaney were to be in, he should be too (though obviously Hull is better than Barnsley)
Why Hull ?
theworm2345
01/05/2008, 5:33 AM
People were speaking of Delaney, I forgot he went to QPR
03/05/2008, 2:02 PM
Anyone read Kerr in The Indo, saying that some players are unhappy with the length of the portugal training camp and the two friendlies? Jaysus H, if true, these players need to get a grip. I feel that Kerr's bitterness is coming through again though.
Irish Times says Dean Kiely has made himself available. Good news. Brady is to talk to the other retirees soon.
03/05/2008, 2:03 PM
Oh Rowlands is in the squad alright. :)
Ooops sorry. Not being at work means my focus has dropped a bit recently. It's amazing, I've discovered a life outside football forums and i quite like it.
03/05/2008, 2:07 PM
Anyone read Kerr in The Indo, saying that some players are unhappy with the length of the portugal training camp and the two friendlies? Jaysus H, if true, these players need to get a grip. I feel that Kerr's bitterness is coming through again though.That was mentioned in the press conference as well
Irish Times says Dean Kiely has made himself available. Good news. Brady is to talk to the other retirees soon.First of many, we hope.
Jicked
03/05/2008, 4:24 PM
Irish Times also mentioned that one of Traps first tasks will be to talk to "a prominent member" of the team who has gone and booked a stag weekend in Las Vegas during the time the squad is in Portugal. Any idea who this prominent member is?
zenokelly
03/05/2008, 5:37 PM
Irish Times also mentioned that one of Traps first tasks will be to talk to "a prominent member" of the team who has gone and booked a stag weekend in Las Vegas during the time the squad is in Portugal. Any idea who this prominent member is?
Stokes????
bohsRap
03/05/2008, 5:42 PM
I think Hunt said he was getting married at the end of the season.
Jicked
03/05/2008, 7:45 PM
Stokes????
Hah, Anto's 21, I dont think he's getting married anytime soon, and he isn't a prominent member of the squad.
Hunt would make sense though.
04/05/2008, 12:54 PM
Is it not Robbie Keane.
dublinmick
04/05/2008, 7:10 PM
Is it not Robbie Keane.
That's who I thought it was. And isn't he getting married in yer man Gordon Ramsay's place in Wicklow?
dublinmick
04/05/2008, 7:17 PM
The Mirror
April 8, 2008 Tuesday
Eire Edition
ROBBIE'S LAS NIGHT OF FREEDOM .. AND CLAUDINE'S OFF TO SPAIN;
SOCCER ACE'S VEGAS STAG EXCLUSIVE
BYLINE: BY PAUL MARTIN
SECTION: NEWS; Pg. 7
LENGTH: 335 words
ROBBIE Keane and his fiancee Claudine Palmer are splashing out EUR100,000 to make their hen and stag nights out of this world.
The showbiz couple have already planned the big party weekends - and we can reveal Ireland soccer star Robbie will jet off to Vegas while model Claudine will live it up in a Marbella spa.
The pair have booked the trips for the end of May and are splashing the cash to make them unforgettable.
Last week the Irish Daily Mirror exclusively revealed how they will tie the knot in the quaint village of Killiney, Co Dublin.
Now we can tell you that Robbie, 27, and his pals will fly first class to Las Vegas and check into the plush Bellagio hotel for a weekend of gambling, drinking and partying.
He will treat 10 mates to the spectacular trip and has booked out five luxury suites. They will enjoy massages, golf and a night in the hotel's famous casino during the wild weekend.
Keane has invited some of his Tottenham team-mates on the trip along with his best man, his brother Graham, and his two groomsmen, soccer star Stephen McPhail and his brother Alan.
Claudine will fly with her girlfriends for a pampering weekend in the Costa del Sol.
They are believed to have booked into the five-star Gran Hotel Guadalpin Marbella Spa which is popular with celebrities and millionaires.
The girls will have a personal team of beauty therapists to look after them during their entire visit.
They will be treated to massages, facials and rejuvenation treatments before hitting the town at night for a big party.
Claudine's mum Joan is top of the guest list.
A friend told the Irish Daily Mirror: "Money is clearly no obstacle and they will be treating their guests like royalty."
The couple have hired Westlife and Mary Black to perform at their reception at the Ritz Powerscourt.
They will head off to Mauritius on honeymoon after the big day.
EUR6BILLION
spent each year on gambling in Vegas which attracts 36.7million visitors annually. There are 1,701 licenced gambling premises and 197,144 slot machines.
05/05/2008, 9:07 AM
An amusing piece by Vincent Hogan in todays Indo
(http://www.independent.ie/opinion/columnists/vincent-hogan/open-letter-to-trap-1367059.html)
Open letter to Trap
Good beginning is half the battle, but don’t shoot the messenger please
By Vincent Hogan
Dear Giovanni, First up, a thousand welcomes. You are now among friends as you, no doubt, deduced from Thursday's coronation. There are no media guttersnipes here. We are the chuckle brothers of our trade, jovial people genetically programmed for compassion.
Goodwill blows through this estate, like a tornado howling through Oklahoma. You know how it works, 'Trap', I'm sure. Yep. 'Se non e vero, e ben trovato.' Even if it's not true, it makes a good story.
Anyway, what's the worst case scenario if this all goes belly-up? A fawning, one-hour, Saturday morning interview on national radio with Shirley Temple at the console?
Look, you made a wonderful impression in the RDS. And, as you people say in Italy, 'chi bien comincia e a meja dellopela'. A good beginning is half the battle.
For now, you are a blast of sunshine in our grey, mediocre world. Your wisdom is legendary, your records unassailable. Just listening to you speak about football is strangely comforting. If Robbie and the boys don't feel that, we should check their pulses.
Your specific plans for the team are unlikely to be highbrow and complex. This is a good thing. We don't want to harp on about your immediate predecessors, but their experiences were instructive.
Brian Kerr found the players to have some kind of attention deficit disorder. Steve Staunton considered this balderdash, discovering them to be merely scatter-brained. Either way Giovanni, you know what they say. 'Uomo avvisato, mezzo salvato.' Forewarned is forearmed.
Two things you need to know about Irish football.
One, we don't hide our disappointment under a rock. We are open people. Our history is unblemished by modesty. Poor results aren't simply discussed in the nation's sports pages. They tend to get filleted on talk-shows, phone-ins, prime-time TV news.
Two, we have the best supporters in the world. At times, you may have difficulty reconciling one with the other. Don't worry. We all do.
Your first mission, of course, is one of repatriation. I understand that your good friend, Sven, has suggested talking personally to Stephen Ireland about this vexed business of playing for his country. A word to the wise here, Giovanni.
Room arrangements might be key. If the poor kid thinks there's any chance of him being asked to room with Stephen Hunt, he's likely to feel a bit sorry for himself like Piggy in 'Lord of the Flies'. Don't go there.
Just tell him that all that business about suspicious hair changes and resilient grannies is, well, 'acqua passata non macina piu!' water under the bridge.
By the way, we don't envisage anything quite as perilous in your dialogue with Steve Finnan and Andy O'Brien. These two are pretty straight human beings. Talk to them and they'll listen. Make them feel loved.
You may as well know that your decision to retain Robbie as captain has generated some debate here. You see Robbie divides people, Giovanni. Some glimpse in him these beautiful, butterfly gifts of flight and balance. Others see fecklessness and waste.
Worse, a popular view would be that in Shay Given and Richard Dunne, you have overlooked two compellingly natural leadership candidates. Still, you are entitled to our trust here. And Robbie does seem to thrive in a guiding role at Tottenham.
We can but take it that your view of him is, by extension, a view of media discernment (or lack of). In other words, 'In un mondo di ciechi, un orbo e re'. In a world of blind people, the one-eyed man is king.
Look, none of this will really matter anyway if the team -- as a collective -- buys into your message.
The view here is that, with the Trapattoni stamp of strategic guile and unwavering concentration, a team reading -- Given, Finnan, Dunne, O'Shea, Kilbane, McGeadie, Carsley, Andy Reid, Duff, Keane, Doyle with subs, Kiely, Kelly or Joey O'Brien, Stephen Reid, Ireland, Lawrence, Long -- should be capable of at least summoning the illusion of a competitive threat in the upcoming qualifiers.
We know you may be mildly troubled right now that some of them seem to have their priorities so ludicrously distorted, they are baulking at the end-of-season training camp in Portugal. Fear not, Giovanni. Just look them in the eye and utter three simple words. David. O'Leary, Iceland.
There and then, all resistance should crack like a piece of fine porcelain. If it doesn't, just simplify it for the innocents. 'Lontano dagli occhi, lontano dal cuore'. Yep, out of sight, out of mind baby! Look, Giovanni, we are privileged to have you in our midst.
In fact, your presence here changes everything. The players have no comfort zone now, you see. Your arrival will bring truth, then, to Irish football.
So, we welcome you and wish you continued success and happiness. And we trust you can forgive our loose, clumsy Italian this morning. Just one last thing.
Whatever happens in the coming months, remember we are a people blissfully ignorant of our place in the greater scheme of things. 'So, ambasciator non porta pena, Giovanni'.
Don't shoot the messenger.
Yours in Sport,
lionelhutz
06/05/2008, 1:53 PM
Good article.
However, I lost a little of my respect for Hogan when I saw his team includes O'Shea at centre back instead of O'Brien and Carsley instead of S. Reid!!
theworm2345
06/05/2008, 10:16 PM
BAD NEWS I thought all 40 were going to the training camp but according to the Trapp meets with trio article the squad will be picked before the camp. I might cry :(
eekers
08/05/2008, 10:43 PM
BAD NEWS I thought all 40 were going to the training camp but according to the Trapp meets with trio article the squad will be picked before the camp. I might cry :(
i've been saying that for week versus everyones "well when trap gets a look at yer man in the training camp...etc" but no one took any notice.
i dont know when the 28 man squad is being announced but Ipswich Town seem to be leaking the news that Owen Garvan had made the 28.
http://www.itfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10272~1308284,00.html (http://www.itfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10272%7E1308284,00.html)
youngirish
09/05/2008, 10:12 AM
i've been saying that for week versus everyones "well when trap gets a look at yer man in the training camp...etc" but no one took any notice.
i dont know when the 28 man squad is being announced but Ipswich Town seem to be leaking the news that Owen Garvan had made the 28.
http://www.itfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10272~1308284,00.html (http://www.itfc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/NewsDetail/0,,10272%7E1308284,00.html)
Isn't Mick Martin Owen's uncle involved in the new Irish setup?
09/05/2008, 10:48 AM
Garvan
"Don Givens told me that he was putting my name forward to Mr Trapattoni and hopefully it's a sign that I am making progress".
09/05/2008, 12:09 PM
He is not in the U21 squad so it probably looks like he will be in the Senior Squad. Anthony Stokes is in the U21 squad.
Dr. Ogba
09/05/2008, 1:23 PM
Garvan
"Don Givens told me that he was putting my name forward to Mr Trapattoni and hopefully it's a sign that I am making progress".
its a worrying sign that Trap actually listens to Don Givens...
09/05/2008, 2:52 PM
Brady was at the u21 game against England.
I thought Givens was supposed to have had some issues with Garvan or was it McCaffrey or was it both of them?
What ever the story, at least Givens has shown evidence of football acumen.
Drumcondra 69er
09/05/2008, 3:15 PM
Isn't Mick Martin Owen's uncle involved in the new Irish setup?
Yep, similar scouting role to Stapleton I think, can't do him any harm.
There were issues with McCaffrey and Givens to an extent but I think things are okay between him and Givens these days....
Billy-Green
10/05/2008, 8:44 PM
Is it just me or does anyone else think that Noel Hunt and Sean Dillon of Dundee Utd should be in the squad? Both have played over 30 games this season which is regular first team football and more than most of the squad. Surely Hunt should get a look in ahead of hmm lets say, Elliott (Wolves), Long (Reading), Andy Keogh (Wolves), Stokes (Sunderland), Scannell (Crystal Palace), O’Donovan (Sunderland), Connolly (Sunderland).
As for Dillon, he is having a great season and I’d rather see him in ahead of O’Dea who sits on the bench in the same division. He can give us an option in a very weak looking defence
soccerc
10/05/2008, 9:02 PM
Is it just me or does anyone else think that Noel Hunt and Sean Dillon of Dundee Utd should be in the squad? Both have played over 30 games this season which is regular first team football and more than most of the squad. Surely Hunt should get a look in ahead of hmm lets say, Elliott (Wolves), Long (Reading), Andy Keogh (Wolves), Stokes (Sunderland), Scannell (Crystal Palace), O’Donovan (Sunderland), Connolly (Sunderland).
As for Dillon, he is having a great season and I’d rather see him in ahead of O’Dea who sits on the bench in the same division. He can give us an option in a very weak looking defence
Agree, Dillo has had an excellent season but I think playing for one of the SPL's non old firm clubs mitigates against his inclusion.
10/05/2008, 9:12 PM
He's a good player but I'd rather they'd look at LOI players of similar standard to Dillon first. I'm not trying to knock the player but if we want to take our own domestic league to the "next level" we need to promote it on an international level. And if we want to regularly qualify for World Cups etc etc we need a strong domestic league.
But otherwise I think it's strange that players that leave the LOI and have any sort of success across the water are automatically considered to be of international standard.
Paddy Garcia
11/05/2008, 8:25 AM
I see Lawrence is hoping to fight his way back into the squad. Let's hope sense prevails and he is given a call up now. The points been made by others, we could really do with some positive aggression in the midfield.
Billy-Green
11/05/2008, 5:35 PM
He's a good player but I'd rather they'd look at LOI players of similar standard to Dillon first. I'm not trying to knock the player but if we want to take our own domestic league to the "next level" we need to promote it on an international level. And if we want to regularly qualify for World Cups etc etc we need a strong domestic league.
But otherwise I think it's strange that players that leave the LOI and have any sort of success across the water are automatically considered to be of international standard.
I think your mixing two issues up here. Why overlook Dillon for an eircom league player?
Is it not the whole point of the Under 23's, to see our domestic players on an international level,promote the league and then see do any of them have the potential to go on to senior level.
I'd say give Dillon a go in the senior squad now while he is in great form as is Hunt and regular player's in a dare i say it but higher standard than our domestic league.
Billy-Green
11/05/2008, 5:36 PM
I see Lawrence is hoping to fight his way back into the squad. Let's hope sense prevails and he is given a call up now. The points been made by others, we could really do with some positive aggression in the midfield.
Your dead right
Dr. Ogba
12/05/2008, 8:45 AM
Has he been quoted in saying this? Good to know that he's willing to fight to play for us...
Paddy Garcia
12/05/2008, 9:37 PM
Has he been quoted in saying this? Good to know that he's willing to fight to play for us...
Couple of links attached
http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/2008/02/09/liam-lawrence-gutted-by-republic-of-ireland-snub-89520-20313185/
"On a personal level, Lawrence feels playing in the Premier League might also enhance his ambitions of becoming an established member of the Republic of Ireland in which he has already appeared briefly. "If I can keep playing well, I feel I have got a good chance," Lawrence added.
Pulis, who described Lawrence's sublime strike as: "Absoluterly fantastic; a goal good enough to grace any game" was fulsome in his praise for an industrious midfield in which Roy Delap, Glenn Whelan and Richard Cresswell matched the prodigious workrate of Lawrence." telegraph :eek:
http://www.eleven-a-side.com/acrossthewater/news.asp?n=32187
DeNiro
13/05/2008, 8:56 AM
What name is Trap naming the final 28 at? Is there another press conference for it?
13/05/2008, 9:05 AM
Surely you mean time, although we could play a game, what name should he call the squad.
I vote for Sandra.
13/05/2008, 9:17 AM
5 changes made to the U-21 squad for Malaysia, including removing Stokes, so he could be another moved to the senior squad